return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: Laura Taddeo
Last Updated: 22 Nov 2006

See Also:

  • Best Sellers: 20th Century American Best Sellers
  • Book Reviews: A Guide to Selected Resources
  • Poems - Research Guide for Locating and Researching Poetry







Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > English & American Literature > American Literature: A Research & Reference Guide

American Literature: A Research & Reference Guide
  • Finding Books
  • Literary Terms/Literary Movements
  • Specialized Dictionaries & Encyclopedia
  • Biographical Resources
  • Finding Literary Criticism (Online)
  • Finding Literary Criticism (Print)
  • Bibliographies
  • Annual Surveys of Literature Online
  • Primary Resources Online
  • Special Collections
  • Additional Web Resources
  • Citing Resources
  • Citation Style Software


Finding Books

Search BISON - UB Libraries Catalog to locate books on your topic. There are four basic ways to search the Catalog:

Keywords (use the Boolean operator "AND" to connect key terms)
Sample search: immigration and assimilation

Title begins with… (omit initial articles such as ‘the' and ‘a')
Sample search: pleasure of the text

Subject begins with… (use Library of Congress subject headings)
Sample search: american literature 20th century history and criticism

Author (last name first)
sample search: barthes roland

For more help searching the Catalog, see Help section of the Catalog or Contact a Librarian for assistance.

Return to Top


divider



Literary Terms, Literary Movements

A Glossary of Literary Terms
LOCKWOOD Reference PN44.5 .A2 1988

American Literature: the Essential Glossary
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PS21 .M38 2003

Bedford Glossary of Critical and Literary Terms
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PN41 .M874 1997

Cambridge History of American Literature
http://www.bartleby.com/cambridge

Continuum Encyclopedia of Modern Criticism and Theory
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PN94 .C695 2002

A Dictionary of Literary Symbols
LOCKWOOD Reference PN56 .S9 F47 1999

Dictionary of Literary Themes and Motifs
LOCKWOOD Reference PN43 .D48 1988

Dictionary of Poetic Terms
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PN1042 .M93 2003

Encyclopedia of Rhetoric
LOCKWOOD Reference PN172 .E52 2001

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/hopkins.html

Literary History of the United States
LOCKWOOD Reference PS88. L5 1974

Literature Online (LION)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/lion.html
Columbia Companion to the 20th Century American Short Story
Columbia Dictionary of Modern Literary and Cultural Criticism
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Nineteenth Century
Encyclopedia of the Novel
New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Routledge Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English

Return to Top


divider



Specialized Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia of American Literature
LOCKWOOD Reference PN41 .B4 1991

Cambridge Handbook of American Literature
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PS21 .C36 1986

Cambridge History of American Literature
http://www.bartleby.com/cambridge

Chicano Literature: A Reference Guide
LOCKWOOD Reference PS153.M4 C46 1985

Dictionary of American Literary Characters
LOCKWOOD Reference PS374.C43 D5 2002

Encyclopedia of American Poetry. The Twentieth Century
LOCKWOOD Reference PS323.5 .E53 2001

Encyclopedia of American Poetry. The Nineteenth Century
LOCKWOOD Reference PS316 .E53 1998

The Handbook of African American Literature
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PS153 .N5 E78 2004

Hispanic Literature of the United States : a Comprehensive Reference
LOCKWOOD Reference PS153 .H56 K36 2003

Native American Literatures: an Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes
LOCKWOOD Reference PS153 .I52 W47 1999

The Oxford Illustrated Literary Guide to the United States
LOCKWOOD Reference PS141  .E74 1982

The Oxford Companion to American Literature
LOCKWOOD Reference PS21  .H3 1995

Return to Top


divider



Biographical Resources

Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/dlb.html

African American Dramatists: An A-Z Guide
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PS338 .N4 A69 2004

Asian-American Poets: a Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Poetry Reference H82 2002  A84  1.1  

Black American Writers Past and Present: a Biographical and Bibliographical Dictionary LOCKWOOD Reference Z1229.N39 R87

Contemporary American Ethnic Poets: Lives, Works, Sources
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Poetry Reference C84 2004  1.1  

Contemporary Gay American Novelists: A Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook
LOCKWOOD Reference PS374.N63 C66 1993

Contemporary Gay American Poets and Playwrights: An A-to-Z Guide
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Poetry Reference N44 2003  C66  1.1

Contemporary Lesbian Writers of the United States : A Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook
LOCKWOOD Reference PS153.L46 C65 1993

The Harlem Renaissance and Beyond: Literary Biographies of 100 Black Women Writers 1900-1945 .
UGL Reference PS153.N5 R65 1990

Latino and Latina Writers
LOCKWOOD Reference PS153.H56 L39 2004

Modern American Women Poets
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PS151 .G63 1984

Modern American Women Writers
LOCKWOOD Reference PS151 .M54 1991

Nineteenth-century American Women Writers: a Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook
LOCKWOOD Reference PS217 .W64 N56 1997

Return to Top


divider



Finding Literary Criticism (Online Resources)

MLA International Bibliography
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/mla.html

ABELL - (Modern Humanities Research Association) Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/abell.html

Academic Search Premier
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/aph.html

Literature Online
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/lion.html

Twayne Authors Series
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/twayne.html

Literature Resource Center ( LRC )
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/lrc.html

JSTOR ( Journal STORage )
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/jstor.html

Latino Literature
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/lali.html

Periodicals Index Online
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/pci.html

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/dissertations.html

Project MUSE
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/muse.html

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/ahcitindx.html

19th Century Masterfile
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/pooles.html

American Literary Scholarship
http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/american_literary_scholarship/index.html

Return to Top


divider



Finding Literary Criticism (Print Resources)

Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
LOCKWOOD Reference PN86 L53

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
LOCKWOOD Reference PN761 N5

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
LOCKWOOD Reference PN771 G27

Contemporary Literary Criticism
LOCKWOOD Reference PN 94 C62

The New Moulton's Library of Literary Criticism
LOCKWOOD Reference PR85. N39 1985

The Critical Perspective: Twentieth-Century Criticism
LOCKWOOD Reference PR85. C76 1985

Literary History of the United States
LOCKWOOD Reference PS88. L5 1974

Handbook of American Popular Literature
UGL Ref PS 169 P64 H36 1988

Book Review Digest
LOCKWOOD Reference (Index) Z 1219 C96

Return to Top


divider



Bibliographies

Afro-American Poetry and Drama, 1760-1975: A Guide to Information Sources.
LOCKWOOD Reference PS153 .N59 A373 1979

Bibliography of American Literature
LOCKWOOD Reference Z1225. B55

Bibliographical Guide to the Study of the Literature of the U.S.A
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z1225 .G6 1984

Bibliotheca Americana : A Dictionary of Books Relating to America .
LOCKWOOD Reference Z1201. S22 1961

The New Sabin; Books described by Joseph Sabin and His Successors, Now Described again on the Basis of Examination of Originals, and Fully Indexed by Title, Subject, Joint Authors, and Institutions and Agencies .
LOCKWOOD Reference Z1201. T45

Black American Writers: Bibliographical Essays
LOCKWOOD Reference PS153.N5 B55

Guide to American Literature and its Backgrounds since 1890
LOCKWOOD Book Collection 1890 Z1225 .J65 1972

Magill's Bibliography of Literary Criticism: Selected Sources for the Study of More than 2,500 Outstanding Works of Western Literature
UGL Reference Z6511 .M25

American Ethnic Literatures: Native American, African American, Chicano/Latino, and Asian American Writers and their Backgrounds: An Annotated Bibliography
LOCKWOOD Reference PS153 .M56 P43 1992

American Fiction, 1774-1850: A Contribution toward a Bibliography
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z1231.F4 W9 1969

American Fiction, 1851-1875: A Contribution toward a Bibliography
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z1231.F4 W94 1965

American Fiction, 1876-1900: A Contribution toward a Bibliography
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z1231.F4 W94 1966

Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies
LOCKWOOD Reference PR83 H34 2002

Reference Works in British and American Literature .
LOCKWOOD Reference Z2011 B74 1998

WorldCat
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/worldcat.html

Return to Top


divider



Annual Surveys of Literature Online

Year's Work in Critical and Cultural Theory
http://ywcct.oxfordjournals.org

Year's Work in English Studies
http://ywes.oxfordjournals.org

Return to Top


divider



Primary Sources Online

African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/aan.html

American Memory
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/amemory.html

American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography American Periodical Series 1741-1900 (APS Online)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/aps.html

ArchivesUSA
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/archivesusa.html

The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/civil-war.html

Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/earlyamerican.html

Early Encounters in North America
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/ee.html

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/eeb.html

Harper's Weekly
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/harpweek.html

In the First Person
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/inthefirstperson.html

Literature Online
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/lion.html

Making of America – MoA
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/MoA.html

New York Times: Historical Index
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/nythist.html

19th Century Masterfile
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/pooles.html

Pennsylvania Gazette
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/pg.html

ReadersGuide Retrospective, 1890-1982
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/rgr.html

Wright American Fiction 1851-1875
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/waf.html

Return to Top


divider



Special Collections

The George Kelley Paperback and Pulp Fiction Collection
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/units/lml/kelley/

Poetry Collection
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/units/pl/

University Archives
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/units/archives/

Return to Top


divider



Additional Web Resources

American Authors on the Web
http://lang.nagoya-u.ac.jp/~matsuoka/AmeLit.html

Celebration of Women Writers
http://digital.library.upenn.edu/women/

Electronic Text Collections
http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/

Internet Public Library Literary Criticism Collection
http://www.ipl.org/div/litcrit/

Literary Resources - American
http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Lit/

Literature History.Com
http://www.literaryhistory.com/

PAL: Perspectives in American Literature - A Research and Reference Guide - An Ongoing Project
http://www.csustan.edu/english/reuben/pal/table.html

Voice of the Shuttle –American Literature
http://vos.ucsb.edu/search-results-netscape.asp

Return to Top


divider



Citing Resources

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
LOCKWOOD Reference L B2369 .G53 2003

How to Create an MLA Works Cited Page
http://www.wisc.edu/writing/Handbook/DocMLACitation.html

How to Create MLA Parenthetical Citations
http://www.wisc.edu/writing/Handbook/DocMLACitation.html

Frequently Asked Questions about MLA Style
http://www.mla.org/style_faq

Annotated Bibliographies
http://www.wisc.edu/writing/Handbook/AnnotatedBibliography.html

The Chicago Manual of Style
LOCKWOOD Reference Z253 .U69 2003  

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)
LOCKWOOD Reference BF76.7 .P83 2001

A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
LOCKWOOD Book Collection  LB2369 .T8 1987  

Return to Top


divider



Citation Management Software

EndNote
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/endnote/index.html

Return to Top


divider

divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility