return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
Instant Message Email Phone In Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Arts & Sciences Libraries
  arrow_icon   Architecture & Planning
  arrow_icon   Lockwood Library
  arrow_icon   Government Documents
  arrow_icon   Polish Room
  arrow_icon   Undergraduate Library
  arrow_icon   Science & Engineering
  arrow_icon   Map Collection
  arrow_icon   Multimedia Center
  arrow_icon   Microform Collections
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
divider
  star icon Digital Library Center
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
 
 


Edward Herman,
Modified September 29, 2009
lolherma@buffalo.edu

 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Resources > Instructional & Class Materials


Instructional & Class Materials

Upon request, Government Documents staff will provide in-class instruction for projects that utilize government information collections, the Libraries' Web site, or related electronic resources. Contact Ed Herman for further information.

  • General Information
  • Citing Government Publications
  • Class Materials
  • Government Documents Instruction for General Reference Librarians
  • Thinking Critically About Government Information: A Video Series

General Information

Citing Sources (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/citing-sources.html

Research Tips (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/tutorials/research.html
A guide to researching within the University Libraries. Topics include searching the UB Libraries catalog and databases.

 

Return to Top




Citing Government Publications

Brief Guide to Citing Government Publications (University of Memphis)
http://exlibris.memphis.edu/resource/unclesam/citeweb.html

Citing Government Documents/Government Agency Style Manuals (University of North Texas Libraries)
http://www.library.unt.edu/govinfo/browse-topics/citation-guides-and-style-manuals/citing-government-documents

Citing Government Information Sources Using MLA (University of Nevada, Reno)
http://www.knowledgecenter.unr.edu/subjects/guides/government/cite.html

Citing Government Publications and Web Sites (University of California, Riverside)
http://lib.ucr.edu/depts/govpub/citation.php
Covers citing print, Web, and legal materials.

How to Cite Electronic Media (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS))
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/howto/citelec.htm
Tips offered by NCHS about citing its information are applicable to most other electronic data.

Government Documents Service: DocsCite (Arizona State University Libraries)
http://www.asu.edu/lib/hayden/govdocs/docscite/docscite.htm
Fill in the blanks on a form to create citations in APA or MLA styles for documents in print/microform, CD-ROM, or Internet formats.

Return to Top




Class Materials

Current Semester (Fall 2009)
  • International Legal Research, LAW 748
  • Reference Sources and Services LIS 518
  • Scientific Methods in Social Work, SW 510E
  • Social Work History and Policy, SW 500
  • University Experience, UBE101
  • Urban Geography (GEO 530)
  • U.S. in 1920's & 1930's, HIS 491

 

Return to Top




Government Documents Instruction for General Reference Librarians

See ASL staffWEB Staff Training Workshop Documents for training materials.
Return to Top







return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility