return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
Instant Message Email Phone In Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+ (Multi-Search)
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: Don Hartman

Last Updated: 14 Jan 2009





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Dissertations > Dissertations and Theses : Guide to Research

    
Dissertations and Theses : Guide to Research

  • Identifying Dissertations and Theses
  • Finding UB Dissertations and Theses
  • Obtaining Dissertations and Theses


Identifying Dissertations and Theses

Use one of the following databases:

Dissertations & Theses by ProQuest is the most comprehensive dissertation source with more than two million doctoral dissertations and master's theses citations dating from 1861. Many dissertations are available full text.

  • Dissertations & Theses @ SUNY Buffalo is a subset of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses which limits your search to UB.
  • The option of purchasing of dissertations through ProQuest is available; however, it is preferable to use Interlibrary Loan - ILLiad to avoid incurring costs.
  • Few Masters Theses are submitted to this database, also check:
    • WorldCat
    • Master's Theses Directories Lockwood Ref Z 5055 .U5M46
    • Master's Theses in the Pure and Applied Sciences UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Ref Z5521 .S83

Index to Theses ( Great Britain & Ireland ) 1970 – present.
Print Counterpart : Index to Theses with Abstracts Accepted by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland (title varies)
Lockwood Ref Z5055 .G69 A84 (1950 - present)

WorldCat
You can search for Masters theses and doctoral dissertations in WorldCat using the Advanced Search feature. Change the Keyword box setting to Material Type and type in: thesis or dissertation. In the second box, type in the keywords that best describe your topic.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
An international federation of universities has created this repository of electronic theses and dissertations.

CRL's Foreign Doctoral Dissertations Database
CRL's Foreign Doctoral dissertation database presently contains 20,000 (of 750,000) records.

Theses Canada Portal
This site provides citations and some abstracts to dissertations and theses submitted to the National Library of Canada since 1965. Free full-text electronic access to Canadian dissertations and theses published from 1998 to August 31, 2002.

Guide to Thesis Listings
The University of Calgary Library has created this guide of foreign resources including catalogs and databases for dissertation and theses research.

Return to Top




Finding UB Dissertations and Theses

In the UB Arts & Sciences Libraries:

By Author or Title

To find a UB dissertation or thesis when the author or title is known, use BISON - UB Libraries Catalog.

By Department

To find or browse dissertations or theses by department use BISON.
Proceed as if doing a Title begins with... search and enter into the search box:

Dissertation  Department Name
or
Thesis  Department Name

You may also choose to include the year to limit your search.

Dissertation--American Studies
Thesis--American Studies
Thesis – American Studies 2002 [to limit by date]

By Call Number

To find or browse dissertations or theses by call numbers use BISON in "Advanced" mode and then select the “Call Nos. (LC, NLM, Textual)” field option in Browse.

Locate the call number stem from the Classification Table, then enter your search using the appropriate call number from the list.

Call Nos. (LC, NLM, Textual) = diss call number stem
Call Nos. (LC, NLM, Textual) = thesis call number stem

You may also choose to include the year to limit your search.
Call Nos. (LC, NLM, Textual) = diss A4 2000

In the UB Health Sciences Library

Theses and Dissertations in the Health Sciences Library are on the third floor and are identified in BISON by author and title. If you don't have the title or author, do a keyword search for thesis and health sciences library.

Some theses are also available in the University at Buffalo Archives.

In the UB Music Library

Descriptions of music theses are in BISON. Search as explained for UB Arts & Sciences Libraries.

Return to Top




Obtaining Dissertations and Theses from other Libraries

  • To Borrow Dissertations and Theses from other Libraries
    If the dissertation is not available full text at any of the sites listed above, UB Libraries recommends using Interlibrary Loan - ILLiad. Please be aware that some libraries may not lend dissertations or theses.

  • To Purchase Dissertations and Theses
    Dissertations & Theses maintains a shopping cart feature to sell you copies of dissertations in various formats. Prices vary.

    Please note that the University at Buffalo Libraries are NOT responsible for any charges that you may incur.
Return to Top




return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility