return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Material
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries and Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserve Databases Forms A-Z Requesting Materials Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Architecture & Planning Digital Collections Health Sciences Library Law Library Libraries Annex Lockwood Library Multimedia Collections Music Library Silverman Library Special Collections
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Library Store Support Our Libraries
chatChat textText emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Architecture & Planning
divider
  star icon Digital Collections
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
divider
  star icon Lockwood Library
  arrow_icon   Government Documents
  arrow_icon   Polish Room
divider
  star icon Multimedia Collections
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Silverman Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
 
 
 




Edward Herman,
Modified February 14, 2012
lolherma@buffalo.edu
 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Information > Taxes > 2010 Tax Quick Guide

2011 Tax Quick Guide

Looking for tax forms and hints? This brief guide provides selected links to federal and state forms, and tips offered by tax professionals. Consult Taxes at http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/taxes.html for more detail.

Disclaimer: Library staff lack training as tax professionals and cannot answer tax-related questions. Use the links on this Web site and the tax materials available in the library or online at your own risk. Consult a qualified professional if you need assistance preparing tax returns.

The following documentation is usually required when completing taxes:

  • Social Security number.
  • Identification.
  • Date of birth for you, spouse and dependents.
  • Wage and earning statement(s), Forms W-2 and 1099, from all employers.
  • Interest and dividend statements from banks (Forms 1099).
  • A copy of last year's federal and state tax returns if available.
  • Bank routing numbers and account numbers for direct deposit.

Those purchasing services from tax professionals should be aware of the Consumer Bill of Rights Regarding Tax Preparers (http://www.tax.ny.gov/tp/cbr/default.htm).

Federal Taxes

Forms and Publications (U.S. Internal Revenue Service)
http://www.irs.ustreas.gov/formspubs/index.html
Links to federal tax forms and background documentation. Coverage begins with 1990.

1040.com (Drake Software)
http://www.1040.com/federal-taxes/
Covers filing basics, tax rates, income withholding, dependents, tax credits, deductions, refunds, payments, the IRS calendar, tax forms and publications, and prior year information. This site also includes online calculators, a tax estimator, and fee-based online tax services.

Return to Top 

State Taxes

New York State Tax Forms (New York State. Department of Taxation and Finance)
http://www.tax.ny.gov/
Provides information for individual and business taxes, plus links for tax professionals and the media.

State Tax Department Websites (Drake Software)
http://www.1040.com/state-taxes/state-tax-department-websites/
Links to tax Web sites of all 50 states.

Return to Top

Tax Tips (See the disclaimer above)

H & R Block

  • Tax Preparation Checklist: What You’ll Need to File
    http://www.hrblock.com/offices/tax-preparation-checklist.html
    A tax preparation checklist for individuals covers:

    Personal Information
    Other people who may belong on your return
    Education Payments
    Employee Information
    Self-Employment Information
    Vehicle Information
    Rental Income
    Retirement Income
    Savings and Investments
    Other Income
    Itemizing Deductions
    IRA
    Information If you were affected by a federally declared disaster

    A checklist for small businesses deals with:

    Income
    Transportation and Travel Expenses
    Additional Expenses, such as

    Advertising
    Commissions paid to subcontractors
    Depreciation
    Fringe benefits
    Business insurance
    Interest expense
    Office supplies
    Rent expense
    Office-in-home
    Wages paid to employees
    Other expenses

  • Tax Tips and Calculators
    http://www.hrblock.com/free-tax-tips-calculators/index.html
    Includes a 2011 tax estimator, a form that asks tax questions, tax articles, a tax blog, and the latest tax advice.
Tax Credit Reporting Service for Students (Affiliated Computer Services, Inc.)
http://www.1098-t.com/
Intended to help students determine their eligibility for the Hope Scholarship and Lifetime Learning tax credits.

Tax Information For Individuals (U.S. Internal Revenue Service)
http://www.irs.gov/individuals/index.html

Tax Tools (Drake Enterprises)
http://www.1040.com/tax-tools
Includes a tax estimator, tax calculators, and related publications, forms, and worksheets.

TaxAct.com (Story Software, Inc.)
http://www.2ndstorysoftware.com
Download free software for completing basic federal tax forms, and purchase software for completing more complicated federal returns and state forms.

Your Federal Income Tax For Individuals, Tax Guide 2011. Publication 17 (U.S. Internal Revenue Service)
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p17.pdf
A comprehensive guide that covers all aspects of federal income taxes.

Tax Clinics

AARP Foundation Tax-Aide Locator
http://www.aarp.org/applications/VMISLocator/searchTaxAideLocations.action
Enter your zip code to locate places that offer tax services to the elderly and to those with limited incomes.

Beta Alpha Psi (National Honor Society for Accounting and Finance Students--affiliated with the State University at Buffalo. School of Management)
Beta Alpha Psi offers free tax preparation services for those whose annual income is below $50,000. UB employees and students are encouraged to take advantage of this service and to invite their families and neighbors to do the same. Direct questions and concerns to mgt-freetaxprep@buffalo.edu or 716-748-9823 and a volunteer will respond within 48 hours. See http://mgt.buffalo.edu/taxprep2012 for dates, times, locations, maps, and frequently asked questions.

CASH Coalition of Buffalo in collaboration with the United Way of Buffalo and Erie County
Provides free online tax preparation services to households with incomes less than $57,000 in 2011. Visit http://www.myfreetaxes.com/cashbuffalo for more information. Uncomfortable doing your own taxes, call 2-1-1 or 851-5555 to find a community agency, including selected colleges and universities, that will prepare taxes without charge for income qualified households.

Free Tax Preparation at Buffalo State College
http://www.wkbw.com/around-town/local-events/113386204.html

International Student and Scholar Services (University at Buffalo)
http://wings.buffalo.edu/intlservices/tax.html
Provides basic Webcasts and other basic information international students need to complete their federal and state taxes.  Call 716-645-2258 if you have questions.

Tax Preparation
http://www.cashbuffalo.org/sitepages/RESOURCES_tax_prep.html

Tax Return Preparation Tips (Timothy C Fillipponi CPA)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8jShBPRYiWI&feature=related
Brief video presentations describe 10 tax tips.

Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) andTax Counseling for the Elderly (TCE) Programs (U.S. Internal Revenue Service)
http://www.irs.gov/individuals/article/0,,id=107626,00.html
IRS certified volunteers provide free tax services for qualified individuals. Enter your zip code to locate the place closest to your home.


Return to Top

Return to the homepage
Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility
  • rss
  • facebook
  • youtube
  • twitter