return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
Instant Message Email Phone In Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+ (Multi-Search)
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Authors:
Chris Hollister
& Tiffany Walsh

Last Updated: August 24, 2009





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Citing Sources > Journal Articles

    
Journal Articles    

From printed journal

APA Style

Welch, C. (1993). Human rights and African women: A comparison of protection under two major treaties. Human Rights Quarterly , 15(3), 549-574.

MLA Style

Welch, Claude. "Human Rights and African Women: A Comparison of Protection under Two Major Treaties." Human Rights Quarterly 15.3 (1993):  549-74. Print.

Chicago Style

Welch, C. 1993. Human rights and African women: A comparison of protection under two major treaties. Human Rights Quarterly 15 (3):549-574.

CSE Style

Citation-Sequence

Welch, C. Human rights and African women: A comparison of protection under two major treaties. Human Rights Quart. 1993;15(3):549-574.

Name-Year

Welch, C. 1993. Human rights and African women: A comparison of protection under two major treaties. Human Rights Quart. 15(3):549-574.

[The CSE Manual (Scientific Style and Format), 7th edition, recommends that journal titles be abbreviated. A list of authoritative sources for abbreviation can be found in Appendix 29.1 at p. 569. One source is ISI Journal Abbreviations Index found at http://library.caltech.edu/reference/abbreviations/]

Return to Top

Article with multiple authors

APA Style Sommerville, M., Lampert, L., Dabbour, K., Harlan, S., & Shrader, B. (2007). Toward large scale assessment of information and communication technology literacy: Implementation considerations for the ETS ICT literacy instrument. RSR: Reference Services Review, 35(1), 8-20.
MLA Style Sommerville, Mary, Lynn Lampert, Katherine Dabbour, Sallie Harlan, and Barbara Shrader. “Toward Large Scale Assessment of Information and Communication Technology Literacy: Implementation Considerations for the ETS ICT literacy instrument.” RSR: Reference Services Review 35.1 (2007): 8-20. Print.
Chicago Style

Sommerville, M., Lampert, L., Dabbour, K., Harlan, S., & B. Shrader. 2007. Toward large scale assessment of information and communication technology literacy: Implementation considerations for the ETS ICT literacy instrument. RSR: Reference Services Review 35 (1) : 8-20.

CSE Style

Citation-Sequence

Sommerville, M., Lampert, L., Dabbour, K., Harlan, S., Shrader, B. Toward
large scale assessment of information and communication technology literacy:
Implementation considerations for the ETS ICT literacy instrument. RSR. 2007;35(1):8-20.

Name-Year

Sommerville, M., Lampert, L., Dabbour, K., Harlan, S., Shrader, B. 2007. Toward
large scale assessment of information and communication technology literacy:
Implementation considerations for the ETS ICT literacy instrument. RSR. 35(1):8-20.

[The CSE Manual (Scientific Style and Format), 7th edition, recommends that journal titles be abbreviated. A list of authoritative sources for abbreviation can be found in Appendix 29.1 at p. 569. One source is ISI Journal Abbreviations Index found at http://library.caltech.edu/reference/abbreviations/]

 

Return to Top

From online-only journal (free web/open access)

APA Style Hill, G.E., Mennill, D.J., Rolek, B.W., Hicks, T.L., & Swiston, K.A. (2006). Evidence suggesting that Ivory-billed Woodpeckers (Campephilus principalis) exist in Florida. Avian Conservation and Ecology, 1(3), 121-130. Retrieved from http://www.ace-eco.org
MLA Stlye Hill, Geoffrey, Daniel Mennill, Brian Rolek, Tyler Hicks, and Kyle Swiston. "Evidence Suggesting that Ivory-billed Woodpeckers (Campephilus principalis) Exist in Florida." Avian Conservation and Ecology 1.3 (2006): 121-30. Web. 20 Feb. 2007.
Chicago Style Hill, G.E., Mennill, D.J., Rolek, B.W., Hicks, T.L., and K.A. Swiston. 2006. Evidence suggesting that Ivory-billed Woodpeckers (Campephilus principalis) exist in Florida. Avian Conservation and Ecology 1, no. 3 (December), http://www.ace-eco.org/articles/78.html (accessed February 20, 2007).
CSE Style Hill, G.E., Mennill, D.J., Rolek, B.W., Hicks, T.L., Swiston, K.A. Evidence suggesting that Ivory-billed Woodpeckers (Campephilus principalis) exist in Florida. Avian Conserv Ecol [Internet]. 2006 [cited 2007 Feb 20];1(3). Available from: http://www.ace-eco.org/articles/78.html.

 

Return to Top

Full-text article from database

APA Style Best, M. (2009). Standing in rich place: Electrifying the multiple-text edition or, every text is multiple. College Literature, 36(1), 26-39. Retrieved from http://www.mla.org/bibliography
MLA Style

Best, Michael . "Standing in Rich Place: Electrifying the Multiple-Text Edition or, Every Text is Multiple." College Literature 36.1 (2009): 26-39. MLA International Bibliography . Web. 7 July 2009.

Chicago Style

Best, M. Standing in rich place: Electrifying the multiple-text edition or, every text is multiple. 2009. College Literature 36, no. 1. In MLA International Bibliography [database online]. Available from University at Buffalo Libraries, http:/library.buffalo.edu (accessed July 7, 2009). 

[Note: The 15th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style does not provide examples of this type of citation. The example above is adapted from the 14th edition (p. 634), and from The Chicago Manual of Style Online, http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/home.html (accessed February 21, 2007). ]

CSE Style Einstein, A. A generalization of the relativistic theory of gravitation. Ann Math 1945 Oct;46(4):578-584. In: JSTOR [database on the Internet]. New York: JSTOR; c2000-2007 [cited 2007 Feb 21]. [about 7 pages]. Available from: http://links.jstor.org/sici?sici=0003-486X%28194510%292%3A46%3A4%3C578%3AAGOTRT%3E2.0.CO%3B2-1.

 

Return to Top

return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility