DENTISTRY: A GUIDE TO SELECTED RESOURCES
This guide has been created to help researchers identify and locate dentistry resources available through the Health Sciences Library (HSL), University at Buffalo's online resources, and the Internet. All journals listed are available in the HSL and shelved by title; for electronic availability, refer to the UB Libraries Catalog. In addition, patrons are encouraged to refer to the UB Libraries Catalog for a more comprehensive listing and additional subject areas related to the profession of dentistry.
The information is arranged by specialized areas within the field of Dentistry. Go directly to General Resources or Miscellaneous, or browse the specialty areas in the table below.
GENERAL RESOURCES
Dictionaries
Dorland, Newman W. Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary. 29th ed. London : W. B. Saunders, 2000.
HSL Dictionary Section W 13 D7111 2000
Zwemer, Thomas J. Mosby's dental dictionary. 1st ed. St. Louis : Mosby, c1998.
HSL Dictionary Section WU 13 M894 1998
Meechan, J.G., Drug dictionary for dentistry. New York: Oxford University Press, 2002.
HSLON ORDER
Reference
The Surgeon General's Report on Oral Health
Access through Internet: http://www.nidr.nih.gov/sgr/sgr.htm
The Authority on OTC and Rx Oral Medicine (searchable)
Allows users to find information on prescription as well as over-the-counter products used in Oral Medicine.
Access through Internet: http://www.dentalbluebook.com/
Merck Manual (searchable)
Source for complete and comprehensive medical information, written by
nearly 200 leading medical experts, on the health issues that matter most to you. Includes interactive as well as original text-based versions.
Access through Internet: http://www.merckhomeedition.com/home.html
MEDLINE Plus (searchable)
Link to additional specialized dictionaries used in the medical field.
Access through Internet: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/dictionaries.html
RX List (searchable)
Allows users to find comprehensive information on specific drugs listed by brand or generic name.
Access through Internet: http://www.rxlist.com
MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets) (searchable)
Access through Internet: http://www.msdssearch.com
Gage, Tommy W., Pickett, Frieda A. Mosby's dental drug reference. 5th ed. St. Louis:
Mosby-Year Book, 2001.
HSL Reference / Drug Section QV 50 G133d 2001
Cook, Allan R. Oral health sourcebook : basic information about diseases and conditions affecting oral health ... Detroit, MI : Omnigraphics, c1998.
HSL WU 80 O63 1998 (Health Ed. Section)
Zwemer, Thomas J., eds. Boucher's clinical dental terminology: a glossary of accepted terms in all disciplines of dentistry. 4th ed. St. Louis: Mosby-Year Book, 1993.
HSL WU 13 B753 1993
Databases
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over
11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science
journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and
other related resources.
Access through Internet: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/PubMed/
An image resource, produced by Michael Finkelstein of the University of Iowa College of Dentistry. Images include not only oral, but also head and skin manifestations likely to be seen by a dentist.
Access through Internet: http://www.uiowa.edu/~oprm/AtlasHome.html
Government Information
Center for Disease Control, Oral Health Resources
Oral Health Resources MMWRs and Journal Articles
Access through Internet: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth/index.htm
National Institute of Health
Access through Internet: http://www.nih.gov/
Center for Disease Control, National Center for Health Statistics
Access through Internet: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/releases.htm
SUBJECT SPECIALTIES
CLINICAL AND PREVENTIVE DENTISTRY
Journals
Caries Research
Clinical Preventive Dentistry
The Journal of Preventive Dentistry
Books & Non-Print
Axelsson, Per, D.D.S. Diagnosis and risk prediction of dental caries. Chicago :
Quintessence Pub. Co., c2000.
HSL WU 270 A969d 2000
Seal out dental decay. National Institutes of Health (U.S.) "Reprinted January 2000"
Access through Internet: http://www.nidr.nih.gov/health/pubs/sealants/main.htm
Christen, Arden G., Harris, Norman O., eds. Primary preventive dentistry. 5th ed.
Norwalk, Conn. : Appleton & Lange, c1999.
HSL WU 113 P9522 1999
Schou, Lone, Blickhorn, Anthony S., eds. Oral health promotion. Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press, 1993.
HSL WU 113 O605 1993
DeLuca, Chester., Anderson, James A. A Diet counseling procedure for the dental clinic <videorecording> Chapel Hill, N.C. : Health Sciences Consortium, 1990.
Instructional Technology Services Videocassette VHS V04072 (55 min.) (available for use in 24 Capen)
Newbrun, Ernest. Cariology. 3rd ed. Chicago : Quintessence Pub. Co., 1989.
HSL WU 270 N567c 1989
Ekstrand, Jan., Fejerskov, Ole., Silverstone, Leon M. eds. Fluoride in dentistry. 1st ed. Copenhagen : Munksgaard, c1988.
HSL WU 270 F6483 1988
COMPLEMENTERY / ALTERNATIVE DENTISTRY
Holistic Dental Association
Access through Internet: http://www.holisticdental.org/
Books & Non-Print
Varley, Peter, ed. Complementary therapies in dental practice. Boston: Butterworth-Heinemann, 1998.
HSL WU 166 C737 1997
Academy of Computerized Dentistry in North America
Information source for digital dental technology and the Cerec system.
Access through Internet: http://www.acd-us.com/
Books & Non-Print
Malamed, Stanley F. Medical emergencies in the dental office. 5th ed. St. Louis: Mosby-Year Book, 2000.
HSL WB 105 M236m 2000
Falace, Donald A., ed. Emergency Dental Care: diagnosis and management of urgent dental problems. Baltimore: Williams & Wilkins, 1995.
HSL WU 140 E53 1995
DENTAL ANATOMY AND OCCLUSION
Books & Non-Print
Woelfel, Julian B. Dental anatomy : its relevance to dentistry. 6th ed. Philadelphia :
Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, c2002.
HSL WU 18 W842d 2002
Brand, Richard W. Anatomy of orofacial structures. 6th ed. St. Louis : Mosby, c1998.
HSL WU 101 B817a 1998
Ash, Major M., Ramford, Sigurd. Occlusion. 4th ed. Philadelphia: Saunders, 1995.
HSL WU 440 A819o 1995
Mohl, Norman D. A Textbook of occlusion. Chicago : Quintessence Pub. Co., 1988.
HSL WU 440 T355 1988
Wheeler, Russell C. Wheeler's Atlas of tooth form. 5th ed. Philadelphia : Saunders, 1984.
HSL WU 17 W564w 1984
Association / Academy / Organization
American Dental Hygiene Association
Access through Internet: http://www.adha.org/
Journals
Journal of Dental Hygiene (JDH)
Books & Non-Print
Darby, Michele Leonardi, Walsh, Margaret M., eds. Dental hygiene theory and practice. Philadelphia : W.B. Saunders, c1994.
HSL WU 113 D4133 1994
Wilkins, Esther M. Clinical practice of the dental hygienist. 7th ed. Baltimore : Williams & Wilkins, 1994.
HSL WU 18 W684c 1994
Access through Internet: http://www.lib.umich.edu/dentlib/Dental_tables/toc.html
Journals
Dental Materials
Journal of Biomedical Materials Research
Biomaterials
Books & Non-Print
O'Brien, William. Dental materials and their selection. 3rd ed. Chicago : Quintessence
Pub. Co., 2003
HSL WU 190 D4152 2003
Craig, Robert G., et al. Restorative dental materials. 11th ed. St. Louis: Mosby-Year
Book, 2001.
HSL WU 190 R436 2001
Craig, Robert G., et al. Dental materials: properties and manipulation. 6th ed. St. Louis: Mosby-Year Book, 2000.
HSL WU 190 C886d 2000
Morris, Robert B. Strategies in dental diagnosis and treatment planning. London : M. Dunitz ; New York, NY, USA : Distributed in the U.S. by Thieme, 1999.
HSL WU 140 M877s 1999
Anusavice, Kenneth J. Phillips' science of dental materials. 10th ed. Philadelphia : W.B. Saunders, c1996.
HSL WU 190 P5625 1996
Phillips, Ralph W. Skinner's science of dental materials. 9th ed. Philadelphia: Saunders, 1991.
HSL WU 190 P562s 1991
DIAGNOSIS AND TREATMENT PLANNING
Books & Non-Print
Stefanac, Stephen J., Nesbit, Samuel Paul. eds. Treatment planning in dentistry. St. Louis, Mo. : Mosby, c2001. Accompanying CD-ROM includes five simulated case studeis for users to diagnose and plan treatment.
HSL WU 100 T784 2001
HSL Media Resource Center CD-ROM WU 100 T784 2001
Bricker, Steven L., et al, eds. Oral diagnosis, oral medicine, and treatment planning. 2nd ed. Baltimore: Williams & Wilkins, 1994.
HSL WU 140 0617 1994
Kassirer, Jerome P. Learning clinical reasoning. Baltimore : Williams & Wilkins, c1991.
HSL W 61 K19L 1991
Association / Academy / Organization
American Association of Endodontics
Access through Internet: http://www.aae.org/
Journals
International Endodontic Journal
Dental Traumatology
(Access to Table of Contents only)
Access through Internet: http://www.blackwellmunksgaard.com/edt
Oral Surgery, Oral Medicine,Oral Pathology, Oral Radiology, and Endodontics
Endodontic & Dental Traumatology
Books & Non-Print
Johnson, William T. Color atlas of endodontics. 1st ed. Philadelphia : W.B. Saunders, c2002.
HSL WU 17 C7187 2002
Cohen, Stephen, Burns, Richard C., eds. Pathways of the pulp. 8th ed. St. Louis: Mosby-
Year Book, 2002.
HSL WU 230 P297 2002
Pitt Ford, T. R. Endodontics : problem-solving in clinical practice. London : Martin Dunitz, 2002.
HSL WU 230 P688e 2002
Hargreaves, Kenneth M., Goodis, Harold E. Seltzer and Bender's dental pulp. Chicago: Quintessence Pub. Co., c2002.
HSL WU 230 S4675 2002
Walton, Richard E. Principles and practice of endodontics. 3rd ed. Philadelphia :
Saunders, c2002.
HSL WU 230 P9568 2002
Weine, Franklin S. Endodontic therapy. 5th ed. St. Louis: Mosby-Year Book, 1996.
HSL WU 230 W423e 1996
Ingle, John Ide, et al. Endodontics. 4th ed. Baltimore: Williams & Wilkins, 1994.
HSL WU 230 I51e 1994 (5th ed (2002) ON ORDER)
Ludington, John R., Suchina, John A. The Electric pulp test <videorecording> Chapel Hill, N.C. : Health Sciences Consortium, 1990.
HSL Media Resource Center Videocassette VHS WU 230 E381 1990 (12 min.)
Grossman, Louis I., et al. Endodontic practice. 10th ed. Baltimore: Williams & Wilkins,
1981.
HSL WU 230 G878e 1981
Association / Academy / Organization
American Academy of Esthetic Dentistry
Access through Internet: http://www.estheticacademy.org
American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry
Access through Internet: http://www.aacd.com
Journals
Journal of Esthetic and Restorative Dentistry
Journal of Esthetic Dentistry
Books & Non-Print
Dale, Barry G., Aschheim, Kenneth W., eds. Esthetic dentistry: a clinical approach to
techniques and materials. Baltimore: Williams & Wilkins, 2001.
HSL WU 100 E79 2001
Touati, Bernard., Miara, Paul., Nathanson, Dan., eds. Esthetic dentistry and ceramic restorations. London : Martin Dunitz ; New York, NY : Distributed in the United States and Canada by Thieme New York, 1999.
HSL WU 190 E79 1999
Sarver, David M. Esthetic orthodontics and orthognathic surgery. St. Louis, Mo. : Mosby, c1998.
HSL WU 400 S251e 1998
Goldstein, Cary E. Imaging in esthetic dentistry. Chicago : Quintessence Pub. Co., c1998.
HSL WU 100 G6237i 1998
Crispin, Bruce J., et al, eds. Contemporary esthetic dentistry: practice fundamentals.
Chicago: Quintessence, 1994.
HSL WU 300 C761 1994
Garber, David A., Goldstein, Ronald E. Porcelain and composite inlays and onlays:
esthetic posterior restorations. Chicago: Quintessence, 1994.
HSL WU 360 C213p 1994
Pinault, Alain. Esthetics of anterior fixed prosthodontics. Chicago : Quintessence Pub. Co., c1994.
HSL WU 515 C533e 1994
Jordan, Ronald E. Esthetic composite bonding : techniques and materials. 2nd ed. St.
Louis : Mosby Year Book, c1993.
HSL WU 190 J82e 1993
Association / Academy / Organization
Centre for Evidence-Based Dentistry
Access through Internet: http://www.ihs.ox.ac.uk/cebd/
Journals
The Journal of Evidence-Based Dental Practice
Evidence-Based Dentistry (published by British Dental Journal)
Association / Academy / Organization
American Academy of Maxillofacial Prosthodontics
Access through Internet: http://www.maxillofacialprosth.org/maxillofacial/
American College of Prosthodontics
Access through Internet: http://prosthodontics.org/
Journals
Journal of Prosthodontics
Access through Internet: http://www2.jprosthodontics.org/
Journal of Prosthodontic Dentistry
Books & Non-Print
Rosenstiel, Stephen F., et al. Contemporary fixed prosthodontics. 3rd ed. St. Louis:
Mosby-Year Book, 2001.
HSL WU 515 R815c 2001
Shillingburg, Herbert T., et al. Fundamentals of fixed prosthodontics. 3rd ed. Chicago:
Quintessence, 1997.
HSL WU 515 F981 1997
Shillingburg, Herbert T. Fundamentals of tooth preparations for cast metal and porcelain restorations. Chicago : Quintessence Pub. Co., 1987.
HSL WU 350 S556f 1987
Association / Academy / Organization
American Society of Forensic Odontology
Access through Internet: http://www.asfo.org
American Board of Forensic Odontology
Access through Internet: http://www.abfo.org
Books & Non-Print
Jensen, Robert A. Mass fatality and casuality incidents: a filed guide. Boca Raton, FL.: CRC Press, 2000.
HSL W 786 J54m 2000
Whittaker, D.K. A colour atlas of forensic dentistry. London, England: Wolfe Medical
Publications, 1989.
HSL W 617 W624c 1989
Rogers, Spencer Lee. The testimony of teeth : forensic aspects of human dentition.
Springfield, IL : Thomas, c1988.
HSL W 705 R729t 1988
GENERAL DENTISTRY
Associations / Academy / Organization
Academy of General Dentistry
Access through Internet: http://www.agd.org/
American Dental Association
Access through Internet: http://www.ada.org/
Journals
American Dental Association News (ADA News)
Access through Internet: http://www.ada.org/prof/pubs/adanews/index.html
Dentistry On-Line Journal
Access through Internet: http://www.priory.co.uk/dent.htm
Oral Health Matters
Select 'newsletters' available in WORD and PDF
Access through Internet: http://astdd.org/
Journal of Dental Education (JDE)
Access through Internet: http://www.adea.org/publications/jde_general.htm
Journal of the American Dental Association (JADA)
Access through Internet: http://www.ada.org/prof/pubs/jada/index.asp
American Journal of Dentistry (AJD)
British Dental Journal
Compendium
General Dentistry
Association / Academy / Organization
American Society for Geriatric Dentistry
Access through Internet: http://www.health.gov/nhic/NHICScripts/Entry.cfm?HRCode=HR0314
Journals
The Journal of the American Society for Geriatric Dentistry
National Institute of Health Grants & Funding
Access through Internet: http://grants.nih.gov/grants/index.cfm
National Science Foundation Grants
Access through Internet: http://www.nsf.gov/home/grants.htm
CDC National Prevention Information Network-Funding Database
Access through Internet: http://www.cdcnpin.org/db/public/fundmain.htm
Guide to Developing & Writing Grant Proposals
Access through Internet: http://www.cfda.gov/public/cat-writing.htm
The Dr. Samuel D. Harris National Museum of Dentistry in association with the
Smithsonian Institution
Access through Internet: http://www.dentalmuseum.org/
Journals
Journal of the History of Dentistry
Books & Non-Print
Glenner, Richard A. The American dentist: a pictorial history with a presentation of early dental photography in America. Missoula, Mont. : Pictorial Histories Pub. Co., 1990.
HSL History of Medicine WU 11.AA1 G558a 1990
Harris, Ruth Roy. Dental Science in a new age: a history of the National Institute of Dental research. Rockville, Md. : Montrose Press, 1989.
HSL WU 11.AA1 H3d 1989
HSL History of Medicine WU 11.AA1 H3d 1989
Asbell, Milton B. Dentistry: a historical perspective: being a historical account of the history of dentistry from ancient times, with emphasis upon the United States from the colonial to the present period. Bryn Mawr, Pa. : Dorrance & Co., c 1988
HSL WU 11.AA1 A7d 1988
Association / Academy / Organization
Occupational Safety & Health Administration
Access through Internet: http://www.osha.gov/
Organization for Safety and Asepsis Procedures
International Dental Infection Control and Safety
Access through Internet: http://www.osap.org/
Journals
Emerging Infectious Diseases
Access through Internet: http://www.cdc.gov.ncidod/eid/index.htm
Books & Non-Print
Field, Marilyn J. Tuberculosis in the workplace <electronic resource> Washington, D.C. : National Academy Press, c2001.
Access through Internet: http://www.nap.edu/books/0309073308/html/
Collins, C. H. Occupational blood-borne infections : risk and management. Wallingford, Oxon, UK ; New York, NY : CAB International, c1997.
HSL WA 110 O15 1997
Cottone, James A., et al, eds. Practical infection control in dentistry. 2nd ed. Baltimore: Williams & Wilkins, 1996.
HSL WA 110 C851p 1996
Miller, Chris H., Palenik, Charles J. Infection control and management of hazardous materials for the dental team. St. Louis: Mosby-Year Book, 1994.
HSL WC 195 M647i 1994 2nd edition (1998) O(N ORDER)
Wood, Peter R. Practical cross infection control in dentistry: a practical illustrated guide. St. Louis: Mosby-Year Book, 1992.
HSL WC 195 W878c 1992
Association / Academy / Organization
American Academy of Implant Dentistry
Access through Internet: http://www.aaid-implant.org/
Journals
Academy of Osseointegration
Academy News
Access through Internet: http://osseo.org/acadnews.asp
The Journal of Oral Implantology
Implant Dentistry
International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Implants
Books & Non-Print
Palmer, Richard M. Implants in clinical dentistry. London : Martin Dunitz, 2002.
HSL WU 640 I34 2002
Barbush, Charles A., ed. Dental implants: the art and science. Philadelphia: Saunders,
2001.
HSL WU 640 D4142 2001
Palacci, Patrick., Ericsson, Ingvar. eds. Esthetic implant dentistry : soft and hard tissue management. Chicago : Quintessence, c2001.
HSL WU 640 E79 2001
Weiss, Charles. Principles and practice of implant dentistry. St. Louis, Mo. : Mosby, c2001.
HSL WU 640 W429p 2001
Fredrickson, Edward J., et al. Implant prosthodontics: clinical and laboratory procedures. St. Louis: Mosby-Year Book, 2000.
HSL WU 640 S845i 2000
Cranin, A. Norman, et al. Atlas of oral implantology. New York: Thieme, 1999.
HSL oversize WU 640 C891a 1999
Misch, Carl E. Contemporary implant dentistry. 2nd ed. St. Louis : Mosby, c1999.
HSL WU 640 M678c 1999
Block, Michael S. Implants in dentistry : essentials of endosseous implants for maxillofacial reconstruction. Philadelphia : Saunders, c1997.
HSL WU 640 B651i 1997
Barbush, Charles A., ed. Dental implants: the art and science. Philadelphia: Saunders, 2001.
HSL WU 640 D4142 2001
Association / Academy / Organization
Academy of Laser Dentistry
Access through Internet: http://www.laserdentistry.org/
Books & Non-Print
Catone, Guy A. Laser applications in oral and maxillofacial surgery. Philadelphia : W.B. Saunders, c1997.
HSL WU 600 L343 1997
Journals
Journal of Esthetic and Restorative Dentistry
Operative Dentistry
Books & Non-Print
Albers, Harry F., Tooth-colored restorations: principles and techniques. 9th ed. Hamilton, Ont. : London : BC Decker, 2002. Accompanying CD-ROM contains text and illustrations of the book in searchable PDF files. Contains Adobe Acrobat Reader 4.0.
HSL WU 300 A332t 2002
HSL Media Resource Center CD-ROM WU 300 A332t 2002
Sturdevant, Clifford M., ed. Sturdevant's art and science of operative dentistry. 4th ed. St. Louis: Mosby-Year Book, 2002.
HSL WU 300 S935l 2002
Greenwall, Linda., ed. Bleaching techniques in restorative dentistry : an illustrated guide. London : Martin Dunitz, 2001.
HSL WU 166 B646 2001
Summitt, James B., Robbins, J. William, et al., eds. Fundamentals of operative dentistry : a contemporary approach. Chicago, Ill. : Quintessence Pub. Co., 2001.
HSL WU 300 S399f 2000
Freilich, Martin A. Fiber-reinforced composites in clinical dentistry. Chicago : Quintessence Pub. Co., c1999.
HSL WU 190 F443 1999
Baum, Lloyd, et al. Textbook of operative dentistry. 3rd ed. Philadelphia: Saunders, 1995.
HSL WU 300 B347t 1995
Association / Academy / Organization
Oral Health America
Access through Internet: http://www.oralhealthamerica.org
Journals
Archives of Oral Biology
Access through Internet: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/journal/00039969
Journal of Oral Pathology and Medicine
Oral Surgery, Oral Medicine, Oral Pathology, Oral Radiology, and Endodontics
Books & Non-Print
Cawson, R. A. Oral diseases: clinical and pathological correlations. 3rd ed.
Edinburgh; New York: Mosby, 2001.
HSL WU 17 O63 2001
Gorlin, Robert J., et al. Syndromes of the head and neck. 4th ed. New York: Oxford
University Press, 2001.
HSL WE 705 G669s 2001
Wray, David, et al. Textbook of general and oral medicine. Edinburgh ; New York : Churchill Livingstone, 1999.
HSL WB 102 T355 1999
Cawson, R. A. Essentials of oral pathology and oral medicine. 6th ed. New York : Churchill Livingstone, 1998.
HSL WU 600 C3836 1998 (7th ed. (2002) ON ORDER)
Lynch, Malcolm A., ed. Burket's oral medicine: diagnosis and treatment. 9th ed Philadelphia: Lippincott-Raven, 1997.
HSL WU 140 M9593 1997
Wood, Norman K., Goaz, Paul W. Differential diagnosis of oral and maxillofacial
lesions. 5th ed. St. Louis: Mosby-Year Book, 1997.
HSL WU 140 W877d 1997
Enlow, Donald H. Essentials of facial growth. Philadelphia : Saunders, c1996.
HSL WE 705 E58e 1996
Sonis, Stephen T., et al. Principles and practice of oral medicine. 2nd ed. Philadelphia:
Saunders, 1995.
HSL WU 140 S698p 1995
Rose, Louis F., Kaye, Donald, eds. Internal medicine for dentistry. 2nd ed. St. Louis:
Mosby-Year Book, 1990.
HSL WB 115 I607 1990
Association / Academy / Organization
American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons
Access through Internet: http://www.aaoms.org/
American College of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons
Access through Internet: http://www.acoms.org/
International Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons
Access through Internet: http://www.iaoms.org/
Journals
Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
Journal of Oral Rehabilitation
Oral Surgery, Oral Medicine, Oral Pathology, Oral Radiology, and Endodontics
Books & Non-Print
Peterson, Larry J., et al, eds. Contemporary oral and maxillofacial surgery. 3rd ed. St.
Louis: Mosby-Year Book, 1998.
HSL WU 600 C76l 1998
Donoff, R. Bruce. Manual of oral and maxillofacial surgery. 3rd ed. St. Louis : Mosby, c1997.
HSL WU 49 M414 1997
Fonseca, Raymond J., Walker, Robert V. Oral and maxillofacial trauma. 2 volumes.
Philadelphia: Saunders, 1997.
HSL WU 610 0628 1997
Andreasen, J.O., Andreasen, Frances M. Textbook and color atlas of traumatic injuries to the teeth. 3rd ed. St. Louis: Mosby-Year Book, 1994.
HSL WU 17 A557t 1994
Fonseca, Raymond J., Davis, W. Howard, eds. Reconstructive preprosthetic oral and
maxillofacial surgery. Philadelphia: Saunders, 1986.
HSL WU 600 R311 1986
Association / Academy / Organization
American Association of Orthodontics
Access through Internet: http://www.aaortho.org/
American Board of Orthodontics
Access through Internet: http://www.americanboardortho.com/
American Orthodontic Society
Access through Internet: http://www.orthodontics.com/
Australian Society of Orthodontics
Access through Internet: http://www.aso.org.au/
Canadian Association of Orthodontists
Access through Internet: http://www.cao-aco.org/
Journals
Orthodontic Journal Search Engine
Access through Internet: http://www.bracesinfo.com/searchjournals.htm
Angle Orthodontist
An International Journal of Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics
Access through Internet: http://www.angle.org
Australian Orthodontic Journal
Access through Internet: http://www.aso.org.au/aoj.htm
American Journal of Orthodontics
American Journal of Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics
European Journal of Orthodontics
Access through Internet: http://www3.oup.co.uk/eortho/
Books & Non-Print
Brantley, William A., Eliades, Theodore., eds. Orthodontic materials : scientific and clinical aspects. Stuttgart ; New York, NY : Thieme, 2001.
HSL WU 426 O77 2001
Bishara, Samir E. Textbook of orthodontics. Philadelphia, Pa. : Saunders, c2001.
HSL WU 400 T355 2001
Graber, Thomas M., Vanarsdall, Robert L., Jr., eds. Orthodontics: current principles and techniques. 3rd ed. St. Louis: Mosby-Year Book, 2000.
HSL WU 400 O776 2000
Proffit, William R. Contemporary orthodontics. 3rd ed. St. Louis: Mosby-Year Book,
2000.
HSL WU 400 P964c 2000
Nanda, Ravindra. Biomechanics in clinical orthodontics. Philadelphia : Saunders, c1997.
HSL WU 400 B6149 1997
Ash, Major M., Ramford, Sigurd. Occlusion. 4th ed. Philadelphia: Saunders, 1995.
HSL WU 440 A819o 1995
Nanda, Ravindra, Burstone, Charles J. Retention and stability in orthodontics.
Philadelphia : W.B. Saunders, c1993.
HSL WU 400 R437 1993
Association / Academy / Organization
American Dental Society of Anesthesiology
Access through Internet: http://www.adsahome.org
The American Society of Dentist Anesthesiologists
Access through Internet: http://www.asdahj.org/
International Association for the Study of Pain
Access through Internet: http://www.iasp-pain.org/
Journals
Anesthesia Progress
Anesthesia and Analgesia
Anaesthesia
Journal of Clinical Anesthesia
Access through Internet: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/journal/09528180
Books & Non-Print
Dionne, Raymond., Phero, James C., Becker, Daniel E., eds. Management of pain & anxiety in the dental office. Philadelphia : Saunders, c2002.
HSL WO 460 M2665 2002
Malomed, Stanley F. Handbook of local anesthesia. 4th ed. St. Louis: Mosby-Year Book, 1997.
HSL WO 460 M236h 1997
Jastak, J. Theodore. Local anesthesia of the oral cavity. Philadelphia : Saunders, c1995.
HSL WO 460 J39L 1995
Malomed, Stanley F. Sedation: a guide to patient management. 3rd ed. St. Louis: Mosby-Year Book, 1995.
HSL WO 460 M236s 1995
Association / Academy / Organization
American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry
Access through Internet: http://www.aapd.org/
The American Society of Dentistry for Children
Access through Internet: http://www.asdckids.org/
Journals
Journal of Dentistry for Children
Access through Internet: http://cudental.creighton.edu/asdc/HTM/zjournal.htm
Journal of Clinical Pediatric Dentistry
Books & Non-Print
Koch, Goran., Poulsen, Sven. eds. Pediatric dentistry : a clinical approach. 1st ed.
Copenhagen : Munksgaard, 2001.
HSL WU 480 P36984 2001
McDonald, Ralph E., Avery, David R. Dentistry for the child and adolescence. 7th ed.
St. Louis: Mosby-Year Book, 2000.
HSL WU 480 D4145 2000
Pinkham, J.R., et al, eds. Pediatric dentistry: infancy through adolescence. 3rd ed.
Philadelphia: Saunders, 1999.
HSL WU 480 P36985 1999
Andlaw, R. J. A manual of paediatric dentistry. 4th ed. New York : Churchill
Livingstone, 1996.
HSL WU 480 A552ma 1996
Association / Academy / Organization
The American Academy of Periodontology
Access through Internet: http://www.perio.org/
Journals
Journal of Clinical Periodontology
Journal of Periodontology
Journal of Periodontal Research
Periodontology 2000 (Each issue has a distinctive title)
Annals of Periodontology
Books & Non-Print
Carranza, Fermin A., Jr., Newman, Michael G. Carranza's clinical periodontology. 9th ed. Philadelphia: Saunders, 2002.
HSL WU 240 C641 2002
HSL Media Resource Center CD-ROM WU 240 C641 2002
Galgut, Peter N. Periodontics : current concepts and treatment strategies. London : M. Dunitz ; New York : Distributed in the United States and Canada by Thieme, 2001.
HSL WU 240 G155p 2001
Wilson, Thomas G., Kornman, Kenneth S. Fundamentals of periodontics. Chicago :
Quintessence Pub. Co., c1996.
HSL WU 242 F981 1996
Cohen, Edward S. Atlas of cosmetic and reconstructive periodontal surgery. 2nd ed.
Baltimore: Williams & Wilkins, 1994.
HSL WU 17 C678a 1994
Grant, Daniel A., et al, eds. Periodontics in the tradition of Gottlieb and Orban. 6th ed. St. Louis: Mosby-Year Book, 1988.
HSL WU 240 P44756 1988
Rateitschak, Klaus H. Color atlas of periodontology. Stuttgart ; New York : Thieme,
1985.
HSL Oversize WU 17 P257c 1985
Pattison, Gordon L. Periodontal instrumentation : a clinical manual. Reston, Va. : Reston Pub. Co., c1979.
HSL WU 240 P321p 1979 (2nd ed. (1991) ON ORDER)
PHARMACOLOGY AND DENTAL THERAPEUTICS
Journals
Current Opinions in Pharmacology
Access through Internet: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/journal/14714892
Books & Non-Print
BMC clinical pharmacology <electronic resource>
Access through Internet: http://www.biomedcentral.com/1472-6904
Hardman, Joel G., Limbird, Lee E. Goodman & Gilman's the pharmacological basis of therapeutics. 10th ed. New York : McGraw-Hill Medical Pub. Division, c2001.
HSL Reserve QV 4 G6532 2001
ADA Guide to dental therapeutics. 2nd ed. Chicago:ADA Pub. 2000
HSL Reserve QV 50 A191 2000
Newman, Michael G., Winkelhoff, A. J. van., eds. Antibiotic and antimicrobial use in dental practice. 2nd ed. Chicago : Quintessence Pub. Co., c2001.
HSL WU 166 A629 2000
Neidle, Enid A., Yagiela, John A. Pharmacology and therapeutics for dentistry. 4th ed. St. Louis: Mosby-Year Book, 1998.
HSL QV 50 P5355 1998
Cawson, R. A. Clinical pharmacology in dentistry. 5th ed. Edinburgh ; New York :
Churchill Livingstone, 1989.
HSL QV 50 C383c 1989
Ciancio, Sebastian G., Bourgault, Priscilla C. Clinical pharmacology for dental
professionals. 3rd ed. Chicago:Year Book Medical Publishers. 1989.
HSL QV 50 C566c 1989
Holyroyd, Sam V., et al, eds. Clinical pharmacology in dental practice. 4th ed. St. Louis: Mosby-Year Book, 1988.
HSL QV 50 C641 1988
PROFESSION, PRACTICE, AND COMMUNITY DENTISTRY
Association / Academy / Organization
American Public Health Association
Access through Internet: http://www.apha.org/
American Association of Public Health Dentistry
Access through Internet: http://www.aaphd.org/
Journals
Journal of Contemporary Dental Practice
Access through Internet: http://www.thejcdp.com/
Community Dental Health
Access through Internet: http://www.dundee.ac.uk/dhsru/cdh/
Community Dentistry and Oral Epidemiology
Newsletter of the American Association of Public Health Dentistry
Access through Internet: http://www.aaphd.org/
Books & Non-Print
Gluck, George M., Morganstein, Warren M. Jong's community dental health. 5th ed. St. Louis: Mosby-Year Book, 2003.
ON ORDER
Burt, Brian A., Eklund, Stephen A. Dentistry, dental practice, and the community. 5th ed. Philadelphia: Saunders, 1999.
HSL WU 113 B973d 1999
Harris, Norman O., Christen, Arden G., eds. Primary preventive dentistry. 5th ed.
Norwalk, CT: Appleton & Lange, 1999.
HSL WU 113 P9522 1999
Wright, Robin, MA. Tough questions, great answers : responding to patient concerns about today's dentistry. Chicago : Quintessence Pub. Co., c1997.
HSL WU 61 W952t 1997
The dentist's responsibility in identifying and reporting child abuse and neglect.
3rd ed., revised. <Chicago, Il?> : American Dental Association, Council on Dental Practice, 1995.
HSL WA 320 D41401 1995
Ozar, David T. Dental ethics at chairside : professional principles and practical
applications. St. Louis : Mosby, c1994.
HSL WU 50 O99d 1994 (2nd ed. (2002) ON ORDER)
Rule, James T. Ethical questions in dentistry. Chicago : Quintessence Pub. Co., Inc.,
c1993.
HSL WU 50 R935e 1993
Instructions to Authors in the Health Sciences
Provides instructions to authors for over 3,500 journals in the health and life sciences.
Access through Internet: http://www.mco.edu/lib/instr/libinsta.html
Guide to Citing Government Resources
Access through Internet: http://exlibris.memphis.edu/govpubs/citeweb.htm
Books & Non-Print
Hall, George M., ed. How to present at meetings. London : BMJ Books, 2001.
HSL WZ 345 H8475 2001
Grossman, Michael Baruch. Writing and presenting scientific papers. Nottongham: Nottingham University Press, 2000.
HSL WZ 345 M256w 2000
CBE Style Manual Committee. Scientific style and format: the CBE manual for authors, editors, and publishers. 6th ed. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1999.
HSL Reference / Writing Section WZ345 S416 1999
Day, Robert A. How to write and publish a scientific paper. 5th ed. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1998.
HSL Reference / Writing Section WZ345 D274h 1998
Briscoe, Mary Helen. Preparing scientific illustrations: a guide to better posters, presentations, and publications. 2nd ed. New York: Springer, 1996.
HSL Reference / Writing Section WZ348 B859p 1996
QUALITY ASSURANCE / RISK MANAGEMENT
Association / Academy / Organization
American Society for Quality
Access through Internet: http://www.asq.org/
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Access through Internet: http://www.ahcpr.gov/
Journals
Journal for Healthcare Quality
The Quality Assurance Journal
Access through Internet: http://www3.interscience.wiley.com/cgi-bin/jtoc?ID=15634
Books & Non-Print
Pollack, Burton R. Law and Risk Management in Dental Practice. Chicago : Quintessence Publishing Co., Inc. 2002
HSL W 705 P771L 2002
Vincent, Charles, ed. Clinical risk management : enhancing patient safety. London, England : BMJ Books, 2001.
HSL W84.1 C6418 2001
Shelton, Patrick J. Measuring and improving patient satisfaction. Gaithersburg, Md. : Aspen Publishers, 2000.
HSL W85 S545m 2000
Journals
Oral Surgery, Oral Medicine, Oral Pathology, Oral Radiology, and Endodontics
Books & Non-Print
Goaz, Paul W., White, Stuart C., eds. Oral radiology: principles and interpretation. 4th ed. St. Louis: Mosby-Year Book, 1999.
HSL WN 230 G573o 1999
Brocklebank, Laetitia. Dental radiology : understanding the X-ray image. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1997.
HSL WN 230 B864d 1997
Razmus, Thomas F. Current oral and maxillofacial imaging. Philadelphia : Saunders,
c1996.
HSL WN 230 R278c 1996
Miles, Dale A., et al. Basic principles of oral and maxillofacial radiology. Philadelphia: Saunders, 1992.
HSL WN 230 M643b 1992
Manson-Hing, Lincoln R. Fundamentals of dental radiography. 3rd ed. Baltimore: Williams & Wilkins, 1990.
HSL WN 230 M289f 1990
Association / Academy / Organization
American College of Prosthodontics
Access through Internet: http://prosthodontics.org/
Journals
Journal of Prosthodontics
Access through Internet: http://www2.jprosthodontics.org/
Journal of Prosthetic Dentistry
International Journal of Prosthodontics
Books & Non-Print
Basker, R. M. Prosthetic treatment of the edentulous patient. 4th ed. Oxford : Blackwell, 2002.
HSL WU 530 B315p 2002
Devlin, Hugh. Complete dentures: a clinical manual for the general dental practioner. Berlin ; New York: Springer, c2002.
HSL WU 530 D497c 2002
McGivney, Glen P., Castleberry, Dwight J. McCraken's removable partial
prosthodontics. 10th ed. St. Louis: Mosby-Year Book, 2000.
HSL WU 515 M479m 2000
MacEntee, Michael I. The complete denture: a clinical pathway. Chicago: Quintessence Pub. Co., c1999.
HSL WU 530 M141c 1999
Association / Academy / Organization
International Association for Dental Research &
American Association for Dental Research
Access through Internet: http://www.iadr.com/
National Institute of Dental & Craniofacial Research
Access through Internet: http://www.nidr.nih.gov/
National Center for Fluoridation Policy and Research
Access through Internet: http://fluoride.oralhealth.org/
National Center for Dental Hygiene Research
Access through Internet: http://www.usc.edu/hsc/dental/dhnet
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Access through Internet: http://www.ahcpr.gov/
Journals
Journal of Dental Research
Access through Internet: http://www.jdr.iadrjournals.org/
AADR Reports
Access through Internet: http://www.iadr.com/Publications/Newsletters/mainaa.htm
NIDCR Research Digest
Access through Internet: http://www.nidcr.nih.gov/news/digest/index.asp
Advances in Dental Research
Books & Non-Print
Brunette, Donald Maxwell. Critical thinking : understanding and evaluating dental
research. Chicago : Quintessence Pub., c1996.
HSL WU 20.5 B895c 1996
Association / Academy / Organization
Special Care Dentistry
(Formally the Federation of Special Care Organizations in Dentistry)
Access through Internet: http://www.SCDonline.org/
International Association for Disability and Oral Health
Access through Internet: http://www.iadh.org/
Academy of Dentistry for Persons with Disabilities
Access through Internet: http://www.SCDonline.org/ADPD_Index.htm
Oral health services for the HIV-infected population.
Access through Internet: http://www.hivdent.org/main.htm
American Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Association / Cleft Palate Foundation
Access through Internet: http://www.cleftline.org
Journals
HIV/AIDS Surveillance Reports
Access through Internet: http://www.cdc.gov/hiv/stats/hasrlink.htm
Special Care in Dentistry
Official publication of the American Association of Hospital Dentists, the Academy of Dentistry for the Handicapped, and the American Society for Geriatric Dentistry
Books & Non-Print
Little, James W. Dental management of the medically compromised patient. 6th ed. St. Louis : Mosby, 2002.
HSL WU 29 D4143 2002
Association / Academy / Organization
International Academy of Sports Dentistry
Access through Internet: http://www.acadsportsdent.org
Sports Dentistry Online
Access through Internet: http://www.sportsdentistry.com/
TEMPOROMANDIBULAR JOINT AND OROFACIAL PAIN
Association / Academy / Organization
International Academy of Myodontics
Access through Internet: http://www.comcat.com/~myodont/
American Academy of Craniofacial Pain
Access through Internet: http://www.aacfp.org/
The TMJ Association, Ltd.
Access through Internet: http://www.tmj.org/
Journals
Cranio : The Journal of Craniomandibular Practice
Books & Non-Print
Von Piekartz, Harry., Bryden, Lynn., eds. Craniofacial dysfunction and pain : manual therapy, assessment, and management. Oxford ; Boston : Butterworth Heinemann, 2001.
HSL WE 705 C89018 2001
Sperber, Geoffrey H. Craniofacial development. The accompanying CD-ROM includes the complete text and illustrations from the print volume, as well as three- dimensional movies that show reconstructions of embryos. Hamilton, Ont.; London : B.C. Decker ; Lewiston, NY : Sales and distribution, U.S., B.C. Decker, 2001.
HSL WE705 S64 2001
HSL Media Resource Center CD-ROM WE705 S64 2001
Isberg-Holm, Annika. Temporomandibular joint dysfunction : a practitioner's guide. <Oxford> : Isis Medical Media, 2001.
HSL Temporary Control Number: EEL9062 ON ORDER
Lund, James P. Orofacial pain : from basic science to clinical management : the transfer of knowledge in pain research to education. Chicago : Quintessence Pub., c2001.
HSL WU 140 0745 2000
Carlsson, Gunnar E., Management of temporomandibular disorders in the general dental practice. Chicago : Quintessence Pub. Co., c1999.
HSL WU 140.5 C284m 1999
Okeson, Jeffrey P. Management of temporomandibular disorders and occlusion. 4th ed. Chicago: Mosby-Year Book, 1998.
HSL WU 140.5 041m 1998 (5th ed. (2003) ON ORDER)
Sarnat, Bernard G., Laskin, Daniel M. The temporomandibular joint: a biological basis for clinical practice. 4th ed. Philadelphia: Saunders, 1992.
HSL WU 140 T287 1992
Fricton, James R., Dubner, Ronald., eds. Orofacial pain and temporomandibular disorders. New York : Raven Press, c1995.
HSL WU 140 O74 1995
Matukas, Victor J. Temporomandibular joint dysfunction <videorecording> Secaucus, N.J. : Network for Continuing Medical Education, c1989.
HSL Media Resources Center Videocassette VHS NCME no.567 (16 min.)
Associations / Academy / Organizations
Academy of Veterinary Dentistry
Access through Internet: http://www.avdonline.org/
Journals
The Journal of Veterinary Dentistry
Access through Internet: http://www.jvdonline.org/
Academy of Dental Sleep Medicine
Access through Internet: http://www.dentalsleepmed.org/
American Association of Dental Editors (AADE)
Access through Internet: http://www.dentaleditors.org/
American Association of Women Dentists (AAWD)
Access through Internet: http://www.womendentists.org
Dental Items of Significance
Access through Internet: http://www.brooks.af.mil/dis/newslet.html
United States Dental Diving Association (USDDA)
This organization is comprised of dentists who share the common interest of SCUBA diving.
Access through Internet: http://www.usdda.com/
Robin L. Comeau, RDH
August 27, 2002







