return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
Instant Message Email Phone In Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+ (Multi-Search)
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Authors:
Chris Hollister
& Tiffany Walsh

Last Updated: Aug. 26, 2009





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Citing Sources > Newspaper Articles

    
Newspaper Articles    

See examples:

From printed newspaper  |  From online newspaper  
Full-text article from a database
 | From online news service

From printed newspaper

APA

Pasciak, M. (2007, February 21). Proposed budget expands programs. Buffalo News, p. B3.

Wilson, E. (2007, February 22). Bad taste is their kryptonite. New York Times, pp. G4, G7.

MLA

Pasciak, Mary. "Proposed Budget Expands Programs." Buffalo News 22 Feb. 2007: B3. Print.

Wilson, Eric. "Bad Taste is Their Kryptonite." New York Times 22 Feb. 2007, late ed.: G4. Print.

Chicago

Pasciak, Mary. 2007. Proposed budget expands programs. Buffalo News , February 21.

Wilson, Eric. 2007. Bad taste is their kryptonite. New York Times, late edition, section G.

CSE

Citation-Sequence:

Pasciak M. Proposed budget expands programs. Buffalo News 2007 Feb 21;Sect B, 3.

Name-Year:

Pasciak M. 2007 Feb 21. Proposed budget expands programs. Buffalo News;Sect B, 3.

Return to Top

From online newspaper

APA Bosman, J. (2007, February 18). With one word, children's book sets off uproar. New York Times. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com
MLA

Bosman, Julie. "With One Word, Children's Book Sets Off Uproar." New York Times 18 Feb. 2007: n. pag. Web. 22 Feb. 2007. 

Chicago Bosman, Julie. 2007. With one word, children's book sets off uproar. New York Times, February 18, 2007. http://www.nytimes.com/2007/02/18/books/18newb.html?_r=1&oref=slogin  (accessed February 22, 2007).
CSE Bosman J. With one word, children's book sets off uproar. NY Times [Internet]. 2007 Feb 18 [cited 2007 Feb 22]: [about 2 screens]. Available from: http://www.nytimes.com/2007/02/18/books/18newb.html?_r=1&oref=slogin.

Return to Top

Full-text article from a database

APA Milza, J. (2007, February 21). Eating fish during pregnancy can help improve baby's IQ. Staten Island Advance, C05. Retrieved from http://west.thomson.com/default.aspx
MLA

Milza, Jane. "Eating Fish During Pregnancy Can Help Improve Baby's IQ." Staten Island Advance 21 Feb. 2007: C05. Campus Research: News & Law. Web. 22 Feb. 2007.

Chicago

Milza, Jane . Eating fish during pregnancy can help improve baby's IQ. 2007.Staten Island Advance, February 21, 2007.  In Campus Research: News & Law [database online]. Available from University at Buffalo Libraries, http://library.buffalo.edu (accessed February 22, 2007). 

[Note: The 15th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style does not provide examples of this type of citation. The example above is adapted from the 14th edition (p. 634), and from The Chicago Manual of Style Online, http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/home.html (accessed February 21, 2007). ]

CSE Milza J. Eating fish during pregnancy can help improve baby's IQ. Staten Island Adv 2007 Feb 21;Sect C:5. In: Campus Research: News & Law [database on the Internet]. New York (NY): West Products; c2007 [cited 2007 Feb 22]. [about 12 paragraphs]. Available from: http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=391.

Return to Top

From online news service

APA Obituaries in the news. (2007, February 21). Associated Press. Retrieved http://news.yahoo.com/
MLA

"Obituaries in the News." Associated Press 21 Feb. 2007. Yahoo! News. Web. 22 Feb. 2007.

Chicago

Associated Press. 2007. Obituaries in the news. Yahoo! News, February, 21, 2007.     http://news.yahoo.com/.

CSE

[No example provided in current edition.]

Return to Top


return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility