Interested in the field of archives?
You like the idea of working with historical documents, but you're not sure exactly what is an archivist? You might want to first read the article: "So You Want to Be an Archivist: An Overview of the Archival Profession." from the Society of American Archivists (SAA) website.
- SAA (Society of American Archivists)
http://www.archivists.org/employment/index.asp
- ARLIS (Art Libraries Society of North America)
http://www.arlisna.org/jobnet.html
- New England Jobline (hosted by the Simmons Graduate School of Library and Information Sciences)
http://www.simmons.edu/gslis/career/jobline/
- University of Texas School of Information JobWeb
http://www.ischool.utexas.edu/jobweb/Search.php
- MARAC (Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives Conference)
http://www.lib.umd.edu/MARAC/links/jobs.html
- SLA (Special Libraries Association) Career Center
http://sla.jobcontrolcenter.com/search.cfm
- ARMA International's CareerLink (Association for Information Management Professional)
http://www2.mbafocus.net/candidates/signin.asp?product=494
- AAM (American Association of Museums)
http://museumcareers.aam-us.org/search/browse/ (nb: librarian and archivist jobs are most often listed under "miscellaneous")
- MuseumProfessionals.org
http://www.museumprofessionals.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=32 (Archivist Jobs listed here)
- WNYLRC (Western New York Library Resource Council)
http://www.wnylrc.org/New/jobswny.htm
- Global Museum
http://www.globalmuseum.org/
- Indeed (type in the word "archivist")
http://www.indeed.com/
Resources for the library/archives job search
- The Job Hunt: What I Learned by Meredith Wolfwater, July 2005
- 101+ Commonly Asked Interview Questions by Ann E. Robinson, October 1999
- Archives listserv: Summary of responses to job hunt question posted by Pamela Shaffer, April 17, 2005
The following are the major professional organziations for archivists (national, regional and local). For a more complete listing see Peter Nelson's "Directory of Regional, State and Local Archival Organizations in the United States" at: http://sophia.smith.edu/~pnelson/regionals/index.htm
National/International:
- SAA (Society of American Archivists)
http://www.archivists.org
- ARMA International (Association for Information Management Professional)
http://www.arma.org/
- ACA (Association of Canadian Archivists)
http://archivists.ca/home/
- Society of Archivists (principal professional body for archivists, archive conservators and records managers in the United Kingdom and Ireland)
http://www.archives.org.uk/
Regional:
- MARAC (Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives Conference)
http://www.lib.umd.edu/MARAC/
- MAC (Midwest Archives Conference)
http://www.lib.washington.edu/nwa/
- NEA (New England Archivists)
http://www.newenglandarchivists.org/
- SSA (Society of Southwest Archivists)
http://southwestarchivists.org/
- SOLINET (Southeastern Library Network, Inc.)
http://www.solinet.net/index.cfm
- SCA (Society of California Archivists)
http://www.calarchivists.org/
- Northwest Archivists
http://www.lib.washington.edu/nwa/
Local:
- WNYLRC (Western New York Library Resource Council)
http://www.wnylrc.org/
- RLRC (Rochester Regional Library Council)
http://rrlc.entrexp.com/orgmain.asp?sid=&orgID=24
(information from the SOLINET and SAA websites)
Unless otherwise noted, you can subscribe by sending a one line e-mail reading "Subscribe ListName YourFirstName YourLastName" to the server account address listed below. For example, AMIA-L would look like this "Subscribe AMIA-L John Doe" sent to the address [listserv@lsv.uky.edu]
- AMIA-L Preservation of moving images
Email: listserv@lsv.uky.edu / Website: AIMA listserv archives
- ARCHIVES Professional archivist listserv sponsored by SAA, hosted by Miami University, Ohio
Email: listserv@miamiu.muohio.edu / Website: ARCHIVES listserv archives
- CONSERVATION DISTLIST Preservation and conservation sponsored by CoOL (Conservation Online)
Email: consdist-request@lindy.stanford.edu ("Subscribe Cons DistList Your Name" ) / Website: Conservation DisList archives
- DIGLIB Digital libraries listserv sponsored by IFLA (International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions)
Email: listserv@infoserv.nlc-bnc.ca / Website: DIGLIB listserv archives
- ERECS-L Management and preservation of electronic records
Email: listserv@uacsc2.Albany.edu / Website: ERECS-L listserv archives
- EXLIBRIS Rare books & special collections sponsored by CoOL
Email: listproc@library.berkeley.edu / Website: Exlibris listserv archives
- IMAGELIB Digital imaging and technologies
Email: listserv@arizona.edu / Website: IMAGELIB listserv archives
- MUSEUM-L Museums listserv
Email: listserv@home.ease.lsoft.com / Website: MUSEUM-L listserv archives
- SAAMUS-L SAA Museums Archives listserv hosted by the Smithsonian Institute
Email: listserv@si-listserv.si.edu (in the body of the message type: "SUBSCRIBE SAAMUS-L") / Website: SAAMUS-L listserv archives
- VisualMat Visual Materials section listserv
Email: majordomo@listlink.berkeley.edu (in the body of the message type: "subscribe visualmat") / Website: Visual Materials Section homepage
- SAA's directory of Archival Education
http://www.archivists.org/prof-education/edd-index.asp
- For more detailed information on archival education -- please contact the Processing Archivists at the University Archives:
**Karen Walton Morse attended University of Michigan School of Information
**Jessica Tanny attended Simmons Graduate School of Library and Information Science program
- Preservation 101 -- an online course in paper preservation from the Northeast Document Conservation Center (NEDCC)
http://www.nedcc.org/p101cs/p101wel.htm
- Modern Archives Institute -- hosted by NARA (National Archives and Records Administration)
A two week program on the east coast to introduce participants to archival theory and practice and the responsibilities of archival work.
http://www.archives.gov/preservation/modern-archives-institute/
- Western Archives Institute -- hosted by California State Archives
A two week program on the west coast to introduce participants to archival theory and practice and the responsibilities of archival work.
http://www.ss.ca.gov/archives/level3_wai.html
- Records Management Nationwide Training -- compiled by NARA (National Archives and Records Administration)
http://www.archives.gov/records-mgmt/training/m
- List of Professional Certification Programs for Archives Professionals -- NARA (National Archives and Records Administration)
http://www.archives.gov/preservation/professionals/certification.html
- Rare Book School at the University of Viriginia
http://www.virginia.edu/oldbooks/2006/index.php
Please note: The University Libraries has many of these titles available for research. Please check BISON for availability.
- American Archivist Journal (published by SAA)
http://www.archivists.org/periodicals/aa.asp
- Archival Outlook Newsletter (published by SAA)
http://www.archivists.org/periodicals/ao.asp
- Archival Science (formally Archives and Museum Informatics)
http://www.springerlink.com/link.asp?id=105703
- Archivaria (published by the Association of Canadian Archivists)
http://archivists.ca/publications/archivaria.aspx
- Journal of Archival Organization (published by the Hawthorne Press)
(available online through the University at Buffalo)
- Whitepapers on preservation (available online and published by NEDCC)
http://www.nedcc.org/leaflets/leaf.htm
- Glossary of Archival and Records Terminology
http://www.archivists.org/glossary/index.asp
- Archivist Daybook (a calendar of historical and future events relating to the archival professional maintained by the Society of Southwest Archivists
http://southwestarchivists.org/HTML/Daybook.htm
- CoOL (Conservation Online)
http://palimpsest.stanford.edu/
- Ready, 'Net, Go! -- Archival Internet Resources (sponsored by the Special Collections Division at Tulane University)
http://www.tulane.edu/~lmiller/ArchivesResources.html
- Archivist's Toolkit (sponsored by the Archives Association of British Columbia)
http://aabc.bc.ca/aabc/toolkit.html
- The British Library: National Preservation Office Leaflets
http://www.bl.uk/services/npo/publicationsleaf.html
- Repair and Enclosure Treatments Manual by Garry Harrison
Head, Circulating Collections Conservation, Indiana University Libraries
http://www.indiana.edu/~libpres/manual/mantoc.html








