return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
Instant Message Email Phone In Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Arts & Sciences Libraries
  arrow_icon   Architecture & Planning
  arrow_icon   Lockwood Library
  arrow_icon   Government Documents
  arrow_icon   Polish Room
  arrow_icon   Undergraduate Library
  arrow_icon   Science & Engineering
  arrow_icon   Map Collection
  arrow_icon   Multimedia Center
  arrow_icon   Microform Collections
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
divider
  star icon Digital Library Center
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
 
 


Edward Herman,
Modified January 19, 2010
lolherma@buffalo.edu

 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Information > Government Information by Subject > Agriculture


Agriculture

  • General Sources
  • Agricultural Statistics
  • Agricultural Trade
  • Nutrition
  • NYS Agriculture
  • Agriculture Outside the US

General Sources

AGRICOLA (U.S. Department of Agriculture. National Agricultural Library)
http://agricola.nal.usda.gov/
A bibliographic database of books and articles covering all aspects of agriculture, from the National Agricultural Library.

Agriculture: Browse Topics (U.S. Government Printing Office)
http://www.library.okstate.edu/govdocs/browsetopics/agricult.html
Links to agriculture resources supported by the federal government.

Agriculture Network Information Center (AGNIC)
http://www.agnic.org/
A voluntary alliance of the National Agricultural Library, land grant universities and agricultural organizations that provides data in electronic format. Subjects cover animal science; forests; physical sciences; geology; biology; plants; insects; genetics; laws and regulations; economics and business; social policy; and food and nutrition.

National Agricultural Library (U.S. Department of Agriculture)
http://www.nal.usda.gov/
Links to data about animals and livestock; education; nutrition; laws and regulations; marketing; natural resources; plants; research and development; and rural and community development. Additional resources include the Library catalog; and directories to special collections and information clearinghouses.

National Agricultural Library Digital Repository (NALDR) (U.S. Department of Agriculture)
http://naldr.nal.usda.gov/
Reproduces selected Department of Agricultural publications issued since 1894.

U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Home Page
http://www.usda.gov/
Data include press releases; budget information; descriptions of programs and services; a directory of offices; an alphabet subject index; and a search index.

Return to Top




Agricultural Statistics

Agricultural Baseline Database (U.S. Department of Agriculture. Economic Research Service)
http://www.ers.usda.gov/Data/Baseline/
Provides projections for major crops organized by geography and commodity. Special features include:

  • World Agricultural Supply and Demand Estimates
    http://usda.mannlib.cornell.edu/MannUsda/viewDocumentInfo.do?documentID=1194
  • International Baseline Data
    http://www.ers.usda.gov/data/internationalbaseline/
Census of Agriculture (U.S. Department of Agriculture)
http://www.nass.usda.gov/Census_of_Agriculture/index.asp
The Census of Agriculture measures production and farm characteristics for the nation, states, and counties. Data are collected every 5 years with digits ending in 2 and 7. (i.e., 1992, 1997, 2002) Select publications in PDF format or perform data queries.

The Government Documents collection in Lockwood Library also contains print versions of the Census of Agriculture; conduct a keyword search in Libraries Catalog for census of agriculture and [year].

Economic Research Service (ERS) (U.S. Department of Agriculture)
http://www.ers.usda.gov/
ERS is the Department of Agriculture's official information source for agricultural economics. Economists and policy makers use its in data in decision making for agriculture, food, natural resources, and rural development. Menu options link to information about research; key topics; publications; news releases; and statistics. The Data section at http://www.ers.usda.gov/Data/ is particularly well developed.

National Agricultural Statistical Service (NASS) (U.S. Department of Agriculture)
http://www.nass.usda.gov/index.asp
NASS conducts hundreds of surveys and publishes reports covering all aspects of agricultural production and supply. Menu options link to publications; charts and maps; historical data; statistical research; and the Census of Agriculture. The Publications option, which is especially well developed, covers crop weather; state reports; reports by titles; statistical highlights; market news; agricultural trends; and a search menu.

USDA Economics and Statistics Division (Cornell University, Albert R. Mann Library in cooperation with the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Economics, Statistics and Market Information System)
http://usda.mannlib.cornell.edu/
Contains nearly 300 reports and statistical datasets pertaining to agriculture.

Return to Top




Agricultural Trade

FASonline (U.S. Department of Agriculture. Foreign Agricultural Service)
http://www.fas.usda.gov/
FAS promotes agricultural markets for U.S. products throughout the world. Topics cover doing business with the agency; buying American products; export assistance; import programs; trade policy; current news; data about specific commodities and countries; and food aid. Consult the Foreign Agricultural Service's Production, Supply and Distribution (PS&D) Database at http://www.fas.usda.gov/psdonline/psdhome.aspx for pre-defined tables about historical and current supply and distribution of agricultural products. Select data using predefined tables or develop customized statistics. For market and trade data, see http://www.fas.usda.gov/commodities.asp.

Return to Top




Nutrition

Food and Nutrition Information Center (U.S. Department of Agriculture. National Agricultural Library)
http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/etext/000056.html
Collects and disseminates data about food and human nutrition. Topics cover dietary supplements; food composition; dietary guidelines; and consumer data.

Government Food Safety Information (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services)
http://www.foodsafety.gov/
A gateway to federal government information about food safety. Subjects deal with children; health; safety programs; industry assistance; and consumer advice.

Nutrition.gov (U.S. Department of Agriculture. National Agricultural Library)
http://www.nutrition.gov/
Provides access to online federal government information on nutrition. Topics pertain to food safety; special populations, such as adults, children, and minorities; health management; food assistance; research; and resources. Resources include statistics; fact sheets; publications, newsletters, and press releases; and references to further information.

Return to Top




New York State Agriculture

New York State Department of Agriculture and Markets
http://www.agmkt.state.ny.us/
Links lead to explanations of the organization of the Department; its programs; funding opportunities; current issues; licenses and registration; and press releases and publications. The related links option covers dozens of Web sites pertinent to New York State agriculture.

Return to Top




Agriculture Outside the U.S.

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
http://www.agr.ca/
Topics deal with education; the environment; farm management and finances; human resources; inspection; media products; research and innovation; trade; and publications.

Europa Overviews of European Union: Agriculture (European Union)
http://europa.eu/pol/agr/overview_en.htm

Europa Summaries of Legislation: Agriculture
http://europa.eu/legislation_summaries/agriculture/index_en.htm

Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations
http://www.fao.org/
FAO attempts to improve agricultural production and nutrition throughout the world. Subjects relate to economics and nutrition; fisheries; floristries; technical cooperation; biotechnology; gender; sources for further information; publications; and a wide variety of statistical databases.Two related resources present online documentation about food, hunger and development.

  • Corporate Document Repository
    http://www.fao.org/documents/
  • David Lubin Memorial Library
    http://www.fao.org/library/index.htm

Return to Top




 



return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility