return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Material
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries and Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserve Databases Forms A-Z Requesting Materials Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Architecture & Planning Digital Collections Health Sciences Library Law Library Libraries Annex Lockwood Library Multimedia Collections Music Library Silverman Library Special Collections
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Library Store Support Our Libraries
chatChat textText emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Requesting Materials
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: David J. Bertuca

Last Updated: 19 September 2011






Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Internet > PDA Reference Library


PDA & Mobile Devices Reference Library

Here are resources related to various platforms of handheld computers currently available (includes Palm, and similar devices; Smart phones with data management features, tablet PCs, other). Products or services listed here are not endorsed by this page. Resources presented to help you to determine what is available and to assist in selecting the machine that serves your needs. Online resources for using your Personal Data Assistant are also listed here.

The market continues to develop rapidly with many new machines, software, applications, and capabilities. Many other producers and suppliers of hardware, software, and accessories exist. Also, the various platforms are blending so that the main topics below are not as distinct as in the past..

News & Developments Web Resources Palm OS Apple iPad
Windows / Pocket PC Tablet PC RIM/Blackberry  


News and Developments

  • Read the Latest News for Palm powered systems (from Access Co.).
  • PDA Resources page. Has links to news articles and information on the variety of equipment that is available or being developed.
  • PalmOne has PDA/phone combinations. Visit their Smarat Phone Store for details.
  • PDA Buzz. News, reviews, resources, and products. For all devices and operating systems.
  • PDAdbnet. "World's largest, most comprehensive and most accurate online PDA Database. Includes: detailed technical specifications of PDA devices, PDA phones, Smartphones, PNA device and several kind of handheld/pocket-sized mobile devices running Windows CE based (Windows Mobile Pocket PC, Windows Mobile Smartphone, Windows CE.NET, Handheld PC), Symbian based (Series 60, Series 80, Series 90, UIQ), Mac OS based, Linux, Android and other operating systems."
  • PDAGeek at Geek.com provides independent reviews, opinions, and other materials on all PDA platforms. Included are comments, both good and bad.
  • Enterprise Mobile Today: PDAStreet News and reviews (along with many products and software).
  • Tucows PDA : Software Downloads. Freeware, shareware, and commercial software categorized by type (calculators, games, medical, miscellaneous, etc.). Tucows software reviewers rate the software based on several factors (including the availability of documentation and customer support). Each title also receives a popularity rating based on user downloads.

Books & Published Articles

  • Building PDA Databases for Wireless and Mobile Development. Book (links to Amazon).
  • PDAS as workplace tools for science teachers (article).
Return to Top




Palm OS Computers

  • Palm Computing
    Original developer of higher powered personal handheld computing devices. Site has everything for Palm users, plus products for Palm OS users with devices from third party developers. The Palm site includes support, software upgrades, documentation, and links to related sites.
  • Handmark
    Professionally produced databases, games, many other products, for use with Palm, Blackberry, and other makes. Also free submitted databases and other downloads. Sections include:
    • Palm Software
    • BlackBerry Software
    • Windows Mobile Pocket PC Software
    • Windows Mobile Smartphone Software
    • MobileDB Database Archive download software from a variety of topics; free, shareware, and commercial included. Includes foreign language products.
  • Handango
    Third party developer for PDA products. Over 15,000 products. One popular product is Vindigo. Also has software for Casio and other PDAs.
  • iPAQ Handheld Computers (Hewlitt Packard).PDAs, smart phones, other.
  • Access Company. All sorts of resources for Palm users and developers. Has products, downloads, e-books, etc.
  • Sony Mobile Phones/PDAs.
  • Tucows. Download software, applications, books, databases (some free).
  • MemoWear. Downloadable software for a variety of applications. Some is Free, some Shareware or Pay. Covers many fields and topics. Includes foreign language products.
  • Amazon Handheld Devices. All handhelds and accessories. Check for possible savings.
  • Enterprise Mobile Today: PDAStreet. Products, news, and reviews of hardware, software, and other resources for all brands of PDAs. Arranged by make. Offers free stuff and chance to get reviews and comments from users. Also includes Pocket PC.
Return to Top


Apple iPad and iPhone

  • Apple iPad main page. Everything in the iPad universe, including:
    • APPlicationS
    • Developer's page for creating and developing iPad applications.
  • Gizmodo's Essential iPad Apps.
  • IDS Launches iPad™ Medical Documentation Apps.
  • Mobile Learning‎. Uses of iPad in education.
  • Pages for iPad Simplifies Sharing‎.
  • Tipard iPad Applications.
  • Apple iPhone main page. Also has Apps page.
  • X1 Mobile Search for iPhone‎.


Windows and Pocket PC Type Handhelds

  • UB Pocket PC Wireless VPN Support
  • Dell. Includes both Dell and other makes: PDA & Handheld Devices, Smart Phones, portable data devices, computing devices.
  • Hewlett Packard Handheld Computers. Includes: iPAQ PDAs and iPAQ Smartphones.
  • Microsoft Windows Phone systems. For PDAs, Smart phones, Mobile equipment; software, hardware, accessories.
Return to Top




Tablet PC

  • Hewlett Packard Handheld Computers
  • Tablet PC

Return to Top

RIM Handheld (Blackberry)

  • Research in Motion
    Main company for RIM hardware, software, and accessories; most prominent products are the Blackberry line.
  • RIM BlackBerry Developer Resources
    Dealer in all equipment plus developer tools. Site has hardware, software, reviews, news, and comments. Also has sections on other handheld platforms.
  • BlackBerry Today (Enterprise Mobile Today). Find hardware, software, reviews, news, and comments by users. Includes downloads.
Return to Top


 

Web Resources (all disciplines)

see also: Medical/Health PDA resources

  • Explore Free E-Books and Major E-Book Readers (UB Faculty Support page).Includes iPhone among other devices.
  • How PDAs Work (How Things Works).
  • How Do PDA's Work with Databases? On setting up and using databases between computers and PDAs.
  • BBC News for Mobile. Obtain news directly from BBC.
  • Mobile Computing / PDA Resources (Hanford Technical Library, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, US-DOE). Selected list of hundreds of resources available for use on PDAs including search engines, dictionaries, reference materials, and news feeds. Includes "some of the best free tools available online in each of these categories." Includes variety of disciplines.
  • PDA Resources (University of Hong Kong Libraries). Covers a wide range of disciplines (e.g., history, humanities, American studies, music).
  • Handheld Devices in the Classroom (Teacher Tap). For all disciplines; includes other portable electronic devices and ways to use them in teaching. Useful for educators and students.
  • Calculation Resources (Calculator.com). "Calculate anything anywhere... online, pocket, pc, pda, wap and cellphone calculators."
  • Mobile Resources (Univ. of SD). Includes PDAs.
  • Computing Unplugged (incorporates Palm Power e-magazine). E-zine for PDA users and how they can make the most of their systems.
    • PalmPower back issues
    • PalmPower Enterprise Edition back issues
  • Mobile Technologies in Libraries How the academic library is using PDAs, handhelds and other mobile technologies (Megan K Fox, Simmons College Library). Comprehensive page covering ALL aspects of PDA use.
  • PDA Resources (Marietta College). Site for integrating PDAs into instruction.
  • Educator's PDA Resources (Dr. Steve Yuen). Tools and info for teachers, educators, all levels.
  • PDA Resources: Computer Science. All platforms.
  • PDA Street General List of PDAs by type. This page has resources and products for ANY type of PDA. These are listed for ease of selection. Includes even older PDAs (e.g., Apple Newton).
  • e-Books Category List. Subject list of e-books arranged by subject, author, title.
  • Free books for your PDA (or iPod).
  • PDA databases: "Green" way to make the most of your PDA by entering data directly in the field, rather than by taking notes on paper, or by carrying lots of paper forms with you in the field.
  • PDA Freeware (About.com). Free software for a variety of uses.
  • Dave's PDA. Hardware, software, downloads for a variety of systems and uses.
  • MobiPocket.com also has other resources on their Web site.
  • Humanities e-Books at MobiPocket.com.
  • MemoWear. Find downloadable software for a variety of applications. Some is Free, some Shareware or Pay. Covers many fields and topics.
  • Planet PDA. Conferences, news, events info, training programs, and links to resources of many kinds. Visit the TablePC Newsletter Archives for articles on how this technology is being used.
  • Measurement Devices For Industry & Science. PDA-based, science and engineering measurement tools.
  • Toxicological Science for PDA (HighWire Press). News, literature in toxicology (subscription required).
  • PDAs and Webcams (TeachersTV). Shows how PDAs can be used in teaching, especially in the field.
  • BlackBerry and Personal Digital Assistant Resources (National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)).PDA resources for the sciences (from the NIST Virtual Library).
  • Handheld Librarian: Cataloguing PDA resources. Mainly for librarians, but some materials for anyone.
  • WiFi Revolution (newsletter). Has breaking news and product information on this wireless technology.
  • Programming and Database Conversion
    • PDA: Data conversion. Intended to provide information for PDA users wishing to convert their data to another format. Includes all portable devices (PDA, Smart phones, etc.).

Web Resources (Medical/Health)

  • Resources for Mobile HSL Users (UB Health Sciences Library). Start here. All topics begin on this page. Includes: Getting to Know Your PDA, tutorials, iPhone information, more.
  • PDA & Mobile Computing resources. American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine.
  • Medical and Other PDA Resources. Stowe Library, UCONN. Variety of resources, primarily for medical/clinical use, but also covers other fields.
  • PDA Resources page. (Lyman Maynard Stowe Library at the University of Connecticut Health Center). Contains resources of all sorts. While main focus is medical/health related, there are many resources for other disciplines as well.This site also has links to articles on choosing a PDA, how to use PDAs and accessories, and other topics of general interest.
  • Health Sciences Resources for Mobile Devices. University of Alberta Web site. Provides links to subject specific resources. Includes:
  • UT Health Science Center Libraries (San Antonio).Search by Platform, Category, or Alphabetically.
  • Building PDA Databases. Mainly for medical use, but covers concepts for all types of PDA uses.

 


Return to the homepage
Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility
  • rss
  • facebook
  • youtube
  • twitter