return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
Instant Message Email Phone In Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Arts & Sciences Libraries
  arrow_icon   Architecture & Planning
  arrow_icon   Lockwood Library
  arrow_icon   Government Documents
  arrow_icon   Polish Room
  arrow_icon   Undergraduate Library
  arrow_icon   Science & Engineering
  arrow_icon   Map Collection
  arrow_icon   Multimedia Center
  arrow_icon   Microform Collections
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
divider
  star icon Digital Library Center
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
 
 




Ed Herman
Modified February 18, 2008

 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Information > Selected Statistical Sources

Selected Statistical Sources

An Introduction

Lockwood Library has many statistical sources published by governments, and the commercial and non-profit making sectors. This guide presents an overview of locating statistics in BISON and things to consider when using statistics.

Locating Statistics in the BISON Catalog

Search the BISON Catalog limiting terms to subject keywords.

women and statistics

Retrieves materials that include the terms women and statistics in subject headings.
europe and statistics Retrieves materials that include the terms europe and statistics in subject headings.

Use Advanced Search to limit results to serials (journals and annual publications that often have reoccurring tables), and electronic formats.

women and statistics as subject keywords and select Serials from the Format option. Retrieves serials that include the terms women and statistics in subject headings.
education and statistics as subject keywords and select Online from the Location/Collection option Retrieves electronic information that include the terms education and statistics in subject headings.

BISON may not always be the best place to locate statistics. If you have difficulty locating information in BISON, try one of the following alternatives prepared by University Libraries staff.

  • Selected Statistical Sources : Portals, General Sources and Indexes
    http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/statistics_portals.html
  • Selected Statistical Sources : Popular Topics
    http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/statistics_topics.html
Return to Top 

Using Statistics

A good idea is to ask five basic questions when working with statistics.

  1. Who? The universe reflects who is being counted. For instance, in census questions, does the library user want data about individuals, households, families, or housing units? Also consider which agency or any other entity might collect this type of information.
  2. What? What types of data variables about the universe does the patron need? Be careful not to confuse the universe and subject variables? The universe reflects who is counted. The data variables reflect what is being counted. Also consider how the agency defines a concept. For example, the Bureau of Labor statistics measures the number of people working when counting employment, but the Bureau of Economic Analysis counts the number of jobs. People working at 2 jobs are double counted. Definitions and other methodological aids are often in footnotes, appended materials, or hyperlinked.
  3. Where? What type of geography is required? (i.e., national, one state, all states, counties) If data for the desired geography is unavailable, can the patron still use another type of geography?
  4. Why? As with other reference questions, knowing why the library user seeks this data is helpful. Also consider why an agency or any other entity might want to collect this information. Methodological notes usually answer this.
  5. When? What is the relevant time period? Consider the person who wants unemployment statistics between 1980 and 2000. Determine if she wants data for the 2 years, 20 years, or any other segment between 1980 and 2000.

Consult the following for good overviews:

  • Data Use Tutorial (Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR))
    http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/ICPSR/help/newuser.html
    An introduction to searching and then using data files.
  • Finding and Using Data (NoodleTools, Inc.)
    http://www.noodletools.com/debbie/literacies/mathematics/stats.html
    Presents advice on finding data; data sources; and hints for using data more effectively. NoodleTools is a private company that aids students and professionals with their online research.
  • Spotlight on Statistics (LexisNexis Statistical)
    http://web.lexis-nexis.com/statuniv/form/stat/help2.html?_m=e3a3d7ecdab1760d7d4b5e652f4d9885&wchp=dGLbVtz-zSkVV&_md5=5e92a26a0166c67a1441ad3888ebbcbb
    An introduction to federal government statistics that covers important agencies; basic statistical concepts; outlines of key economic, social, demographic, and environmental data; problems with federal statistics; and a glossary.
  • StatSoft (StatSoft, Inc)
    http://www.statsoftinc.com/textbook/stathome.html
    Summarizes statistical concepts and procedures.
Return to Top 
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility