return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
Instant Message Email Phone In Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Arts & Sciences Libraries
  arrow_icon   Architecture & Planning
  arrow_icon   Lockwood Library
  arrow_icon   Government Documents
  arrow_icon   Polish Room
  arrow_icon   Undergraduate Library
  arrow_icon   Science & Engineering
  arrow_icon   Map Collection
  arrow_icon   Multimedia Center
  arrow_icon   Microform Collections
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
divider
  star icon Digital Library Center
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
 
 


Edward Herman,
Modified August 18, 2009
lolherma@buffalo.edu

 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Information > Statistical Information Sources


Statistical Information Sources
  • Kinds of Statistical Data
  • Guides to Suggested Data Sources
  • Other Sources


Kinds of Statistical Data

Government Resources by Subject: An A-Z Index (University Libraries. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/gov-resources.html
UB librarians selected key resources about nearly forty popular topics. Many include links to Canadian government resources.

Return to Top




Guides to Suggested Data Sources

  • Selected Statistics Sources: Introduction
    http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/statistics_intro.html
    Provides tips for retrieving information from the Libraries Catalog ; questions to ask when using statistics; and links to summaries of basic statistical concepts.
  • Selected Statistical Sources : Portals, General Sources, and Indexes
    http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/statistics_portals.html
    Summarizes selected directories, subject portals, and indexes to statistical data. Topics cover general sources; and U.S. , state and local, Canadian, and international sites.
  • Selected Statistical Sources : Popular Topics
    http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/statistics_topics.html
    Links lead to data about aging; agriculture; economics, labor, and budgets; children and families; crime and justice; populations; education; energy; foreign countries; foreign trade; health; history ; public opinion; and prices.
  • Resources by Subject: Statistical Information
    http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/infotree/resourcesbysubject.asp?subject=Statistical+Information
    Links to selected statistical databases available through BISON.
Return to Top



Other Sources

  • New York State Data Center
    http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/sdc.html
    The Bureau of the Census established data centers in all states to disseminate census information in their respective areas. State data centers then designate affiliate centers that disseminate the data locally. The New York State Data Center, a section of Empire State Development (ESD)-New York State's economic development agency, designated Lockwood Library an affiliate center.
  • Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
    http://www.icpsr.umich.edu
    ICPSR is the largest data archive in the world. It collects numeric data from researchers, governments, and other institutions throughout the world, and makes the information available to people at member institutions. This information is primarily raw data. Contact Leslie McCain, UB's ICPSR representative, to access data files. (645-3102 or mccain@buffalo.edu ) Leslie will download the files and place them on a local server.

Contact Edward Herman , a Government Documents Librarian, for additional information about ICPSR or any other question pertaining to statistics.

Return to Top



return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility