return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: Chris Hollister

Last Updated: 26 Feb 2008





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Careers > Career Planning

    
Career Planning

This guide lists sources of information to assist students who are exploring career opportunities. All of the sources listed can be found in the University at Buffalo's Arts & Sciences Libraries or on the World Wide Web.

Getting Started

NOTE: Materials shelved in reference collections must be used within the libraries. They do not circulate.

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
UGL/SEL reference collection:
HF5381 .E52

Career Discovery Encyclopedia
UGL/SEL reference collection:
HF5381.2 C37

Career Information Center
UGL/SEL reference collection:
HF 5382.5 U5 C33

Top 100: The Fastest Growing Careers for the 21st Century
UGL/SEL reference collection:
HF5382 .T59

Return to Top


divider



Books

There are four basic ways of searching for books and other materials in BISON (the UB Libraries online catalog): by author, title, keyword, or subject heading. Each of these search methods are demonstrated below. For additional assistance, review the UB Libraries Web Catalog Help page, or Contact A Librarian.

Sample AUTHOR search: degalan, julie
Sample TITLE search: great jobs for english majors
Sample KEYWORD search: careers and social work
Sample SUBJECT search: career development--united states

NOTE: To browse the library reference or circulating collections for books on career planning, go to the stacks that have call numbers ranging from HF5381-HF5382.5.
Return to Top


divider



Databases

The databases listed below are useful sources for exploring careers. Students can use these databases to search for professional organizations, or to search for articles about careers in newspapers, magazines, or journals. For additional searching assistance, review the ASL Finding Articles guide, or Contact A Librarian.

UB Only Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary periodical database that provides coverage from over 8,200 scholarly, trade, and general-interest publications.
UB Only Lexis-Nexis (Academic Universe)
Provides full-text articles and reports from more than 6,000 magazines, newspapers, wire services, legal resources, reference books, and government publications from around the world.

For additional databases, refer to the UB Libraries' Business page. NOTE: These databases are restricted to current UB students and staff. Current UB students and staff connecting off-network will be prompted for a user name and password.
Return to Top


divider



Web Sites

The following web sites have been selected by Librarians and Career Services Counselors as being the best Internet resources for information on career planning. For additional web assistance, review the Using Web Resources page, or Contact A Librarian.

  • CareerJournal.com
  • CareerVoyages.gov
  • GradSchools.com
  • New York Career Zone
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook
  • O*NET OnLine
  • Riley Guide
  • The Career Project
  • What Can I do with this Major?
Return to Top


divider

divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility