return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Material
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries and Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserve Databases Forms A-Z Requesting Materials Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Architecture & Planning Digital Collections Health Sciences Library Law Library Libraries Annex Lockwood Library Multimedia Collections Music Library Silverman Library Special Collections
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Library Store Support Our Libraries
chatChat textText emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Architecture & Planning
divider
  star icon Digital Collections
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
divider
  star icon Lockwood Library
  arrow_icon   Government Documents
  arrow_icon   Polish Room
divider
  star icon Multimedia Collections
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Silverman Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
 
 
 


Edward Herman,
Modified December 16, 2011
lolherma@buffalo.edu

 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Information > Politics and Elections


Politics and Elections
  • Researching Elections
  • Election Boards and Results
  • US Political Parties
  • US Non-Partisan Sites
  • Other Countries
  • Data Sets

Researching Elections

How to Research Elections . Fenton S. Martin and Robert U. Goehlert. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, c2000.
Lockwood Reference Collection JK1976.M37.2000

Elections A to Z. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, 2003. 2nd ed.
Lockwood Reference Collection JK1976.M57

U.S. Elections -- Research Guide (University of Pennsylvania Library)
http://gethelp.library.upenn.edu/guides/polisci/elections.html

Return to Top




Election Boards and Results

Congressional Quarterly's Guide to U.S. Elections
Lockwood Reference JK1967 .C662 2001
Volume 1 contains information regarding Presidential elections and political parties. Volume 2 concerns Congressional elections and gubernatorial elections.

Electoral College (U.S. National Archives and Records Service)
http://www.archives.gov/federal_register/electoral_college/
The U.S. National Archives provides a wide variety of information and statistics on presidential elections, past and present, including electoral votes by state for 1789 through the present day.

Election Information: Office of the Clerk (U.S. House of Representatives)
http://clerk.house.gov/member_info/electionInfo/index.html
The Clerk of the House of Representatives has collected and reported on the vote counts for federal elections since 1920.

Election Results Archive (Erie County Board of Elections)
http://www.erieboe.com/content.aspx?id=94
Provides Excel spreadsheets of Erie County election results from 2001 to date. Coverage includes national, state, and local contests by election districts.

Federal Election Commission
http://www.fec.gov/
An independent regulatory agency established by Congress to disclose campaign finance information; enforce the limits, prohibitions and other provisions of the election law; and administer public funding of Presidential elections. Financial information about the parties includes primary results by states.

Index of State Disclosure Agencies (Campaign Disclosure Project)
http://campaigndisclosure.org/gradingstate/appendix2.html
Direct links to election board web sites and campaign finance data disclosure information for other states.

New York State Board of Elections
http://www.elections.state.ny.us/
In addition to voter registration information and election laws, this site can be used to identify representatives, view district maps, locate voter statistics, and view electronic filings relating to campaign finances.

 

Return to Top




US Political Parties

American Reform Party
http://www.americanreform.org/

Communist Party of the United States
http://www.cpusa.org/

Constitution Party
http://www.constitutionparty.com/

Labor Party
http://www.thelaborparty.org/

Natural Law Party
http://www.natural-law.org/

Socialist Party of the United States
http://sp-usa.org/

Socialist Labor Party
http://www.slp.org/

Democratic National Committee
http://www.democrats.org/

Republican National Committee
http://www.rnc.org/

Green Party of the United States
http://www.gp.org/

Libertarian Party of the United States
http://www.lp.org/

Reform Party of the United States
http://www.reformparty.org/

Return to Top




US Non-Partisan Sites

All Politics (CNN)
http://allpolitics.com/
A site for political news and background information provided by CNN and Time magazine.

Center for Responsive Politics
http://www.opensecrets.org/
The emphasis on this site is on political finances. The Registered Federal Lobbyist Database is part of this site. Also Federal Elections Commission data on campaign contributions can be searched by zip code, politician or donor. Information about a politician's personal financial disclosure statements, incumbent travel expenses, Political Action Committees, and topic-specific reports about money and politics are available at the site.

Congress.org
http://congress.org/
Look up elected officials or information about current issues.

Elections and Voting (American Library Association. Government Documents Round Table. Federal Documents Task Force)
http://www.library.vanderbilt.edu/romans/fdtf/elections.shtml
"Elections" provides a list of frequently used sites related to elections and politics.

League of Women Voters
http://www.lwv.org/
The "Voter Information" section provides information about candidates and political issues.

Members of Congress: Selected Resources (University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/congress_members.html
UB Libraries guide to directory, biographical, and political activity information for Congresspersons.

National Journal Group's Policy Central (National Journal Group Inc.)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/Policy-Central.html
The National Journal is the nation's premier weekly on politics, policy, and government. Published since 1969, it offers non-partisan coverage and analysis. Some of Washington's most insightful journalists contribute. Many special features are included on this site.

Policy Sites on the Internet (University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/gov_policy.html
UB Libraries guide to sites that cover public policy issues, which are often political.

[Politics, the Internet, and the Net Democracy Guide] (Center for Democracy and Technology)
http://www.netdemocracyguide.org/
A guide to politics and fundraising on the Internet.

Project Vote Smart
http://www.vote-smart.org/
This is an excellent site for obtaining information about a candidate running for re-election. Using zip-code to identify your elected officials, you can then obtain biographical information, campaign fund information, evaluations by special interest groups, and voting record.

Return to Top




Other Countries

ElectionGuide (International Foundation Electoral Systems-IFES)
http://www.electionguide.org/index.php
Locate historical and upcoming elections by types of votes, countries, and years.

Elections Canada
http://www.elections.ca/
Site of the federal agency that oversees Canadian elections.

Great Britain Government and Politics (Britannia.com)
http://www.britannia.com/gov/index.html
This site gives a general introduction to the form and structure of British government plus provides links to a variety of official government sites, sites relating to Britain's political system, and commentaries about British politics.

Political Science Resources--Politics and Government Around the World (Richard Kimber)
http://www.politicsresources.net/
Links to government, election, and political Web sites throughout the world.

 

Return to Top




Data Sets

American National Election Studies (ANES) (Stanford University and University of Michigan)
http://www.electionstudies.org/
Statistics cover voting, public opinion, and political participation.

Inter-university Consortium for Political Science Research (ICPSR)
http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/
See the "Special Topic Archive."

 

Return to Top





Return to the homepage
Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility
  • rss
  • facebook
  • youtube
  • twitter