return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Arts & Sciences Libraries
  arrow_icon   Architecture & Planning
  arrow_icon   Lockwood Library
  arrow_icon   Government Documents
  arrow_icon   Polish Room
  arrow_icon   Undergraduate Library
  arrow_icon   Science & Engineering
  arrow_icon   Map Collection
  arrow_icon   Multimedia Center
  arrow_icon   Microform Collections
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
divider
  star icon Digital Library Center
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
 
 




Edward Herman,
Modified February 16, 2007
lolherma@buffalo.edu
 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Information > Government Resources by Subject> Grants & Grantmaking


Government Grants

Governments are major resources for grant funding. This guide lists selected federal and New York State sources. See also two related sources: Grants & Grantmaking, a guide to general grant resources, including non-governmental foundations; and Grants & Grantmaking: Sciences, a guide specific to funding for scientific research and teaching.

Federal Sources

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (U.S. General Services Administration)
http://www.gsa.gov/fdac/default.htm
Lockwood Documents US PrEx 2.20 (current edition)
An annual compendium of grant and loan programs offered by federal agencies. Descriptions cover:

  • Sponsoring agencies.
  • Program authorizations--laws that established the programs.
  • Program objectives.
  • Types of assistance available.
  • Uses and restrictions of moneys.
  • Eligibility requirements.
  • Application and award processes.
  • Assistance considerations--formulas, matching funds, length of assistance.
  • Post assistance requirements.
  • Financial data--amount of moneys distributed.
  • Regulations and guidelines.
  • Information contacts.
  • Related programs.
  • Selection criteria.

Community of Science (COS)
http://fundedresearch.cos.com (free registration required)
Links to grants sponsored by:

  • NIH - The National Institutes of Health
  • NSF - The National Science Foundation
  • USDA - The United States Department of Agriculture
  • SBIR - Small Business Innovation Research
  • MRC - The Medical Research Council, UK

COS requires users to complete a free registration form.  Select "COS Services" after loging in to view a comprehensive guide to menu choices.

GovBenefits.gov
http://www.govbenefits.gov/govbenefits_en.portal
A consortium of federal agencies pool their resources to make information about grants and benefits more accessible. Locate information by topics or by states, or complete a questionnaire to view a list of benefits/grants you are eligible for.

Government Benefits, Grants and Financial Aid (U.S. General Services Administration)
http://www.usa.gov/Citizen/Topics/Benefits.shtml
A directory to dozens of government benefits, grants, and financial aid available to the public.

GPO Access Resources by Topic: Grants & Awards (U.S. Government Printing Office)
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/topics/grants.html
Data cover frequently asked questions; legislation and regulations; purchasing related publications; and links to additional information.

Grant Writing Tutorial (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency) (EPA)
http://www.purdue.edu/envirosoft/grants/src/msieopen.htm
Topics cover enhancing a proposal; completing forms; mock grant writing activity; examples of grants; and a glossary. Emphasis is upon EPA grants.

Grants.gov (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services)
http://grants.gov/
The government intends Grants.gov to become a central information source about federal grants. Links retrieve information by topics, and offer opportunities to subscribe to grant notification services. Additional features cover the Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance and data about grants management. Organization of the applicants' database is by Dun & Bradstreet's "Data Universal Numbering System" (DUNS) numbers. For information on obtaining a DUNS number, see http://www.dnb.com/US/duns_update/index.html.

GrantsNet (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services)
http://www.hhs.gov/grantsnet/
An online guide to grant information sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). The site emphasizes HHS funding opportunities, but also covers opportunities offered by other agencies. GrantsNet compiles in one place a reference collection of grant related resources covering legislation, regulations, policies, lessons learned, and success stories.

Tips On Writing a Grant Proposal (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency) (EPA)
http://www.epa.gov/ogd/recipient/tips.htm
Selected topics include proposal summaries; problem statements; project objectives, methods and evaluations; future funding; and budgeting.

U.S. Department of Education

  • Financial Aid
    http://www.ed.gov/finaid/landing.jhtml?src=sm
    Covers assistance to students.

  • Grants & Contracts
    http://www.ed.gov/fund/landing.jhtml?src=sm
    Covers grants to school districts.

  • Programs
    http://www.ed.gov/programs/landing.jhtml?src=ln
    Locate information about funding programs by office, title, subject, types of funding, and eligibility.

Return to Top

New York State Sources

Catalog of State and Federal Programs Aiding New York's Local Governments, biennial. (New York Legislative Commission on State-Local Relations).
http://assembly.state.ny.us/comm/StateLocal/20050527/
Lockwood Ref HJ605 .C38 (current edition)
A directory of grant programs available to local governments in New York State. The Catalog describes titles; objectives; administrating agencies; legal authorities; years established; contacts; eligibility; restrictions; and program details for:

  • Federal programs available to state governments.
  • Federal programs available to local government.
  • State programs available to local governments.

Grants Action News (New York State Assembly)
Lockwood Documents NY LEG 603.2-3 GRAAN (1995-present)
http://assembly.state.ny.us/gan/ (2000-present)
A monthly newsletter that describes grants available from federal and New York State agencies.

Information on Grants Available in New York State (New York State Archives and Records Administration and the New York State Library)
http://www.nysl.nysed.gov/ils/topics/grants.htm
Options include:

  • Arts Grants
  • Teacher Opportunity Grants
  • Grants and Loans for College
  • Vocational and Applied Technology Education Grants
  • Low Interest Mortgage Loans
  • Science and Technology Entry Program Grants
  • Collegiate Science and Technology Entry Program Grants
  • State Education Department Grants Available to Help New York's Libraries Improve Access to Information
  • Grants Resource Collection at the New York State Library
Return to Top
 
divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility