return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Material
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries and Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Catalog Articles+ Electronic Journals E-Textbooks Course Reserve Databases Forms A-Z Requesting Materials Resources by Subject
My Library Card Delivery+
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Architecture & Planning Digital Collections Health Sciences Library Law Library Libraries Annex Lockwood Library Multimedia Collections Music Library Silverman Library Special Collections
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Library Store Support Our Libraries
chatChat textText emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Architecture & Planning
divider
  star icon Digital Collections
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
divider
  star icon Lockwood Library
divider
  star icon Multimedia Collections
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Silverman Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
 
 
 


Edward Herman
Modified: 16 December, 2009
lolherma@buffalo.edu

 

 





ASL > Government Documents Resources > Instructional & Class Materials >

Government Information: Accessing and
Thinking Critically About It

James Madison believed correctly that:

"A popular Government, without popular information, or the means of acquiring it, is but a Prologue to a Farce or a Tragedy; or, perhaps both. Knowledge will forever govern ignorance: And a people who mean to be their own Governors, must arm themselves with the power which knowledge gives." 1

The U.S. government publishes large amounts of information and citizens have tools necessary for acquiring it. However, most people do not have the skills required to do so. They lack an awareness of how government works and how they could benefit from government information. The following cartoon exaggerates this point.

Jeff Koterba Omaha World Herald, King Features Syndicate

Source: New York Times, May 5, 2008, "Week in Review," p. 2

Civics data collected by National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) show that in 2006 34% of 12th graders scored below a basic level.2 A second study of by the Intercollegiate Studies Institute’s (ISI) National Civic Literacy Board, Failing Our Students, Failing America: Holding colleges Accountable for Teaching America’s History and Institutions, is interesting. Fourteen thousand college freshmen and seniors at 50 schools responded to a multiple choice test covering American history and government, the U.S. in world affairs, and economics. Mean scores among freshman were 51.7%, an F grade. Seniors did not do much better. Their mean score was 53.2%. Harvard students had the highest mean score and that was only 69%, a D grade.3 ISI also found that "…a student's overall civic knowledge had no relationship to his likelihood to vote. What mattered was how much the student’s civic knowledge increased during college." 4

The University at Buffalo's strategic strength in civic engagement addresses this. UB Sociology Professor, Robert Granfield, defined civic engagement at a public university for the UB Council as:

"the generation and distribution of knowledge whose aim is to enrich public debate about the assorted social, cultural, economic, political, health, ethical, legal and religious issues that confront the multiple publics that make up the world within which we live." 5

These study guides contribute towards that effort. Those who can locate, use, and think critically about information prepared by their government contribute towards promoting civic engagement. Participants are expected to know how to do the following after completing these guides:

  • Locate government information in print and digital formats.
  • Locate information describing the positions and voting records of elected officials
  • Apply critical thinking skills needed to evaluate this information.
  • Apply the identical critical thinking skills to the evaluation of other kinds of information.

The guides include audio and visual aids, and, when appropriate, emulate online searching where participants must type and/or click appropriate information prior to proceeding. Questions and answers assess progress.

Outline of Study Guides

These videos require Adobe Flash Player.

Disclaimer: I am not always able to keep up with changes to Web sites.  My intent is to teach people to locate government information and think about it critically through Web simulations, and questions and answers.  When Web pages change, I hope users will still successfully apply the ideas and concepts discussed to retrieve their information and think about it critically.

Part 1: Critical Thinking Skills
Click to view video Evaluating Information
Emphasis is upon the 5 W's—who, what, when, where, why—and how.

Video -- (runtime 9 minutes)
Part 2: Searching the Internet
Click to view video

Evaluating Authors and Their Credibility and Viewpoints

Video -- (runtime 13 minutes)  |  Related articles: Evaluating Web Sites

Part 3: Government Information and Depository Libraries
Click to view video

Defines government information, emphasizes the wide range of information available through government information, and introduces depository libraries.

Video -- (runtime 9 minutes)

Part 4: Locating Government Information with Google™
Click to view video

Emphasis is upon basic and advanced Google searching to locate governemnt information.

Video -- (runtime 16 minutes)

Part 5: Google™ Limitations When Searching for Government Information
Click to view video

Discusses shortcomings of Google and other commercial search engines when indexing government information answering a basic question: why bother with all this when I can more easily Google my information?

Video -- (runtime 9 minutes)

Part 6: Locating Government Information by Agencies: Types of Agencies
Click to view video

A common method of locating government information is to determine which agency or agencies are most likely to publish the information. This module introduces types of government agencies. Subsequent sections describe how to locate specific agencies.

Video -- (runtime 5 minutes)

Part 7: Locating Government Information by Agencies: Federal Agency Internet Sites
Click to view video

Learn to locate government agency home pages using Federal Government Internet Sites, a directory to federal agency home pages supported by Louisiana State University in partnership with the Government Printing Office, and understand its advantages and disadvantages.

Video -- (runtime 6 minutes)

Part 8: Locating Government Information by Agencies, United States Government Manual
Click to view video

Locate government agencies in the print and online editions of the United States Government Manual, the official directory to the federal government.

Video -- (runtime 8 minutes)



Return to Top

References

1 Quote DB. http://www.quotedb.com/quotes/2708. Viewed June 11, 2008.

2 Neumann, Richard. "American Democracy at Risk," Phi Delta Kappan. 89:5 (January 2008), 329-330).

3 Intercollegiate Studies Institute. National Civic Literacy Board. Failing Our Students, Failing America: Holding colleges Accountable for Teaching America’s History and Institutions. Wilmington, DE, 2007. http://www.americancivicliteracy.org/report/pdf/09-18-07/civic_literacy_report_07-08.pdf. Viewed June 11, 2008, p. 2.

4 Intercollegiate Studies Institute. National Civic Literacy Board, p. 17.

5 Judson Mead, “Developing civic responsibility: Focus on university as ‘good citizen’,” Reporter, April 20, 2006, http://www.buffalo.edu/reporter/vol37/vol37n29/articles/CivicEngagement.html, viewed August 8, 2007).

Return to Top


Return to the homepage
Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility
  • rss
  • facebook
  • youtube
  • twitter