return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Material
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries and Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserve Databases Forms A-Z Requesting Materials Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Architecture & Planning Digital Collections Health Sciences Library Law Library Libraries Annex Lockwood Library Multimedia Collections Music Library Silverman Library Special Collections
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Library Store Support Our Libraries
chatChat textText emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Architecture & Planning
divider
  star icon Digital Collections
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
divider
  star icon Lockwood Library
  arrow_icon   Government Documents
  arrow_icon   Polish Room
divider
  star icon Multimedia Collections
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Silverman Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
 
 
 


Edward Herman,
Modified February 16, 2012
lolherma@buffalo.edu

 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Information > Census

Census

The U.S. Bureau of the Census is one of the most prolific statistical publishers in the world. It does far more than merely count people every ten years. Census Bureau publications cover wide arrays of topics from income, poverty, and housing characteristics to computer use. Other federal agencies regularly contract with the Bureau of the Census to conduct surveys on their behalf. Examples include the Bureau of Labor Statistics and the National Center for Health Statistics.

  • Getting Started
  • Census Geography
  • Censuses of Population and Housing
  • American Community Survey
  • Other Censuses and Surveys

Getting Started

Frequently Used Sites Relating to Government Information: Census (American Library Association. Government Documents Round Table. Federal Documents Task Force (FDTF))
http://diglib.library.vanderbilt.edu/godort.pl?searchtext=Census&Type=Simple&Resource=DB&Website=FDTF
A wide range of topics cover:

  • Starting Points
  • Indexes and Directories
  • Government Agencies
  • Government Publications
  • Reference
  • Research Centers and Other
  • Educational Sites
  • Statistics
  • Other Sites
  • Academic Data Centers
  • Census 2000 Data Sites
  • Census 2000 Help Sites
  • Census 2010
  • Historical Census Data
  • Major Censuses and Their Data Sets
  • Minorities
  • News and Media Sites
  • Other Censuses
U.S. Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov
Several sections of the Bureau of the Census home page facilitate access to statistics.
  • About US
    http://www.census.gov/aboutus/
    Describes what the Census Bureau does, who works there, policies and notices, plans and budgets, and contact information.
  • Publications
    http://www.census.gov/prod/www/titles.html
    Reproduces Census Bureau publications in PDF format. Organization is by broad topics, including agriculture; business and economic census; construction and housing; foreign trade; reference materials; government; population; Statistical Abstracts ; transportation; and technical documentation and methodological papers. See also:

    Bureau of the Census Catalog of Publications, 1790-1972
    http://www2.census.gov/prod2/decennial/documents/catalogues/CensusCatalog1790-1972.pdf
    Lockwood Documents US C3.163/3-2:790-972
    Two sections cover 1790-1945 and 1946-1972.

  • Bureau of the Census Catalog
    http://www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/catalogs.html (1949-1998)
    Lockwood Documents US C3.163/3:year (1973-1998)

  • Statistical Abstract of the United States
    http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
    Lockwood HA 202 (1894+ with gaps; 1946+ with gaps in Reference)
    Lockwood Documents US C3.134: (1970+ with gaps)
    CD-ROM available on Lockwood Reference computer
    Capen Multimedia Center MicFiche HA195 .U5 1972 fiche 3095-96 (1878-1945)
    The Statistical Abstract is the single most significant reference source that summarizes U.S. statistics. All tables are well documented enabling users to easily refer to the original sources for further information. The Web version is comparable to the printed copy. Use the CD-ROM version to access the identical tables, plus enhanced spreadsheet files and links to agency home pages.
  • Subjects A to Z
    http://www.census.gov/main/www/a2z/
    An alphabetical list of hundreds of topics on which the Census Bureau publishes information. When appropriate, links lead to other agencies.

Return to Top




Census Geography

Understanding how the Census Bureau defines geographies is key to using census statistics successfully. Consult Census Geography and Maps at http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/census/geog_maps.html for a brief overview and links to additional information.

Censuses of Population and Housing

Census 2010 (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/census/census2010.html
UB librarians recommend what they consider the best sources about the 2010 Census of Population and Housing.

Census 2000 (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/census/census2000.html
UB librarians recommend what they consider the best sources about the 2000 Census of Population and Housing.

Current statistics (Quick links) (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/census/quick.html
Links to ready-reference statistics.

Demography-Selected Handbooks and Encyclopedias (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/census/handbooks
Provides comprehensive coverage of demographic handbooks, guides, encyclopedic materials and selected data sources.

Historical Census Data (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/asl/guides/busdoc/census/historical.html

International Population Data (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/census/international.html

Local Data (NYS and Local Areas) (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/census/local.html

Public Use Microdata Samples (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/census/pums.html

Return to Top




American Community Survey

American Community Survey (ACS) (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/census/ACS.html
Describes American Community Survey basics, provides selected information beyond the basics, and links to data sources.

Other Censuses and Surveys

Census of Agriculture (U.S. Department of Agriculture. National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS))
http://www.nass.usda.gov/Census_of_Agriculture/index.asp
NASS conducts the Census of Agriculture every 5 years ending with 2 and 7 (e.g., 2002, 2007). Organization of data are by states and counties. Consult the Agriculture subject guide prepared by UB librarians for additional information. ( http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/agriculture.html )

Census of Governments (U.S. Bureau of the Census. Governments Division)
http://www.census.gov/govs/
The Bureau of the Census conducts the Census of Governments every 5 years ending with 2 and 7 (e.g., 2002, 2007). Selected topics cover government organization; public employment and payrolls; finances; public employee retirement systems; tax collections; expenditures of state and local governments, and school districts. See Government Budgets, Finances, Expenditures, and Employment , a subject guide prepared by UB librarians, for additional data about government revenues and expenditures. ( http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/finances.html )

Commuting (Journey to Work) (U.S. Census Bureau)
http://www.census.gov/hhes/commuting/
Measures people who commute to and from work, those who work at home, and daytime populations--populations of work places that include people who don't live in the said areas. See also USA Journey to Work Data Index covers selected national, state, and metropolitan area data primarily for 1990 and 2000, but some tables deal with 1960-2000. (http://www.publicpurpose.com/utx-usajtw.htm)

Current Surveys (University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/census/surveys.html
Describes selected periodic surveys conducted by the Bureau of the Census.

Economic Census (University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/census-economic.html
Presents background to the Economic Census, links to online resources, and provides titles and call numbers of printed documents held in Lockwood Library. See also:

  • Economic Indicators (US Bureau of the Census)
    http://www.census.gov/briefrm/esbr/www/brief.html
    Links to news releases about housing starts and construction; manufacturing; retail and wholesale trade; and foreign trade. See the Bureau of the Census Newsroom for additional releases. ( http://www.census.gov/pubinfo/www/news.html )
  • Economic Statistics (University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
    http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/econdocs.html
    Librarians in the Arts and Sciences Libraries recommend what they believe are the best sources.

Return to Top





Return to the homepage
Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility
  • rss
  • facebook
  • youtube
  • twitter