return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
Instant Message Email Phone In Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+ (Multi-Search)
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: Charles D'Aniello

Last Updated: 11 September 2003





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Asian American & Asian Studies > East Asian Studies

    
East Asian Studies: Selected Resources

This guide focuses on the collections of Lockwood Library, although other units of the University at Buffalo Libraries hold Asian material. The most notable holdings of Asian material outside of Lockwood Library are human rights materials in the Law Library and engineering material in the Science and Engineering Library. This guide describes materials in Japanese, Chinese, and Korean held in Lockwood Library's East Asian Collection, western-language reference materials held in Lockwood Library's general reference collection, periodicals and newspapers held at Lockwood Library and electronic resources, both indexes and Web sites. Both Taiwan and the People's Republic of China and North and South Korea are covered.

  • The East Asian Collection: Chinese, Japanese and Korean
  • Using the BISON Catalog
  • Relevant Periodicals and Periodical Indexes
  • Going Beyond UB: Catalogs, Special Services, and Interlibrary Loan
  • Reference Materials: China, Japan, and Korea
  • Contemporary Affairs
  • News Sources
  • On the Web: Some Selections
  • Text Archives
  • China, Japan, and Korea in Video
  • Images: In Print and On the Web
  • Asian Studies Programs
  • Associations and Organizations
  • Current Awareness Services for Asianists

 

The East Asian Collection

The East Asian collection is comprised of over 5,000 titles, and over 15,000 volumes, and is housed in the basement of Lockood Library. Japanese-language material is the most current, Chinese materials are greatest in number, and Korean materials are recent. The collection is particularly strong in history (330 titles), literature (630 titles), Buddhism (140 titles), and bibliographic and reference materials (120 titles). The collection has been built through traditional acquisitions, gifts from interested faculty and other individuals, and a grant from the Japan Foundation. All materials may be used onsite and most may be borrowed.

Chinese-Language Collection
A list of materials in the collection.

The Chinese language collection in Lockwood Library includes selected reference works and books in the fields of art, economics, history, literature, philosophy, political science, and religion. (Items are represented in the Pinyin romanization. Wade-Giles spelling that is still used for books accepted prior to 2001.)

Reference Works
Reference works include: the Sino-Western calendar Liangquiannian ZhongXi lidui zhaobiao (Liang ch'ien nien Chung Hsi li tui chao piao); the Harvard-Yenching Sinological Series of Concordances to the Chinese Classics and Histories; index to the eighteenth-century Collectaneum of the Four Treasuries (Classics, Philosophy, History, and Literature), Ji Yun's (Chi Yun's), Siku quanshu zongmu (Ssu-k'u ch'uan-shu tsung mu); Chinese to Chinese dictionaries such as Zhongwen da ci dian (Chung-wen ta-tz'u tien), Zhongguo gujin diming dacidian (Chung-kuo ku-chin ti-ming ta tz'u-tien), Zhongguo renming dacidian (Chung-kuo jen-ming ta tz'u-tien), Fuoxue dacidian (Fo-hsueh ta tz'u-tien); and an annual guide to current mainland historical scholarship, Zhongguo lishixue nianjian (Chung-kuo li-shih hsueh nien-chien).

Art
Books with extensive plates include: Guo bao hui cui (Kuo pao hui ts'ui); Qing guang cong chuan Fo jiao wen wu (Ch'ing kuang ts'ung ch'uan Fo chiao wen wu); Zhongguo wenwu jinghua daquan (Chung-kuo wen wu ching hua ta ch'uan); Zhungguo qing tong qi quan ji (Chung-kuo ch'ing t'ung ch'i ch'uan chi); Hua Xia gui bao (Hua-Hsia kuei pao); and Zhongguo Fo Jiao meishu shi (Chung-kuo fo chiao mei shu shih).

Classics
Basic classical texts (53 volumes) are included in the Sibu beiyao (Ssu-pu pei-yao) collection.

Economics
Books include: Hanyeping gongsi shilue (Han Yeh P'ing kung ssu shih lueh); Zhongguo zaoqi ditielu jingying (Chung-kuo tsao ch'I ti t'ieh lu ching ying); Xingzheng yuan fushui gaige weyuanhui baogao shu (Hsing cheng yuan fu shui kai ko wei yuan hui pao kao shu); Qingdai sizhigongye de fazhan (Ch'ing tai ssu chih kung yeh ti fa chan); and Zhongguo jinji shi luncung (Chung-kuo ching chi shih lun ts'ung).

History
Basic histories (unpunctuated), 76 volumes, are included in the Sibu beiyao (Ssu-pu pei-yao) collection. There are also punctuated editions of: Sima Qian (Ssu-ma Ch'ien), Shiji (Shih-chi); Sima Guang (Ssu-ma Guang); Zizhi tongjian (Tzu-chih t'ung-chien); Ershiwu shi (Erh-shih wu shih); Da qing lichao shilu (Ta Ch'ing li-ch'ao shih lu); Henan sheng fangzhi (Ho-nan sheng fang-chih) (old and new editions); Qingdai tongshi (Ch'ing-tai t'ung shih); Dongbei shi luncong (Tung-pei shih lun-ts'ung); Zhongguo xiandaihua diqu yu yanjiu, Hubei sheng, Shandong sheng, deng (Chung-kuo hsien-tai hua ti-ch'u yu yen-chiu).

Historiography includes: Liu Zhij (Liu Chih-chi), Shitong xue fan zhu (Shih t'ung hsueh fan chu); Zheng Qiao (Cheng Ch'iao), Tongzhi (T'ung-chih); Ma Duanlin (Ma Tuan-lin), Qingchao wenxian tongkao (Ch'ing-ch'ao wen-hsien t'ung-k'ao); Gu Yenwu (Ku Yen-wu), Rizhilu (Jih zhih lu); Zhang Xuecheng (Chang Hsueh-ch'eng), Wenshi tongyi (Wen-shih t'ung-i); Gu Jiegang (Ku Chieh-kang), and Gushi bia n (Ku shih pien).

Early Republican materials include: XinHai Geming Huiyilu (Hsin-hai ke-ming hui-yi-lu); Sun Wen, Sanmin zhuyi (San-min chu-i); Cai Yuanpei (Ts'ai Yuan-p'ei), Cai Yuanpei zishu (Ts'ai Yuan-p'ei tzu-shu); Yan Xishan (Yan Hsi-shan), Zaonian huiyilu (Tsao nien hui i lu); Liang Shiqiu (Liang Shih-ch'iu), Tan Wen Yiduo (T'an Wen I-to); Hu Hanmin, Hu Hanmin zizhuan (Hu Han-min tzu chuan); Jiang Tingfu (Chiang T'ing-fu), Jiang Tingfu xuanji (Chiang T'ing-fu hsuan-chi).

Early Republican periodicals include: Xinmin congbao (Hsin-min ts'ung-pao), Shiwubao (Shih-wu pao), Minbao (Min-pao), Subao (Su-pao), and Dongfang zazhi (Tung-fang tsa-chih).

Secondary scholarship includes works by Liang Qichao (Liang Ch'i-ch'iao), Lu Simian (Lu Ssu-mien), Fu Sinian (Fu Ssu-nien), Lo Xianglin (Lo Hsiang-lin), Xiao Yishan (Hsiao I-shan), Guo Tingyi (Kuo T'ing-i), Sa Mengwu, Lao Gan (Lau Kan), Chen Yinque (Ch'en Yin-k'o), Meng Sen, Shen Yunlong (Shen Yun-lung), Wu Xiangxiang (Wu Hsiang-hsiang), Fan Wenlan, Jian Youwen (Chien Yu-wen), and Wang Shuhuai, Dai Xuanzhi (Tai Hsuan-chih).

Literature
Basic literary texts (140 volumes) are included in the Sibu beiyao (Ssu-pu pei-yao) collection. Other literature includes: Song Liushi Ming Jia Ci (Sung liu shih ming chia tz'u); Du Fu quanji (Tu Fu ch'uan chi); Su Dongpo quanji (Su Tong-po ch'uan-chi); and Ouyang Xiu quanji (Ouyang Hsiu ch'uan-chi).

Early Republican writings include: Hu Shi wencuan (Hu Shih wen tsuan), Xu Xhimo quanji (Hsu Chih-mo chu'an-chi), and Lu Xun san nian ji (Lu Hsun san nien chi).

Philosophy
Basic philosophical texts (79 volumes) are included in the Sibu beiyao (Ssu-pu pei-yao) collection. Other texts include: Chongbian Song-Yuan xuean (Ch'ung-pien Sung-Yuan hsueh-an), Mingru xuean (Ming-ju hsueh-an), Wang Yangming quanshu (Wang Yang-ming ch'uan-shu), and Qingru xuean (Ch'ing-ju hsueh-an). Monographs include: Zhang Dongsun (Chang Tung-sun), Sixiang yu shehui (Ssu-hsiang yu she-hui).

Secondary scholarship includes: Laozi zhexue taolunji (Lao-tzu che hsueh t'ao lun chi); Zhuangzi zhexue taolunji (Chuang-tzu che hsueh t'ao-lun chi); Song-Ming lixue (Sung-Ming li-hsueh); Zhang Qichun (Chang Ch'i-ch'un), Zhongguo zhexue shihua (Chung-kuo che hsueh shih hua); works by Liang Qichao (Liang Ch'i-ch'ao), Xiao Gongquan (Hsiao Kung-ch'uan), Hou Wailu (Hou Wai-lu), and Feng Yulan, Qian Mu (Ch'ien Mu).

Political Science
Representative works include: Mao Zedong ji (Mao Tzu-tung chi), Guan Lei Feng Xue (Kuan Lei Feng hsueh), and Xizang zizhiqu gaikuang (Hsi-tsang tzu-chih ch'u kai k'uang).

Religion
Buddhist texts include: Pusa jie benji (P'u-sa chieh pen-chi), Ban ruo deng lun (Pan jo teng lun), and Yuan shi Fo jiao sheng dian zhi ji cheng (Yuan shih fo chiao sheng tien chih chi ch'eng).

Secondary scholarship includes: Zhongguo huijiao shi (Chung-kuo hui-chiao shih); Han-Wei-Liang-Jin-Nan-Bei-Chao Fojiao shi (Han-wei-Chin Nan Pei Ch'ao Fo Chiao shih); Han-Tang Fojiao sixiang lunji (Han-T'ang Fo Chiao ssuu-hsiang lun-chi); and Mingmo Fojiao yanjiu (Ming-mo Fo-chiao yen-chiu).

Japanese-Language Collection
A list of materials in the collection.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
The East Asian Collection holds several valuable specialized and topical encyclopedias and dictionaries on Japan. Among these resources is the twenty-volume Nihon Kokugo Daijiten , Japan's most comprehensive language dictionary and Kokushi Daijiten Japan's most comprehensive historical dictionary (15 volumes).

The fifty-one volume Koji Ruien covers all phases of life in premodern Japan and is a crucial collection of primary source materials selected from books published before 1868. Basic descriptions of pre-modern, modern, and contemporary Japan are covered by the twenty-one volume Dai Nihon Hyakka Jit en. Several practical dictionaries for Japanese linguistics cover grammar, vocabulary, and pronunciation. They are widely used in Japan by Japanese language teachers as well as students, from beginners to advanced learners.

Literature
The collection contains a good basic collection to support literary research. It's coverage spans classical literature, such as Kokin Wakashu (8th century) to contemporary literature such as works by Yukio. Shin Nihon Koten Bungaku Taikei , 52 volumes, is heavily used by the Japanese academic libraries. This collection covers important Japanese classical literature written from the 8th century to 1868. Each work is well annotated and translated into modern Japanese by prominent scholars. It contains useful indexes. As for modern literature (1868 to 1926), the 54 volume Nihon Kindai Bungaku Taikei is a valuable collection including non-fiction, drama, essays and criticism. Each included work is complemented by detailed notes, a list of reference works, and a concise biography of the author. Literature from 1926 to 1989 is covered by the 35 volume Showa Bungaku Zenshu . Each included work and its author is introduced and described by a well-known contemporary scholar. A concise autobiography of each authors is included.
A complete set of Genji Monogatari (The Tale of Genji), translated by Osamu Hashimoto, is held. Information on recent literature is available in Nihon no Shosetsu Zen Joho.

Arts
Of special note is the three volume art catalog of the famous 18th century painter Hokusai Katsushika.

Linguistics
Especially noteworthy is the collection on Japanese linguistics, grammar, and its history, as well as study and teaching and comparative grammar. The collection includes a complete 8 volume set of works by the famous Japanese linguist Shinkichi Hashimoto (1882-1945). The 12 volume Koza Nihongo Gaku is a valuable source for learning and teaching Japanese language. Two important scholarly journals are available: Kokugogaku and Kokugo Kokubun.

History
Materials on Japanese history mainly cover the late 19th and 20th centuries. The 3 volume Nihonshi Kenkyu Nyumon offers an important study guide for beginners. It includes an outline of Japanese historical studies and historical methodology. The 4 volume Okubo Toshimichi Kankei bunsh o is a valuable collection of correspondences related to Okubo Toshimichi, prominent politician in the Meiji era. Important scholarly journals such as Nihon Rekishi and Shigaku Zasshi are also available.

Religion
There is a substantial collection of materials on Japanese religion, especially Buddhism. Among works held are doctrinal and sacred texts such as Dizo kyo 85 volumes, and Kokuyaku Issaikyo each part of which is comprised of 225 volumes and 101 volumes respectively. Some materials held are rare even in Japan. Kanchu gokyosho is available only at Harvard and Buffalo in the US. Samonhozo sen Daijo kishinron giki, the 1885 edition, is held only at Buffalo in the US. The 30 volume Kando Abidatsuma kusharon also appears to be sparsely held.

Korean-Language Collection
List of materials in the collection.

This small collection focuses on literature and religion.

Return to Top




Using the BISON Catalog

Formulaic searches in the online catalog will quickly identify material by country, topic, or language.

• Keyword search: china.su. will identify material that has something to do with China.
• Keyword search: chin?.su. will identify material that has something to do with China or things Chinese. "?" truncates chin, retrieving words with any number of letters following the"n."
• Subject search: china will tap into the Library of Congress subject headings structure. An example of this structure is provided below.
• Especially useful terms --bibliography, biography, civilization, criticism and interpretation, description and travel, dictionaries, economic conditions, encyclopedias, foreign relations, history, maps, sources, statistics (there are many others)-- are always available to be added to any subject heading search or keyword search. Qualify a keyword search by using them as appropriate, for instance, if searching for a bibliography on Chinese history, try the keyword search china.su. and history.su. and bibliography.su.

In keyword mode, a subject search, or an author or title word search can be qualified by language, for instance, the search china.su. and kor.la. will generate a list of materials that are written in Korean and have something to do with China.

• To find maps of China perform the keyword search: china.su. and p.fmt.
• To find newspapers, periodicals, and serials on China perform the keyword search: china.su. and s.fmt.
• To find sound recordings (voice or music) about China perform the keyword search: china.su. and s.gmd.
• To find video recordings, videodiscs, motion pictures, or slides about China perform the keyword search: china.su. and f.fmt.
• To find a book on china published by Harvard University Press perform the keyword search: china.su. and harvard.260.
• To find a book on China written in Chinese perform the keyword search: china.su. and chi.la.

A subject search using China as the first term will bring up the list of Library of Congress subject headings dealing with China. The list is very long and the list provided below is offered, of course, only as an illustration.

CHINA
--ADMINISTRATIVE AND POLITICAL DIVISIONS--MAPS
--AERIAL PHOTOGRAPHS
--ANCEDOTES FACETIAE SATIRE ETC
--ANTIQUITIES
--ANTIQUITIES--BIBLIOGRAPHY
--ANTIQUITIES--CATALOGS
--ANTIQUITIES--CONGRESSES
--ANTIQUITIES--EXHIBITIONS
--ANTIQUITIES--PERIODICALS
--ANTIQUITIES--TERMINOLOGY
--ANTIQUITY
--APPROPRIATIONS AND EXPENDITURES
--APPROPRIATIONS AND EXPENDITURES--HISTORY
--ARMED FORCES

Searching for Material in Chinese, Japanese, and Korean

Searching in Asian characters, at present, is not possible in the catalog of the University Libraries. You must search using transliterations.

Searching in Transliterated Chinese: When searching for Chinese-language material use the Pinyin transliteration system first, if this does not work try Wade-Giles. For a conversion table for Wade-Giles to Zhuyin to Pinyin see the Library of Coingress' http://www.library.ucla.edu/libraries/eastasian/ctable2.htm

Searching in Transliterated Japanes e:
Use modified Hepburn style as found in the standard dictionary Kenkyusha's New Japanese-English Dictionary. There are rules for how to divide Japanese into "words. However, these are so many inconsistencies in actual practice that it is often best to try different combinations.
Searching in Transliterated Korean : The North American standard for library catalogs is the McCune-Reischauer System (as modified by the U.S. Library of Congress). The original publication setting forth this scheme is the Romanization of the Korean Language by G.M. McCune, E.O. Reischauer.(Seoul, Korea: Printed by Y.M.C.A. Press, 1939). The Library of Congress' interpretation of this system, including word division rules, is found in: ALA-LC Romanization Tables: Transliteration Schemes for Non-Roman Scripts, Approved by the Library of Congress and the American Library Association (Washington: Cataloging Distribution Service, Library of Congress, 1997). Web sites that will assist with the transliteration of Korean script are found at: http://www.library.ucla.edu/libraries/eastasian/krntable.htm .
Return to Top




Relevant Periodicals and Periodical Indexes

To determine the availability of a particular periodical or journal use BISON, to determine the electronic availability of a particular title a convenient solution is Electronic Journals Holdings.

Selected Currently Received
East Asian-Language Periodicals on East Asian Topics
Call Number Title
Per AP95.C4C5369 Ch'iu Shih
Per PL501.K78 Kokugogaku
Per PL501.K62 Kokugo Kokubun
Per DS701.L53 Li Shih Yen Chiu
Per Z1003.5.C45T8 Tu Shu

Note: Current periodicals are displayed on the third floor, older volumes are shelved in the East Asian collection.

Selected Currently Received English-Language Periodicals on East Asian Topics

Dates Indicate First Year of Holdings, Consult the Catalog for Precise Holdings and for Possible Online Availability
Call Number Title Date
Per E184.06.A44 Arnerasia Journal 1973-
Per N8 A75 Artibus Asiae 1955-
Per DS I J637 Asian Affairs 1970-
Per HF3751 A74 Asian Business 1981-
Per PN I 993.5.A75 N4 Asian Cinema 1995-
Per GR330.F6 Asian Folklore Studies 1963-
Per P92 A7 A74 Asian Journal of Communication 1990-
Per DS501.A65 Asia Major 1964-1975
Per DS514.A78 Asian Perspective: The Journal of
Archeology for Asian and the Pacific
1958-
Per B500O.A33 Asian Philosophy 1991-
Per Ds I A492 Asian Survey 1961-
Per HF 1642.55 A77 Asia Pacific Economic Review 1998-
Per DS1.B84 Bulletin of Concerned Asian Scholars 1969-
Per PJ3 L62 Bulletin of the School of Oriental and
African Studies
1967-
Per Z 673.R54 A87 Center for Chinese Research
Materials Newsletter
1974-
Per BF3128 U58 China Business Review 1981-
Per DS701 A93 The China Jou rnal 1995-
Per DS701 C472 The China Quarterly 1960-
Per HC426 C485 The Chinese Economy 1997-
Per DI C55 Chinese Studies in History 1969-
Per Bi C55 Contemporary Chinese Thought 1997/98-
Per DS1.B84 Critical Asian Studies 2000-
Per BLI40O.E3 The Eastern Buddhist 1929/31-
Per HC464.F7 C574 Economic Review (China) 1967-
Per DS501 H3 Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies 1936-
Per DS801 J274 Japan Quarterly 1964-
Per B5230.A1J67 Journal of Chinese Philosophy 1973/74-
Per PJ2.A6 J ournal of the American Oriental Society 1843/1849-
Per DS I J64 Journal of Asian History 1967-
Per E148.02 J68 Journal of Asian American Studies 1998-
Per DT 1 .166 Journal of Asian and African Studies 1966-
Per DS501 F274 Journal of Asian Studies 1956-
Per DT 1 .166 Journal of Asian and African Studies 1966-
Per DS754.C5332 Late Imperial China 1985-
Not Yet Assigned Korean Literature Today 2001-
Per DS753 M594 Ming Studies 1981-
PerDSI.M58 Modem Asian Studies 1967-
Per DS701.M575 Modem China 1975-
Per PL2303 M63 Modem Chinese Literature 1999-
Per DS902.K527 Korea Focus on Current Topics 2001-
Per N8.075 Oriental Art 1955-
Per DU1.P13 Pacific Affairs 1928-
Per DS501.P67 Positions: East Asia Cultures Critique 1999-
Per HC426.S58 Social Sciences in China 1986-

Journals and Citations Available Online

UB Only JSTOR
JSTOR (Journal STORage) presents the full text, in facsimile form, of the complete back files of important scholarly journals, generally from the first volume through issues published prior to the most recent three years. All or combinations of journals may be searched through the project's search engine. Current issues are not available in JSTOR. Asian Studies journals included are: Australian Journal of Chinese Affairs, China Journal, Far Eastern Quarterly, Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies, Journal of Asian Studies, Monumenta Nipponnica, and Pacific Affair s. Asian Studies journals may be searched as a group.
UB Only Project MUSE
Project Muse provides full-text facsimile online editions of over 100 scholarly journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences that are published by The Johns Hopkins University Press and other scholarly publishers. Searchers can conduct queries across all included journals, or choose selected or individual journals. Among MUSE titles are: Asian Theatre Review, China Review, Journal of Asian American Studies, Korean Studies, Late Imperial China, Philosophy East and West, and Positions: East Asian Cultures Critique.
UB Only Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides full-text articles and reports from more than 6,000 magazines, newspapers, wire services, legal resources, reference books, and government publications from around the world. It provides broadcast transcripts from popular radio and television news/interview programs. Full-text of New York Times from 1980 to present.
UB Only Factiva
Factiva is a powerful database system which provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and financial data from thousands of sources worldwide, covering virtually every subject category. Factiva is a joint venture of Dow Jones and Reuters. It replaces the former Dow Jones Interactive (DJI) database, providing all of the content found in DJI plus an additional 2,000 full-text stories from nearly 8,000 newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and wire services worldwide, plus transcripts of television and radio news programs. Includes full-text of the Wall Street Journal from June 1979 to present. With more than 120 continuously updated newswires, Factiva carries more breaking news than any other provider. Among the major Asian news and business publications covered in full text are: Asahi Shimbun, China Daily, Korea Economic Weekly, Korea Herald, South China Morning Post, and Yomiuri Shimbun. Material is available in Asian languages.
UB Only Ingenta
Ingenta offers access to the citations and summaries of articles from over 20,000 academic and professional journals from over 140 publishers. Full-text facsimile access to several hundred Library-subscribed titles is available to UB Library users. The option of pay-per-view access is also available for many of the non-subscribed articles hosted by Ingenta. A search engine across the tables of contents and abstracts of articles of covered titles is provided. Many Asian Studies titles are represented in the Ingenta system.
UB Only PCI Full Text (Periodicals Contents Index)
PCI Full Text indexes over 3,000 academic and popular periodicals published from as early as 1770 to the present in the humanities and social sciences. Full-text images are available for over 100 journals. Among included titles are ASEAN Economic Bulletin, Asia and the Americas, Asian Affairs, Asian and African Studies, Asian Economic Review, Asian Folklore Studies, Asian Music, Asian Survey, Asiatische Studien/Etudes Asistiques, China Monthly Review, China Quarterly (London), China Quarterly (Shanghai), China Review, Chinese Law and Government, Chinese Literature, Chinese Studies in History, Chinese Studies in Philosophy, Japan and the World Economy, Japan Quarterly, Japanese Journal of Religious Studies, and Korean Social Science Journal.

General Index

UB Only Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier, provides coverage of articles from more than 8,000 scholarly, trade, and general-interest periodicals in all disciplines. Approximately 4,500 of the periodical titles included in Academic Search Premier provide full-text of journal articles. Subject coverage includes virtually all areas of the humanities, social sciences, and general and applied sciences.

Specialized Indexes and Abstracts

Asian Studies topics are covered by a variety of online resources. For many years the Association for Asian Studies has compiled a bibliography across the disciplinary spectrum. This compilation is now accessible online as:

UB Only The Bibliography of Asian Studies Online
The Bibliography of Asian Studies
(BAS), produced by the Association for Asian Studies, provides bibliographic references of western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. Coverage is current or relatively current only for what have been judged the most important sources.

Students of Asian topics should consult the appropriate disciplinary source for the topic they are studying. Students of historical topics should consult Historical Abstracts . Historical Abstracts and America: History and Life share a common journal list. Many titles in Asian languages are covered. Articles from foreign language periodicals are abstracted in English, with their titles both transliterated and translated. To see a list of journals covered, select "List of Periodicals" from the gateway screen to the two databases, or go to "Advanced Search" and select browse in the journal field. Two special features are a current awareness service, Clio Alert, which will notify a registered subscriber of material newly entered in the database that corresponds with a profile and a chronological and.topical guide feature, Clio Notes, designed to assist students in identifying topics for research. Asia is well covered in the Clio Notes feature of Historical Abstracts .

UB Only Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts
indexes the literature about world history beginning in 1453, excluding the United States and Canada.
UB Only

America: History and Life
America: History and Life indexes the literature about the history of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

In addition to America: History and Life , students of Asian-American Studies will also want to consult Ethnic NewsWatch .

UB Only

Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Rich collections of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Among included publications are: The Asian Reporter, Asia Week, Asian Pages, Filipinas Magazine, Filipino Reporter, The Filipino Express, Little India, India Abroad, Indian Currents, India in New York, India Worldwide, and Hinduism Today.

Select the Resources for Appropriate Disciplines and Qualify Searches Geographically

Consult the Resources by Subject page of the University Libraries Web site and then select the disciplinary/topical page that corresponds with the topic you're investigating. For instance, if you are exploring a topic in economics you would consult the Economics page.

Return to Top




Going Beyond UB: Catalogs, Special Services, and Interlibrary Loan

Accessing Catalogs to Materials at Other Libraries and Collections of Catalogs

Berkeley Digital Library
http://sunsite.berkeley.edu/Libweb/asia.html

Council on East Asian Libraries
http://darkwing.uoregon.edu/~felsing/ceal/welcome.html

The National Library of China
http://www.nlc.gov.cn/english.htm

Libraries and Library Resources for Chinese Studies
http://www.uni-kiel.de/netguide/netguide.htm

Harvard-Yenching Library Home Page
http://hcl.harvard.edu/harvard-yenching/#Select

Directory of Libraries of the Asia Pacific
http://www.nla.gov.au/lap/liblist.html

The National Library of Japan
http://www.ndl.go.jp/e/index.html

National Archives of Japan
http://www.archives.go.jp/index_e.html


Accessing Catalogs to Material at Other Libraries Using WorldCat
UB Only WorldCat
WorldCat is a mega-library catalog containing more than 45 million records contributed by 20,000 libraries around the world. It contains full bibliographic descriptions and cataloging information for the following types of materials: books, serials, manuscripts, sound recordings, audiovisual materials, maps, music scores, and computer-readable files (Note: the database does not include information on individual articles, stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters). It is easy to restrict searching by language in WorldCat. Try a search defined by the subject history qualified by the need for the material retrieved to be in Chinese. You may also search using transliterated Chinese, Japanese, or Korean. The search generates a list of more than 125,000 records for books, serials, visual, maps, computer files, archival collections, scores, and sound recordings. Many records include bibliographic citations also in characters. Records may be retrieved by these categories by a simple click on the appropriate icon.

Identifying Asian Newspapers and Serials In Addition to WorldCat and Library Catalogs

Chinese Serials Database - The Australian National University
http://www.anu.edu.au/Asia/Chin/titles.html

Japanese Union List of Newspapers and Serials - Ohio State University
http://pears.lib.ohio-state.edu/uljsn/default.html

Center for Research Libraries
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) holds large collections of Chinese, Japanese, and Korean materials. The Center's Handbook describes these materials in detail and both the Handbook and the Center's catalog are accessible online. Materials held by the Center may be borrowed for extended periods by members of the University community.

Handbook of the Center for Research Libraries
http://wwwcrl.uchicago.edu/info/hdbk.htm

Borrowing and Acquiring Needed Materials

Interlibrary Loan Request

Purchase Recommendation

Publisher's Catalogs by Country
http://www.lights.com/publisher/

Guide to Online Bookstores in Asian Studies
http://www.ciolek.com/WWWVLPages/AsiaPages/VLBookshops.html

Digital Document Delivery Service for Chinese-Language Academic Journals
This Digital Document Delivery Center provides free delivery of full-text copies of Chinese-language academic journal articles to any researcher in the United States. This award-winning center is administered by the East Asian Library of the University of Pittsburgh Library System, with a National Lesredship Grant Award from the Federal Institute of Museum and Library Services for delivery of Chinese-language academic journal publications which are not available in the collections of US research libraries. Journal articles are transmitted electronically via the Internet from the Chinese library which holds the title, to Pittsburgh, where they are printed and sent to you via United States mail. See Gateway Service Center of Chinese Academic Journal Publications to order a copy of the Chinese academic journal publication you want, free of charge. Consult The Arts and Sciences Interlibrary Loan office before proceeding.

Return to Top




Reference Materials - China, Japan, and Korea

Guides to Reference Sources
Location Name
Z1035.1.G89.1996
Lockwood Reference Desk
Non-Circulating
Guide to Reference Books. Edited by Robert Balay; associate editor, Vee Friesner Carrington; with special editorial assistance by Murray S. Martin. Chicago: American Library Association, 1996.
Z1035.1 .W33.1999
Lockwood Reference
Non-Circulating
Walford's Guide to Reference Material. v. 1. Science and Technology edited by Marilyn Mullay and Priscilla Schlicke -- v. 2. Social and Historical Sciences, Philosophy and Religion, edited by Alan Day and Michael Walsh. London : Library Association Pub., 1999-
D20 .A55.1995
Lockwood Reference
Non-Circulating
The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature. General editor, Mary Beth Norton; associate editor, Pamela Gerardi. 3rd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995. 2 v.
Z3016 .Z87.1999
Lockwood Book Coillection
China Bibliography: A Research Guide to Reference Works About China Past and Present. Compiled by Harriet T. Zurndorfer. Honolulu: University of Hawai'i Press, c1999.
US LC 1.12/ 2: M 42
Lockwood Documents
Pre-Meiji Works in the Library of Congress: Japanese Literature, Performing Arts, and Reference Books. Compiled by Shojo Honda; annotated by Jin'ichi Konishi. Washington, D.C. : Library of Congress, 1996.
Z3001 .N79 1980
Lockwood Book Collection
Asia, Reference Works: A Select Annotated Guide . G. Raymond Nunn. London: Mansell, 1980.
On Order Twentieth Century China : An Annotated Bibliography of Reference Works in Chinese, Japanese, and Western Languages. Armonk, N.Y : M.E. Sharpe, c2002.


Guides on the Web to Traditional and Electronic Resources

Japan: An Annotated Guide to Selected Sources in the Duke University Libraries
http://www.lib.duke.edu/reference/japan/japan.htm

Chinese Studies: A Guide - University of Iowa
http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/eac/quick_start.html

Research Tools for Chinese Studies (43 pp.) -Technische Universit Berlin
http://helio.unive.it/~pregadio/tools/print.html

Japanese Studies: A Guide - University of Iowa
http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/eac/japan/index.htm

Resources in the Lockwood Reference Collection on China, Japan, and Korea

Failure of an item to appear on this list does not mean that it is not a part of the collection. Please consult the BISON Catalog.

Library of Congress Class: C - D

Call Number Title
CS3000.O5 Japanese Names: A Comprehensive Index by Characters and Readings. New York: J. Weatherhill, 1972.
DS1 .A84 Asian Recorder. New Delhi, India: K. K. Thomas at Recorder Press, 1963-1996.
DS1 .F3 The Far East and Australasia . London : Europa Publications, 1969-
DS12 .E53.1999 Encyclopedia of Asian Culture . New Delhi: Vision Books, 1999.
DS31 .E53 1988 Encyclopedia of Asian History. New York, NY: Scribner, 1988. 4 v.
DS31 .Z57 1985 The Asian Political Dictionary . Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-Clio, 1985.
DS32 .B4 1965 An Oriental Biographical Dictionary, Founded on Materials Collected by the Late Thomas William Beale ... A new ed., rev. and enl. by Henry George Keene ... London, W. H. Allen & Co., Limited 1894. New York, Kraus Reprint, 1965.
DS33 .C63 2000 Columbia Chronologies of Asian History and Culture . New York: Columbia University Press, c2000.
DS705.C35.1991 The Cambridge Encyclopedia of China. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1991.
DS705.C52 The China Phone Book. Hong Kong: China Phone Book Co., 1988-
DS705.O63.1987 Companion to Chinese History. New York: Facts on File, 1987.
DS705.P47.1999 Encyclopedia of China: The Essential Reference to China, It's History and Culture. New York: Facts on File, 1999.
DS706.I5.1989 Information China: The Comprehensive and Authoritative Reference Source of New China. Compiled and translated by the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences. Ne w York: Pergamon, 1989. 3 v.
DS721.D39.1995 NTC's Dictionary of China's Cultural Code Words. Lincolnwood: NTC Publishing Group, 1996.
DS732.T27.1987 Your Chinese Roots: The Overseas Chinese Story. Union City, Calif.: Heian International, 1987.
DS733.C7 The Encyclopaedia Sinica. Shanghai: Kelly and Walsh, LTD., 1917.
DS733.M3.1968 The Chinese Reader's Manual: A Handbook of Biographical, Historical, Mythological, and General Literary Reference. Detroit: Gale, 1968.
DS740.2.H57.1992 Historical Dictionary of Revolutionary China, 1839-1976. New York: Greenwood Press, 1992.
DS777.55.S85.1997 Historical Dictionary of the People's Republic of China: 1949-1997. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1997.
DS778.A1B33.1987 Who's Who in the People's Republic of China. New York: K. G. Saur, 1987.
DS778.A1K55.1971 Biographical Dictionary of Chinese Communism, 1921-1965. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1971.
DS779.28.W46.1989 Who's Who in China, Current Leaders . Beijing: Foreign Languages Press: distributed by China International Book Trading Corporation, 1989.
DS777.75.D53 1998 Dictionary of the Politics of the People's Republic of China. London : Routledge, 1998.
DS795.3.H63.2000 Beijing. Oxford; Santa Barbara, Calif. : Clio Press, c2000.
DS798 .A65.1970 Area Handbook for Mongolia. Washington, For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1970.
DS805.C36.1993 The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Japan. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1993.
DS805.J263.1993 Japan: An Illustrated Encyclopedia . Tokyo: Kodansha, 1993. 2 v.
DS805.K633.1983 Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan. Tokyo; New York, N.Y. : Kodansha, 1983. 9 v. and Supplement.
DS805 P47.1991 Encyclopedia of Japan: Japanese History and Culture, from Abacus to Zori. New York, NY: Facts on File, c1991.
DS805 .M63 1998 Modern Japan: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Nationalism. New York : Garland Pub., 1998.
DS821 .C62 1988 Cultural Atlas of Japan. New York : Facts on File, 1988.
DS822.5.E516.2002 Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture. London; New York: Routledge, 2002.
DS834 .B56 Biographical Dictionary of Japanese History. Tokyo: Kodansha International in collaboration with the International Society for Educational Information, 1978.
DS834 .J37.1989 Japanese Studies in the United States. Part II. Directory of Japan specialists and Japanese Studies Institutions in the United States and Canada. Tokyo: Japan Foundation; Ann Arbor, MI: Association for Asian Studies, 1989. 2 v.
DS834 .J7.1960 The Japan Biographical Encyclopedia and Who's Who . 2nd ed. Tokyo, Japan Biographical Research Dept., Rengo Press, 1960.
DS895.F7.C4 Area Handbook for the Republic of China . Washington, For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1969.
DS896.6 E23.1999 Tokyo. Oxford, England; Santa Barbara, California: Clio Press, c1999
DS902 C59.1975 Area Handbook for South Korea. Washington: For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1975.
DS902 H2864.1993 A Handbook of Korea. Seoul, Korea: Korean Overseas Information Service, 1993.
DS918.E53.2000 Encyclopedia of the Korean War: A Political, Social, and Military History. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c2000. 3 v.
DS918 H536.1991 Historical Dictionary of the Korean War. New York : Greenwood Press, 1991.
DS918 .S86.1990 Korean War Almanac. New York, N.Y.: Facts on File, 1990.
DS932 N662.1994 North Korea: A Country Study Washington, D.C. : Federal Research Division, Library of Congress : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., 1994.

Library of Congress Class: E - J
Call Number Title
E184.A1N2866.1999 A Nation of Peoples: A Sourcebook on America's Multicultural Heritage . Westport: Greenwood Press, 1999.
E184.A1M263.2001 Making It In America: A Sourcebook on Eminent Ethnic Americans. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2001.
E184.A1E574.2000 Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 2000.
E184.O6C64.2001 The Columbia Guide to Asian American History. New York: Columbia University Press, 2001.
E184.O6D53.1986 Dictionary of Asian American History. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986.
E184.O6D57.1999 Distinguished Asian Americans: A Biographical Dictionary. Westport: Greenwood Press, 1999.
E184.O6A75.1992 Asian American Information Directory. Detroit: Gale Research, Inc., 1992.
E184.J3E53.2001 Encyclopedia of Japanese American Histrory: An A-to-Z Reference from 1868 to the Present. New York: Facts on File, 2001.
E184.A1H35 Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups. Cambridge: Belknap Press of Harvard University, 1990.
E184.A1G874.1999 Multicultural Resoirces on the Internet: The United States and Canada. Englewood,, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1999.
E184.A1G14.1995 Gale Encyclopedia of Multiculrural America. Detroit: Gale Research, 1995.
E184.A1A63448.1997 American Immigrant Cultures: Builders of a Nation. New York: Macmillan, 1997.
E184.O6.1995 UGL The Asian American Encyclopedia. New York: Marshall Cavendish, 1995.
G2306.G1N3.1994 The National Economic Atlas of China . Hong King: Oxford University Press, 1994.
G2306.S1H4.1966 An Historical Atlas of China. Chicago: Aldine Publishing Co., 1966.
G2355.J3.1999 Japan: A Bilingual Atlas. Tokyo: Kodansha International, 1991.
JQ1507.L36.1994 Directory of Officials and Organizations in China: A Quarter-Century Guide. Armonk, N.Y: Sharpe, 1994.
JQ1519.A5B37.1990 Biographical Dictionary and Analysis of China's Party Leadership, 1922-1988. Munchen; New York: K.G. Saur, 1990.

Library of Congres Class: N - P
Call Number Title
N7260.G6713.1980 Oriental Art: A Handbook of Styles and Forms. New York: Rizzoli, 1980.
N7262 .P5 A Pictorial Encyclopedia of the Oriental Arts. New York, Crown Publishers c1969-
N734..M78.1981 Dictionary of Chinese and Japanese Art. New York: Hacker Art Books, 1981
N7340 .H3.1961 A Glossary of Chinese Art and Archaeology. London: China Society, 1961.
N7340 .M4.1965 A Handbook of Chinese Art for Collectors and Students. New York, Horizon Press, 1965, c1964.
N7350 .J75.1968 Legend in Japanese Art; A Description of Historical Episodes, Legendary Characters, Folk-Lore Myths, Religious Symbolism, Illustrated in the Arts of Old Japan. Rutland, Vt., Tuttle, 1968, c1967.
N7358 .R6 A Dictionary of Japanese Artists: Painting, Sculpture, Ceramics, Prints, Lacquer. Tokyo; New York: Weatherhill, 1976.
PL20 .C65 The Comprehensive Dictionary of Chinese Character Index. Armonk, N.Y.: Asian Associates, c1979.
PL676 .O9.1989 The Oxford-Duden Pictorial Japanese & English Dictionary. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1989.
PL677.5 .M6 E ast Asian Ko Kan-Wa Jiten. Tokyo: Taishukan Shoten, Showa 56-57, 1981-1982. 4 v.
PL679.K38213.1993 Merriam-Webster's Japanese-English Learner's Dictionary. Springfield, Mass.: Merriam Webster, Inc.; Tokyo: published in collaboration with Kenkyusha Ltd., 1993.
PL679.K4 1974 Kenkyusha's New Japanese-English Dictionary. 4th ed. Tokyo: Kenkyusha, 1974.
PL679..K567.1991 Kodansha's Compact Kanji Guide: A New Character Dictionary for Students and Businessmen. Tokyo; New York: Kodansha International, 1991.
PL679 .K67.1996 Kodansha's Furigana English-Japanese Dictionary: The Essential Dictionary for All Students of Japanese. Tokyo: Kodansha Intanashonaru, 1996.
PL679.M37 1994 Martin's Concise Japanese Dictionary: English-Japanese, Japanese-English, fully Romanized with Complete Kanji & Kana. Rutland, Vt., C.E. Tuttle Co., c1994.
PL679 .N25.1997 Shinpan Neruson Kan-Ei jiten = The New Nelson Japanese-English Character Dictionary: Based on the Classic Edition by Andrew N. Nelson. Rutland, Vt.; Tokyo: C.E. Tuttle Co., 1997.
PL679 .N294.1995 Random House Japanese-English English-Japanese Dictionary. New York: Random House, 1995.
PL679 .N35 1991 East Asian Nyu Senchuri Ei-Wa jiten = The New Century English-Japanese Dictionary. Tokyo: Sanseido, 1991.
PL679..R6.1977 Beginners' Dictionary of Chinese-Japanese Characters: With Common Abbreviations, Variants and Numerous Compounds. New York: Dover Publications, 1977.
PL679 .V29.1962 A. B. C. Japanese-English Dictionary; An Entirely New Method of Classification of the Chinese-Japanese Characters. Tokyo, Vaccari's Language Institute; sold by the publishers and C. E. Tuttle Co., Tokyo and Rutland, Vt., 1962.
PL698.P6 D4.1994 NTC's Dictionary of Japan's Cultural Code Words. Lincolnwood, Ill.: National Textbook Company, c1994.
PL698.P6 D4.1994 Biographical Dictionary of Japanese Literature. Tokyo: Kodansha International in collaboration with the International Society for Educational Information; New York: distributed by Harper & Row, 1976.
PL747.55.L48.1993 Modern Japanese Novelists: A Biographical Dictionary. New York; Tokyo: Kodansha International, 1993.
PL937.E5 E84.1990 Minjung's Essence English-Korean Dictionary = Essensu Yong-Han Sajon. Elizabeth, NJ: Hollym International Corp., c1990.
PL937.E5 M3 A Korean-English Dictionary. New Haven, Yale University Press, 1967.
PL957.7 .H36.1996 Who's Who in Korean Literature. Elizabeth, N. J: Hollym International Corp., 1996.
PL1209 .A5.1978 An Investigation into the Present State of Standard Chinese Pronunciation. Lund, Sweden: Studentlitteratur ; London : Curzon Press, 1978-
PL1281 .C43 Chung Wen Ch'ang Yung San Ch'ien Tzu Hsing i Shih. The Etymologies of 3000 Chinese Characters in Common Usage. Hong Kong: Hong Kong University Press; sold by the Oxford University Press, New York, 1968.
PL1423.O94.1989 The Oxford-Duden Pictorial Chinese & English Dictionary. Hong Kong; New York: Oxford University Press, 1989.
PL1455..A24.1996 ABC Chinese-English Dictionary: Alphabetically Based Computerized. Honolulu: University of Hawai'i Press, c1996.
PL1455 C579 A Practical English-Chinese Pronouncing Dictionary; English, Chinese Characters, Romanized Mandarin and Cantonese. Rutland, Vt., C. E. Tuttle Co., 1981, c1970.
PL1455.C59 Chinese-English Dictionary of Contemporary Usage. Berkeley: University of California Press, c1977.
PL1455.M34 Mathews' Chinese-English Dictionary. Cambridge, Mass., Harvard University Press, 1943.
PL1455 .C675 1988 The Facts on File English/Chinese Visual Dictionary: Look Up the Word from the Picture, Find the Picture from the Word. New York, N.Y.: Facts on File Publications, c1988.
PL1455.L68 Liu's Chinese English Dictionary = Liu Shih Han Ying Ta Tz'u Tien. New York: Asian Associates, c1978.
PL1455 .N49 1984 A New English-Chinese Dictionary . Beijing: The Commercial Press; New York : J. Wiley, 1984
PL1455.(56.1983 The Pinyin Chinese-English Dictionary. Beijng, China: Commercial Press ; New York : Wiley, 1983.
PL1455 .S66 The Student's Four Thousand ... <Characters> and General Pocket Dictionary. London, K. Paul, Trench, Trubner & co., ltd., 1942.
PL1455 .Y2 1966 Dictionary of Spoken Chinese. New Haven, Yale University Press, 1966.
PL1489 .L49 1963a A Selective Guide of Key Words in Chinese Periodicals and Newspapers. Washington? : s.n., c1963.
PL1736 .C6 The Cantonese Speaker's Dictionary . Hong Kong: Hong Kong University Press; exclusive agents for all countries except east of Burma: Oxford University Press, London, 1965.
PN1993.5 C4 Z53 1998 Encyclopedia of Chinese Film. London; New York: Routledge, 1998.
PN1993.5 .J3 G35 1996 The Japanese Filmography: A Complete Reference to 209 Filmmakers and the Over 1250 Films Released in the United States, 1900 through 1994. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, c1996.
PS128 .D5 v.203 Medieval Japanese Writers. Dictionary of Literary Biography. v. 203. Detroit : Gale Group, c1999.
PS153.A84A825. Asian American Novelists: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2000.
PS153.A84R47.2001 A Resource Guide to Asian American Literature. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 2001.

Library of Congress Class: Z
Call Number Title
Z845.C6 C48 Chung-kuo t`u shu kuan ming lu = Zhongguo Tushuguan Minglu = Directory of Chinese Libraries. Beijing: Chinese Academic Publishers; Distributed by Gale Research Co.,1982.
Z881.H34O35 v.14 China, Japan, and Korea; Classification Schedule, Classified Listing by Call Number, Alphabetical Listing by Author or Title, Chronological Listing. Cambridge, Distributed by Harvard University Press, 1968.
On Order Twentieth Century China : An Annotated Bibliography of Reference Works in Chinese, Japanese, and Western Languages. Armonk, N.Y : M.E. Sharpe, c2002.
Z3101.U64 Union Catalogue of Chinese Literature on Modern China .Tokyo, Institute of Asian EconomicAffairs,1967.
Return to Top




Contemporary Affairs

Online Reference Materials and Analyses of Contemporary Affairs

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Invaluable! An extensive online collection of working papers, books, conference proceedings, policy briefs, and maps. To find material concerning a specific nation, enter the country's name in the Simple Search query box. Respective searches on China, Korea, and Japan retrieve publications of: the Center of Strategic and International Studies, the American Enterprise Institute, the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, the Council of Foreign Relations, The Berkeley Roundtable on the International Economy, Asia/Pacific Research Center, Institute for Development and Peace, The Royal Institute of International Affairs, and the Brookings Institution. Material is full-text and generally quite lengthy.
Economist.Com Country Briefings
The Economist has placed online a very useful reference collection of country profiles, which contain background information, forecasts and statistics, market updates, news headlines, articles from the newspaper, and links to more information.
U.S. Department of State
The official site of the Department of State. Information is provided on such topics as travel, business, topics under current consideration and country briefings. The latter give a brief but wide-ranging overview of the nations the world, their relationship to the United States, and contact information.
Country Studies/Area Handbook Series
This website contains the on-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army. Because the original intent of the Series' sponsor was to focus primarily on lesser known areas of the world or regions in which U.S. forces might be deployed, the series is not all-inclusive. At present, 101 countries and regions are covered. Notable omissions include Canada, France, the United Kingdom, and other Western nations, as well as a number of African nations. The date of information for each country appears on the title page of each country study and at the end of each section of text. Handbooks are available for China, Japan, and North and South Korea.
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments
A list of executives and high officials for the governments of the nations of the world.
Asian Government Listings
A ready reference source for identifying officials by agencies and departments. Contact information is provided.
World Law
Searchable by country and then by the full variety of legal concerns and applications. The full text of laws and codes, in English, is provided as is material about legal issues and legal education. Asian nations are well-represented.
UNSTATS
UNSTATS is the United Nations' statistical database that includes data from the UN and its affiliated agencies. Selected topics cover agriculture; balance of payments; communication and culture; construction; development assistance; education; energy and the environment; finance; health; households and families; housing; income and consumption; industry; labor; foreign trade; prices; population; science and technology; services industry; public welfare; and public safety. Statistical profiles for countries are readily accessible.
CIA World Factbook
Comprehensive information in an easy to use format.
Return to Top




News Sources

Newspapers Available In Lockwood Current Periodicals

Central Daily News (China)
Jen Min Jih Pao (China)
Taipei Journal (Taiwan)
Sing Tao Daily (Hong Kong)
The Segye Times (S. Korea)
Dong-A Daily News (S. Korea)
Yomiuri Shimbun (Japan)

Selected Newspapers and News Sources Online

Asahi News http://www.asahi.com/english/index.html
AsiaNow ( Asia Week ) http://www.asiaweek.com/asiaweek
China Daily http://www.chinadaily.net/news/index.html
Japan Times http://www.japantimes.co.jp/
Korea Web Weekly http://www.kimsoft.com/korea.htm
Mainichi Daily News -- English http://mdn.mainichi.co.jp/
Mainichi Daily News -- Japanese http://www.mainichi.co.jp/
Nishinippon's News -- Japanese http://www.nishinippon.co.jp/
South China Morning Post http://www.scmp.com/
Taiwan Today News Network http://w3.ttnn.com/cna/index.html
The Daily Yomiuri http://www.yomiuri.co.jp/index.html
The Korean Economic Weekly http://www.ked.co.kr/kew/

 

News Databases
UB Only Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides full-text articles and reports from more than 6,000 magazines, newspapers, wire services, reference books, and government publications from around the world. Among the extensive group of nearly 245 Asian/Pacific news sources (some are western publications) are: China Daily, China Post, The Daily Yomiuri, Hong Kong Standard, Japan Economic Newswire, Korea Herald, the Korea Times, Shanghai Securities News, Xinhua Economic News Service, Xinhgua General News Service, and The Daily Yomiuri Shimbun.
 
UB Only

Factiva
The combined power of Dow Jones and Reuters. Factiva specializes in general news and business information. It provides the full-text of thousands of newspapers, newswires, magazines and TV and radio transcripts. With nearly 8,000 sources from 118 countries and 22 languages, Factiva is the best source for global business information. And with more than 120 continuously updated newswires, Factiva carries more breaking news than any other provider. Among the major Asian news and business publications covered in full text are: Asahi Shimbun, China Daily, Korea Economic Weekly, Korea Herald, South China Morning Post, and Yomiuri Shimbun. Material is available in Asian languages.


Free News Services on the Web
AsiaSource
http://www.asiasource.org/
The Asia Society has 100 employees and a $14 million budget.. Dedicated to fostering understanding of Asia and communication between Americans and the peoples of Asia and the Pacific. Presents a wide range of programs including high-level conferences, symposia, international study missions, press briefings, publications, major art exhibitions and performing arts productions. Information is provided across the entire range of activity. The main index to the site has main entries for: Asia Today, Asia Food, Asia Business, Asia Events, Asia Views (articles and speeches), Asia Links, Asia Experts, Asia Profiles (maps and statistics), Asia Reference (glossary of terms), Asia Search (search engine), Asia Bulletin, and Asia Books (an online bookstore).
Asia Observer
http://www.asiaobserver.com
In addition to a thorough coverage of major Asian news sources, a valuable directory of Web sites is provided. The latter is selective, and does not attempt to be comprehensive. "Asia Observer, which was launched on January 1, 2000, is a start page for observers of news and developments in Asia. It is intended to be of use for journalists, researchers, politicians, students, business people, government officials and others who in their professional or personal capacity try to keep track of the rapid developments in Asia. The emphasis is on news, discussions, politics, economy and general background."
The Asian Studies WWW Monitor
http://coombs.anu.edu.au/asia-www-monitor.html
Useful for researching contemporary affairs and for studying the WWW in Asia. The journal, a pioneering and the only publication of this kind in the world, provides daily abstracts and reviews of new/updated online resources of significance to research, teaching and communications dealing with Asian Studies. It is published by the Internet Publications Bureau, RSPAS, National Institute for Asia and the Pacific, ANU. The periodical forms a key element of the global, cooperative project Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library. For further details see a page About the Asian Studies WWW Monitor. The journal is complemented by its sister publication Pacific Studies WWW Monitor which was established in April 2000. It regularly monitors new developments in the Asian Studies' cyberspace and compiles timely, accurate, consistent and impartial summaries and evaluations of the latest Web sites and other online information systems relevant to social sciences research of Asia and Pacific region.
Asian-Pacific Economic Cooperation
http://www.apecsec.org.sg/
Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) was established in 1989. It began as an informal dialogue group but has since become the primary regional vehicle for promoting open trade and practical economic cooperation. An extensive collection of downloadable documents, on recent history and economic issues, is provided.
Yahoo News Asia
http://asia.dailynews.yahoo.com/headlines/asia/
Brief but timely news reports covering all of Asia. Reports are provided by Agence France-Presse (AFP) ( http://www.afp.com/english/home/ ). AFP's worldwide network takes in 165 countries, of which 110 are home to bureaus, and 50 are covered by local correspondents. AFP's presence in the Asia-Pacific region extends across 28 countries plus the islands of the Pacific.
Asia News Network
http://www.asianewsnet.net/
An alliance of Asian newspapers has launched a site that offers news from its members along with market reports, currency information, and weather.. With the motto “We KnowAsia Better,” the site aims to provide an Asian perspective on the region's news. The resource launched with 11 newspapers and quickly added three more. ANN's members include The Daily Star (Bangladesh), China Daily, The Statesman (India), The Jakarta Post (Indonesia), The Daily Yomiuri (Japan), Sin Chew Daily (from Malaysia, in Chinese), The Star (Malaysia), The Dawn (Pakistan), The Philippine Daily Inquirer , The Korea Herald , The Straits Times (Singapore), The Island (Sri Lanka), The Nation (Thailand), and Viet Nam News .

Newspapers and Magazines

The following sources are lists of newspapers published around the world. Find the country in which you're interested, click on it, and a list of newspapers appears from which you can go directly to the listed paper. For instance, Online Newspapers.Com lists 121 newspapers for Japan and 19 for China, but all East Asian nations are represented. Papers may be published in English or in Asian languages. Lists generated by these sources are not identical.

NewsDirectory.Com http://www.newsdirectory.com
Newspapers Online http://www.newspapers.com
Online Newspapers http://www.onlinenewspapers.com
Yahoo: News and Media http://dir.yahoo.com/News_and_Media/Newspapers/By_Region/

Federal Government Monitoring of Asian News

JPRS Reports were originally prepared for the informational use of U.S. Government officials and agencies by the Joint Publications Research Service, a sub-agency of the Central Intelligence Agency. JPRS Reports contain translations of non-U.S. originated, foreign language materials from newspapers, journals, speeches, and broadcasts published from all regions of the world, including Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Near East. Consequently, JPRS Reports are a valuable and unique source of primary and secondary material from around the world. Subjects covered in the JPRS Reports include economics, international relations, national politics, military affairs, and science and technology.

The JPRS series of publications were transferred to the Foreign Broadcast Information Service in July, 1979. The Foreign Boradcast Information Service (FBIS) collects and translates current political, economic, technical, and military information from the media worldwide for the U.S. government.

To determine which JPRS and FBIS documents are held by Lockwood Library perform a keyword, for instance, k=jprs and china.su..

UB Only

World News Connection
World News Connection (WNC) is an online news service, only accessible via the World Wide Web, that offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources, WNC provides users with the power to identify what really is happening in a specific country or region. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, the information in WNC covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. The material in WNC is provided to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), a U.S. government agency.

Chinese sources: AFP, China National Radio, China Radio International, The Hong Kong Economic Journal, Hong Kong Mail, Hong Kong Standard, Jiefangjun Bao, Keji Ribao, Liaowang, Ming Pao, Renmin Ribao, Renmin Ribao (Economic Weekly Supplement), Renmin Ribao (Guangzhou South China News Supplement), Sichuan Ribao, Sing Tao Jih Pao, Sing Tao Wan Pao, Ta Kung Pao, Wen Wei Po, Xinhua, Xinhua Domestic Service, Xinhua Hong Kong Service, Xinjiang Ribao, Xinmin Wanbao, Zhongguo Tongxun She, and Zhongguo Xinwen She (China News Service). Japanese sources : Gaiko Forum, Sankei Shimbun. South Korean so urces: Chosun Ilbo, Chungang Ilbo, Taehan Maeil (The Korea Daily News), Ilgan Sports, KBS Radio 1, KBS 1 TV, KBS 2 TV, Korean Broadcasting System (KBS), The Korea Herald, The Korea Times, Kukbang Ilbo, Kyonghyang Sinmun, Maeil Kyongje Sinmun, Tong-a Ilbo, and Yonhap. North Korean sources: Ch'ollima, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, KCNA, Korea Today, Korean Central Broadcasting Corporation, Korean Central Television, Minju Choson, Nodong Sinmun, and The P'yongyang Times.

Return to Top




Websites

Preparing to Read Asian Characters On A Computer
Encoding and Decoding Asian Texts Without the right software Asian characters will be unreadable on your computer. A company called UnionWay ( http://www.unionway.com/servlet/Node?Node=1 ) offers kits for Chinese, Japanese and Korean (CJK). They offer free 30-day trial software on their Web site. TwinBridge ( http://www.twinbridge.com/ ) is another popular CJK software company.
Machine Translation: Chinese, Japanese, and Korean While machine translation is not yet perfected, you may find the Chinese, Japanese, and Korean capabilities of Babelfish, freely available at http://babelfish.altavista.com/tr useful.
Searching the Asian Internet To search the Internet sites from Asian nations you will be best served by Web directories and search engines designed specifically for this task. Relevant search engines and directories are aggregated in geographically organized lists of links at Global Direkt.com: Far East ( http://www.globaltelecom.org/fareast.htm ). Search Engines: Asian Databases http://ciolek.com/SearchEngines.html#asia is part of the Asian Studies Virtual Library. Chaotic but worth a look.
Finding Web Sites on East Asian Studies Beyond searching the Web using a search engine, there are extensive collections of Web resources through which to search, some are focused on countries and regions, while others have a disciplinary and then a regional grouping. Foremost among guides to Asian materials are those of the World Wide Web Virtual Library, which appear below as appropriate. For a discussion of the Virtual Library project visit http://vlib.org/AboutVL.html.

Print Guides to Internet Sites
E184.A1G874.1999 Multicultural Resoirces on the Internet: The United States and Canada. Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1999.
D22.W67.2002 The World History Highway: A Guide to Internet Resources. Armonk, N.Y.: M.E. Sharpe, 2002.
General Metasites
Digital Asia
http://digitalasia.library.wisc.edu/
Based at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and a cooperative venture of The Ohio State University Libraries, the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities Libraries, and the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries. This selective and annotated collection of links covers a broad range of disciplines such as business and economics, education, political science, and sociology and topics such as banking and finance, demography and population, environment, gender, health, industry and trade, and politics, government, and international relations.
Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library
http://coombs.anu.edu.au/WWWVL-AsianStudies.html
An index to guides for individual countries and select areas and territories. China, Japan, and North and South Korea are included. Arrangement is generally topical, but within topical clusters, material is gathered geographically. Sections include: E-Lists, bibliographies, E-journal registry, and an annotated list of search engines.
World Area Studies Resources
http://vax.wcsu.edu/socialsci/area.html
Compiled by Western Comecticut State University's Department of Political Science. An unannotated but interersting and useful collection of links.
Regional Studies WWW Virtual Library
http://vlib.org/Regional.html
Particularly strong on Asian history and an important central index to a diversity of guides in the Virtual Library system. Any search should include a visit to this site.
Asia Resources on the WWW
Assoication for Asian Studies
http://www.aasianst.org/links.htm
An extremely valuable and easily used annotated directory. One of the sites that should be consulted at the beginning of any search.
Yahoo: Area Studies, Asia
http://d4.dir.dcx.yahoo.com/regional/regions/asia/countries/
A Yahoo directory that leads to hundreds of sites for China, Taiwan, Japan, and the Koreas. Entries are briefly annnotated.
Chinese and Japanese Resources
University of Wisconsin, Madison
http://www.library.wisc.edu/guides/EastAsia/
Excellent gateway pages to some of the most important resources on these nations.

China
Internet Guide for Chinese Studies WWW Virtual Library
http://sun.sino.uni-heidelberg.de/igcs/
A component of the WWW Virtual Library. Anyone working on a Chinese topic, on just about anything, should visit this extensive site. Sites listed are thoroughly annotated and critically evaluated.. A directory, modeled after the Library of Congress classification system, provides access.
Chinese Studies Internet Resources
http://www2.library.ucla.edu/libraries/eastasian/china.htm
Maintained by the Richard C. Rudolph East Asian Library of UCLA. An extensive annotated list of links across the full range of possible concerns, from art to history to media to religion to politics.
The Complete Reference to China/Chinese-Related Web Sites
http://ChinaSite.com/
Well over 8,500 links to things about China or Chinese. Always worth a visit regardless of academic interest or other topic. Indexing is available in both Chinese and English and English- as well as Chinese-language material is linked to. Links are organized under such headings as: Magazines, Current Events, Chinese Leaders, China's Internet, Fashion and Costume, TV and Radio, Reading and Literature, Protest Movement, and Chinese Traditional Medicine
ChinaLinks for HyperChina Users
http://www.sinologic.com/ChinaLinks.html
SinoLogic Software was founded in 1991 by a group of scholars and educators at the University of California, Berkeley. The company is dedicated to the development of multimedia works on Chinese language, art, and culture. Carefully selected and annotated links, are organized under: Learning Chinese, Language, History, Philosophy, Literature, Music, Art, Movies, Travel, Regions, Computing, Other Fun, and Chinese Learners Alternative Site.
European Association of Sinological Librarians
http://www.easl.org/easl.html
The Web site of the indicated Association. Offers a number of useful guides and various useful links, particularly to libraries.
I nternet Resources for East Asian Studies: China
http://lark.cc.ukans.edu/~eastasia/linkcall.html
An extensive directory of libraries and instituions that have Web pages focusing on China.
Mario's Cyberspace Station: China
http://mprofaca.cro.net/news024.html
Exceptional access to news and current events, with links to commercial and official Chinese news media.

Hong Kong, Macau, and the South China Sea
Hong Kong WWW Virtual Library
http://www.asiawind.com/hkwwwvl/
Links to information on the Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China organized under: government, finance and economy, business and industry, law, health and education, science and technology, arts and music, tourism and recreations, the Internet, and the 1997 transition.
Mario's Cyberspace Station: Hong Kong
http://public.srce.hr/~mprofaca/news052.html
Exceptional access to news and current events, with links to commercial and official Hong Kong news media.
Macau WWW Virtual Library
http://newton.uor.edu/Departments&Programs/AsianStudiesDept/macau.html
Links to information are organized under: The 1999 Hand Over, General Information, Government Offices, Business and Economy, News Media, Political and Social Issues, and History and Culture.
South China Sea WWW Virtual Library
http://www.middlebury.edu/SouthChinaSea/
The focus is regional development, and environmental and security issues.

Taiwan
Taiwan WWW Virtual Library
http://userpage.fu-berlin.de/~telehist/mm/urlgr/vltaiw.htm
Currently not operational.
Taiwan Government
http://www.gio.gov.tw/
The official government Web site. An excellent place to begin a search, not restricted to political issues. But political coverage is comprehensive, lengthy, and focused on Taiwan's unique relationship with China and the world.
Information Division
Taipei Economic and Culture Office
New York
http://www.taipei.org/
"The Information Division of the Taipei Economic and Cultural Office (TECO) in New York is one of more than 50 overseas offices of the Government Information Office (GIO) of the Republic of China on Taiwan. Its primary mission is to promote better understanding between Taiwan and the United States in all aspects by keeping the American press, academic, political, and social leadersabreast of accurate and up-to-date information about Taiwan."
Index of Taiwanese Organizations
http://www.taiwandc.org/index.html
A wide-ranging Web site which provides access to a wide range of information, including extensive lists of links to political sources.
YamWeb Navigator-The Taiwan Index
http://www.yam.com/en/yam/
Well organized links to a wide range of topics. Material is in both Chinese and English.

Japan
Japan WWW Virtual Library
http://jguide.stanford.edu/
Organized like the Yahoo directory. Popular as well as academic sites are listed and annotated. A search engine is provided.
Japanese Studies Internet Resources
http://www2.library.ucla.edu/libraries/eastasian/japan.htm
Maintained by the Richard C. Rudolph East Asian Library of UCLA. An extensive annotated list of links across the full range of possible concerns, from art to history to media to religion to politics.
Michael Donnelly's Internet Resources on Japan.
http://www.chass.utoronto.ca:8080/~donnelly/
Created and maintained by Professor Michael Donnelly of the University of Toronto. Some sites are in Japanese. Links are selective and are organized under the headings: Mega Directories for Political Science, Major Resources on Japan, Gateways to Japan, Japanese Government, Japanese Companies, Japanese Research Institutes, News and Analysis, Japan and the Internet, Gateways to Asia, and Journals on the Web.
Japan Information Network
http://www.jinjapan.org/guide
Sponsored by the Japanese government's Ministry of Foreign Affairs. A gateway to websites that introduce the culture and society of Japan.
U.S.-Japan Links Resources.
http://www.us-japan.org/resources.html
Designed to provide a wide range of information on Japan through links to other Japan-related Web sites on business, public affairs, culture and education. New links are added and information is updated weekly. The National Association of Japan-America Societies maintains this site on behalf of its 38 member organizations.
Japan Window Home Page.
http://www.jwindow.net/
Sponsored by Palo Alto-based NTT Multimedia Communications Laboratories, Inc. (MCL), Japan Window is operated as an information source for Worldwide businesses and consumers. It provides a "window" into Japanese business practices, culture, education and industry.
Japan Links
http://www.kanzaki.com/jinfo/jlink.html
A selective metasite of (mainly statistical and analytical) information about Japan in English. Here one will find some English introductions to Japan's journalism, computing and traditional arts, as well as articles in Japanese.
The Ministry of Foregin Affairs
http://sunsite.sut.ac.jp/embitaly/ItalFiles/Sour_Info_Ab_Jp.html
Useful for links to some important organizations and institutions.
Mario's Cyberspace Station: Japan
http://mprofaca.cro.net/mainmenu.html
Outstanding news coverage.
Japan External Trade Organization Homepage (JETRO)
http://www.jetro.go.jp/top/index.html
JETRO collects and provides a diverse range of information through its 80 overseas offices, domestic headquarters in Tokyo and Osaka, and 36 regional offices nationwide. The first place to look for information on buiness in Japan and on Japanese trade. This site is extremely well-organized and accessible.

North and South Korea
South Korea WWW Virtual Library
http://www.skas.org/
The Society of Korean-American Scholars (SKAS) is a private, nonprofit and nonpartisan organization dedicated to engendering intellectual exchanges in the global Korean community.
Internet Resources on Korea
http://www.hawaii.edu/asiaref/korea/internet.htm
Maintained by the Library of the University of Hawaii at Manoa. An extensive list of links to English-language and Korean-language materia, which should always be consulted in any search for Korean Internet resources.
Korean Studies Internet Resources
http://www2.library.ucla.edu/libraries/eastasian/korea.htm
Maintained by the Richard C. Rudolph East Asian Library of UCLA. An extensive annotated list of links across the full range of possible concerns, from art to history to media to religion to politics.
Gateway to Korea
http://www.han.com/gateway.html#companies
A straightforward list. Links are organized under headings: News, Arts and Entertainment, Travel, WWW Directories, Korea Information, Internet Service Providers, Network Services, U.S. Companies, Korean Companies, Educational Institutions, Research Centers and Institutes, Government and Non-Profit Organizations, Student Organizations in the U.S., and Usenet Groups.
Korea Window.
http://www.kotesol.org/conference/2000/korea.htm
A useful collection of links many to English-language materials. Some links no longer work.

University Web Sites with Significant Compilations of Internet Links

Many universities have compiled excellent lists of resources, some especially helpful sites offering lists are given below. These will identify appropriate reference resources, Web resources, and a wealth of freely available electronic texts.

Columbia University http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/eastasian/
Duke University http://www.lib.duke.edu/ias/eac/eac.html
Harvard University http://www-hcl.harvard.edu/hyl/hylhome.html#Various
Haverford College http://www.haverford.edu/library/reference/rkieft/eas.html
Indiana University http://www.indiana.edu/~libeast/
Monash University http://www.lib.monash.edu.au/asrl/index.html
Ohio State University http://www.osu.edu/easc/library.htm
University of California Berkeley http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/CCSL/
University of California Berkeley http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/EAL/
University of California Irvine http://www.lib.uci.edu/rrsc/easian.html
University of California Los Angeles http://www.library.ucla.edu/libraries/eastasian/
University of California Santa Barbara http://www.library.ucsb.edu/subj/eastasia.html
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign http://www.library.uiuc.edu:80/asx/links.htm
University of Indiana Bloomington http://www.easc.indiana.edu/resources.htp
University of Iowa http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/eac/index.html
University of Kansas http://lark.cc.ukans.edu/~eastasia/
University of Minnesota http://ealib.lib.umn.edu/links.html
University of Pennsylvania http://ccat.sas.upenn.edu/ceas/text/webresources.html
University of Pittsburgh http://www.library.pitt.edu/libraries/eastasian/eastasian.html
University of Texas Austin http://asnic.utexas.edu/asnic.html
University of Virginia http://www.lib.virginia.edu/subjects/amlc/index.htm
University of Wisconsin, Madison http://www.library.wisc.edu/guides/EastAsia/
Washington University, Seattle http://weber.u.washington.edu/~ealhmpg/eagenpa.html
Yale University http://www.library.yale.edu/eastasian/eaststu.htm

Historical Sites
History WWW Virtual Library
http://www.ukans.edu/history/VL/
The largest directory of historical resources. Links are organized in a chronological/topical and geographical outline.
Academic Info: World History Gateway
http://www.academicinfo.net/
A large, selective and annotated directory of links.
NM's Creative Impulse
http://history.evansville.net/
A rich collection of links to material on various cultures, see China.
The World History Compass
http://www.worldhistorycompass.com/asia.htm#China
Organized by region and nation
WebChron: The Web Chronology Projhect
http://campus.northpark.edu/history/WebChron/
A good idea, but as yet underdeveloped for Asia.

The Asian American Experience
Asian American Resource Center
http://www.pomona.edu/ADWR/AARC/home.shtml
This web site is a project of the Pomona College Asian American Resource Center. An extensive list of appropriate Web links are provided.to media, magazines and other publications, and to community resources.
Multicultural American West
http://www.wsu.edu:8080/~amerstu/mw/
An extensive collection of links, see especially Asian/Pacaific Americans.
Asian Ameican Resources
http://www.ai.mit.edu/people/irie/aar/
Especially useful for its list of organizations and academic programs.
Asian American Studies Resources
http://sun3.lib.uci.edu/~dtsang/aas2.htm
An exceptionally rich list. Asian Canadian resources are also included. Among its features are a list of audio visual resources, several bibliographies, and links to various serial publications.
The Japanese-American Internment
http://www.geocities.com/Athens/8420/main.html
Numerous links and a timeline of the internment are included.
Japanese Internment Camps During the
Second World War
http://www.lib.utah.edu/spc/photo/9066/9066.htm
A photographic exhibit drawn from the collections of the University of Utah's Special Collections Department.
Asian Pacific Americans
University at Buffalo
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/units/ugl/center/asian.html
A basic guide, which suggests catalog search strategies as well as major metasites.

Major Internet Discusssion Lists

H-Net: Humanities and Social Sciences Online
http://www2.h-net.msu.edu/

H-Net discussion lists include:

H-Asia Asian Studies and History
H-Buddhism Buddhist Scholars Information Network
H-Japan Japan: History and Culture
H-SEASIA South East Asia
H-US-Japan US-Japan Relations
Return to Top




Text Archives

China Japan
University of Virginia: Chinese Text Initiative
http://etext.virginia.edu/chinese/index.html
University of Pittsburgh: Japanese Text Initiative
http://www.pitt.edu/~ealib/jtip.htm
Chinese Philosophical Etext Archive
http://sangle.web.wesleyan.edu/etext/index.html
Tale of the Genji
http://www.sainet.or.jp/~eshibuya/index.html
Chinese Classics
http://www.cnd.org/Classics/
Japanese Old Tales
http://mhtml.ulis.ac.jp/~myriam/mokuji/
menusashie.cgi?02-jp_JP
Tsang and Sung Poetry
http://cls.admin.yzu.edu.tw/planning/
Mini-Collection of Modern Japanese Literature
http://www.acs.ucalgary.ca/~xyang/collect.htm
Lienu zhuan
http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/chinese/lienu
/browse/Lienu.html
The Shiki Internet Haiku Salon
http://www.cc.matsuyama-u.ac.jp/~shiki/
Chinese Literature in Translation
http://faculty.virginia.edu/cll/chinese_literature/
Japanese FTP Archive
http://kuzan.f-edu.fukui-u.ac.jp/bungaku.htm
Quan Tang Sh i
http://cls.admin.yzu.edu.tw/QTS/HOME.HTM
Taisho Shinshu Daizokyo
http://www.l.u-tokyo.ac.jp/%7Esat/
Academia Sinica
http://www.sinica.edu.tw/ftms-bin/ftmsw3
Resources for the Study of East Asian Language
http://www.human.toyogakuen-u.ac.jp/~acmuller/index.htm l
Kyoto Chinese E-Text Project
h ttp://www.zinbun.kyoto-u.ac.jp/%7Edokisha
/text-archive.html
WWW Virtual Library: Religion
http://www.snowcrest.net/dougbnt/religion.html
Electronic Buddhist Text Initiative
http://www.human.toyogakuen-u.ac.jp/%7
Eacmuller/buddhalink.htm
Mao Zedong Internet Library
http://www.marx2mao.org/Mao/Index.html
25 Dynasties and Others
http://www.sinica.edu.tw/ftms-bin/ftmsw3
WWW Virtual Library: Taoism
http://www.clas.ufl.edu/users/gthursby/taoism/
WWW Virtual Library: Religion
http://www.snowcrest.net/dougbnt/religion.html

Korea
Digital Library of Korea
http://www.dlibrary.go.kr/HomePage/ncl.html
Korean Studies on the Net
http://www.koreandb.net/
WWW Virtual Library: Religion
http://www.snowcrest.net/dougbnt/religion.htm l
Return to Top




China, Japan, and Korea in Video

Videos held by the University Libraries and by the University's Instructional Technology Services are identifiable through the University Libraries' catalog. Videos owned by the University Libraries circulate; videos held by the Instructional Technology Services do not. They are available only for classroom use by instructors or for viewing by students on site. For more information on Instructional Technology Services, visit: http://wings.buffalo.edu/services/media/media_library.html

The formulaic search to retrieve records of videos on China is k=chin?.su. and f,fmt. The latter element restricts the subject search to videos and the former to materials about things Chinese. The lists below are of recently issued material and are suggestive of what is available at the University.

Videos on Chinese topics currently number over 60 and include:
Videocassette VHS PN1997 .I479.2001
Undergraduate Reserve
In the Mood for Love
Block 2 Pictures, Paradis Films present a Jet Tone Films production; directed by Wong, Kar-Wai.. Summary : The story of two lonely people who discover in each other the intimacy they have lost in their marriages.
Videocassette VHS DS724 .C72 V57.1988
Lockwood K12 AV
A Visit to China
Title from video label: C-Span in China: Daily Life China. Summary : This live program is a video tour and discussion of life in China's two largest cities, Beijing and Shanghai.
Videocassette VHS V02160
Does not circulate. Available for use in 24 Capen.
Instructional Technology Services
The Bitter Tea of General Yen
Columbia Pictures presents.. Frank Capra centennial collection. Culver City, CA: Columbia TriStar Home Video, 1997. Summary: A tragic tale of a Chinese warlord's unrequited love for an American missionary, set during China's Civil War.

Videos on Japanese topics currently number over 50 and include:
Videocassette VHS V19209
Does not circulate.
Available for use in 24 Capen.
Instructional Technology Services
Silence Broken
A film by Dai Sil Kim- Gibson. Title in publisher's catalog: Silence Broken: Korean Comfort Women. New Paltz, NY: Dai Sil Productions, 1998. Summary: A documentary based on interviews with Korean comfort women who were forced into sexual servitude by the Japanese imperial Army during World War II. Their compelling testimony is presented side by side with interviews with Japanese soldiers, recruiters, and commentary by historians and a medical doctor. Some of their stories, portrayed in powerful dramatizations with their own voices flowing under stunning images, echo soulful sorrow and the amazing resilience of the human spirit.
Videocassette VHS V13220
Does not circulate.
Available for use in 24 Capen.
Instructional Technology Services
No
Musicof Noh drama. Produced and directed by Eugene Enrico; written by William P. Malm, Sidney D. Brown, and Eugene Enrico; produced in cooperation with the Oklahoma Educational Television Authority. University of Oklahoma, Center for Music Television, c1997. Summary: Artists from the Noh troupe led by Kinzu Komparu demonstrate the styles and forms of Noh music.
Videocassette VHS V16106
Does not circulate.
Available for use in 24 Capen.
Instructional Technology Services
The Meiji Revolution
A co-production of PBI/Jigsaw Productions in association with NHK-Japan, KCTS/Seattle and Teleac/Holland; produced by Peter Bull, Alan Poul; directed by Alex Gibney; written by Peter Bull, Alex Gibney. S. Burlington, VT: Annenberg/CPB Project, c1992. Summary: Discusses Commodore Perry's invasion of Tokoyo Bay and the ensuing trade treaty with the U.S. which ended Japan's 250 year seclusion. Mobilized by the charismatic leader, Emperor Meiji, Japan reorganized its society and cast aside centuries of tradition to become the first industrially under-developed nation to become a modern world power.

Videos on Korean topics currently number over 5 and include:
Videocassette VHS DS917 .K67 1995
Undergraduate Reserve
Korea: War, Prosperity, and
Democracy
Presented by the Korea-America Society; funded by Hyundai Motor Company; produced by National Film Production Center. Seoul, Korea: Korea-America Society, c1995. Summary: Shows footage of the Korean War and current modern day Korea.
Videocassette VHS V16111
Does not circulate.
Available for use in 24 Capen.
Instructional Technology Services
Big Business and the Ghost of Confucius
A co-production of PBI/Jigsaw Productions in association with NHK-Japan, KCTS/Seattle and Teleac/Holland; produced by Peter Bull ; written by Peter Bull, Alex Gibney. S. Burlington, VT: Annenberg/CPB Project, c1992. Summary: Describes the economic success stories of Taiwan, South Korea and Singapore. Examines the role played by America and Confucian beliefs in shaping the successful formula for East Asian capitalism and grapples with the question of the role of government in economic growth. Presents profiles and interviews of politicians and business leaders such as former Prime Minister of Singapore, Lee Kuan Yew, and the chairman of South Korea's Hyundai Corp.
Videocassette VHS V16112
Does not circulate.
Available for use in 24 Capen.
Instructional Technology Services
The Fight for Democracy
A co-production of PBI/Jigsaw Productions in association with NHK-Japan, KCTS/Seattle and Teleac/Holland; directed, written & produced by Carl Byker. S. Burlington, VT: Annenberg/CPB Project, c1992. Summary: Korea's economic development and the government's policies, including loans to companies such as Hyundai, where the lifting of the government ban on unions led to conflict with workers. The documentary examines Korea's political history from its beginnings through Japanese occupation, the Korean War, the uprising in Kwangju in 1980, and the massive protests of 1987, to the present. Analyzes historical Anti-American attitudes and today's grassroots political movements.
Return to Top




Images: In Print and on the Web

AMICO (Art Museum Image Consortium)
Over 78,000 works of art digitized by AMICO members and cataloged for the 2001 release of The AMICO Library are represented in this system. The library presently consists of works from Europe, including ancient Greece and Rome; works from North America, including Pre-Columbian (Meso-American) art; works from Asia, including ancient Asia Minor; works from Africa, including ancient Egypt; works from South America; and works from Oceania. Simply enter China, Japan, or Korea as a "simple search" and a list of images on these nations is generated. Image quality is superb.
Grove Dictionary of Art
The Grove Dictionary of Art is available both in print (LML and UGL Reference N31.D5.1996) and online. Articles are extensive, for instance, the article on Japan is introduced by a detailed table of contents and spans over 400 pages. The online source provides numerous diagrams and links to many image collections. There simply is no easier and authoritative source to consult for text or images.
AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive
Consists of several databases: International Photo Archive, Euro/Asian Photo Archive, Audio Database, Text Database, and Graphics Database. It is searchable by subject, date and location. Results may be displayed in directory format or in groups of 4 or 12 photos per screen and may be sorted by relevancy or recency. A wonderful source for compelling contemporary images.
Google
http://www.google.com
Select "Images" from the initial screen and search using the supported syntax. For instance, for images of the Great Wall, try: china and great wall .

Images in Books
I mages of China, Japan, Korea may be found in books held by Lockwood Library. Search the catalog using the form: china.su. and illus , or china.su. and por or china.su. and pictorial.su.

A UB Collection of Images
The University's Educational Technology Center (ETC) is building an archive of photographs on the Web. The existing collection of images on China and Japan is found at: http://wings.buffalo.edu/cas/world-civ/iAsia.html , select China Image Base and Japan Image Base. These copyrighted images may be used to support teaching.

Selected Web Sites Providing Images
A Guide to Asian Art on the Internet http://www.artindex.com/
WWW Virtual Library: Museums and Exhibitions http://vlmp.museophile.com/
WWW Virtual Library: Asian Art (Japan/China) http://www.nyu.edu/gsas/dept/fineart/html/chinese/index.html
The Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Related Art http://kaladarshan.arts.ohio-state.edu/
Asianart.com http://asianart.com/
Chinese and Japanese Art History WWW Virtual Library http://www.nyu.edu/gsas/dept/fineart/html/chinese/
Art of China http://pasture.ecn.purdue.edu/~agenhtml/agenmc/china/china.html
Buddhist Art of China http://128.146.41.30/China/ChIndx.html
Beijing Palace Museum http://www.dpm.org.cn/C-english/C_english.htm
China the Beautiful Art and Literature http://www.chinapage.org/china.html
China the Beautiful http://www.chinapage.org/china.html
The Land of Beauty http://www.cnd.org/Scenery/index.html
Jacques-Edouard Berger Foundation http://www.bergerfoundation.ch
Exploring Ancient World Cultures China http://eawc.evansville.edu/pictures/chpage.htm
National Palace Museum (Taiwan) http://www.npm.gov.tw/english/index-e.htm
The Great Wall http://pasture.ecn.purdue.edu/~agenhtml/agenmc/china/scengw.html
Shanghai Museum http://www.4windstravel.com/shows/china/museum.html
Japanese Art and Western Influence http://www.euronet.nl/users/artnv/Japart.index.htm
Kyoto National Museum Online http://www.kyohaku.go.jp/meihin/mase.htm
Chronology of Japan's Fine Arts http://www.kanzaki.com/jinfo/jart-fine.html
WebMuseum Paris: Japanese Art and Architecture http://www.ibiblio.org/wm/paint/tl/japan /
Korean Fine Art art.centerworld.net
The Metropolitan Museum of Art: Korea http://www.metmuseum.org/explore/Korea/main.html
National Treasures of Korea http://firefox.postech.ac.kr/treasure/
Return to Top




Asian Studies Programs

SUNY Asian Studies Programs
State University of New York at Albany
http://www.albany.edu/eas/easindex.html
State University of New York at Binghamton
http://aaasp.binghamton.edu/
State University of New York at Buffalo
http://wings.buffalo.edu/soc-sci/asian /
State University of New York at Stony Brook
http://naples.cc.sunysb.edu/CAS/ubdepts2.nsf/pages/soa

Beyond SUNY
Columbia University: East Asian National Resource Center http://www.columbia.edu/cu/sipa/regional/EAI/
Cornell University: East Asian Program http://www.einaudi.cornell.edu/eastasia/
Duke University: Asia/Pacific Studies Institute http://www.duke.edu/APSI/home.html
Harvard University: Asia Center http://www.fas.harvard.edu/~asiactr/
Stanford University: East Asia National Resource Center http://www.stanford.edu/dept/CEAS/
University of California Berkeley: Institute of East Asian Studies http://ieas.berkeley.edu/
University of California Los Angeles: UCLA Center for East Asian Studies http://www.isop.ucla.edu/eas/
University of California San Diego: Graduate School of InternationalRelations and Pacific Affairs http://www-irps.ucsd.edu/irps/front/index.html
University of Chicago: Center for East Asian Studies http://ceas.uchicago.edu/
University of Kansas: Center for East Asian Studies http://falcon.cc.ku.edu/~ceas/
University of Oregon: Department of East Asian Languages and Literatures http://darkwing.uoregon.edu/~eall/
University of Pennsylvania: Center for East Asian Studies http://ccat.sas.upenn.edu/ceas/
University of Pittsburgh: Asian Studies Program http://www.ucis.pitt.edu/asp/
University of Southern California: Joint Program http://www.usc.edu/dept/LAS/EASC/
Washington University in St. Louis: East Asian Studies Program http://www.artsci.wustl.edu/~eas/
Other Asian Studies centers may be identified by using:
http://www.lib.duke.edu/ias/eac/eastprog.htm.
Return to Top




Associations and Organizations

American Anthropological Association http://www.aaanet.org/eas/index.html
Association for Asian Studies http://www.aasianst.org/
Asia Society http://www.asiasociety.org/
Council on East Asian Libraries http://staff.washington.edu/rrbritt/ceal/
Japan Foundation http://www.jpf.go.jp/
New York Conference on Asian Studies http://www.newpaltz.edu/asianstudies/nycas.html

To Identify Additional Societies and Associations use:

Scholarly Societies Project http://www.scholarly-societies.org/countries.html
Associations Unlimited http://www.galenet.com/servlet/AU?finalAuth=true
Return to Top




Current Awareness Services for Asianists

Keeping up with New Addition to the Collections of Lockwood Library

To browse newly added materials monthly, visit New Additions in the Lockwood Library. Once a list is retrieved, use your word processor's FIND functionality to search for records containing desired words. For instance, finding the word "korea" will identify texts that have something to do with Korea.

Keeping up with Newly Published Periodical Articles in Western-Languages

Free E-Journal Table of Contents: Ingenta now offers individuals the ability to sign up for email Table of Contents (TOC) alerts, which cover 5,400 full-text electronic journals. To sign up for free E-Journal TOC Alerts simply log in (or register) then select Manage My Ingenta from the left toolbar and follow the link for E-Journal Alerting. Individuals may sign up for alerts for up to five journals.

Return to Top






return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility