Genomics Research
The Human Genome Project is a non-profit international consortium of scientist working to decode the complete sequence of human DNA. Started in 1990 by the U.S. Department of Energy and the National Institutes of Health, the project originally was planned to last 15 years, but is expected to be complete in 2003. It is hoped that the complete decoding of human DNA will eventually answer many important questions about biology, human evolution, and provide new information about the understanding and treatment of various diseases
Introduction
All inherited characteristics of living things are carried by a chemical called deoxyribonucleic acid or DNA . DNA is coiled in a double-helix, a spiral consisting of two DNA strands wound around each other. Each strand is composed of a long chain of nucleotides. Human genome research seeks to decipher the structure of these nucleotides and decode the 3.2 billion parts of human DNA through a process called sequencing . The Human Genome Project was developed to sequence all 24 human chromosomes by determining the precise order of four nucleotide "bases"; adenine (A), guanine (G), cytosine (C), and thymine (T), that consist of the entire genetic code for a human being. A working dr aft announcing the decoding of 90% of the total human genome sequences was announced in June 2000, with analyses published in the Feb. 16, 2001, issue of Science and the Feb. 15, 2001, issue of Nature . The full sequence of DNA is expected to be fully deciphered by 2003. At present the resulting genetic information resulting is being stored, organized, and indexed in computer databases which are shared and accessed by scientist and researchers around the world. Bioinformatics is the emerging field that deals with the designing and maintenance of these databases which combine computer analysis and molecular biology.
Human Genome Project
The Human Genome Project (http://www.nhgri.nih.gov:80/HGP/) is an international research effort to create a full genetic map of the human genome and read the complete nucleotide sequence of human DNA. The Human Genome Project was established in the mid 1980's as a coordinated effort between the National Institutes of Health (NIH) (http://www.nih.gov/) and the Department of Energy (DOE) (http://www.energy.gov/) Since the inception of the project other international and private groups have joined in the effort to reach the final goal of deciphering all genes of the human body, however the US government continues to be the main source of genome discovery and information. Listed below are some of the major players involved in genome research and funding.
The International Human Genome Research ConsortiumThe International Human Genome Research Consortium is an assembly of the world's major publicly funded genome sequencing centers worldwide working towards the complete sequencing of the human genome. Through the combined work of the consortium members, nearly 90% of the human genome has so far been assembled. The majority of the work has been conducted by 5 major labs, also referred to as the G-5 labs which are:
- Baylor College of Medicine Human Genome Sequencing Center
(http://www.hgsc.bcm.tmc.edu/)- US DOE Joint Genome Institute
(http://www.jgi.doe.gov/)- The Sanger Centre
(http://www.sanger.ac.uk/)- Washington University Genome Sequencing Center
(http://genome.wustl.edu/gsc/)MIT/Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, Center for Genome Research (MA, USA)
(http://www.genome.wi.mit.edu/)
The following listed labs are the remaining members of the International Human Genome Research Consortium who have provided sequencing data:
- Beijing Genomics Institute/Human Genome Center (Beijing, China) (Non-active link)
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, Lita Annenberg Hazen Genome Center
(http://nucleus.cshl.org/genseq/ )- Department of Genome Analysis, Institute of Molecular Biotechnology (Jena, Germany)
(http://genome.imb-jena.de/)- Department of Molecular Biology, Keio University School of Medicine (Tokyo, Japan)
(http://www.keio.ac.jp/)- GBF-German Research Centre for Biotechnology (Braunschweig, Germany)
(http://www.gbf-braunschweig.de/)- Genoscope and CNRS UMR-8030 (Evry, France)
(http://www.genoscope.org/)- Genome Therapeutics Corporation Sequencing Center, (Waltham, MA)
(http://208.133.219.54/index.html)- Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics (Berlin, Germany)
(http://seq.mpimg-berlin-dahlem.mpg.de/ )- University of Washington Multimegabase Sequencing Cente r, (Seattle, WA)
(http://chroma.mbt.washington.edu/)- RIKEN Genomic Sciences Center (Saitama, Japan)
(http://hgp.gsc.riken.go.jp/)- Stanford Genome Technology Center
(http://www-shgc.stanford.edu/)- University of Oklahoma's Advanced Center for Genome Technology
(http://www.genome.ou.edu/)- University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
(http://www3.utsouthwestern.edu/)- University of Washington Genome Center
(http://www.genome.washington.edu/UWGC/)Other contributing HGR organizations
UNESCO Human Genome Programme (Non-active link) Initiated in 1988, UNESCO in co-operation with other institutions organized more than 50 meetings and workshops on the Human Genome Project.
The Human Genome Organization (HUGO) (http://www.gene.ucl.ac.uk/hugo/) Established in 1989, HUGO is an international organization of the world's leading genome scientists that promotes international collaboration within the Human Genome Project (HGP). Genomic data produced by HUG0 is organized by the GDB (The Genome Database) the official central repository for genomic mapping data resulting from the Human Genome Initiative. The GDB provides an encyclopedia of the human genome that is being constantly revised and updated to reflect the current state of scientific knowledge
Human Genome Information Resources
Listed below are introduction information sources for people with only a basic knowledge of human genome topics. This information is provided by the Oak Ridge National Laboratory, a major contributor to the Human Genome Project since its inception.
- Behavioral Genetics
(http://www.ornl.gov/hgmis/elsi/behavior.html)- Bioinformatics
(http://www.ornl.gov/hgmis/research/informatics.html)- Chromosome Mapping
(http://www.ornl.gov/hgmis/research/mapping.html)- Comparative and Functional Genomics
(http://www.ornl.gov/hgmis/research/function.html)- Ethical, Legal, and Social Issues Research
(http://www.ornl.gov/hgmis/research/elsi.html)- Genetic Disease Information
(http://www.ornl.gov/hgmis/medicine/assist.html)- Gene Therapy
(http://www.ornl.gov/hgmis/medicine/genetherapy.html)- Genetic Counseling
(http://www.ornl.gov/hgmis/medicine/genecounseling.html)- Medicine and the New Genetics
(http://www.ornl.gov/hgmis/medicine/medicine.html)- Potential Benefits of Human Genome Project Research
(http://www.ornl.gov/hgmis/project/benefits.html)- Sequencing
(http://www.ornl.gov/hgmis/research/sequencing.html)- Sequencing Technologies
(http://www.ornl.gov/hgmis/research/instrumentation.html)- Student Guide to the Human Genome Project
(http://www.ornl.gov/hgmis/education/students.html)- U.S. Human Genome Project 5-Year Research Goals 1998-2003
(http://www.ornl.gov/hgmis/hg5yp/hlight.html)
Special Genome Research Projects
- The Cancer Genome Anatomy Project (CGAP) (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/ncicgap/) An interdisciplinary program established and administered by the National Cancer Institute (http://www.nci.nih.gov/) , the CGAP was established to generate the information and technological tools needed to decipher the molecular anatomy of the cancer cell. The CGAP service provides access to genetic data on normal, precancerous and malignant cells generated by the NCI's CGAP initiative.
- With funding support from the National Center on Minority Health and Health Disparities (http://www1.od.nih.gov/ormh/main.html ) intramural researchers at NHGRI began a productive collaboration with researchers at The National Human Genome Center at Howard University (http://www.founders.howard.edu/genome/) to identify the genetic variations that underlie diseases that disproportionately affect African Americans.
- U.S. DOE Microbial Genome Program (http://www.ornl.gov/microbialgenomes/) Program initiated by the Department of Energy (DOE) in 1994 to study the DNA of microbes.
- GEMS Project ( Genetic Epidemiology of the Metabolic Syndrome) (http://www2.swmed.edu/humannutrition/Features/gems.htm ) GEMS is a multi-national study to discover the genetic factors contributing to the metabolic syndrome. Sponsored by The Center for Human Nutrition , (http://www2.swmed.edu/humannutrition/index.htm) GEMS goal is the sequencing of DNA to identify the genetic basis behind this syndrome through the study of 1500 families who are afflicted with the condition.
- HGREP (Human Genome REconstruction Project) The HGREP is a joint project between the Human Genome Research Group (Genomic Sciences Center, RIKEN) (http://hgp.gsc.riken.go.jp/) and the Laboratory of Genome Database (University of Tokyo, Institute of Medical Science, Human Genome Center) (http://www.hgc.ims.u-tokyo.ac.jp/organize/takagi_lab.html) that provides a database which gives an overview of the entire human genome structure. The database contains a working draft and finished sequences which cover more than 85% of the human genomic sequences.
- Mutation Research Genomics Initiative (http://www.ornl.gov/TechResources/molgen/hmepg.html) The MRGI is a study of molecular mechanisms of mutagenesis, the biochemical and molecular aspects of DNA damage and repair, the development and use of genotoxicity testing methods (for DNA damage and related effects), human population monitoring and surveillance for genotoxic effects, and genetic and health risk assessment of chemical and radiation exposure.
- Research Collaboratory for Structural Bioinformatics (RCSB) (http://www.rcsb.org/index.html) The RCSB is a non-profit consortium dedicated to improving our understanding of the function of biological systems through the study of the 3-D structure of biological macromolecules. RCSB members work cooperatively and equally through joint grants and subsequently provide free public resources and publications to assist others and further the fields of bioinformatics and biology.
Genome Related Websites & Online Publications
There are hundreds of websites devoted to the subject of Human Genome Research. Here is a very partial list of the more important online information sources and websites of importance to the topic.-
The BioNetbook (http://www.pasteur.fr/recherche/BNB/bnb-en.html) Funded by the Institute Pasteur as a directory of Web pages for biology.
-
Bio.com (http://bio.com/) Commercial, continuously updated website providing biotechnology information, research, industry news, a career center, links to science protocols, databases, software tools, and other useful genomic web sites.
-
BioTech (http://biotech.icmb.utexas.edu/) A biology/chemistry educational resource and research tool on the World Wide Web developed by the University of Texas. BioTech addresses biological issues and provides information about biological resources for students, researchers, and teachers. Provides an illustrated dictionary and a chemical acronyms database.
-
Computational Biology at ORNL (http://compbio.ornl.gov/channel/) A product of the Computational Biology Section of the Life Sciences Division of Oak Ridge National Laboratory.
-
Genetic Engineering News (http://www.genengnews.com/) The first publication in the field of biotechnology. It is now the leading and most widely read and largest circulated publication in the biotechnology field worldwide.GEN is the source for news on biotechnology, bioregulation, bioprocess, bioresearch and technology transfer.
-
GenomeWeb (http://www.hgmp.mrc.ac.uk/GenomeWeb/) A collection of genome related sites on the Web. Provided by the UK Human Genome Mapping Project Resource Centre.
-
Genomics - John Wiley & Sons, Ltd. (http://www.wiley.co.uk/wileychi/genomics/) Developed by John Wiley and Sons, Inc., publishers, this site presents a guide to genomics-related web sites, manufacturers and suppliers, and a calendar of genome related conferences. The site Offers free special feature articles and provides an up-to-date library of the latest books and materials covering genomics, genetics, bioinformatics, computational biology, statistics and gene mapping.
-
Genome Research (http://www.genome.org/) A product of Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, Genome Research is a monthly, international, peer-reviewed journal which provides information on the subjects of gene discovery, comparative genome analyses, proteomics, evolution studies, informatics, genome structure and function, technological innovations and applications, statistical and mathematical methods, genetic and physical mapping and DNA sequencing, and other information analyses of biological processes.
-
Genomics News Wire (http://www.genomicsnews.com/) An independent publication covering the business of genomics and the emerging genomics industry. Sponsors several email listserves where scientists and non-scientists can pose questions and discuss a wide variety of genomic-related issues.
-
Genomes to Life (http://doegenomestolife.org/) A 10 year program proposed by the Department of Energy (DOE) with the ultimate goal of developing a "fundamental, comprehensive, and systematic understanding of life" through the use of DNA sequences. The genome to life site provides general background information on genomic research including an image gallery, genome glossary, and links to related human genome resources.
-
Human Genome Central (http://www.ensembl.org/genome/central) This web site contains a brief listing of links to some of the most useful human genome public information resources as well as further links to additional sites.
-
National Center For Genome Resources (NCGR) (http://www.ncgr.org/) The NCGR is a non-profit research organization from Santa Fe, New Mexico that provides bioinformatic resources and information to scientist throughout the world through data management and software development.
-
NCBI Human Genome Sequencing Progress (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/genome/seq) An integrated, one-stop, genomic information infrastructure for biomedical researchers from around the world. Site provides chromosome specific progress of the human sequencing project.
-
The Human Genome Resources Guide (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/genome/guide/) Provides an overview and progress reports of the Human Genome Project and centralized access to a full range of human genome resources available from the NCBI . Includes information on human gene research, sequences, maps, genetic variations and gene expression.
-
Nature's Genome Gateway (http://www.nature.com/genomics/) Devoted to genomic research, this guide is an accessible and comprehensive information gateway developed by the publishers of Nature Magazine. The site offers a library of original genome-related research papers, a special section devoted to the initial sequencing and analysis of the human genome, and a news service providing up-to-date coverage of the research progress, policy issues, funding and ethical implications of genome sequencing. Access to all material is free.
-
The Oak Ridge National Laboratory Review (http://www.ornl.gov/ORNLReview/) A quarterly magazine highlighting research and development at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory (http://www.ornl.gov/ ), a major contributor to the Human Genome Research Project. The previous 2001quarterly issue "New Biology: Covering All The Bases" , features detailed articles on biological systems and the role DNA, genes, and future genome research will play in the processes of those systems.
-
The Scientist (http://www.the-scientist.com/homepage.htm) "The News Journal for the Life Scientist" provides information on the issues of research, technology, employment, funding, policy and other subjects important to the life scientist. Requires free web registration. Provides a standard search engine to search for words or phrases in The Scientist's complete archive of issues 1986 to the present.
-
Virtual Library on Genetics (http://www.ornl.gov/TechResources/Human_Genome/genetics.html) Developed by members of the Oak Ridge National Laboratory, and sponsored by U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science (http://www.er.doe.gov/) Office of Biological and Environmental Research (http://www.er.doe.gov/production/ober/lsd_top.html) and the Human Genome Program (http://www.er.doe.gov/production/ober/hug_top.html) , this site is a part of the WWW Virtual Library (http://vlib.org/) , the oldest catalog of the web, started by Tim Berners-Lee, the creator of html and the WWW. Virtual Library pages are regarded as being amongst the highest-quality guides to particular sections of the web. The VL on Genetics provides links to genome research and database information.
Genome Research in the Private Sector
The majority of genomic research has been publicly funded through U.S. government and other non-profit international agencies. Many of these groups are committed to placing all sequence data in the public domain freely available to all , without patents, licenses, subscription fees, or limitations on use. However, most of the major pharmaceutical companies and various private biotechnology companies are funding genomic projects, working on genetic discoveries, and generating information of strategic importance to human genome research.
- Amgen (http://www.amgen.com) The world's largest independent biotechnology company, Amgen discovers, develops, manufactures and markets human therapeutics based on advances in cellular and molecular biology. Amgen develops drugs for nephrology, cancer, inflammatory disorders, neurology, and metabolic diseases. Products include ARANESP (sustained duration Epogen) Epogen (anti-anemic) Infergen (hepatitis C treatment) Neupogen (immune system stimulation), and Stemgen (stem cell transplantation stimulator).
- Celera Genomics (http://www.celera.com) A private genomic research company owned by Applera Corporation (http://www.applera.com/) , a private life sciences company "with a mission to improve the human condition" through "new scientific discoveries and methods for diagnosing and treating disease" through genomic research. Established in May 1998 by Craig Venter, scientist and founder of The Institute for Genomic Research (TIGR) (http://www.tigr.org/) Celera's goal is to sequence the entire human genome by 2003. In June of 2000 Celera and the Human Genome Project jointly announced working drafts of the human genome sequence and simultaneously published their findings in February of 2000 (Celera published its draft in Science while the HGP Consortium published theirs in Nature ).Celera's main research focus is on the sequencing of the human, Drosophila, and mouse genomes. Full access and use of Celera's data is available on a subscription basis to academic and commercial institutions.
- CuraGen Corporation (http://www.curagen.com) A genomics-based biopharmaceutical company that develops genomics-based biopharmaceutical products. Its main focus is on the application of genomics to the discovery of genes related to cancer, autoimmune and inflammatory diseases, and metabolic and central nervous system disorders. The firm's GeneScape system features four main databases of genetic information: GeneCalling, SeqCalling, PathCalling, and SNPCalling.
- Genentech, Inc. (http://www.gene.com/) Founded by molecular biologist Dr. Herbert Boyer in 1976, Genentech is a leading biotechnology company that uses human genetic information to discover, develop, manufacture and market human pharmaceuticals. drug-development based on its recombinant DNA technology includes such well-known products as Rituxan (a treatment for non-Hodgkin's lymphoma), Activase (a blood-clot treatment for heart attack and stroke victims), Protropin and Nutropin (growth hormone-related conditions), and Pulmozyme (cystic fibrosis).
- Genome Therapeutics (http://www.genomecorp.com) A leader in the field of genomics-based drug target discovery, the identification and functional characterization of genes associated with infectious and human diseases. Sequencing is used to identify genes in a pathogen and genetic linkage mapping to find disease-causing genes. Their Infectious Disease Program (http://www.cric.com/programs/disease.shtml) focuses on identifying the DNA sequence of medically important bacteria and fungi. Some of the services they provide include genomic sequencing, cDNA\EST Sequencing, BAC-PAC, Sequence Variation Detection Sequencing, Validation Sequencing, and PCR Product Sequencing.
- Human Genome Sciences Inc. (http://www.hgsi.com/) Founded in 1992, HGS focuses on research and development of pharmaceutical and diagnostic products based on the discovery and study of all human genes, and the development of new genomics-based pharmaceutical products. In 2000 HGS was awarded a patent for uncovering a possible genetic mechanism for AIDS infection. At present, it is developing the blood protein albumin for hepatitis C uses.
- Incyte (http://www.incyte.com/) Provides genomic technologies and products to the biotechnology and pharmaceutical industries and research and academic institutions to aid in better and faster prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of disease. The firm's genomic databases include LifeSeq Gold a continuously updated library of proprietary and public gene transcripts and expressed sequences that link biological information analysis with proprietary genetic information to aid drug discovery. Incyte creates databases for full-length genes, gene mapping, microbial gene sequences, and animal genes. The firm also produces bioinformatics software and offers DNA cloning and screening services.
- Millennium Pharmaceuticals (http://www.mlnm.com/) Biopharmaceutical company that develops breakthrough drugs, or therapeutics, and predictive medicine products using an integrated approach that the company calls 'gene to patient'. It develops treatments and diagnostics primarily for three disease targets: cancer, metabolic diseases, and inflammation.
Bioinformatic Database Resources
Bioinformaticsis the creation, development, and operation of databases and other computing tools to collect, organize, and interpret biological information. Much of this information is sequencing data produced by labs working on the Human Genome Research Project. The scope of information needed by researchers in biology and genome research has expanded beyond literature databases. Technologies fueled by genome sequencing projects, gene expression analysis and proteomics have resulted in a explosion in the amount of biological data that is generated. Subsequently, the need for biological data available in computer-readable form has increased significantly within the last 10 year. Although the eventual goal of researchers is to have a single bioinformatic database of data, at present information is stored in different ways in different databases each with its own distinctive data storage and searching format. Listed below are the foremost DNA sequencing databases.
- National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/) The NCBI is a national resource for molecular biology information. Provides resources and links to literature databases, molecular databases, genomic biology resources, tools for data mining, and other NCBI news and related resources. The NCBI provides a number of other important human genome database resources including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, macromolecular structures, whole genomes, and MEDLINE, through PubMed. Listed below are some of the NCBI's most important databases and retrieval tools:
- GenBank (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Genbank/index.html) Developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH), GenBank is the primary nucleic acid public database for which genomic data is directly submitted from individual laboratories and large scale sequencing projects by and for the scientific community. It contains all known nucleotide and protein sequences with supporting bibliographic and biological annotation. The database contains over 55,000 different organisms and is accessible through Entrez. GenBank , together with the DNA DataBank of Japan (DDBJ) and the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) comprise the International Nucleotide Sequence
Database Collaboration (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/collab/) .
- Entrez (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Entrez/Genome/main_genomes.html) NCBI's integrated database retrieval system that accesses DNA and protein sequence data. Entrez provides a comprehensive list of genomes and genomic data contributed by the scientific community for over 600 species that have been sequenced completely, or are in the process of being sequenced. This site contains links to the major sequencing centres around the world, with a full list of the genomes currently being sequenced at each centre.
- Basic Local Alignment Search Tool (BLAST) (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/BLAST/) Blast is a set of similarity search programs designed to provide a method for rapid searching of nucleotide and protein databases and to explore all of the available sequence databases regardless of whether the query is protein or DNA.
- GeneMap'99 (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/genemap99/) Provides mapping information produced by Human Genome Research. Includes the locations of more than 30,000 unique genes and provides an early glimpse of some of the most important pieces of the genome.
- LocusLink (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/LocusLink/) The database of official gene names and other gene identifiers. It presents information on official nomenclature, aliases, sequence accessions, phenotypes, EC numbers, MIM numbers, UniGene clusters, homology, map locations, and related web sites.
- Molecular Modeling Database (MMDB) (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Structure/) A database of macromolecular 3D structures, proteins and polynucleotides, as well as tools for their visualization and comparative analysis. MMDB contains over 10,000 structures and is linked to the rest of the NCBI databases, including sequences, bibliographic citations, taxonomic classifications, and sequence and structure neighbors.
- Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM) (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Omim/) Available from the NCBI, OMIM is a catalog of human genes and genetic disorders. Contains extensive information on disease genes. The database contains textual information, pictures, and reference information. It is also linked to associated records in Entrez, GenBank, PubMed, and Blast.
- UniGene (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/UniGene/index.html) An experimental system for automatically partitioning GenBank sequences into a non-redundant set of gene-oriented clusters.
- GenBank (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Genbank/index.html) Developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH), GenBank is the primary nucleic acid public database for which genomic data is directly submitted from individual laboratories and large scale sequencing projects by and for the scientific community. It contains all known nucleotide and protein sequences with supporting bibliographic and biological annotation. The database contains over 55,000 different organisms and is accessible through Entrez. GenBank , together with the DNA DataBank of Japan (DDBJ) and the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) comprise the International Nucleotide Sequence
- DNA Data Bank of Japan, Center for Information Biology (http://cib.nig.ac.jp/Welcome.html) The only DNA data bank in Japan, which is officially certified to collect DNA sequences from researchers and to issue the internationally recognized accession number to data submitters.
- The EMBL Nucleotide Sequence Database (http://www.ebi.ac.uk/index.html) Production database maintained at the EBI ( European Bioinformatics Institute) (http://www.ensembl.org) which provides access to the Genome MOT , (http://www.ebi.ac.uk/genomes/mot/) a daily updated genome monitoring table, which presents the status of a number of large genome sequencing projects on the World Wide Web. Europe's primary nucleotide sequence resource.
- Ensembl (http://www.ensembl.org/) Ensembl is a joint project between EMBL-EBI (http://www.ebi.ac.uk/) and the Sanger Centre (http://www.sanger.ac.uk/) to develop a software system which produces and maintains automatic annotation on eukaryotic genomes. Ensembl is primarily funded by the Wellcome Trust (http://www.wellcome.ac.uk/).
- AllGenes (http://www.allgenes.org ) A web site providing access to an integrated database of
known and predicted human and mouse genes. Developed by the Center for Bioinformatics, University of Pennsylvania.
- GeneCards (http://bioinformatics.weizmann.ac.il/cards/ ) A database of human genes, their products and their involvement in diseases. It offers concise information about the functions of all human genes that have an approved symbol. Developed by the Weizmann Institute of Science.
Additional Resources for Bioinformatic Centers, Databases and Institutions
- Argonne National Laboratory (University of Chicago/Department of Energy)
- Australian National University Bioinformatics Group (Australia)
- BioInformatics & Molecular Analysis Section (National Institutes of Health)
- Bioinformatics at the School of Computational Science (George Mason University)
- Biomolecular Engineering Research Center (Boston University)
- Centre for Integrated Genomics (University of British Columbia)
- Computational Biology and Informatics Laboratory in the Center for Bioinformatics in the Institute for Medicine and Engineering (University at Pennsylvania)
- Computational Biochemistry Research Group (Switzerland)
- CUBIC (Columbia University Bioinformatics Center) Columbia (University)
- European Molecular Biology Network (Germany )
- ExPASy (Expert Protein Analysis System) of the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics (SIB) (Switzerland)
- Genbrain Biosystem Network (China)
- GenomeNet/ Bioinformatics Center Institute for Chemical Research (Kyoto University)
- Harvard Department of Cellular and Molecular Biology (Harvard University)
- Keck Center for Computational Biology (Rice University)
- LECB (Laboratory of Experimental and Computational Biology ) (Center for Cancer Research/ National Cancer Institute/ National Institutes of Health)
- Pittsburgh Supercomputing Center (Carnegie Mellon University)
- San Diego Supercomputing Center (National Laboratory for Computational Science and Engineering at the University at California in San Diego)
- TIGR (The Institute for Genomic Research) (Non-profit)
- Weizmann Institute of Science Genome and Bioinformatics (Israel)
Bioinformatic Websites and Online Publications
Although information about bioinformatics can be found in many of the resources already mentioned in Genome Related Websites & On-line Publications , the following information sources relate specifically to the field of bioinformatics.
-
BIMAS (http://bimas.dcrt.nih.gov/) Developed by the BioInformatics and Molecular Analysis Section of the National Institutes of Health(NIH), BIMAS provides links to information about the genomic and genetic analysis fields of BioInformatics.
-
Bioinformatics.org (http://bioinformatics.org/) A non-profit, academic-based organization providing free bioinformatic information including news, a bulletin board, job announcements and Open Source software.
-
Bioinformatics Oxford Online Journal (http://bioinformatics.oupjournals.org/) Provides high quality, peer-reviewed, original scientific papers and excellent review articles in the fields of computational molecular biology, biological databases and genome bioinformatics. Requires free registration.
-
Bioinformatics Resources (http://www.hgmp.mrc.ac.uk/CCP11/index.jsp) Developed by the UK Human Genome Mapping Project Resource Centre. Provides bioinformatic database information.
-
Bioinformatik.de (http://www.bioinformatik.de/) A hierarchically structured Web directory of bioinformatic resources developed at the University of Düsseldorf, Germany.
-
eBioinfogen.com: A Biological Web Resources Navigator (http://www.ebioinfogen.com/) A bioinformatics gateway providing bioinformatics information, a bioinformatics forum, tutorials, sequence analysis tools, and links bioinformatic institutes around the world.
-
The Brutlag Bioinformatics Group Resource Page (http://motif.stanford.edu/index.html) Developed by the Biochemistry Department (http://cmgm.stanford.edu/biochem/) at Stanford University (http://www.stanford.edu/) and the Stanford Medical Informatics Program (http://www-smi.stanford.edu/) , this page provides detailed list of bioinformatic resources including agencies, societies, genome databases and research centers.
-
Southwest Biotechnology and Informatics Center (SWBIC) (http://www.swbic.org/) Formerly known as the National Biotechnology Information Facility (NBIF), the SWBIC "Internet Resources" database contains annotated links to various internet sites with bioinformatic resources and tools, research information, educational resources, careers, and industry information.
Genomic & Bioinformatic Research in Western New York
- Rochester Institute of Technology (http://bioinformatics.rit.edu/) The Department of Biological Sciences at RIT received a $150,000 grant from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation to develop a professional master's degree program in computational biology/bioinformatics. RIT will launch its professional master's program in bioinformatics in spring 2002.
- Canisius College (http://www.canisius.edu/) A private Western New York University located in Buffalo, Canisius College is establishing a new, four-year major in bioinformatics to begin in the fall of 2001. The bioinformatics program will provide students with a bachelor of science degree that combines biology, mathematics and computer information science. The bioinformatics program at Canisius is the first undergraduate program of its kind in Western New York and one of only a few such programs across the county.
- The Buffalo Center of Excellence in Bioinformatics (http://www.bioinformatics.buffalo.edu/) As a result of a collaboration between the SUNY University at Buffalo's Center for Computational Research (http://www.ccr.buffalo.edu/) , Roswell Park Cancer Institute ) (http://www.roswellpark.org/) and the Hauptman-Woodward Medical Research Institute (http://www.hwi.buffalo.edu/). Proposed to begin in 2001 the mission of the Buffalo Center of Excellence in Bioinformatics is to act as a research, development, education, and economic outreach resource for industries based on bioinformatics, including those engaged in information technology, biotechnology, and pharmaceuticals.
- The New York Biotechnology Association (http://www.nyba.org/index.html) A not-for-profit trade association dedicated to the development and growth of New York State based biotechnology related industries and institutions.Has a membership of over 260 biotech companies, research institutes and related professional services. Provides economic development and business links, education links, and other bioscience associations on the Web.
- The Center for Biotechnology Education and Training at Rochester Institute of Technology (http://www.cbet.org/) Established to study and foster the development of Biotechnology in Western New York.









