return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Arts & Sciences Libraries
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
divider
  star icon Digital Library Center
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
 
 


Edward Herman,
Modified January 10, 2007
lolherma@buffalo.edu

 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Information > Government Resources by Subject > Census > Census Quick Links


Census Quick Links

The following resources offer quick, ready-reference sources that summarize current census data for the nation, states, counties, and local areas.

American FactFinder (U.S. Bureau of the Census)
http://factfinder.census.gov
The Bureau of the Census intended American FactFinder to be the primary distribution tool for the 2000 Census. The FactFinder home page includes links to summarized census statistics. Select Population Finder; Factsheet; People; Housing; and Business and Government to access data. Click here for more information about American FactFinder.

Bureau of the Census
http://www.census.gov
Two parts of the Bureau of the Census home page link to relevant information. Population Finder gives population figures and links to additional resources, and Find An Area Profile with QuickFacts summarizes socioeconomic conditions for the nation, states, counties, and cities.

Census 2000 Demographic Profiles (U.S. Bureau of the Census)
http://censtats.census.gov/pub/Profiles.shtml
Select the nation, a state, or an area within a state for demographic, social, economic, and housing summaries.

Census Briefs (U.S. Bureau of the Census)
http://www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/briefs.html
Provides brief narrative and statistical summaries of popular, newsworthy topics. Most Census Briefs are approximately 10 pages.

County and City Data Book (U.S. Bureau of the Census)
http://www.census.gov/prod/www/ccdb.html
http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/collections/stats/ccdb/ (1944+ through the University of Virginia)
Lockwood Documents US C 3.134/ 2: C 83/ 2 (1952+)
Capen Multimedia Center US CD-ROM 198: C 3.134/ 2-1: (1994+)
Presents data for states, counties, and cities of at least 25,000 population. Topics cover population; race; household characteristics; births and deaths; education; labor and income; manufacturing; farming; wholesale and retail trades; and government programs and finances.

Consult the following for related information:

  • County and City Extra (Gaquin, Deidre A. and Katherine De Brandt. Lanham:MD., 2002)
    Lockwood Reference HA 203 C68 2002
  • MapStats
  • State & County QuickFacts
  • USA Counties

Demographic Profile Products (Missouri Census Data Center)
http://mcdc2.missouri.edu/websas/dp_products_overview.shtml
Although emphasis is upon Missouri, site administrators still provide data for the entire nation. The following links are especially useful.

  • Demographic Profile 3 Trend Reports Using Data From SF3, 1990 & 2000
    http://mcdc2.missouri.edu/websas/dp3_2ktmenus/us/
    Provides selected data comparing 1990 and 2000 statistics for the nation; regions and divisions; states; counties; metropolitan areas; places of at least 10,000 population; and zip codes.
  • Population Profiles Using Data From SF3 National File -- Entire U.S.
    http://mcdc2.missouri.edu/websas/dp3_2kmenus/us/
    Provides summarized demographic and socioeconomic data from the 2000 census for the nation; regions and divisions; states; counties; minor civil divisions (in New York State--towns and cities within counties); metropolitan areas; urban areas; places; and zip codes.
  • State Data Center Demographic Profiles Based on Data in Summary File 3, 2000 US Census
    http://mcdc.missouri.edu/webrepts/sdcprofiles3
    Access more detailed socioeconomic statistics from the 2000 census for the U.S.; regions and divisions; states and Puerto Rico; metropolitan areas; and places of at least 50,000 population.

Demographics USA: County Edition (Market Statistics)
Lockwood HF 5415.3 S87 (1993+; most recent in Reference)
Separate chapters cover population; race and hispanic population; households; age; income; retail sales; and "effective purchasing power." Marketing and sales communities are the intended audiences.

MapStats: United States (Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy)
http://www.fedstats.gov/qf/
Retrieve data for the nation, states, federal judicial districts, Congressional districts, counties, and cities. Data measure population; race; education; household characteristics; income; poverty; employment; businesses; manufacturing; retail sales; and construction.

New York State Statistical Yearbook (Nelson A. Rockefeller Institute of Government)
http://www.nysstatistics.org/yearbook/ (2002+)
Lockwood Reference Desk HA 541 A27 (current edition)
Lockwood Reference HA 541 A27 (1967-previous edition)
Lockwood Documents NY BUD 955-3 NEWYS (1968-current edition)
Presents a wide range of demographic topics and government information. Most data are at the county level; selected tables have information for cities, towns, and villages.

NYsis New York Statistical Information System (Cornell University. Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research (CISER))
http://www.nysis.cornell.edu/data.html
View county population projections for New York State by age and sex. Consult the following for additional population projections:

  • Complete Economic and Demographic Data Source (CEDDS) (Woods and Pool Economics, Inc.)
    Lockwood Reference HC101 .C616 2004
    Provides historical overviews and 25 year projections for population; age; race; hispanic origin; employment and earnings by industry; household and per capita income; and retail sales. Data cover the nation, states, metropolitan areas, and counties.

Population Publications (U.S. Census Bureau)
http://www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/popula.html
A topical list of Census Bureau reports about population projections and characteristics with links to copies in PDF format. Subjects cover geographic mobility; educational attainment; the foreign-born population; and the elderly. Search the Libraries Catalog for print and online copies of many titles or browse the Lockwood Governments Documents collection at US C 3.186:.

Selected Statistical Sources : Portals, General Sources, and Indexes-State and Local Statistics (University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries) http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/statistics_portals.html#sl
Describes key sources selected by UB librarians.

Sourcebook of ZIP Code Demographics (C.A.C.I.)
Lockwood HA 203 .S66 (1990+; most recent in Reference)
Covers age distribution; race; population growth; households; and "purchasing potential indexes".

State & County QuickFacts (U.S. Bureau of the Census)
http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/index.html
Reproduces data about demographic and housing conditions; income and poverty; health insurance coverage; and business and the economy.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (U.S. Bureau of the Census)
http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
Lockwood HA 202 (1894+ with gaps; 1946+ with gaps in Reference)
Lockwood Documents US C3.134: (1970+ with gaps)
CD-ROM available on Lockwood Reference computer
Capen Multimedia Center MicFiche HA195 .U5 1972 fiche 3095-96 (1878-1945)
The Statistical Abstract is the single most significant reference source that summarizes U.S. statistics. The Web version is comparable to the printed copy. Use the CD-ROM version to access the identical tables, plus enhanced spreadsheet files and links to agency home pages.

USA Counties 1998 (Bureau of the Census)
http://censtats.census.gov/usa/usa.shtml
Provides access to over 5,000 data items pertaining to counties.

 

divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility