return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




  Guide Author: Laura Taddeo
  Last Update: 28 July, 2008




Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > English & American Literature > Best Sellers

    
Best Sellers: 20th Century American   




Finding Books

Search BISON - UB Libraries Catalog to locate books on your topic. There are four basic ways to search the Catalog (Tip: Use the “full” BISON catalog):

Keywords (use the Boolean operator "AND" to connect key terms)
Sample search: salinger and biography

Title begins with… (omit initial articles such as ‘the' and ‘a')
Sample search: making of a bestseller

Subject begins with… (use Library of Congress subject headings)
Sample search: American fiction--20th century--history and criticism

Author (last name first)
Sample search: king, stephen

For more help searching the Catalog, click on the Searching Tips section of the Catalog or Contact a Librarian for assistance.

Return to Top


divider



Publishing History Resources

American Best Sellers: A Reader's Guide to Popular Fiction
LOCKWOOD Reference PS374.B45 H56 1989

Bestseller Index: All Books, by Author, On the Lists of Publishers Weekly and the New York Times through 1990
LOCKWOOD Reference Z1033 .B3 J87 1998

Bowker Annual
LOCKWOOD Reference Collection Z731 .A47

A History of Book Publishing in the United States
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z473 .T42

Between Covers: The Rise and Transformation of Book Publishing in America
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z473 .T4 1987

Guide to the Study of United States Imprints
LOCKWOOD Reference Z1215.A2 T35

80 Years of Best Sellers, 1895-1975
LOCKWOOD Reference Z1033.B3 H342

Lolita in Peyton Place: Highbrow, Middlebrow, and Lowbrow Novels of the 1950s
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PS374 .P63 W66 1995

The Making of a Bestseller: from Author to reader
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z471 .V35 1999

The #1 New York Times Bestseller
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z1033.B3 B43 1992

Return to Top


divider



Biographical Resources

Biography and Genealogy Master Index  
Leads to citations to sources that either contain biographical sketches or provide references to other works.

Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)  
Provides full-text access to over 9,000 critical and biographical essays on British and American authors from all eras and genres.

Contemporary Authors 
Provides information about authors' lives and careers, plus lists of and critical/analytical information about their works.

Contemporary Literary Criticism Select (CLC)
A collection of biographical and critical essays on contemporary writers (defined as writers now living or who died after December 31, 1959).

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
LOCKWOOD Reference PN771 G27
Provides information on more than 2,000 authors now living or who lived between 1900 and 1960. Entries include a portrait, biographical and critical information, a list of principal works, excerpts from criticism, explanatory notes and bibliographical citations, and suggested further reading.

Return to Top


divider



Finding Book Reviews

ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature)
This database includes book reviews and literary criticism of world literature, some dating back to 1920. For best results, limit your search by checking the box for Reviews.

Academic Search Premier  
This Ebsco database is multi-disciplinary with indexing of more than 8000 academic journal titles, half with full text coverage. Many have backfiles dating to 1975. Limit your search by selecting Book Review under Document Type.

Book Review Digest
LOCKWOOD Reference (Index Area) Z1219 .C96

Book Review Index
LOCKWOOD Reference (Index Area) Z1219 .B6

New York Times Index
LOCKWOOD Reference (Index Area) AI21 .N44
A subject index with abstracts of articles and features in the late city edition and regional Sunday supplements of the New York Times.

New York Times Book Review Index. 1896-1970.
LOCKWOOD Reference (Index Area) Z1219 N4
Lists materials found in The New York Times Book Review from 1896 to 1970. This index does not list book reviews that were published in the weekday New York Times. Includes full-length reviews and essays, brief reviews and biographical sketches, letters to the editor and brief commentaries and notes and anecdotal items.

LexisNexis Academic
Provides Full-text of New York Times from 1980 to present.

Literature Resource Center
This literature database reproduces reviews from sources such at Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, Publishers Weekly.
Use Advanced Search, enter author and title, and then use the tab Literary Criticism, Articles & Work Overviews to locate reviews.

New York Times Archive
Searchable archive for citations to articles published from 1851-present.

Periodicals Index Online (PIO), formerly PCI - Periodicals Content Index
An excellent source for book reviews.

Publishers Weekly Bestseller Lists  
Includes reviews, bestseller lists, commentary and more.

Return to Top


divider



Finding Literary Criticism

 ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature) 
Leads to citations to books, journal articles, critical editions, book reviews, and dissertations, and in some instances, full-text journal articles.

Academic Search Premier
Provides coverage of articles from thousands of scholarly, trade, and general-interest periodicals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. Subject coverage includes literary topics.

Literature Resource Center
An electronic version of biographical, bibliographical and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism).

MLA International Bibliography
Contains citations to books, journal articles and dissertations published on literature, modern languages, linguistics, and folklore.

America: History and Life
Leads to citations and some full-text of articles from scholarly journals, dissertations, and book and media reviews from over 100 key historical journals.

Web of Science 
A collection of multidisciplinary databases. It includes:
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Social Sciences Citation Index

Return to Top


divider


Selecting and Evaluating Editions

Bibliography of American Literature (BAL)
Search Tip: To access, click on Individual Collections section. Describes in exhaustive detail the works of America's most important literary writers from the time of the Revolution to 1930.

A Guide to English and American Literature
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z2011. B32 1976

First Printings of American Authors
LOCKWOOD Reference Z1231.F5 F57

How to Identify and Collect American First Editions: A Guide Book
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z987 .T27 1985

WorldCat
A mega-library catalog containing more than 45 million records. Contains full bibliographic descriptions and cataloging information for: books, serials, manuscripts, sound recordings, audiovisual materials, maps, music scores, and computer-readable files. Can be used to identify what editions of books libraries hold.

See also, Selecting & Evaluating Editions


Return to Top


divider


Film Resources

  • Movie Scripts
  • ScreenTalk
  • Film Reviews: Selected Sources
Return to Top


divider


Research & Writing Tips

  • Research Assistant
  • Writer's Handbook
Return to Top


divider


American Cultural History Web Sites
  • American Pop Culture.Com

  • Bad Fads" Museum

  • Dow Jones Indexes  

  • Kingwood College 20th-Century Timelines  

  • Post-World War II American Literature and Culture Database

  • Pop History Now  

  • Rave Reviews –Bestselling Fiction in America

  • San Francisco Chronicle Timeline

Return to Top


divider



divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility