return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Arts & Sciences Libraries
  arrow_icon   Architecture & Planning
  arrow_icon   Lockwood Library
  arrow_icon   Government Documents
  arrow_icon   Polish Room
  arrow_icon   Undergraduate Library
  arrow_icon   Science & Engineering
  arrow_icon   Map Collection
  arrow_icon   Multimedia Center
  arrow_icon   Microform Collections
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
divider
  star icon Digital Library Center
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
 
 




Guide Author: Edward Herman

Last Updated: 11 July 2005





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Information > Government Resources by Subject > Taxes


Taxes
  • U.S. Tax Forms
  • State Tax Forms
  • Foreign Governments
  • Research Meta-Sites
  • U.S. Tax Laws and Regulations
  • Tax Preparation and Tax Tips
  • New York State Property Tax
  • New York State Tax Savings Plans

A guide to 2007 taxes is at http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/TaxQuickGuide.html.  It covers federal and state forms, and suggests resources that offer tax tips. The Tax tips section includes directories to free tax preparation services both on and off campus.  It will remain posted through tax season.

This guide provides links to tax forms and instructions, plus other related data about taxation. The Lockwood Library also distributes selected print copies of forms and instructions provided by the federal government and New York State. Forms are generally displayed during the months of January through April.

NOTE: Reference librarians lack training as tax professionals and cannot answer tax-related questions. Use the links on this Web site and the tax materials available in the library at your own risk. For assistance with preparation of tax returns, please consult a qualified professional.

U.S. Tax Forms

Internal Revenue Service
http://www.irs.ustreas.gov/index.html
The Internal Revenue Service divides its Web site into the following areas. This page includes a link to Free File, the free tax perparation and e-filing service.

  • Tax Information For Individuals
    http://www.irs.ustreas.gov/individuals/index.html
  • Tax Information for Businesses
    http://www.irs.ustreas.gov/businesses/index.html
  • Tax Information for Charities & Other Non-Profits
    http://www.irs.ustreas.gov/charities/index.html
  • Tax Info for Government Entities
    http://www.irs.ustreas.gov/govt/index.html
  • Tax Info for Tax Professionals
    http://www.irs.ustreas.gov/taxpros/index.html
  • e-file
    http://www.irs.ustreas.gov/efile/index.html
  • Forms and Publications
    http://www.irs.ustreas.gov/formspubs/index.html
  • Frequently Asked Tax Questions And Answers
    http://www.irs.ustreas.gov/faqs/index.html
  • Taxpayer Advocate Service
    http://www.irs.ustreas.gov/advocate/index.html

1040.com
http://www.1040.com
Select the Federal option to retrieve forms, instructions, and publications from 1991-present.

Return to Top


divider



State Tax Forms

New York State Tax Forms
http://www.tax.state.ny.us/forms/default.htm
The New York State Department of Taxation and Finance provides PDF versions of forms and instructions for all types of taxes, including income, sales, corporate, and gift taxes.

LSU Directory of State Tax Agencies
http://www.lib.lsu.edu/govdocs/taxes.html
The government documents librarians at Louisiana State University created links to all state tax agencies and the District of Columbia.

1040.com
http://www.1040.com
Select the State option to retrieve selected forms from 2000-present.

Return to Top


divider



Foreign Governments

Global Portal for Tax and Accounting
http://www.taxup.com/
Topics cover accounting; corporations; finance; individual taxation; offshore taxes; tax authorities; and tax treaties.

Tax and Accounting Sites Directory: International Tax
http://www.taxsites.com/international.html
Links to country specific tax sites that cover government agencies and other resources; international tax associations; the Internal Revenue Service; the European Union; tax treaties; and sources for students and faculty.

Return to Top


divider



Research Meta-Sites

Yahoo! Tax Center
http://biz.yahoo.com/taxes
Tax forms, tips, and links to a variety of tax related web sites. Selected featured links cover tax calculators, a glossary, a tax preparation checklist, tax news, and a directory to accountants.

TaxSites.com
http://www.taxsites.com
Links to dozens of sites dealing with U.S., state, and international taxation. Includes tax law, professional organizations, employment opportunities, academic resources, and a directory of schools which offer accounting programs.

Return to Top


divider



U.S. Tax Laws and Regulations

United States Code
http://uscode.house.gov/search/criteria.shtml
The U.S. House of Representatives' searchable text of the U.S. Code , including the Internal Revenue Code (Title 26).

U.S. Tax Code Online
http://www.fourmilab.ch/ustax/ustax.html
Programmer John Walker has created an enhanced version of the Tax Code, searchable by table of contents, section number, or keyword. Users should exercise caution in using this site, as it may not reflect the latest version of the Code.

Code of Federal Regulations
http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/cfr-table-search.html
The Code of Federal Regulations reproduces federal regulations, including those of the Internal Revenue Service.

TaxLinks.com
http://www.taxlinks.com
Searchable databases of IRS Revenue Rulings and IRS Revenue Procedures, from 1954 to the present.

Return to Top


divider



Tax Preparation and Tax Tips

Electronic Services from the IRS
http://www.irs.ustreas.gov/efile/index.html
Tips for electronic filing and other services.

H&R Block Tax Resources
http://www.taxcut.com/taxtips/taxresources.html
Many tips that will help taxpayers.

Revised 2005 Tax Rate Schedules
http://www.irs.gov/formspubs/article/0,,id=133517,00.html

Tax Credit Reporting Service (TCRS) Student/Taxpayer (AFSA Data Corporation)
http://www.1098-t.com
Intended to help students determine their eligibility for the Hope Scholarship and the Lifetime Learning tax credits.

TaxAct.com
http://www.2ndstorysoftware.com
Free software for completing federal tax forms. The site also offers a fee-based service for filing returns electronically, and sells software for completing state tax returns.

Taxes & Audits (Nolo Press)
http://www.nolo.com/lawcenter/index.cfm/catID/22E81CA5-AD6E-49E2-A64A90892A572DB4
Guidelines for handling legal problems relating to income taxes, including tips on dealing with the IRS, paying overdue tax bills, avoiding an audit, going to U.S. Tax Court, and more. From Nolo Press, a leading publisher of self-help legal guides.

Return to Top


divider



New York State Property Tax

New York State Office of Real Property Services
http://www.orps.state.ny.us/index.cfm
The "Taxpayer Rights & Information" section ( http://www.orps.state.ny.us/home/tri_index.cfm ) links taxpayers to local assessment off ices, and also provides selected forms for download.

Return to Top


divider



New York State Tax Savings Plans

New York's 529 College Savings Program
http://nysaves.uii.upromise.com/
A "Frequently Asked Questions" area ( http://nysaves.uii.upromise.com/content/programInfo/faq.html ) explains this tax-free program which is designed to promote savings towards higher education costs.

School Tax Relief (STAR) Program
http://www.orps.state.ny.us/star
Provides qualifying homeowners a partial exemption from school taxes.

Return to Top


divider




divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility