return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Arts & Sciences Libraries
  arrow_icon   Architecture & Planning
  arrow_icon   Lockwood Library
  arrow_icon   Government Documents
  arrow_icon   Polish Room
  arrow_icon   Undergraduate Library
  arrow_icon   Science & Engineering
  arrow_icon   Map Collection
  arrow_icon   Multimedia Center
  arrow_icon   Microform Collections
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
divider
  star icon Digital Library Center
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
 
 


Guide Author: Ed Herman

 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Information > Business & Management by Topics


Business & Management by Topics
Business-related information is available in a variety of formats: traditional books, periodicals, and government documents, as well as numerous electronic resources. In addition to the resources listed on this page, consult Resources by Subject - Business & Management for more information.

Accounting

Accounting Standards: Current Text
Lockwood Reference HF5616 .U5 A35 (current edition)
Lockwood Book Collection HF5616 .U5 A35 (1995-previous edition)
Provides the current text of the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP), the standards used by accountants when preparing financial statements for publicly-traded companies.

Accounting Standards: Original Pronouncements
Lockwood Reference HF5616 .U5 F537 (current edition)
Lockwood Book Collection HF5616 .U5 F537 (1973-previous edition)
http://www.fasb.org/st/ (1973-present)
The print volumes include the full text of the Financial Accounting Standards Boards (FASB) statements, interpretations, and technical bulletins; as well as the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) pronouncements. The Web version omits the AICPA pronouncements.

Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Accounting
Lockwood Reference HD30.15 .B463 1997
Volume I of the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management series provides extensive definitions and related readings for accounting concepts.

FASB Interpretation
Lockwood Reference HF5601 .F24 (1974-present)
The Financial Accounting Standards Board Interpretations modify existing standards.

GAAP: Interpretation and Application
Lockwood Reference HF5616 .U5 G33 (current edition)
Lockwood Book Collection HF5616 .U5 G33 (1995-previous edition)
This volume summarizes key provisions of the official Accounting Standards (see above).

Rutgers Accounting Web: Accounting Resources on the Internet
http://accounting.rutgers.edu/raw/internet/internet1.htm
The Accounting Research Center at Rutgers University maintains a massive directory of Web sites related to accounting topics.

Return to Top


divider



Trade and Professional Associations

Trade and professional associations can be an excellent source of information about industries, markets, and economic activity. Many associations publish membership directories, salary surveys, annual statistical reports and other research materials which may be available at surprisingly affordable prices. Many associations also maintain Web sites containing substantial information. The following library resources provide contact information and background data on thousands of associations in the U.S. and abroad.

Associations Unlimited
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/galeassc.html (current UB username and password required for off-campus access)
The electronic version of the Encyclopedia of Associations (see below) provides directory listings and profiles for over 150,000 membership organizations.

Encyclopedia of Associations
Lockwood Reference AS8 .E62 (current edition)
Descriptions and contact information for over 150,000 non-profit organizations at the U.S. national, regional, state, and local levels. International or multinational organization information is also provided. Entries provide a concise profile of each association, including full name, contact information, group publications, history, and size.

National Trade and Professional Associations of the United States
Lockwood Reference HD2425 .D53 (current edition)
Lockwood Book Collection HD2425 .D53 (previous editions)
Provides contact information as well as publications, history, size, and budget information for U.S. trade and professional associations. Numerous indexes allow searching by subject, geographic location, budget, or executive name.

Return to Top


divider



Currency Converters

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
http://research.stlouisfed.org/fred2/
The Exchange Rates section ( http://research.stlouisfed.org/fred2/categories/15 ) provides either daily rates or monthly averages for selected countries. Time period varies by currency, but most date back to 1971.

FXConverter
http://www.oanda.com/convert/classic
Converts values between any two specific currencies, with 164 available. Historical exchange rates are available in the section FXHistory ( http://www.oanda.com/convert/fxhistory ). Time periods vary, but rates for selected currencies are available back to 1971.

International Financial Statistics Yearbook
Lockwood Reference HG3881 .I5762 (current edition)
Lockwood Book Collection HG3881 .I5762 (1979-previous edition)
Tables include exchange rates based upon annual averages.

Universal Currency Converter
http://www.xe.com/ucc/full.shtml
Provides current exchange rates for every currency in the world.

Return to Top


divider



Financial Data

EDGAR
http://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml
The Securites and Exchange Commission's Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system contains the filings that public companies are required to make to the SEC. Filings may be searched by company name or ticker symbol, and are available back to 1994.

Financial Data Finder
http://fisher.osu.edu/fin/osudata.htm
Provides annotated links to financial and economic data available on the Web and elsewhere.

Mergent Online
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/mergentonline.html (current UB username and password required for off-campus access)
Provides an alternative access point to EDGAR filings, including the capability to search the full text of filings.

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/wrds.html (current UB username and password required for off-campus access)
The COMPUSTAT North America database featured in Wharton can generate financial datasets based upon quarterly or annual information, dating back in some cases to 1962. A comprehensive user guide can be found in the Data Manuals section at http://wrds.wharton.upenn.edu/ds/comp/manuals/.

Return to Top


divider



Human Resources

AMA Management Handbook
Lockood Reference/UGL-SEL Reference HD31 .A418 1994
Section 4, "Human Resources", provides a variety of articles, each presenting an overview of a human resources topic. Topics include personnel selection, diversity, employee performance appraisals, effective communication, relations with organized labor, employee substance abuse, and more.

Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Human Resource Management
Lockwood Reference HD30.15 .B463 1997
Volume IX of the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management series provides extensive definitions and related readings for human resources concepts.

HR Answer Book: An Indispensable Guide for Managers and Human Resources Professionals
Lockwood Book Collection HF5549.17 .S62 2004
Chapters cover everything from "Employee selection: how do I find, attract, and select the best?" to "Termination and discharge: how do I fire an employee legally and humanely?".

Human Resources and the Internet
http://www.ilr.cornell.edu/library/subjectGuides/humanResourcesAndTheInternet.html
Cornell University's Catherwood Library maintains this directory of Web sites related to human resources. Topics include arbitration, diversity, employment law, training and development, and much more.

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
http://www.eeoc.gov/
The mission of the EEOC is to promote equal opportunity in employment through administrative and judicial enforcement of the federal civil rights laws and through education and technical assistance. The Web site describes relevant federal laws, regulations, and policy guidelines, statistics, press releases, services to employers and employees, and instructions on filing a complaint.

U.S. Occupational Health and Safety Administration
http://www.osha.gov/
Federal agency responsible for monitoring safe and healthy conditions in the workplace. Web site provides OSHA regulations, standards, manuals, and recordkeeping guidelines; a searchable database or OSHA inspection reports; a similar database for OSHA accident reports; injury and illness statistics; and publications.

Return to Top


divider



Marketing

Ad $ Summary
Lockwood Reference HF5813 .U6 A5 (current edition)
Lockwood Book Collection HF5813 .U6 A5 (1981-previous edition)
Provides tables of advertising expenditures related to particular brands or publications.

Advertising Red Books
Lockwood Reference HF5805 .S7
Volume 1 ( Advertiser Business Classifications ) provides the advertising expenditures of companies (including private companies, where available), as well as the types of media used, trade names related to the company, and relevant personnel.

Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Marketing
Lockwood Reference HD30.15 .B463 1997
Volume IV of the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management series provides extensive definitions and related readings for marketing concepts.

Demographics USA: County Edition
Lockwood Reference HF5415.3 .S87 (current edition)
Lockwood Book Collection HF5415.3 .S87 (1995-previous edition)
Includes general population statistics as well as information on buying power, sales figures, and 5-year projections for counties in the United States.

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
Lockwood Reference HF5837 .E53 2000
Describes the history and background of a particular company's most famous advertising campaigns, such as Nike's "Just Do It" or New Coke. Entries provide references for further reading.

Market Research Reports via Business Source Premier
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/bsp.html (current UB username and password required for off-campus access)
The subscription database Business Source Premier provides the full text in PDF of selected market research reports published by ABS Energy Research, Datamonitor, and Gartner. Reports may be browsed by publisher or title, or searched by keywords in the title, subject or description.

SRDS Business Publication Advertising Source
Lockwood Reference HF5905 .S723 (current issues)
Lockwood Book Collection HF5905 .S723 (1995-previous year; May issues only)
IN STORAGE (Request at Circulation) HF5905 .S723 (1963-1993; May issues only)
Provides contact information and descriptions for business publications, many regional or specialized. Entries include circulation information as well as advertising rates.

Return to Top


divider



Business News

Bloomberg Business News
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/index.html
Business and market news, sorted by region and updated throughout the day.

Business First of Buffalo
Lockwood Newspapers/UGL Periodicals (current issues; older editions available on microform in Capen Multimedia Center)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/busfirst.html (current UB username and password required for off-campus access)
Provides local coverage of business, finance, and economic topics.

CNN Money
http://money.cnn.com/
Provides extensive market and company news, on both the domestic and international scales.

Factiva
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/factiva.html (current UB username and password required for off-campus access)
Provides current and retrospective news articles from thousands of publications, including the full text of the Wall Street Journal back to 1979.

Wall Street Journal
Current issues of the Wall Street Journal are also available in the Lockwood Newspaper Collection; older editions are available on microfilm in the Capen Multimedia Center (call number MicFilm HG1 .W22).

Return to Top


divider




divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility