return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 


Guide Author: Kate Cunningham-Hendrix
 

Last Updated: 7 Nov 2006





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Art & Art History > Art: Guide to Resources

    
Art: Guide to Resources    

All of the sources listed can be found in the University at Buffalo's Arts & Sciences Libraries or on the World Wide Web. This guide is a work in progress. Comments and suggestions are welcome. For assistance or more information, contact: Dorothy Tao.


Starting Points

Background Information:

UB Only The Grove Dictionary of Art

UB Only The Oxford Dictionary of Art

Print

A Biographical Dictionary of Artists
LOCKWOOD Reference N40 .B53 1995

Print A Dictionary of the Avant-gardes
LOCKWOOD Reference NX456 .K67 2000

Print Modern Arts Criticism
LOCKWOOD Reference N40 .M63

Print The Yale Dictionary of Art and Artists
LOCKWOOD Reference N33 .L353 2000

Guide to Researchand Writing in Art

Print

Art Information and the Internet : how to find it, how to use it
LOCKWOOD Reference N59 .J66 1999

Print Art Information : research methods and resources
ARCH/PLAN Reference N85 .J64 1990

Print The Grove Book of Art Writing
LOCKWOOD Book Collection N7443 .G727 2000

Print A Short Guide to Writing About Art
LOCKWOOD Book Collection N7476 .B37 2000
Return to Top


divider



Finding Books

Search BISON - UB Libraries Catalog to locate books on your topic. For searching tips, consult UB Libraries Web Catalog Help. And remember to note the location and call number of the books that you are interested in checking out.

To browse in the book or reference collections for titles focusing on art, look for call numbers within the range: N - NX, TR for Photography

N Visual Arts
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
NC Drawing, Design, Illustration
ND Painting
NE Print Media
NK Decorative arts
NX Arts in general

Return to Top


divider



Finding Articles

To find articles on Art, please go to Resources by Subject : Art & Art History

For searching tips on finding journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, consult Locating Magazine and Journal Articles and Advanced Search Tips on BISON.

Return to Top


divider



Citations & Style Guides

The Research Tips website is very helpful in finding, using, and understanding a citation style.

Return to Top


divider



New Books in Art/Art History

The New Books database provides the latest book additions to the University at Buffalo Libraries collections. Do either a keyword search or browse by subject. Only the UB Libraries Catalog can tell you whether a book is available or checked out.

Return to Top


divider



More Web Sites

  • Aesthetics On-line - the official web site of the American Society for Aesthetics. The ASA sponsors an annual conference and three divisional conferences annually, and publishes the Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism and the ASA Newsletter.
  • Art Crimes: Writing on the Wall
  • Art Deadline List -a monthly newsletter (via email or paper) with several hundred announcements (every month!) listing art contests & competitions, art scholarships & grants, juried exhibitions, art jobs & internships, call for entries/proposals/papers, writing & photo contests, residencies, design & architecture competitions, auditions, casting calls, fellowships, festivals, funding, and other opportunities (including some that take place on the web) for artists, art educators and art students of all ages.
  • ArtSource
  • Bookstorming.com -Contemporary art publications, editions and artist's books
  • Major Modern & Contemporary Artists - each artist with portrait, brief biography, links to articles, essays and interviews; original art, limited edition art prints, photography and poster art, paintings, multimedia and artist's books.
  • Virtual Art Galleries

For searching and evaluating tips consult Using Web Resources and Thinking Critically about Discipline-Based WWW Resources.


divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility