return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
Instant Message Email Phone In Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+ (Multi-Search)
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 

ben wagner

Guide Author: Ben Wagner
Last Updated: 17 August 2007






Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Chemistry > Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry


Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry


A User's Guide

The Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry
(Handbuch der Anorganischen Chemie), or simply “Gmelin,” is a multi-volume collection of data and information on inorganic and organometallic compounds. Most of the print volumes are available in the Undergraduate/Science & Engineering Library 's Reference Collection (Undergrad-Sci/Engr Reference QD 151.G63) on the first floor of Capen Hall. We stopped purchasing Gmelin in 1993, and print Gmelin ceased publication in 1997. A few 1994-1997 volumes have been acquired by the library on the used book market. A complete list of all published Gmelin volumes is available.

  • Introduction
  • How is Gmelin Organized
  • How is Gmelin Shelved
  • Using the Formula Index
  • Reading the Entry
  • Other Reference Sources

Introduction

Since 1971, organometallics are heavily covered, except for compounds with Li, Na, K, Rb, Cs, Mg, Ca, Sr, & Ba central atoms. Those exceptions are covered in Beilstein CrossFire. Included in Gmelin are compounds with metal-carbon bonds except carbides, cyanides, cyanates, and thiocyanate.

The print edition ceased publication at the end of 1997, however our University at Buffalo's subscription ended in 1993. As affordable used volumes become available, they are being purchased by the Science and Engineering Library, but this happens infrequently. At this point, UB does not subscribe to the electronic version commonly known as Gmelin CrossFire (MDL).

Volumes published after about 1982 are in English. Though volumes prior to 1982 are in German, English table of contents and section headings in the page margins are provided for all but the very oldest volumes. Patrons willing to take on the challenges of using German language source are rewarded by the superb and comprehensive content of this resource.

Gmelin contains such information as:

Physical properties
Analytical & Colloid chemistry
Ore dressing
Geochemistry
Toxicity

Crystallography
Metallography / Metallurgy / Mineralogy
Electrochemistry
Corrosion and passivity
Atomic physics

An advantage to using Gmelin is that it covers professional literature prior to 1907 not covered by SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts). In addition, Gmelin often provides the actual physical data and tables rather than just a reference to the original scientific literature and patents. However, researchers should always consult both Gmelin and SciFinder Scholar as unique material will be found in both resources.

Return to Top




How is Gmelin Organized?

Gmelin is divided into 71 sets of volumes, each covering an element or, for minor elements, a group of elements e.g. rare earths. Each set has one or more main volumes and usually a number of supplemental volumes covering new information. Each element (or group of elements) is assigned a unique System Number which has no relationship to its atomic number. The numbering sequence starts with rare gases and progresses to the heavier metals. The system numbers are assigned so that the elements which commonly form cations have a higher system number than those which commonly form anions. Thus, the system arranges compounds under the most electropositive element. To find the system number for an element, consult the periodic table on the inside cover of any of the Formula Indexes. (Undergrad-Sci/Engr Reference QD 151 G632).

Obviously, all compounds contain 2 or more elements. Each compound is published in the set for the element with the highest system number. For example, UOCl2 is published in the Uranium volume, since the system number for U is 55, for O is 3, and for Cl is 6.

Return to Top




How is Gmelin shelved on the reference shelves?

The Gmelin volumes are organized on the reference shelves in alphabetical order according to element symbol even though each volume is labeled on the spine by the system number. Thus, system numbers on the shelf are not in order. It is important to first find out from the Formula Index what the element symbol and system number is before approaching the volumes. To find the system number for an element, consult the periodic table on the inside front cover of any formula index. The Gmelin system number for each element is shown in green. Note: the yellow inserts on the shelf tell you where the element group begins. The supplemental works have the abbreviation of the element on the spine of each volume.

Return to Top




Instructions on how to use the Formula Index

The General Formula Indexes are arranged strictly alphabetical by element symbol (Hill Convention) which cover both the main and supplemental volumes.

It is best to start with the latest Formula Index Supplement, since each supplement published updates the previous edition. There are three columns in the Formula Index. The first column shows the empirical formulas arranged by alphabetical order of the element symbols and by increasing atom count (Hill Convention). The second column show the linear structural molecular formula in classic format as it appears in Gmelin text. The third column provides volume and page numbers to a particular entry.

Example: Look up the compound Cl 2 OU
The formula index reads:

Column 1
Cl2OU
^
|
Hill Convention
mol. formula
Column 2
UOCl2
^
|

Linear (classic)
molecular formula
Column 3
U: SVol.A5-224

^
|

Uranium Supple. Vol. A5, page 224

In each volume of the Main Work and Supplement Series, there is a table of contents, in which information may also be located.

Return to Top




I can’t read the entry! It’s in German.

Earlier volumes are in German with some English captions. More recent volumes, 1982+, are in English. Use a German-English science dictionary to translate unfamiliar words. All of the foreign language dictionaries are located in the first row of the reference collection.

Patterson's German-English dictionary for chemists [Highly Recommended]
Undergrad-Sci/Engr Reference QD 5 . P3 1992

Cassell's German - English, English - German dictionary
Undergrad-Sci/Engr Reference PF 3640 B45 1978

Dictionary of chemistry and chemical engineering
Undergrad-Sci/Engr Reference QD 5 D47 1987

Return to Top




Other Reference Sources

Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry I & II

  • I: 1st ed, 1982.
    Undergrad-Sci/Engr Reference QD411 C65 1982
  • II: A Review of the Literature 1982-1994.
    Undergrad-Sci/Engr Reference QD 411 C652 1995

Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds, 5 vols., 2nd ed., 1995
Undergrad-Sci/Engr Reference QD 411 D53 1995

Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds, 5 vols, 1st ed, 1992
Undergrad-Sci/Engr Reference QD 148 D53 1992

Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry, 10 vols, 2nd ed, 2005
Undergrad-Sci/Engr Reference QD 148 E53 2005

Return to Top


return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility