return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
Instant Message Email Phone In Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+ (Multi-Search)
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: Chris Hollister

Last Updated: 24 Aug 2007





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > English & American Literature > Fantasy Literature & Film

    
Fantasy Literature & Film: Selected Resources

This guide lists sources of information to assist students in researching fantasy literature and films. All of the sources listed can be found in the University at Buffalo's Arts & Sciences Libraries (ASL), or on the World Wide Web. For additional assistance, consult with the reference librarians of ASL's Undergraduate and Lockwood Libraries, or visit Instant Librarian.

  • Databases
  • Books
  • Websites
  • Film Reviews and Criticism
  • Print Reference Sources

Databases

Useful when searching for critical information on Fantasy Literature (most of these databases provide full-text articles).

  • Contemporary Authors
    http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/authors.html
  • Literature Resource Center
    http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/lrc.html
  • Project Muse
    http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/muse.html
  • JSTOR
    http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/jstor.html
  • MLA International Bibliography (not full-text)
    http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/mla.html
Return to Top




Books

Finding Books in BISON (UB Libraries Catalog)
Search the Libraries Catalog by Keyword or Subject - search by the name of a specific author or do a subject search under "fantasy literature--history and criticism." For additional searching assistance, review the BISON Help page, or consult with a reference librarian.

Examples:

k=tolkien and criticism
k=manga or anime
k=vampires and criticism
k=american gothic
k=fantasy and film and criticism
Return to Top




Websites

The University at Buffalo Libraries George Kelley Paperback and Pulp Fiction Collection website includes the following Internet links that provide information on fantasy authors:

  • Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
    http://library.tamu.edu/cushing/sffrd/
    An online index to over 60,000 historical and critical items about science fiction, fantasy and horror.
  • Internet Speculative Fiction Database
    http://www.isfdb.org/
    An attempt to catalog SF, fantasy, and horror literature with bibliographies of writings, award listings, and contents of magazines and collections.
  • Science Fiction and Fantasy World
    http://www.sffworld.com/
    One of the largest SF and Fantasy databases on the Internet. Includes news and notes about SF and Fantasy authors; also book reviews and author interviews. Discussion forums and text excerpts are a part of this site.
Comic Books for Young Adults: A Guide for Librarians
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/units/lml/comics/pages/ Graphic examples (covers) of comic book genres, such as fantasy, horror, science fiction, manga. Extensive guide to other internet sites.
Return to Top




Film Reviews and Criticism

  • Film Index International
    Lockwood Reference CD-ROM PN 1993 .F5565
    Indexes films from over 170 countries. Records contain detailed film information including the director, full cast and crew lists, year of release and production information. Credits, awards, and a synopsis are also included. References to film journals are cited in many records, permitting enhanced access.
  • The Internet Movie Database
    http://www.imdb.com/
    Described as the most useful film resource on the Web, the database includes details for more than 260,000 film and television productions made since 1892. The IMDB provides access to full-text reviews of domestic and foreign films from newspapers, magazines and online journals, including the New York Times, Chicago Sun-Times, Entertainment Weekly, Girls on Film and Salon. You can search by movie title, cast/crew name, character name, quotes, genre, and other categories. The IMDB also contains filmographies for all professions in the industry; plot summaries; character names; movie ratings; running times; color information; sequel/remake information; release dates; links to official studio pages, fan pages, image and multimedia archives; information on film festivals and more.
  • New York Times Film Reviews
    LML Ref. PN 1995 .N4
    Contains reproductions of film reviews originally printed in the New York Times from 1913 - 1968. Vols. 1-5 are arranged chronologically; Vol. 6 includes indexes of film titles, persons and corporations, as well as yearly lists of award-winning films and photographs of film stars. Biennial supplements update the basic set and follow the same general arrangement. For more recent New York Times film reviews, check the New York Times Web site at http://www.nytimes.com/pages/movies/index.html or track down citations by consulting the New York Times Index at LML Ref. (Indexes) AI 21 .N44.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic
    http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/lexisnexis.html
Return to Top




Print Reference Sources

  • The Encyclopedia of Fantasy
    UGL Reference PN 56 .F34 E53 1999
  • The Science Fiction Reference Book: A Comprehensive Handbook and Guide to the History, Literature, Scholarship and Related Activities of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Fields
    Lockwood Reference PN 3433.5 .S33
  • Fantasy Literature: A Reader's Guide
    Lockwood Reference Z 5917 .F3 F36 1990
  • Fantasy and Horror: A Critical and Historical Guide to Literature, Illustration, Film, TV, Radio and the Internet.
    Lockwood NX 650 .F36 F34 1999
  • St. James Guide to Fantasy Writers.
    Lockwood PN 3435 S715 1996
Return to Top




return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility