return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
Instant Message Email Phone In Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Arts & Sciences Libraries
  arrow_icon   Architecture & Planning
  arrow_icon   Lockwood Library
  arrow_icon   Government Documents
  arrow_icon   Polish Room
  arrow_icon   Undergraduate Library
  arrow_icon   Science & Engineering
  arrow_icon   Map Collection
  arrow_icon   Multimedia Center
  arrow_icon   Microform Collections
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
divider
  star icon Digital Library Center
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
 
 




Ed Herman
Modified February 18, 2008

 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Information > Local, State and International Governments > State and Local Governments

State and Local Governments

Lockwood Library is a depository library for New York State documents. That is, publications of New York State agencies and the Legislature are available to us without charge. In turn, the library assumes responsibility for making them available to the entire community, both within and outside the University. Click here for information about New York State government publications.

This does not include documents published by local governments within New York. The following selected Web sites suggest starting points for retrieving information from local governments and other states.

Buffalo and Erie County

Buffalo Free-net Government Page (Buffalo Free-Net)
http://www.bfn.org/govt
Links to the official web sites of Western New York county and city governments, plus those of New York State and federal government.

City of Buffalo
http://www.ci.buffalo.ny.us
The city's official site includes information on city services and elected officials, a calendar of events, and an electronic payment service for parking tickets and selected permits.

Erie County Directory of Public Officials
http://directories.erie.gov/officialdir
Links to the names, addresses, and party affiliations of all elected officials (local, state, and federal) in from Erie County.

Erie County Legislature
http://www.erie.gov/legislature/
The "Legislators" section includes links to the names and addresses of all county lawmakers, and maps for their jurisdictions.

Erie County Works
http://www.erie.gov
The official county site provides access to information about the legislature, county services, organizations and activities.

Institute for Local Governance and Regional Growth (University at Buffalo)
http://www.regional-institute.buffalo.edu/
The Institute combines academic scholarship and practical policy analysis to promote regional growth and more effective local governance in Western NY and Southern Ontario. The Institutes two most significant projects are the:

  • Regional Knowledge Network (University at Buffalo. Institute for Local Governance and Regional Growth)
    http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/rkn.html
    Provides socioeconomic and political summaries of the 8 county Western New York area and southern Ontario.
  • State of the Region Project
    http://www.regional-institute.buffalo.edu/sotr/index.cfm
    Studies 11 areas of local government in Western NY.
    1. Economy
    2. Environment
    3. Government
    4. Education
    5. Technology and information
    6. Health
    7. Public safety
    8. Human services
    9. Equity
    10. Planning and land use
    11. Regional assets

Town of Amherst
http://www.amherst.ny.us
Amherst's official site includes contact information for elected officials, property assessment review instructions and forms, and a guide to town services.


Return to Top 

Other Local Governments

Citizen's Access to Local Government (New York State Library)
http://www.nysl.nysed.gov/ils/topics/local.htm
Links to the official Internet sites for cities and counties in New York State.

MyNYC (New York City)
http://www.nyc.gov
New York City's official home page provides information about elected city officials, services and agencies.

Municode.com (Municipal Code Corporation)
http://www.municode.com
This site hosts the municipal codes for selected cities, including the City of Tonawanda.

Municipal Codes on the Internet (General Code Publishers Corp.)
http://www.generalcode.com/webcode2.html
Offers the full text of selected municipalities, including many in New York State.


Return to Top 

State Governments

National Association of State Budget Officers
http://www.nasbo.org
Contains background information on current issues of importance to the states. The intended audience is state budget officers.

National Conference of State Legislatures
http://www.ncsl.org
A bipartisan network for presenting policy issues of interest to state legislatures.

NCSL 50-State Legislative Tracking Web Resources (National Conference of State Legislatures)
http://www.ncsl.org/programs/lis/lrl/50statetracking.htm
Describes state legislative activities for nearly 20 issues. Examples include agriculture; arts; banking; budget; children and families; crime; economic development and labor; education; elections and campaigns; energy and environment; ethics; health; immigration; state-tribal relations; telecommunications; and transportation.

State Agency Databases Across the Fifty States (American Library Association. Government Documents Round Table. State and Local Documents Task Force)
http://wikis.ala.org/godort/index.php/State_Agency_Databases
A directory to databases maintained by all 50 states.

State and Local Governments (Library of Congress)
http://www.loc.gov/rr/news/stategov/stategov.html
A directory of Internet resources to official state and local government Web sites.

State Blue Books (American Library Association. Government Documents Round Table. State and Local Documents Task Force)
http://wikis.ala.org/godort/index.php/State_Blue_Books
Links to Blue Books published about all 50 states. Blue Books describe the organization of state governments.

State Government Information Index (St. Mary's University. Louis J. Blume Library)
http://library.stmarytx.edu/acadlib/doc/us/states/index.htm
Links to state government information about courts and legal materials; legislation and legislative histories; local government; blue books; health; education; taxes; state agency databases; and location of GPO depository libraries.

STATE LEGISLATIVE HISTORY RESEARCH GUIDES ON THE WEB (Indiana University. Bloomington. School of Law Library)
http://www.law.indiana.edu/library/services/sta_leg.shtml
Provides links about tracking bills, legislative histories, and legislative intents in all 50 states.

StateList: The Electronic Source for State Publication Lists (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Joint project of the Documents and Law Libraries)
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/doc/statelist/check/check.htm
Links to bibliographies of government publications issued by states.

Stateline.org: Politics and Policy News, State by State (Pew Research Center)
http://www.stateline.org
Provides news and information about issues of public policy, such as health care, welfare, and education.


Return to Top 
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility