return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Material
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries and Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserve Databases Forms A-Z Requesting Materials Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Architecture & Planning Digital Collections Health Sciences Library Law Library Libraries Annex Lockwood Library Multimedia Collections Music Library Silverman Library Special Collections
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Library Store Support Our Libraries
chatChat textText emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Requesting Materials
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 

ben wagner

Guide Author: A. Ben Wagner
Last Updated: 11 May, 2012

Abbreviations
  • ACS = American Chemical Society
  • CAS = Chemical Abstracts Service
  • DOD = Department of Defense
  • EPA = U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • NCI = National Cancer Institute
  • NIST = U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • NLM = National Library of Medicine
  • NSDL = National Science Digital Library (funded NSF)
  • NSF = National Science Foundation
  • RSC = Royal Society of Chemistry

 





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Chemistry > Internet Resources

    
Chemistry: Internet Resources

This guide contains selected chemistry resources freely available on the Internet. For more information on chemistry, visit the State University of New York at Buffalo Chemistry Department.

  • Books, Journals, Open Access
  • Career Information
  • Compound/Reaction Databases
  • Conferences and Meetings
  • Dictionaries, Periodic Tables, & Aids
  • Educational Materials
  • General Portals & Directories
  • History of Chemistry
  • Software
  • Analytical
  • Inorganic/OrganoMetallic
  • Material/Polymer
  • Medicinal/Toxicology
  • Organic
  • Physical

 

Books, Journals, Open Access

See also General Portals & Directories Section

  • BookFinder.com - One of the best & largest meta-search site for new & used books.
  • CAS Source Index - current and discontinued scientific and technical serial titles worldwide including journals, online preprint servers, conference proceedings, patent document series, meeting publications, and monographs containing collections of papers. [Note: this online version is missing some information from the CD product available at the Capen Reference Area CD Workstation.]
  • Chemical Abstracts Core Journal List - Journals indexed cover-to-cover; includes standard ACS title abbreviations.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals (Lund Univ.) - Over 7,700 peer reviewed, freely available journals, the most comprehensive directory on the Web. Article level search also available.

  • Directory of Open Access Repositories -OpenDOAR (Univ. of Nottingham) - an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.
  • East Asian Gateway Service Document Delivery (Univ. at Pittsburgh) - Free, fast delivery of Chinese documents/articles to any individual researchers for research and teaching purposes where the needed item is not in any U.S. library.
  • Google Books - Over 15,000,000 books and magazine issues, with material added daily.
  • HathiTrust - Over 8.7 million scanned items, all described by precise metadata. Full-text of copyrighted items (~73%) are generally inaccessible.
  • Index Translationum  (UNESCO) - 1.3 million translated books
  • Journal-Ranking.com (Andrew Lim, Hong Kong Univ. of Science & Technology) - Free interactive journal ranking service allowing users to choose ranking parameters. Alternative to ISI journal impact factors.
  • Landolt-Bornstein Substance / Property Index - Keyword searchable as well as molecular formula, element system, CAS Registry Numbers, chemical name, and zeolite indicies. UB has most of the older print volumes on the Silverman (Capen) Reference shelves (QC61.L33 & QC61.L332).
  • The Online Books Page (John Mark Ockerbloom, Univ. of Penna.) - A meta-search & directory of over 800,000 freely available online books.
  • Publish or Perish (Anne-Wil Harzing) - a downloadable, free program analyzing Google Scholar citations to an author's publications. Reports statistics such as ave. cites per paper and h-index & related metrics. Disclaimer: Google Scholar citation data is very noisy & includes non-peer reviewed citing documents.  Citation variations likely inflate number of papers & citations.
  • RoMEO - Over 400 publisher copyright and self-archiving policies (SHERPA)
  • SciVee (Univ. of California, San Diego) - Allows scholars to post articles along with a video presentation. Sponsored by NSF & Public Library of Science.
Return to Top




Career Information

  • Chemical & Engineering News Chemjobs (ACS)
  • Naturejobs (Nature Magazine)
  • PhDs.org: Science, Math & Engineering Career Resources (Geoff Davis) - aims at Ph.D. candidate & job seekers.  Includes school rankings at Find the Graduate School That's Right for You.
  • Science Careers (Science Magazine)
  • Woman-Related Sites in Science & Technology (Joan Korenman)
Return to Top




Compound/Reaction Databases

See also Medicinal Chemistry/Toxicology Section

  • Chembank (Broad Institute) - Small molecules bioactive database
  • Chemical Structure Lookup Service (NCI CADD Group) - metasearch of over 27 million compounds in over 80 internet chemical databases
  • Chemical Thesaurus Reaction Chemistry Database (Meta-synthesis, Inc.) - Open access synthetic route information. Database can be downloaded
  • ChemDB - Very large public database of small molecules and related chemoinformatics resources
  • ChemFinder - A substructure-searchable small-molecule database
  • ChemIDplus (NLM Toxnet) - Structure searchable chemical dictionary
    • Lite Version - Name and registry number searching only
    • Advanced Version - Additional search features including substructure searching
  • ChemSpider Synthetic Pages - freely available, crowd-sourced database of synthetic chemistry based on procedures deposited by synthetic chemists.
  • eMolecules Search Engine - 9 million commercially available compounds searchable by structure, name, or CAS Registry Number
  • Generated Database of Chemical Space of Small Molecules (Jean-Louis Reymond, Univ. of Bern) - downloadable database of all molecules up to 11 atoms (26.4 million compounds) under chemical stability & synthetic feasibility constraints.
  • Landolt-Bornstein Substance / Property Index - Keyword searchable as well as molecular formula, element system, CAS Registry Numbers, chemical name, and zeolite indicies. UB has most of the older print volumes on the Silverman (Capen) Reference shelves (QC61.L33 & QC61.L332).
  • NCI-3D - 2-D & 3-D structure database
  • NIST Chemistry WebBook - Most extensive physical property/spectra site on free Web
  • PubChem (NLM) - Chemical compound and bioassay public database
  • Reciprocal Net (NSDL) - Database of 3-D molecular structures compiled by crystallographers
  • ZINC (Univ. of California, San Francisco) - Free database of over 4.6 million commercially available compound designed virtual screening. Entire database is downloadable.
Return to Top




Conferences and Meetings

  • ACS Meeting Locator - Not limited to ACS sponsored meetings.
  • Conferences & Events (Chemistry) (Maintained by RSC)
  • NatureEvents (Nature Magazine)
  • Science Meetings and Events (Science Magazine)
Return to Top




Dictionaries, Periodic Tables, & Aids

  • Abbreviations, acronyms, trivial and trade names (Chemistry Biology Pharmacy Information Center) - especially good for European and obscure abbreviations.
  • Acronyms Database (Indiana University)
  • Acronyms and Abbreviations (Wiley Interscience)
  • ACS Style Guide: Chapter 14: References - details how to cite references for ACS publications.
  • ACS Style Guide (Quick Guide) (Williams College)
  • CAS Standard Abbreviations and Acronyms
  • Dynamic Periodic Table - visualizes the properties of elements with sliders to specify property ranges.
  • IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology - Free, online version of the authoritative, classic IUPAC Gold Book
  • Periodic Table of Comic Books (Holler & Selegue, Univ. of Kentucky)
  • Periodic Table of Elements (Theodore Gray) - Has many pictures, stories, facts, and comparative visualization (scatter plots, color coding, etc.). My favorite periodic table.
  • Periodic Table of Videos (Martyn Poliakoff, Univ. of Nottingham) - Each element has 3-5 minute video combining informal lecture and lab demonstrations.
  • Symbols.com - Over 2,500 Western signs and ideograms with a unique graphic description search, e.g. symmetric vs. non-symmetrical
  • Visual Elements (RSC) - Graphical interpretation of elements
  • WebElements (Univ. of Sheffield)
Return to Top




Educational Materials & Web Courses

  • ACS Chemistry Education Resources - from elementary school graduate education
  • The ChemCollective (Carnegie Mellon/NSDL) - Virtual labs and scenario-based learning
  • Chemistry Textbooks in Print Index (Journal of Chemical Education)
  • Chemical Information Instructional Materials (part of Chemical Information Sources Wikibooks, formerly at Indiana Univ.) - See also XCITR.
  • How Products Are Made (Advameg) - Scores of detailed descriptions from accordions to zirconium. Reliability of information difficult to verify.
  • Indiana Cheminformatics Education Portal (ICEP) (Indiana University) - repository of freely accessible cheminformatics educational materials maintained by David Wild.
  • National Science Teachers Association (NSTA) Learning Center- more than 6,300 different resources, of which over 1,900 are free. Searchable by grade level and type of resource (lesson plans, SciPacks, podcasts, etc.)  Includes a browsable, comprehensive, full-text collection of state learning standards.
  • Principles of Chemical Science (MIT OpenCourseWare) - i ncludes video lectures, lecture notes, and exams.

  • Science Education Games & Puzzles (Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility)
  • Science360 (NSF) - Gathers the latest science videos provided by scientists, universities, research centers, NSF, and others. Exceptional navigation features. Focuses on cutting-edge discoveries and big science stories of the day.
  • SciTalks: Smart people on cool topics (Lee Vodra) - Excellent science videos, many by prominent researchers. Caution: Videos are self posted. Copyright & accuracy uncertain.
  • What's That Stuff (ACS) - Chemical composition of everyday items like Silly Putty and cheese whiz
  • Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students (Penn State Univ.) - a particularly useful and comprehensive guide to good scientific writing.
  • XCITR - eXplore Chemical Information Teaching Resources - international repository for sharing chemical information teaching resources. Designed for librarians, teachers, and professors. A successor to Indiana University's Clearinghouse for Chemical Information Instructional Materials. See also Chemical Information Instructional Materials Wikibook.
Return to Top




General Portals and Directories

  • About.com Chemistry Directory
  • ACS Directory of Graduate Education - Each edition since 1999
  • Blue Obelisk - an innovative online community of chemists, programmers, informaticians based on a wiki and committed to open data and open source.
  • Chemie.de Information Service - Commercial portal & search engine
  • Chemical Industry Directory  (ChemIndustry.com) - Suppliers, Equipment, Services, Software
  • Chemical Information Sources (CHEMINFO) (Wikibooks, formerly at Indiana University)
  • ChemSpider (RSC) - a premier chemistry search engine and much more built around publicly available structures. It searches vast Internet compound collection, patents (from SureChem), and open access journal articles by keyword, element, substructure, molecular formula, and properties.
  • CORE - COnnecting REpositories ( Knowledge Media institute, The Open University) - millions of scholarly articles aggregated from many Open Access repositories.

  • Directory of Open Access Journals - Article Search (Lund Univ.) - Use the lower search box to access nearly 1 million OA articles in over 7,700 journals.

  • DOE Data Explorer - Master repository of scientific research data for U.S. Dept. of Energy sponsored research
  • DTIC MultiSearch (DOD) - a federated search engine of over 400 databases, international organization resources, and patents.
  • Europeana - Multi-lingual online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections.
  • General Chemistry Online (Fred Senese) - Extensive helps for students
  • National Science Digital Library (NSDL) - Funded by major NSF grant
  • OAIster (OCLC) - Digital, open access/archive resource directory
  • NIST Data Gateway - Access to all databases available from NIST's Standard Reference Data (SRD) collections.
  • Science.gov - "USA.gov for Science" gateway
  • Science Accelerator (DOE) - a federated search engine that searches 10 key Department of Energy resources. Includes DOE Information Bridge & DOE Data Exlorer.
  • Scientific Commons (Univ. of St .Gallen) - Over 19 million open access articles and other documents
  • Scirus (Elsevier) - One of largest and best search engines for scientific information
  • Virtual Chemistry Center - Martindale's Reference Desk
  • WorldWideScience.org - Open access portal & federated search engine covering over 400 million pages from 65 countries. Papers can be translated into nine different languages.
  • WWW Virtual Library - Chemistry (Univ. of Liverpool)
Return to Top




History of Chemistry

  • Chemical Heritage Foundation - History of chemistry with online exhibits
  • Chemsoc Timeline (RSC) - Exploration of key history of science events, emphasis on chemistry
  • Citation Classics: The human side of scientific papers (Eugene Garfield)
  • Museum of the History of Science Image Library (Oxford Univ.) - Over 8,500 images of scientific instruments, manuscripts, portraits, historic photographs, & engravings
  • Sciencetimeline.net
  • Selected Classic Papers from the History of Chemistry (Le Moyne Univ.)
  • Wikipedia Timeline of Chemistry
Return to Top




Software

See also Educational Materials and Web Courses Section

  • Data & Property Calculation Web sites (Univ. of Illinois at Chicago)
  • Estimation Program Interface (EPI) Suite (U.S. EPA) - Physical/chemical property and environmental fate estimation model calculations
  • Journal of Chemical Education:Software - Purchase required
  • OSRA: Optical Structure Recognition - converts graphical structures in electronic documents like journal .pdf files into SMILES notation.
  • Protein Explorer, formerly RasMol
  • The Scientific Web - Aid for locating scientific software
Return to Top




Analytical Chemistry

See also Spectra and Spectral Data (UB Guide)

  • Chromatography Book Series (R. P. W. Scott)
  • Elemental composition calculation software (Univ. of Utah)
  • Molecular Expressions - Optics & Microscopy (Florida State Univ.) - Fantastic collection of images
  • Molecular Formula Generator from M.W. (Cambridge Univ.)
Return to Top




Inorganic/Organometallic Chemistry

  • Gmelin Handbook - How to search print - Available main floor Silverman Library Reference Collection at the University at Buffalo
  • The PGM Database - platinum group metals and their alloys (Johnson Matthey)
Return to Top




Material/Polymer Chemistry

See also Properties Data for Chemicals and Materials (UB Guide)

  • The A to Z of Materials (Azom) - Searchable database by keyword, application, and property values
  • The Plastics Web (IDES) - Includes pricing, industry directories, data sheets and property information. Some content requires a paid subscription
  • Polymer Tradename Index (MatWeb)
  • SpecialChem Materials Databases - Separate databases cover cosmetics, coatings & inks, adhesives & sealants, polymer additives & colors, bonding & fastening, and plastics & elastomers
Return to Top




Medicinal Chemistry/Toxicology

See also Compound/Reactions Databases Section and Resources by Subject: Toxicology (UB Guide) - Many listed databases are freely available.

  • AIDSInfo Drug Database (NLM)
  • BindingDB (Univ. of Maryland) -30,000 measured affinities to proteins for over 15,000 small molecule ligands
  • Biocatalysis/Biodegradation Database (Univ. of Minnesota) - Contains 1200 compounds, 1300 reactions, 500 microorganism entries, and 800 enzymes. .
  • BioCyc Database - Pathway/Genome Databases
  • BRENDA Enzyme Database (Cologne Univ.) - Free to educational institutions
  • Chemical & Engineering News Safety Letters (ACS) - Hazardous reactions reported to C&E News
  • Chemical Entities of Biological Interest (ChEBI) [EMBL-EBI] - Compiles information on small molecules from many Internet resources including IntEnz, KEGG Compound, PDBeChem, and ChEMBL.
  • DAIN Metadatabase of Internet Resources for Environmental Chemicals (Univ. of Kassel)
  • DrugBank (Genome Canada/Univ. of Alberta) - Combines detailed data on over 4,300 drugs with comprehensive drug target information
  • Human Metabolome Project (Genome Alberta) - Information on over 2,500 molecules produced by metabolic reactions in the body.
  • The Merck Manuals - Medical and drug information
  • Protein Data Bank (Research Collaboratory for Structural Bioinformatics)
  • TOXNET (NLM) - Over a dozen top notch toxicology databases
  • ToxSeek (NLM) - meta-search engine that enables simultaneous searching of many Internet toxicology resources including TOXNET, NLM, NIH, WHO, & other U.S. & international governmental agencies.
Return to Top




Organic Chemistry

  • Beilstein Handbook - How to search print - Available 3rd floor Science & Engineering Book Collection, Silverman Library at the University at Buffalo
  • Organic Chemistry Portal -includes NMR shift predictions (Reto Muller)
  • Organic Chemistry Resources Worldwide - educational, directory, search engine metasite
  • Organic Syntheses Monograph Series - Wiley (requires free ChemDraw plug-in)
Return to Top




Physical Chemistry

  • Atomic Reference Data for Electronic Structure Calculations (NIST)
  • Fundamental Physical Constants (NIST)
  • Isotopes Project Nuclear Structure & Decay (Lawrence Berkeley National Lab)
Return to Top




Return to the homepage
Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility
  • rss
  • facebook
  • youtube
  • twitter