return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: David J. Bertuca

Last Updated: 12 November 2003






Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Grants > Grants & Grantmaking: Sciences


Grants & Grantmaking: Sciences


Faculty and staff need to stay abreast of research funding to support staff, equipment, students, and supplies for laboratory, clinical, and field research. The increased costs of conducting research and the numbers of applicants applying for decreasing or limited amounts of funding enhances the competitiveness of the process of securing funding for research and teaching. UB Librarians have compiled several inventories of grants-related resources to help in this process.

  • Resources at UB
  • Federal Agency Funding
  • Private Foundations
  • Grant Identification
  • Website


Resources at UB

SUNY Research Foundation The Research Foundation of State University of New York, the largest university-connected research foundation in the world, enables discovery through strong, behind-the-scenes support of research education and public service. Under formal contract with the university, the Foundation administers more than 5,000 sponsored programs being conducted at the 29 state-operated campuses of State University of New York. These projects, funded by government agencies, corporations, foundations, and other organizations, totaled $385 million in volume for fiscal year 1994-95.

UB Sponsored Programs Service Sponsored Programs Services (SPS) at the University acts as the liaison between the Research Foundation of SUNY (a private, nonprofit, educational corporation authorized to accept and administer funds from external sources for the benefit of SUNY) and the project directors at UB. UB Sponsored Programs Administration This site provides comprehensive links useful for applying for grants, including UB-specific requirements and guidelines and other grants-related resources. It provides an overview of the many items and documentation required to complete grant and contract applications.

Grants & Grantmaking Prepared by staff in the UB Libraries, this guide lists selected resources for identifying grant and other funding support. Materials listed include: reference books owned by the UB Libraries, other University and Western New York resources, and links to grant resources on the Internet.

Return to Top


divider



Federal Agency Funding

CPO Home The Division of Contracts, Policy, and Oversight (CPO), located within the Office of Budget, Finance and Award Management (BFA), is responsible for solicitation, negotiation, award and administration of NSF contracts; for NSF proposal and award policy development, coordination and issuance; and for overseeing NSF procurement systems, processes and guidance.

FastLane Development Home Page FastLane is provided by the National Science Foundation and is an experimental program utilizing advanced technology to redesign and streamline the way NSF does business. It provides a search engine to review NSF grants, fellowships, and other NSF funding.

Federal Acquisition Jumpstation The Federal Acquisition Jumpstation links you to Internet sites of federal procurement information. This page is designed to provide the business community a central starting point to quickly access federal procurement documents and establish a "single face" for federal acquisitions.

TRS- Federal Agency Information Links This table, formerly called "Federal Agency Info Link," provides a "virtual matrix" of direct links to specific Federal agency information and materials. Selecting column headings will give you the opportunity to ask questions about that category via email. The columns headings are: forms, RFPs, POCs - Points of Contact, research interests, proposal checklists and guidelines, and specific grant policy manuals.

U.S. Department of Education - Grants & Contracts Grants information and resources from the U.S. Department of Education.

Return to Top


divider



Private Foundations and Corporate Resources

Corporate Grantmakers on the Internet The links provided on this site take you directly to the Web sites of company-sponsored private foundations and direct corporate giving programs. For grantseekers interested in doing preliminary funding research online, the producers of this site provide thorough annotations that can be searched using their grantmaker search engine.

Foundations and Grantmakers This directory lists foundations and grantmakers by name. You can either scroll through the directory, or click on a letter to jump to a specific organization's information or home page.

Private Foundations on the Internet Links to sources of private funding. Provided by the Foundation Center.

Welcome to the Foundation Center The Foundation Center is an independent nonprofit information clearinghouse established in 1956. The Center's mission is to foster public understanding of the foundation field by collecting, organizing, analyzing, and disseminating information on foundations, corporate giving, and related subjects. The audiences that call on the Center's resources include grantseekers, grantmakers, researchers, policymakers, the media, and the general public. The Foundation Center operates libraries at five locations. These include national collections at its headquarters in New York City and at its field office in Washington, D.C., and regional collections at its offices in Atlanta, Cleveland, and San Francisco. Center libraries provide access to a unique collection of materials on philanthropy and are open to the public free of charge. Professional reference librarians are on hand to show library users how to research funding information using Center publications and other materials and resources. The Foundation Center's publications (directories) are available for use in Lockwood Library.

Return to Top


divider



Grant Identification, Writing and Preparation Resources

The Commerce Business Daily The Commerce Business Daily (CBD) lists notices of proposed government procurement actions, contract awards, sales of government property, and other procurement information. A new edition of the CBD is issued every business day. Each edition contains approximately 500 -1,000 notices. Each notice appears in the CBD only once.

Council on Foundations Get a quick overview of the Council and their resources for grant writers. Learn about their conferences, services, and publications for staff, trustees and board members of foundation s and corporate giving programs. Here you will find definitions of the types of foundations, and search out grants that have affected life in the U.S. and around the world.

Education World (tm) Education Grants Grant and grant-writing resources primarily for K-12 teachers, but resources for college and university applications are available.

Return to Top


divider



Websites

Community of Science The Community of Science World Wide Web server contains information about scientific expertise, funded scientific research, and funding opportunities for research. The COS philosophy is to provide working researchers with valuable information tools to help them. COs links researchers to a wide variety of information, including funding and grants information. The COs Funding Opportunities Database includes information announced by federal and state agencies, commercial entities, nonprofit foundations, professional associations, etc. The COs Faculty Match Feature (connect to the "State University of New York" box and register your name) creates a "faculty match" and generates an institution-specific list of registered researchers who may wish to consider applying for a particular grant. This feature allows COs to provide institutions, departments, or individuals targeted information about new funding opportunities. You can also submit a profile of interests to set up a Funding Alerts , where your profile is matched to new items in the COS database and you are alerted by an eMail message that items matching your profile are available. UB is a COs Member Institution.

The Distance Learning Funding Sourcebook A guide to foundation, corporate and government support for telecommunications and the new media. Here is the latest research on funding sources for telecommunications and interactive technologies for schools, higher education, nonprofits, arts and cultural organizations, health and social service agencies, and grassroots community organizations. Funding for multimedia, telecommunications infrastructure, programs and curricula development, teacher and staff training is available to those who know how to research and target appropriate funding agencies and write competitive grant proposals. The Distance Learning Funding Sourcebook helps you identify funding sources, and provides in-depth background analysis on the funding agency, its major funding programs and priorities. Year-by-year current examples of successfully funded projects as well as contact names, addresses, telephone, fax, Email and Internet resources are also provided.

Grant and Research Information Biomedical funding resources.

Grants Info This page is supported by the United Institute of Geology, Geophysics & Mineralogy. Many of the organizations or grant sites listed provide the funding of international cooperation in science and technology.

InfoEd, Inc. Home Page The first, totally integrated, web-based ERA (Educational Resources Administration) solution for investigators, research administrators and technology managers.

Sigma Xi Grants-in-Aid of Research Research awards are made to support scientific investigation in any field. Awards are made in amounts up to a maximum of $1,000. At the present time, awards will not normally exceed $600. In the fields of astronomy and eye or vision research, special funds allow for awards up to a maximum of $2,500.

TRAM Research Funding Opportunities and Administration TRAM is a service initially developed by the Texas Research Administrators Group (TRAM). It contains a search engine for locating funding opportunities from many different agencies. The funding information is updated daily.

UCSD Science and Engineering Library's Grants Information Lists of grants and grantmaking resources for science and engineering applications. Identifies resources from agencies, organizations, and associations.

The ArgusClearinghouse The ArgusClearinghouse provides a vast arry of subject-oriented guides to the internet, including several guides related to grants and grantmaking:

  • FundsNet Online Services , a searchable catalog of grants and funding resources ( membership is required : $49.95 ).
  • Grants Central An inventory of resources for those writing grants from K-12 to university levels. Special sections devoted to writing grants and planning projects.
  • GrantsInfo Inventory of Internet, produced by the United Institute of Geology, Geophysics, and Mineralogy.
Return to Top


divider

divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility