return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Arts & Sciences Libraries
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
divider
  star icon Digital Library Center
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
 
 


Edward Herman,
Modified January 10, 2007
lolherma@buffalo.edu

 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Information > Government Resources by Subject > Census > International Population Data


International Population Data

[Canada] Census Information (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/canada_docs.html#census
Lockwood Library acquired many Canadian census materials since becoming a depository library for federal Canadian government publications in 1963. Canada counts its people every five years ending in 1 and 6. (i.e., 2001, 2006)

Census Bureau: World Population Information
http://www.census.gov/ipc/www/world.html
Provides quick facts about recent estimated and projected world population.

Current National Statistical Compendiums (LexisNexis)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/microforms/stat-compendiums.html
An irregularly updated microfiche collection that reproduces statistical abstracts published by nations throughout the world. Materials often include data at sub-national levels. (e.g.: regions, provinces).

Demographic Yearbook (United Nations)
http://unstats.un.org/unsd/demographic/products/dyb/default.htm (2000+)
http://unstats.un.org/unsd/demographic/products/dyb/dybhist.htm (historical supplement, covers selected tables from 1948-1997)
Lockwood HA17 .D45 (1948 +; current in Reference)
Lockwood Reference Computer CD-ROM HA17 .D45 1948-1997 (historical supplement)
Presents historical and current demographic data for almost all nations. Each issue includes standard tables and a separate section covering a demographic topic in depth.

Economic and Social Statistics: International Data (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/econintl.html
UB librarians recommend what they feel are among the best international statistical information sources.

Foreign Countries & Inter-Governmental Organizations (IGOs) (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/foreign_gov.html
UB librarians recommend what they feel are the best information sources about foreign countries.

International Data Base (IDB) (U.S. Bureau of the Census)
http://www.census.gov/ipc/www/idbnew.html
Provides socioeconomic information for countries throughout the world. The search interface allows selection of one subject at a time, but users can select any combination of countries and years. Format options include the display mode for viewing data on the screen and the spreadsheet mode for downloading statistics.

Population Reference Bureau (formerly PopNet)
http:// www.prb.org/databycountry
Portal to population data from government agencies and a wide range of academic and international organizations. Information includes statistical tables and narrative descriptions of demographic topics.

Social Indicators (United Nations. Statistical Division)
http://unstats.un.org/unsd/demographic/products/socind/default.htm
Topics cover population; education; health; housing; illiteracy; income; and employment. Organization is by topics and countries.

United Nations Population Division (United Nations. Department of Economic and Social Affairs)
http://www.un.org/esa/population/unpop.htm
The key UN agency responsible for population. Selected links deal with projections; contraceptives; migration; living arrangements. Three interactive databases deal with:

  • Population Estimates and Projections
  • Trends in the World Migrant Stock
  • Population, Resources, Environment and Development Databank (PRED Bank)--140 variables cover population, resources, environment and development.

World Population Prospects (United Nations. Department of Economic and Social Affairs. Population Division)
http://esa.un.org/unpp/
An interactive database that covers population; urban and rural residence; age; gender; fertility; migration; and dependency ratios for 1950-2050. Select a maximum of 5 data variables for five regions or nations, or select country profiles to view ready-made tables.

divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility