return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
Instant Message Email Phone In Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Arts & Sciences Libraries
  arrow_icon   Architecture & Planning
  arrow_icon   Lockwood Library
  arrow_icon   Government Documents
  arrow_icon   Polish Room
  arrow_icon   Undergraduate Library
  arrow_icon   Science & Engineering
  arrow_icon   Map Collection
  arrow_icon   Multimedia Center
  arrow_icon   Microform Collections
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
divider
  star icon Digital Library Center
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
 
 




Edward Herman,
Modified February 18, 2008
lolherma@buffalo.edu
 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Information > Government Agencies


Government Agencies

This guide provides an overview of government agencies and departments which may be helpful to the business community. In addition to the general resources listed on this page, consult Resources by Subject - Business & Management for more specific information.

  • US Federal Resources
  • New York State Resources
  • International Resources

U.S. Federal Resources

Business.gov
http://www.business.gov/
Business.gov is a web portal which streamlines business-related information from over 40 different federal agencies. The section entitled Launching Your Business (http://www.business.gov/phases/launching/) provides a step-by-step guide to starting a company, including a guide to writing business plans as well as assistance with navigating state and federal regulations.

FedBizOpps: Federal Business Opportunities
http://www.fedbizopps.gov/
A database of federal government opportunities exceeding $25,000. Replaces the publication Commerce Business Daily.

Federal Government Departments and Agencies
In addition to the above resources, the following federal departments and agencies may be useful to businesspersons:

Bureau of the Public Debt
http://www.publicdebt.treas.gov/bpd/bpdhome.htm
This site gives information (both current and historic) about the public debt, and about savings, bonds, t-bills, and other debt instruments. The Site Map (http://www.publicdebt.treas.gov/bpd/bpdsitemap.htm) gives an excellent overview of what is available.

Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov/
The Census Bureau's economic programs section (http://www.census.gov/econ/www/index.html) provides statistics relevant to the business community. Notable publications include:

    County Business Patterns
    Lockwood Ref Desk US CD-ROM C 3.204/ 4:
    Lockwood Documents US C 3.204/ 3-(by state):
    http://www.census.gov/epcd/cbp/view/cbpview.html
    Annual tables, giving county-level data on employment, total payrolls, number of establishments, and size of business.

    ZIP Code Business Patterns
    Lockwood Ref Desk US CD-ROM C 3.298
    http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/zbp_base.html
    ZIP Business Patterns presents business counts, by size, for hundreds of industries, plus summaries by ZIP code (without industry breakdown) for employment, payroll, and counts by employment size. The data are based upon the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes, which are available at http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html.

Comptroller of the Currency
http://www.occ.treas.gov/
The Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC) is an independent bureau of the Treasury responsible for oversight of national banks. The Comptroller's Office examines and supervises approximately 3,000 federally chartered national banks. The Comptroller's Office also supervises federally licensed branches and agencies of foreign banks.

Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)
http://www.hud.gov

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
http://www.fdic.gov

Federal Reserve Board
http://www.federalreserve.gov/
Information about foreign exchange rates, consumer credit, interest rates, and the money supply are available at this site.

Occupational Safety and Health Administration
http://www.osha.gov
For additional information on labor and employment issues, visit the Labor subject guide at http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/labor.html.

Postal Service
http://www.usps.gov
The section entitled Grow Your Business provides information on mailing and shipping, including the publication A Guide to Mailing for Businesses and Organizations (http://pe.usps.gov/text/dmm200/index.htm).

Securites and Exchange Commission
http://www.sec.gov

Small Business Administration
http://www.sba.gov/
This site includes links to information about the services of the SBA and to non-government sites of interest to entrepreneurs, as well as a library of publications available online (http://www.sba.gov/library/pubs.html).

 

Return to Top




New York State Resources

e-bizNYS
http://www.nysegov.com/e-bizNYS.cfm
Like the federal site Business.gov in the above section, e-bizNYS is a web portal which organizes information from several New York State agencies into a single site. From the left-hand menu, select Business Guide for information on incorporation, licenses and permits, tax incentives, regulations, and much more.

New York State Division of Corporations
http://www.dos.state.ny.us/corp/corpwww.html
Information about obtaining a corporate name, including the forms for filing in New York State, is available here. A searchable database of registered corporate entities is available at http://appsext5.dos.state.ny.us/corp_public/CORPSEARCH.ENTITY_SEARCH_ENTRY.

New York State Information and Resources for Business, Commerce and Consumer Protection
http://www.nysl.nysed.gov/ils/topics/business.htm
The New York State Library provides a list of links to business-related state government web sites.

Return to Top




International Resources

Visit the International Trade guide (http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/intl_trade.html) for many additional resources on international business, including contacts for foreign trade.

Strategis
http://strategis.ic.gc.ca/
Industry Canada's information site for business. The section for Canadian Industry Statistics is located at http://strategis.ic.gc.ca/sc_ecnmy/sio/homepage.html.

EUROPA: Dialog with Business
http://europa.eu.int/business/en/index.html
Maintained by the European Commission.

European Union Business Resources
http://www.eurunion.org/infores/business/business.htm
Links to unofficial sites that contain potentially useful information.

Return to Top




 


return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility