return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Arts & Sciences Libraries
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
divider
  star icon Digital Library Center
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
 
 


Edward Herman,
Modified January 10, 2007
lolherma@buffalo.edu

 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Information > Government Resources by Subject > Census > Local Census Data


Local Census Data

New York State and Local Areas

Lockwood Library's Reference Department has copies of census publications covering New York State and its local areas from 1900 to date. Browse the HA section because call numbers vary. See also State and Local Statistics.

Erie and Niagara Counties, New York: An Index to Census 2000 Block Maps (Giann A Palachuvattil
Department of Information and Library Studies)
Lockwood Reference G3803.E6E25 2000 .P34
Indexes census 2000 block maps by tracts, places, and towns.

Landview (U.S. Bureau of the Census in cooperation with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Geological Survey)
Capen Multimedia Center US DVD 26: C 3.301: 6/ Disc 1-2/
Create maps of the local area that incorporate census statistics, plus locations of facilities that generate hazardous wastes. Landview has a steep learning curve. Contact Edward Herman for help. (716-645-2814 x 431; lolherma@buffalo.edu )

New York State Census Records 1790-1925 (New York State Library)
Lockwood Reference Desk Z1009 .N56 no.88
University Archives Z1009 .N56 no.88
Although published in 1981, New York State Census Records is still a good inventory of federal and state census manuscripts covering 1790-1925. Census manuscripts are forms completed by enumerators that identify individuals at specific addresses. Federal manuscripts are disclosed 72 years after a census is taken because the law requires the Bureau of the Census to maintain confidentiality of respondents. New York State conducted its own mid-decade censuses between 1795 and 1925.

New York State Data Center (New York State, Dept. of Economic Development)
http://www.nylovesbiz.com/nysdc/default.asp
Links refer to population and economic statistics; geography and mapping resources; other information resources; and data center affiliates located throughout New York State. The Bureau of the Census established state data centers in all 50 states to disseminate related statistics in their respective areas. The data centers then appoint affiliate centers to cover local regions within the states. The University Libraries became a state data center affiliate in 1989.

Selected State Data Center links include:

  • New York State County Population and Housing Estimates
    http://www.nylovesbiz.com/nysdc/popandhous/ESTIMATE.asp
    The New York State Data Center posted Census Bureau estimates for the state, counties, cities, towns, and villages.
  • New York State Geography and Mapping
    http://205.232.252.81/selectFiles.asp
    Download boundary files and statistical tables relating to the 2000 Census. Geographies cover New York State and its counties. Display county data by cities; towns; villages; census tracts; block groups; blocks; metropolitan areas; Congressional districts; state legislative districts; and Empire zones. Click here for descriptions of many of geographies.

    The boundary files cover ArcGIS (ESRI); Map Info; and Maptitude. Options for census statistics include general population characteristics; social, economic, and housing characteristics; age by race; ancestry; disability status; education; and employment.

New York Statistical Information System (Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research (CISER))
http://www.nysis.cornell.edu/data.html

Provides county population projections by age and sex at 5 year intervals through 2030.

New York State Statistical Yearbook (Nelson A. Rockefeller Institute of Government)
Lockwood Reference Desk HA 541 A27 (current edition)
Lockwood Reference HA 541 A27 (1967-previous edition)
Lockwood Documents NY BUD 955-3 NEWYS (1968-current edition)
http://www.nysstatistics.org/yearbook/ (current and previous 3 editions)
Presents a wide range of demographic topics and government information. Most data are at the county level; selected tables have information for cities, towns, and villages.

Population of New York State by County 1790 to 1990 (New York State, Dept. of Economic Development, State Data Center)
http://www.nylovesbiz.com/nysdc/StateCountyPopests/CountyPopHistory.PDF
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/census/pop_1790-1880.xls (1790-1880)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/census/pop_1890_2000.xls (1890-2000)

State Censuses. New York (KTO Microform)
Capen Multimedia Center MicFiche HA546 .S82 1971
Reproduces data published from the mid-decade censuses conducted by New York State between 1795 and 1925.

 

divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility