return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: Nancy Schiller

Last Update: 28 July, 2008





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Bridge Engineering


Bridge Engineering
    

  • Books
  • Journal Articles
  • Patents
  • Standards
  • Technical Reports
  • Internet Sites

Books

To search for books and conference proceedings on bridge engineering, use BISON, the University Libraries Catalog, which provides information on the location and availability of over three million books and other materials owned by the UB Libraries. You can connect to BISON at http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/bison/.

BISON can be searched by author, title, and subject. You can also search the catalog by keyword, combining words and phrases. For example, select Keyword and enter the terms:

bridge? and model?

The word " and " in the above keyword search directs the computer to retrieve records that contain both of your search terms. The question mark ( ? ) is a truncation, or wildcard, symbol and will retrieve records with all forms of the words bridge, bridges, model, models, modeling, modelling, etc.

Be sure to click on the title of the book and then again at the top of the record where it says AVAILABILITY to find out whether the books it available for you to check out.

After searching BISON, you can expand your search for books using WorldCat , a mega-catalog with 40+ million records for books and other materials owned by more than 20,000 libraries around the world. To connect to WorldCat, go to: http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/worldcat.html. If you find a book in WorldCat that isn't available at UB, you can request that we borrow it for you from another library using ILLiad, our Interlibrary Loan Service, at http://ulilliad.lib.buffalo.edu/illiad/.

We Also Have Access to Electronic Books - The UB Libraries subscribe to several e-books services, including:

  • ENGnetBASE
    http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/ENGnetBASE.html
    Electronic access to over 300 engineering books published by CRC Press including the Bridge Engineering Handbook ; Earthquake Engineering Handbook ; and Handbook of Structural Engineering , among others. You can browse an alphabetical listing of titles or search by keywords and phrases.

  • Knovel E-Books
    http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/knovel.html
    Full text access to over 600 science and engineering books published by ASME, Wiley, McGraw-Hill, Industrial Press, Kluwer, and Elsevier, and others. Many of the books are enhanced with interactive tables and graphs.

Return to Top 

Journal Articles

To search for journal articles by topic, use a database, such as those listed below. These databases will provide you with a list of references, or citations, to journal articles (as well as, in some cases, conference papers, technical reports, dissertations, government documents, etc.). In addition to providing you with a complete reference (author's name, article title, journal name, volume/issue number, page numbers, and date), many databases also provide an abstract, or summary, of the article. Some of these databases also provide full text - see descriptions below for each database .

  • COMPENDEX Plus ( Engineering Index )
    http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/compendex.html
    Provides references plus abstracts (as well as selected full text ) to journal articles and conference papers in all areas of engineering. Available online for the years 1969 to the present.

  • ASCE Civil Engineering Database
    http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/asced.html
    Provides references to American Society of Civil Engineers' publications including books, standards, journal articles, conference proceedings, etc., for the years 1979 to the present. UB students, staff, and faculty can access the full text of articles for current years of ASCE journals via the database. Please note that this is only for the current years and only for journals and not for other types of ASCE publications listed in this database.

  • QUAKELINE
    http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/quakeline.html
    Contains references plus abstracts for books, technical reports, journal articles, conference papers, newspaper articles, slide sets, videos, and maps on earthquake engineering, hazards mitigation, and seismology the years 1987 to the present, with some selective earlier coverage. Please note that all of the items indexed in QUAKELINE are owned by UB ; the LO field of the record will give you location and call number information.

  • TRIS - Transportation Research Information Service Online
    http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/tris.html
    Provides access references (and some full text ) to 500,000 bibliographic records for journal articles, papers, and reports on transportation research covering topics such as planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors, operations, and infrastructure for all modes including air, highway, rail and maritime transport, and mass transit. Available online for the years 1960 to the present.

  • Science Citation Index Expanded
    http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/sci.html
    Provides citations plus abstracts and selected full text where available to journal articles on a wide range of scientific and technical topics. Coverage online is for the years 1971 to the present.

  • ABI/INFORM Global
    http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/abi.html
    Provides citations with abstracts ( and in many cases the full text ) of articles in over 1,000 business and management science periodicals including trade journals, newsletters, and specialized newspapers. Available online for the years 1971 to the present.

How to Determine if UB Owns the Particular Article or Conference Paper You Need

To determine if UB owns the journal containing the article cited in your reference, you need to search BISON. In BISON, click on the JOURNALS tab, then type in the full name of the journal, for example:

    journal of construction engineering and management

You will get a listing showing both the print version (number 1) and, if we have an electronic subscription, the online version (number 2) of the journal:

1 JOURNAL OF CONSTRUCTION ENGINEERING AND MANAGEMENT serial
2 JOURNAL OF CONSTRUCTION ENGINEERING AND MANAGEMENT ONLINE serial

The record for the online version of the journal will include a hot-linked URL that will take you to the web page for the journal and the full text of articles published in it for a specific span of years . Be sure to check the date of the article you need and match that up with the coverage in the electronic journal. If your article falls outside the specified date range for online coverage, then you will need to use the print journal, which will be shelved by call number on the 3rd floor of Capen Hall in the Science & Engineering Library. If we don't have the journal in print or online format, we can still arrange to get a copy of an article you need for you from another library through ILLiad, our InterLibrary Loan service (see http://ulilliad.lib.buffalo.edu/illiad/ ).

Browsing Journals

Another way to search for articles is to browse current issues of journals and magazines. Below is a list of selected journals at UB related to bridge engineering.

Title Online Access UB Print
ACI Structural Journal Free abstracts available 1931+ via ACI
SEL Per TA680 .A25
Automation in Construction Full text access 1995+ via UB's subscription to ScienceDirect
SEL Per TH437 .A95
Bridge Structures Full text access 2005+ via UB's subscription toTaylor & Francis Journals  
Computer-Aided Civil and Infrastructure Engineering Full text access 1998 to 1 year ago via UB's subscription to Academic Search Premier
SEL Per TA345 .M48
Computer-Aided Design Full text access 1995+ via UB's subscription to ScienceDirect
APL Per TA174 .C58
Computer Aided Engineering: CAE Full text access 1997+ via UB's subscription to Academic Search Premier SEL Per TA345 .C638
Computers & Structures Full text access 1995+ via UB's subscription to ScienceDirect
SEL Per TA641 .C65
Engineering with Computers Full text access 1997+ via SpringerLINK
SEL Per TA174 .E56
Journal of Bridge Engineering Full text access 1996+ via the ASCE Civil Engineering Database
SEL Per TG1 .J68
Journal of Computing in Civil Engineering Full text access 1993+ via the ASCE Civil Engineering Database SEL PerTA1. J68
Journal of Infrastructure Systems Full text access 1995+ via the ASCE Civil Engineering Database
SEL Per TA1 .J66
Journal of Materials in Civil Engineering Full text access 1996+ via the ASCE Civil Engineering Database
SEL Per TA401 .J677
Journal of Structural Engineering Full text access 1995+ via the ASCE Civil Engineering Database
SEL Per TA1 .A5235
Metallurgical and Materials Transactions. A, Physical Metallurgy and Materials Science Full text access 1995+ via SpringerLINK
SEL Per TN1 .M515
New Steel Full text access 1993+ via UB's subscription to Business & Company Resource Center SEL Per HD9506.U6 C48
Practice Periodical on Structural Design and Construction Full text access 1995+ via the ASCE Civil Engineering Database SEL Per TA658 .P73
Structure and Infrastructure Engineering Full text access 1993+ via UB's subscription toTaylor & Francis Journals  

To search for other electronic journals that UB subscribes to, go to http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/ft.html .

Return to Top 

Technical Reports

Technical reports are typically used to report the progress of research and development activities. The UB Science & Engineering Library has a collection of several million technical reports, most of which are on microfiche. They are shelved on the second floor of SEL near the reference area. The database below will provide you with references for reports, including their report/accession number, which we use to file reports in our microfiche collection. A reference librarian can help you determine whether or not we have the technical report you are looking for and locate it for you.

  • NTIS (federally-sponsored R+D) - Provides citations and abstracts for technical reports describing government-sponsored research from 1969 to the present. Go to: http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/ntis.html .

Return to Top 

Patents

Patents are a rich source of scientific and technical information. The U.S. Patent & Trademark Office Patent Full-Text and Full-Page Image Databases at http://www.uspto.gov/patft/index.html contain the full text of U.S. patents and patent applications. The Issued Patents Database contains the full text content of U.S. patents issued from 1790 to the present. Patents from 1790-1975 can be searched by patent number and classification code only . Patents from 1976 to the present can be searched by keyword as well as patent number, classification code, inventor's name, assignee's (company's) name, primary examiner's name, issue and application date, etc. The PatentApplications Database contains the full text of patent applications from March 15, 2001, to the present.

NOTE: The full-page images available through the site, which include all of the drawings for a patent, are in a compressed TIFF format that requires special software for viewing. For more information on how to download this software, see http://www.uspto.gov/patft/help/images.htm.

For other patent databases , see http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/engineering/patents.html

Return to Top 

Standards

Standards are detailed instructions that explain how something is to be manufactured, managed, operated designed, or otherwise handled. SEL has the following standards relating to bridge analysis, design, and construction.

  • AASHTO LRFD Bridge Design Specifications - 2004
    UGL/SEL REF TG23 .A25
  • AASHTO Standard Specifications for Highway Bridges (17th edition, 2002)
    UGL/SEL REF TG310 .A6
  • AAHSTO/AWS D1.5-95 Bridge Welding Code
    UGL/SEL REF TG315 .B75
  • ACI Manual of Concrete Practice UGL/SEL REF TA439 .A64
  • ASCE Standard for the Structural Design of Composite Slabs
    UGL/SEL REF TA 664 .S72
  • ASCE Specification for the Design of Cold-Formed Stainless Steel Structural Members
    UGL/SEL REF TA684 .A49
  • ASCE Minimum Design Loads for Buildings & Other Structures
    UGL/SEL REF TH 851 .M56
  • ASCE Standard Guidelines for the Design and Installation of Pile Foundations
    UGL/SEL REF TA 780 .A523
For other standards, including other ASCE standards, see the SEL Standards website at http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/standards.html
Return to Top 

Internet Sites

Internet sites can be an important source for information on "cutting edge" research as well as on commercial applications of technology in business and industry.

META-SITES

  • Bridge Engineering Home Page
    http://www.scsolutions.com/bridge.html
    This commercial site is an excellent jumping off point on the web for information related to bridge engineering. It includes links to government agencies, associations, research centers, companies, publications, software, and more.
  • AASHTO Subcommittee on Bridges & Structures
    http://bridges.transportation.org/
    Includes a collection of links maintained by the American Association of State Highway Ttansportation Officials to Internet sites containing information on bridges and other large structures.
  • BridgeSite
    http://www.bridgesite.com/
    This meta-site links to extensive listing of government and association websites as well as other meta-sites, discussuon lists and forums, a photo gallery page, and a particularly well developed listing of bridge software programs.
GOVERNMENT AGENCIES
  • Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) Office of Bridge Technology
    http://www.fhwa.dot.gov/bridge/index.htm
  • New York State Department of Transportation
    http://www.dot.state.ny.us/
  • Other Federal and State Government Highway & Transportation Agencies
    http://www.scsolutions.com/bridge.agencies.html

PROFESSIONAL SOCIETIES

  • American Association of State & Highway Transportation Officials (AASHTO)
    http://www.transportation.org/aashto/home.nsf/FrontPage
  • American Public Works Association
    http://www.apwa.net/
  • American Iron & Steel Institute (AISI) Transportation & Infrastructure
    http://www.steel.org/infrastructure - see BRIDGES in particular
  • American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC)
    http://www.aisc.org/
  • Association of Iron and Steel Engineers (AISE)
    http://www.aise.org/
  • American Welding Society (AWS)
    http://www.aws.org/
  • American Society for Metals (ASM) International
    http://www.asm-intl.org/
  • Precast/Stressed Concrete Institute (PCI)
    http://www.pci.org/
  • American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
    http://www.asce.org/
  • Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research
    http://mceer.buffalo.edu/ - see MCEER's Computer Searches on Bridges in particular

MISCELLANEOUS SITES

  • National Bridge Research Organization
    http://www.nabro.unl.edu/
    The focus of the National Bridge Research Organization at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln is to foster cooperation between academia, industry and government agencies in developing and implementing new technologies related to bridge engineering and construction.
  • Bridge Research: Leading the Way to the Future
    http://www.tfhrc.gov/pubrds/summer95/p95su23.htm
    Article on the importance of research in maintaining America's bridges.
  • Build a Bridge
    http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/bridge/
    This interactive website, produced by NOVA Online, presents four bridging scenarios and challenges you to test your knowledge by choosing the right type of bridge to the right location.
  • Bridge Aesthetics Design Guidelines
    http://www.rta.nsw.gov.au/constructionmaintenance/downloads/urbandesign/urban_design_dl3.html
    Sixty-page document outlining guidelines developed to help design teams in New South Wales produce "bridges of aesthetic value."
SEARCHING THE INTERNET
  • To search the Internet yourself, use a search engine such as Google.
  • For links to major search engines and directories, see the UB Libraries World Wide Web Search Guide.
  • For tips on how to search effectively using these tools, see Search Engine Features for Searchers.

Citing Your Sources

Your bibliography, in which you list all of the information sources you consulted, should be formatted following the guidelines given in the MLA Style Guide . Print copies are available in the Lockwood and Undergraduate Library Reference Collections, LB2369 .G53

For online help, including explanations and examples of MLA documentation style, try:

  • Bucknell University Citation Guides
    http://www.bucknell.edu/isr/Doing_Research/Research_Aids/Citation_Guides.html
  • University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center
    http://www.wisc.edu/writing/Handbook/DocMLA.html
Return to Top 
divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility