return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
Instant Message Email Phone In Person
 
  star icon Graphic Novels in Libraries?
divider
  star icon Graphic Novel Formats
divider
  star icon Collection Development
divider
  star icon Publishers
divider
  star icon Graphic Novel Genres
divider
  star icon Recommended Novels
divider
  star icon Internet Resources
 

   



Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Graphic Novels > Graphic Novel Formats

Graphic Novel Formats

Collectors typically categorize Graphic Novel formats by frequency or by physical characteristics.

Publishing Frequency

Ongoing Series
The most common comics format. Periodicals issued monthly, bimonthly, or quarterly. Some ongoing series (particularly those from independent publishers) are issued with irregular frequency.

Annual
Standard Graphic Novel format, typically issued as a yearly supplement to an ongoing series (e.g., Batman Annual; Fantastic Four Annual) but may be a stand-alone title (e.g., Bart Simpson's Treehouse of Horror; Aliens vs. Predator Annual).

One-Shot
Monographic (one-time) publication. May be issued in standard comic format or as a Prestige Comic or Treasury Edition.

Limited Series
Released as a finite set of numbered issues, typically over a period of consecutive months. Most limited series contain four issues, but size can range anywhere from two to twelve issues. Limited Series of four-issues or less are also called mini-series; Limited Series of ten issues or more are called maxi-series.
Physical Formats

Standard format
Most modern-day comics appear as 32-page stapled periodicals(including advertising), approximately 7" x 10" in size. So-called "double-size" issues (and most annuals) contain 48 pages, typically published to commemorate an anniversary, special event, or lengthier story. DC continues to publish some annuals and special anthologies as "80-Page Giants."

Prestige Format
Standard 8" x 10" books, but square-bound with heavier stock covers, and in many cases, better quality paper. Publishers often give them an ISBN number. Most prestige books are done as one-shots, but not all one-shots are prestige books.

Treasury Edition
Oversize comic, typically published in prestige format and tabloid-sized. In the past, publishers such as Marvel produced one or two ongoing series in this format, but today Treasury Editions are limited to one-shot special events.

Magazine
Ongoing series published in magazine size--stapled binding but larger dimensions and more pages than the standard Graphic Novel format. Examples include Heavy Metal and Frank Frazetta's Fantasy Illustrated.

Black & White Comics
Nearly all comics produced by major publishers appear as traditional "four color" books. Most smaller publishers (the so-called independents) produce black & white comics due to the added expense of hiring a colorist and the cost of full-color printing. (Color comics require a larger print run to break even.) Black & white comics have full color covers but all interior art is black and white.

Trade Comics (Trade Paperbacks and Graphic Novels)
Graphic Novels published in book form, either as trade paperbacks or hardcover books. Several hundred trade comics are published each year. Collectors and industry commentators often divide this format into two categories: graphic novels and collected works (also called trade collections or graphic albums).

  • Graphic Novels represent original book-length stories (or collections of related short stories) never before published in Graphic Novel form.

  • Collected Works represent collections of stories previously published in Graphic Novel form. These typically reprint consecutive issues of an ongoing series, a limited series, or miscellaneous stories with a common theme taken from various titles.


divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility