return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Material
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries and Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserve Databases Forms A-Z Requesting Materials Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Architecture & Planning Digital Collections Health Sciences Library Law Library Libraries Annex Lockwood Library Multimedia Collections Music Library Silverman Library Special Collections
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Library Store Support Our Libraries
chatChat textText emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Requesting Materials
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: Mary Soom

Last Updated: 28 February 2012

 

 






Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Newspapers > Historical News Online


Historical News Online

Historical newspapers are being digitized through a number of projects. Some of these are made freely available to the public while many are available only by institutional or individual subscription. The lists below include titles available to the UB community and titles covering Western New York.  For current news, see Newspapers Online.

At the bottom of this guide are links to broader lists of digital newspapers.


  Accessible Archives
UB has access to a subset of this database (titles are listed separately below). Additional coverage is available through the NYS Library to NYS employees and retirees. More information.
UB Only African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century – Accessible Archives
Ultimately this resource will include the complete transcribed text of seven 19th century African-American newspapers.
 

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922

Acces is to selected New York newspapers published between 1733 and 1915.
Available to NYS employees and retirees. More information

UB Only American Periodical Series (APS)
Journals rather than newspapers, published between 1741-1900
Available to All Brooklyn Daily Eagle 1841-1902
Available to All

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

This is an on-going project, currently covering select paper 1860-1922.

UB Only Civil War, a Newspaper Perspective – Accessible Archives
Major articles from issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between 1860 and 1865.
UB Only

Ethnic Newswatch
Ethnic, minority and native press, some back to 1960.

Available to All Fulton History
Scanned images of central and northern New York newspapers from 1806 to 2007. A bit quirky but the only way to get old Buffalo papers online.
Available to All Google News Archive
Google is no longer adding new content to this product. For the time being, it is still searchable using the box at the top of the page. Some links results may require a fee. Use UB Libraries' microfilm when available.
UB Only Harper’s Weekly (via HarpWeek)
Not a newspaper, but 19th century America's most influential periodical. Covers 1857-1883.
Available to All MOA Making of America (Cornell)
MOA Making of America (U of Michigan)
Scanned journals, mostly 1840-1900.
Available to All

New York Heritage Digital Collections

The collection includes papers from Erie, Chautauqua, Monroe, Ontario counties, many downstate counties and Northern New York Newspapers.

Available to All

New York Times


New York Times Archive 1851-present
Articles between 1851-1922 are free.
Articles from 1922-mid1980s incur a charge.
Pre-1923 and post-1986 articles are free but will count toward a monthly limit imposed by NYT.
Tip: Use the Archives Search; if the item you need asks for payment, take the citation to the microfilm in the Multimedia Center in Silverman Library.

 

New York Times Historic 1851-2003
From Proquest, this database is available from the New York State Library for NYS employees or retirees, more information.

Available to All

Pennsylvania Civil War Newspapers

UB Only Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800 – Accessible Archives
Once called the New York Times of the 18th century.
UB Only

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
19th and 20th century journals, included here for the news value.

Available to All Western New York Legacy
This product is now part ofNew York Heritage Digital Collection.

 

Other lists of links to historical news:

International Coalition on Newspapers

Lists digitization projects, internationally and in the US.

UIUC Guide to Historical Newspapers

University of Illinois guide to historical papers online. Scroll down to see the freely-available titles.

U Penn Guide to Historical Newspapers

Lists only papers that are freely available.

Online Newspaper Archives

Wikipedia's links to online newspapers, including historical papers.

Return to the homepage
Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility
  • rss
  • facebook
  • youtube
  • twitter