return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
Instant Message Email Phone In Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+ (Multi-Search)
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Authors:
Chris Hollister
& Tiffany Walsh

Last Updated: Aug. 27, 2009





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Citing Sources > Books

    
Books    

See examples:

Book with single author  |  Book with 2 or more authors  |  Edited book
E-book
 |  Chapter within book  |  Entry in encycyclopedia
 Book review | Thesis or dissertation

Book with single author

APA

Lopez, B. (1986). Arctic dreams: Imagination and desire in a northern landscape.      New York: Scribner.

MLA

Lopez, Barry. Arctic Dreams: Imagination and Desire in a Northern Landscape. New York: Scribner, 1986. Print.

Chicago

Lopez, Barry. 1997. Arctic Dreams: Imagination and Desire in a Northern Landscape.  New York: Scribner.

CSE

Citation-Sequence

Lopez, B. Arctic dreams: imagination and desire in a northern landscape. New York (NY): Scribner; 1997.

Name-Year

Lopez, B. 1997. Arctic dreams: imagination and desire in a northern landscape. NewYork (NY): Scribner.

Return to Top

Book with two or more authors

APA Breivik, P., & Gee, G. (2006). Higher education in the Internet age: Libraries creating a strategic edge. Westport, CT: Praeger.
MLA

Breivik, Patricia , and Gordon Gee. Higher Education in the Internet Age: Libraries
Creating a Strategic Edge
. Westport, CT: Praeger Publishers, 2006. Print.

Chicago

Breivik, Patricia , and Gordon Gee. 2006. Higher Education in the Internet Age:   Libraries Creating a Strategic Edge. Westport, CT: Praeger Publishers.

CSE

Citation-Sequence

Breivik P, Gee G. Higher education in the Internet age: libraries creating a strategic edge. Westport (CT): Praeger; 2006.

Name-Year

Breivik P, Gee G. 2006. Higher education in the Internet age: libraries creating a strategic edge. Westport (CT): Praeger.

Return to Top

Edited book

APA Clayton, S. J. (Ed.). (2007). Going the distance: Library instruction for remote learners. New York: Neal-Schuman.
MLA Clayton, Susan J., ed. Going the Distance: Library Instruction for Remote Learners. New York: Neal-Schuman, 2007. Print.
Chicago

Clayton, Susan J., ed. Going the Distance: Library Instruction for Remote Learners. (New York: Neal-Schuman, 2007).

CSE

Citation-Sequence

Cimellaro G, Andrei R, Bruneau M, Rutenberg A, editors. Multidimensional fragility of structures: formulation and evaluation. Buffalo (NY): Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research; 2006.

Name-Year

Cimellaro G, Andrei, R Bruneau, M Rutenberg, A. 2006. Multidimensional fragility of structures: formulation and evaluation. Buffalo (NY): Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research.

Return to Top

E-book

APA

Subscription

Scranton, R. (1957). Mediaeval architecture in the central area of Corinth [Monograph].  Retrieved from History E-Book Project Web site: http://name.umdl.umich.edu/

Free Web

Austin, Jane. (1895). Pride and Prejudice. New York: Macmillan. Retrieved from http://www.gutenberg.org/catalog/world/readfile?fk_files=907737

MLA

Subscription

Scranton, Robert. Mediaeval Architecture in the Central Area of Corinth. Princeton, NJ: American School of Classical Studies at Athens, 1957. History E-Book Project. Web. 21 Feb. 2007.

Free Web

Austin, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. New York: Macmillan, 1895. Project Gutenberg. Web. 8 July 2009.

Chicago Scranton, Robert. 1957. Mediaeval architecture in the central area of Corinth. History E-Book Project, 2002. http://name.umdl.umich.edu/HEB02919.
CSE

Citation-Sequence

Fischbach, FT. A manual of laboratory and diagnostic tests [web]. Philadelphia (PA): Kluwer; 2009.

Name-Year

Fischbach, FT. 2009. A manual of laboratory and diagnostic tests [web]. Philadelphia (PA): Kluwer.

Return to Top

Chapter within book

APA

Fiedler, L. (1980). The demon of the continent.  In G.M. Bataille & C.L.P. Silet (Eds.), The pretend Indians: Images of Native Americans in the movies (pp. 9-15). Ames, IA: Iowa State University Press.

MLA

Fiedler, Leslie. "The Demon of the Continent." The Pretend Indians: Images of Native      Americans in the Movies. Ed. Gretchen M. Bataille and Charles L.P. Silet. Ames, IA: Iowa State University Press, 1980. 9-15. Print.

Chicago

Fiedler, Leslie. 1980. "The Demon of the Continent." In The Pretend Indians: Images of   Native Americans in the Movies, ed. G.M. Bataille & C.L.P. Silet, 9-15. Ames, IA: Iowa State University Press.

CSE Fiedler L. The demon of the continent. In: Bataille, GM, Silet CLP, editors. The pretend Indians: images of native Americans in the movies. Ames (IA): Iowa State University Press; c1980. p. 9-15.

Return to Top

Entry in encyclopedia

APA

With author given:

Zophy, J.W. (1999). Habsburg dynasty. In Encyclopaedia of the Renaissance (Vol. 3, pp. 109-116). New York: Gale.

With no author given:

Civil engineers. (2005). In Encyclopedia of careers and vocational guidance (Vol. 2, pp. 516-519). New York: Ferguson.

MLA

Print w ith author given:

Zophy, Jonathan W.  "Habsburg Dynasty ."  Encyclopedia of the Renaissance. Ed. Arthur Miller. 2nd ed. Vol. 2. New York: Gale, 1999. Print.

Print with no author given:

"Civil Engineers." Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance. 13th ed. 2005. Print.

Library Database

"Humpback Whale." Encyclopaedia Britannica. 2007 ed. Encyclopaedia Britannica Online. Web. 25 July 2007.

Free Web

"String Theory." Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, 2007. Web. 25 Jul. 2007.

Chicago

[According to The Chicago Manual of Style (15th ed.), "Well-known reference books, such as major dictionaries and encyclopedias, are normally cited in notes rather than in bibliographies." (Section 17.238, p. 715)]

CSE

No example provided in current edition.

Return to Top

Book Review

APA

Rogers, M. (1995, August). [Review of the books The Tree Where Man Was Born and Wildlife in America, by P. Matthiessen]. Library Journal, 120(8), 138.

MLA

Rogers, Michael.  Rev. of The Tree Where Man Was Born and Wildlife in America, by Peter Matthiessen. Library Journal  120.8 (1995): 138. Print.

Chicago

Rogers, Michael. 1995. Review of The tree where man was born and Wildlife in America, by Peter Matthiessen. Library Journal 120 (August): 138.

CSE No example provided in current edition.

Return to Top

Thesis or dissertation

APA

Library Database :

McGuire, D.T., Jr. (1985). History as epic: Silius Italicus and the second Punic War (Doctoral dissertation). Retrieved from ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database. (UMI No. 1432685)

Free Web :

Kerr, P.G. (1985). Liturgical spaces: Procession in the Catholic church (Master's thesis). Retrieved from http://hdl.handle.net/1853/21641

Print:

Rogers, T.L. (2005). Creating and on-line learning community for new school superintendents: Using technology to answer the unmet professional development needs of educational learners (Doctoral dissertation). Columbia University, New York.

Christensen, B.A. (2000). Biomechanics and behavior of hummingbird molt. (Unpublished master's thesis). University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada.

MLA

Library Database:

McGuire, Donald T., Jr. "History as Epic: Silius Italicus and the Second Punic War." Diss. Cornell U, 1985. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. Web. 8 July 2009.

Free Web :

Christensen, Beth, A. "Biomechanics and Behavior of Hummingbird Molt." MS thesis U of British Columbia, 2000. Web. 8 July 2009.

Print:

Rogers, Thomas L. "Creating and On-line Learning Community for New School     Superintendents: Using Technology to Answer the Unmet Professional Development Needs of Educational Learners." Diss. Teachers College, Columbia U, 2005. Print.

Chicago

Published:

Rogers, T.L. 2005. Creating and on-line learning community for new school
   superintendents: Using technology to answer the unmet professional
   development needs of educational learners. PhD diss., Teachers College, Columbia
   Univ.

McGuire, D.T., Jr. 1985. History as epic: Silius Italicus and the second Punic
   War. PhD diss., Cornell Univ.

Unpublished [the word "unpublished" is unnecessary]:

Christensen, B.A. 2000. Biomechanics and behavior of hummingbird molt. Master's
   thesis, University of British Columbia.

CSE

Christensen BA. Biomechanics and behavior of hummingbird molt [master's thesis]. [Vancouver (BC)]: University of British Columbia; 2000.

[The latest edition does not distinguish between print and online dissertations or theses.]

Return to Top

return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility