return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Material
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries and Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Requesting Materials Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Architecture & Planning Digital Collections Health Sciences Library Law Library Libraries Annex Lockwood Library Multimedia Collections Music Library Silverman Library Special Collections
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Library Store Support Our Libraries
chatChat textText emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Requesting Materials
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 


Guide Authors:
Chris Hollister
& Tiffany Walsh
 

Last Updated: 28 July, 2011





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Citing Sources

    
Citing Sources    

This guide provides information and examples for citing sources properly according to the following citation style manuals:
  • American Psychological Association (APA), 6th edition
  • Modern Language Association (MLA), 7th edition
  • Chicago Style, 15th edition
  • Council of Science Editors (CSE), 7th edition (formerly CBE)
How to cite sources


Journal articles

  • From printed journal
  • Article with multiple authors
  • From online-only journal (free web/open access)
  • Full-text article from database


Newspaper articles

  • From printed newspaper
  • From online newspaper
  • Full-text article from database
  • From online news service


Primary sources

  • Letter
  • Interview
  • Motion picture (VHS/DVD)
  • Television program
  • Music recording
  • Music score


Conference proceedings & symposia

  • Proceedings, etc. (print)
  • Proceedings, etc. (CD-ROM/DVD)
  • Proceedings, etc. (online)

Magazine articles

  • From printed magazine
  • From online magazine
  • Full-text article from database


Books

  • Book with single author
  • Book with two or more authors
  • Edited book
  • E-book
  • Chapter within book
  • Entry in encyclopedia
  • Book review
  • Thesis or dissertation


Online sources

  • Web page
  • Online posting
  • Email message
  • YouTube video
  • Podcast


Government documents, technical reports & patents

  • Government documents
  • Technical reports
  • Patents


Guides for other citation styles (off-site)
  • ACS (American Chemical Society) (PDF)
  • AMA (American Medical Association)
  • IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) (PDF)
  • Turabian

Grateful ackowledgement is given to the Duke University Libraries. This site was originally developed from the design of their Citing Sources web guide.

Return to the homepage
Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility
  • rss
  • facebook
  • youtube
  • twitter