French and Francophone Resources
This guide lists sources of information for finding film reviews. All of the sources listed can be found in the University at Buffalo's Arts & Sciences Libraries (ASL), or on the World Wide Web.
Research Guides
I ntroduction to Library Research in French Literature
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z 2171 .B4 1978Research and Reference Guide to French Studies
LOCKWOOD Reference Z 2175 .A2 O8 1981 .
Literary Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Dictionnaire Encyclopedique Quillet
LOCKWOOD Reference AE 25 .D56 1968.
Following articles are bibliographies listing major critical works (as of 1968); includes biographical information.Encyclopédie : ou, Dictionnaire Raisonné des Sciences, des Arts et des Métiers
LOCKWOOD Reference AE 25 .E63 1969.
Reprint of the 1751 edition in 5 volumes. Also searchable through the ARTFL Project .Encyclopaedia Universalis
LOCKWOOD Reference AE 25 .E3 1980 .
Good, fairly long articles about major authors, with bibliographies; long articles on genres, with bibliography; beautiful color illustrations. 20 volumes, plus annual supplements.Grand Dictionnaire Encyclopedique Larousse
LOCKWOOD Reference AE 25 .G63 1982-1985.
Similar to American encyclopedias; no bibliographic references; includes grammatical tables. 10 volumes.La Grande Encyclopédie Larousse
LOCKWOOD Reference AE 25.G69.
21 volumes, plus supplement.Petit Larousse Illustre
LOCKWOOD Reference AG 25 .L25 .
Comprehensive 1,700 page encyclopedia containing over 80,000 articles.Dictionary of Modern French Literature : From the Age of Reason Through Realism
LOCKWOOD Reference PQ 41 .D65 1986.
Coverage from 1715 with Neoclassicism to 1880 with the advent of Symbolism.Dictionnaire Bordas de Littérature Française et Francophone
LOCKWOOD Reference PQ 41 .L45 1985.Dictionnaire des Lettres Françaises
LOCKWOOD Reference PQ 41 .G73 1951-1973.
Includes Le Moyen Age; Le Seizieme siècle; Le Dix-septieme siècle; Le Dix-huitieme siècle; Le Dix-neuvieme siècle. Long critical articles with bibliography under authors' names.Dictionnaire des Litteratures de Langue Française
LOCKWOOD Reference PQ 41 .D55 1984.
Illustrated, long critical articles about authors, genres, and literary movements.Dictionnaire des Oeuvres Littéraires de langue Française
LOCKWOOD Reference PQ 41 .B4 1994.
4 volumes of brief summaries and critiques of 3700 works, including poems, short stories, novels, and collections.Dictionnaire General de la Francophonie
LOCKWOOD Reference DC 33. 9 .L87 1986.Dictionnaire Littéraire des Femmes de Langue Française
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PQ 149 .M35 1996.French Women Writers : a Bio-bibliographical Source Book
LOCKWOOD Reference PQ 149 .F73 1991.
Fifty-one essays covering the lives and primary works of important French women writers. Provides a selection of critical studies.Guide to French Literature
LOCKWOOD Reference PQ 41 .L49 1994. 2 large volumes. Vol. 1 "Beginnings to 1789," vol. 2 "1789 to the Present." Entries on groups and trends as well as on individual writers.Guide to French Poetry Explication
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PQ 401 .C65 1993.
Poetry from all periods of French literary history from the Middle Ages to such contemporary poets.New Oxford Companion to Literature in French
LOCKWOOD Reference PQ 41 .N48 1995.
Entries of over 3000 writers and works. Includes essays on literary movements and genres. Includes coverage of Francophone writers.Le Nouveau Petit Robert : Dictionnaire Alphabetique et Analogique de la Langue Française
LOCKWOOD Reference PC 2625 .R554 2001.
Literary Histories
Histoire de la Langue Française,1945-2000
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PC 2087 .H573 2000.Littérature Française
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Oversize PQ 101 .H52 1948-1949.
Beautifully illustrated; relates art and society to literature.- Literary History of France
PQ 103 .L5 (1967).
Detailed history of the evolution of literary achievements in France from the Middle Ages to the 20th century. Consist of a 5 volume set:
- The Middle Ages and Renaissance France, 1470-1589.
- The Seventeenth Century, 1600-1715.
- The Eighteenth Century, 1715-1789.
- The Nineteenth Century, 1789-1870 .
- The Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries, 1870-1940.
Bibliographies
Bibliographie de la Littérature Française du Seizième Siècle
LOCKWOOD Reference Z 2171 .B55 (1966-1980).
Bibliography of French seventeenth century studies
LOCKWOOD Reference Z 2172 .M6 1978-2001.
Annual bibliography of French studies from the 17th Century.Critical Bibliography of French Literature
LOCKWOOD Reference Z 2171 .C3 1947-1985 .
Multi-volume set, consisting of various editions and supplements. Contains comprehensive lists of bibliographies, books, journal articles, dissertations and reviews.French XX Bibliography
LOCKWOOD Reference Z 2173 .F7.
Critical and biographical references for the study of French literature since 1885. Issued by the French Institute-Alliance Française.French Literature: an Annotated Guide to Selected Bibliographies
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z 2171 .A1 C34 1981.French Books in Print / Les Livres Disponible
LOCKWOOD Reference Z 2161 L8.
Annual; 3 parts: titres, auteurs, sujets.Les Sources du Travail Bibliographique
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z 1002 .M4 1965.
Vol. 2, part 1 has humanities, including French language & literature; updated by Manuel de bibliographie.Manuel de Bibliographie
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z 1002 .M41 1976.
Periodical Indexes
Print Resources Database Resources
Bulletin Signaletique 523: Histoire et Sciences de la Littérature LOCKWOOD Reference AI 7 .F7 1968-1994 . Classified arrangement of references & abstracts, plus various indexes (revues depouillees; congres; concepts; auteurs et oeuvres anonymes; table des auteurs). Published by the Centre de Documentation Sciences Humaines.
Humanities Index
LOCKWOOD Reference AI 3 .R473 (Index Area) 1974- present.
Covers only English-language periodicals.Philosopher's Index
LOCKWOOD Reference B 1 .P4 1967- present (Index Area).Repere (Index Analytique d'articles de Periodiques Quebecois et Etrangers)
LOCKWOOD Reference AI 7 .P64 1984- present.Repertoriex
LOCKWOOD Reference AI 7 F74 1973-1995. A French periodical index.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
LOCKWOOD Reference Z 5937 .A795 (Index Area).
Has the Permuterm subject index (rotated titles plus key words) and the Source index. Titles are translated into English. Source index volume can be used to find all recent articles by an author, or who's citing whom. Provides references to book reviews.MLA International Bibliography
LOCKWOOD Reference Z 7006 .M64 (Index Area) 1956- present.
International in scope, MLA is organized geographically, within language groups.It has a classified section and a subject index, with items listed only once in full. MLA covers journal articles and books.Oxford Reference Online
LOCKWOOD Reference Z 7006 .M64 (Index Area) 1956- present.
Provides full-text access to various foreign language dictionaries and thesauri including The Concise Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary (English-French) and The Concise Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary (French-English).
Specific Geographic Area Resources
North America
- Dictionnaire des Oeuvres Littéraires du Quebec
LOCKWOOD Reference PQ 3901 .D54 1978.
- Dictionnaire Quebe ç ois d'Aujourd'hui LOCKWOOD Reference AG 25 .D53 1993.
- Dictionnaire du Français Acadien
LOCKWOOD Reference PC 3645 .M37 C67 1999.
- Dictionnaire Quebeçois Français
LOCKWOOD Reference PC 3643 .M45 1999.Africa/Middle East
- Dictionnaire des Oeuvres Littéraires Negro-Africaines de Langue Française des Origines a 1978
LOCKWOOD Reference PQ 3980 .A52 D53 1983.
- Litteratures Nationales d'Ecriture Fran ç aise : Afrique Noire Caraibes, Ocean Indien : Histoire Littéraire et Anthologie
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PQ 3809 .R68 1986.
- Voix de Madagascar : Anthologie de Littérature Francophone Contemporaine
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PQ 3985.5 .E5 V65 2002.
Electronic Texts
Athena
(http://un2sg4.unige.ch/athena/html/francaut.html)
Extensive numbers of full-text French literary works.ARTFL Project
(http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/artfl.html )
Designed for advanced linguistic and literary analysis of French texts.L'Association des Bibliophiles Universels
(http://abu.cnam.fr/)
"L'accès libre au texte intégral d'oeuvres du domaine public francophone sur Internet depuis 1993." Provides access to a number of public domain French literary texts.Chateau
(http://www.le-chateau.ilias.com/)
French Literary Web site containing over 100 electronic full-texts of classical french literature including such works as Les Liaisons Dangereuses and Tistan et Yseult . Also provides selected links to other French literary Web sites.- LiTgloss
(http://wings.buffalo.edu/litgloss/list-of-texts.shtml)
This site was developed in 1999 by the University at Buffalo's Department of Modern Languages and Literatures. It contains a collection of texts written in languages other than English including various full-text French materials. Some materials require UB/password access.
Websites
Bibliotheque Nationale française
(http://www.bnf.fr/)
Two million pages of online text and images in "Images et textes du XIXe siècle francophone" (http://gallica.bnf.fr/) . Includes the full text versions of many 19th century works.ClicNet: Littérature francophone virtuelle
(http://www.swarthmore.edu/Humanities/clicnet/litterature/litterature.html/)
Provides links to various French literature resources including bibliographies, biographies and poetry.Femmes Ecrivains et littérature africaine francophone
(http://www.arts.uwa.edu.au/AFLIT/FEMEChome.html)
Produced by the French studies Department at The University of Western Australia, this site gives an overview of African women writing in French. Offers excepts from novels, short stories, plays and poetry.
Newspapers and Journals
Le Monde
(http://www.lemonde.fr)
Electronic version of major French newspaper. Provides daily french and francophone news coverage.Le Monde Diplomatique
http://www.monde-diplomatique.fr/
Monthly French review, covering mainly geopolitical, economic and social issues.Le Figaro
(http://www.lefigaro.fr/)
Electronic version of one of the oldest and largest newspapers in France. Le Figaro is France's first national daily newspaper and one of the most widely read and respected French daily publications. Considered the French equivalent of Newsweek.Le Liberation
(http://www.liberation.fr/)
Electronic version of major French newspaper providing interesting articles on national, international, economic and social issues.









