Finding Books
Search BISON - UB Libraries Catalog to locate books on your topic. There are four basic ways to search the Catalog (Tip: Use the “full” BISON catalog):
Keywords (use the Boolean operator "AND" to connect key terms)
Sample search: frankenstein and monstrosityTitle begins with… (omit initial articles such as ‘the' and ‘a')
Sample search: room of one’s ownSubject begins with… (use Library of Congress subject headings)
Sample search: English fiction -- 19th century -- History and criticismAuthor (last name first)
Sample search: woolf, virginiaFor more help searching the Catalog, click on the Searching Tips section of the Catalog or Contact a Librarian for assistance.
Literary Terms/Literary Movements
A Glossary of Literary Terms
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PN41 .A184 2009Bedford Glossary of Critical and Literary Terms
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PN41 .M874 1997Continuum Encyclopedia of Modern Criticism and Theory
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PN94 .C695 2002A Dictionary of Literary Symbols
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PN56 .S9 F47 2007Dictionary of Literary Themes and Motifs
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PN43 .D48 1988Dictionary of Poetic Terms
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PN1042 .M93 2003Encyclopedia of Rhetoric
LOCKWOOD LIBARARY/ Reference: PN172 .E52 2001Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/hopkins.htmlLiterature Online (LION)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/lion.html
Specialized Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Blackwell Reference Online
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=463Bloomsbury Dictionary of English Literature
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR19 .B54 1997Cambridge Guide to English Literature
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR85 .C28 1983The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR85 .C29 2006The Cambridge History of Literary Criticism
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PN86 .C27 1989A Chronological Outline of British Literature
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR87 .R57 1980Dictionary of Shakespeare
Silverman Library (Capen) / Reference: PR2892 .M398 2000A Dictionary of Shakespeare
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR2892 .W43 1998Encyclopedia of Catholic Literature
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PN485 .E53 2004Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PN471 .W455 2004Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PN669 .E53 2000Literary History of England
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR83 .B18 1967Oxford Companion to English Literature
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR19 .O94 2006Oxford Companion to the Literature of Wales
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PB2202 .N49 1998Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=305Oxford Illustrated Literary Guide to Great Britain and Ireland
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR109 .E18 2008The Post-Colonial Studies: the Essential Glossary
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR9080 .P57 1995
Biographical Resources
A Biographical Dictionary of English Women Writers, 1580-1720
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR113 .B46 1990Feminist Companion to Literature in English Women: Writers from the Middle Ages to the Present
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR111 .F45 1990Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/dlb.htmlBritish Authors before 1800: a Biographical Dictionary
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR105 .K9British Authors of the Nineteenth Century
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR451 .K8 1936Twayne Authors Series
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/twayne.htmlThe Scribner Writers Series
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/scribner.htmlModern British Women Writers: an A-to-Z Guide
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR116 .M63 2002Encyclopedia of British Women Writers
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR111 .E54 1998Encyclopedia of Britishwriters, 19th and 20th centuries
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR451 .E55 2003British Writers
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR85 .B688
Bibliographies
A Concise Bibliography for Students of English
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection Z2011 .K35 1972Magill’s Bibliography of Literary Criticism: Selected Sources for the Study of More than 2,500 Outstanding Works of Western Literature
Silverman Library (Capen) / Reference: Z6511 .M25A Reference Guide for English Studies
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR56 .M37 1990The Shorter New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: Z2011 .S45 1981English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/estc.htmlThe World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
WorldCat
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/world-shakespeare.html
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/worldcat.html
MLA International Bibliography
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/mla.htmlABELL - (Modern Humanities Research Association) Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/abell.htmlAcademic Search Complete
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=461Literature Online
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/lion.htmlContemporary Literary Criticism Select (CLC)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/clc.html
A collection of biographical and critical essays on contemporary writers (defined as writers now living or who died after December 31, 1959).Humanities International Complete
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=452Twayne Authors Series
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/twayne.htmlLiterature Resource Center (LRC)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/lrc.htmlJSTOR (Journal STORage)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/jstor.htmlPeriodicals Index Online (PIO), formerly PCI - Periodicals Content Index
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=314Periodicals Archive Online
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=313Dissertations & Theses
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/dissertations.htmlProject MUSE
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/muse.htmlArts & Humanities Citation Index
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/ahcitindx.htmlIter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/Iter.html
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/world-shakespeare.html
Finding Literary Criticism (Print Resources)
British Humanities Index
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference Index Area: AI3 .B7The English Novel. 1578-1956: a Checklist of Twentieth Century Criticism
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: Z2014 .F5 B4 1974English Novel Explication: Criticisms to 1972
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: Z2014.F5 P26Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PN86 L53
An authoritative international resource that covers works from the late Middle Ages, Renaissance and Restoration.Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PN761 N5
A source of commentary on the careers and works of poets, novelists, short-story writers, dramatists and philosophers who died between 1800 and 1899.Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PN771 G27
Provides information on more than 2,000 authors now living or who lived between 1900 and 1960. Entries include a portrait, biographical and critical information, a list of principal works, excerpts from criticism, explanatory notes and bibliographical citations, and suggested further reading.Contemporary Literary Criticism
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PN 94 C62
Contains over 35,000 critical essays on contemporary authors. Entries include lists of biographical, critical, and principal works, as well as information for further study.Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)
Cataloged by individual title
Outlines the lives and careers of writers from all eras. Entries consist of a biographical and critical sketch, as well as an extensive bibliography. See also, online DLB http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/dlb.htmlIndex to Commonwealth Little Magazines, 1964
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference Index Area: AI3 .I48
Covers English-language little magazines published in Commonwealth and ex-Commonwealth countries. Indexes journal articles and book reviews.Cambridge History of English Literature
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR83. C22 1960
Standard literary history. Includes essays on poetry, fiction, drama, history, theology and political writing.Oxford History of English Literature Cataloged by individual title
Standard literary history. Volumes include a chronology, bibliography and information on major and minor writers as well as social, scientific, political and religious contexts.The New Moulton's Library of Literary Criticism
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR85. N39 1985
An updated and expanded version of Moulton's Library of Literary Criticism of English and American Authors (1901), it includes authors from the Medieval through the Edwardian eras.The Critical Perspective: Twentieth-Century Criticism
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR85. C76 1985
Multi-volume set contains excerpts from 20th century criticism on writers whose works pre-date 1904. Arranged chronologically.Twentieth-Century British Literature
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR473. T84 1985
Criticism of modern authors from the United Kingdom and its former colonies.Index to Book Reviews in England 1749-1774
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: Z1035. A1F67 1990
Volume covering 1749-1774 lists reviews for 3,023 works of English poetry, fiction, and drama.Index to Book Reviews in England 1775-1800.
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: Z1035. A1F675 1997
Volume covering 1750-1800 lists reviews for 4,984 works of English poetry, fiction, and drama.
Annual Surveys of Literature
Year's Work in Critical and Cultural Theory
http://ywcct.oxfordjournals.orgYear's Work in English Studies
http://ywes.oxfordjournals.orgAnnals of English literature, 1475-1950: the principal publications of each year, together with an alphabetical index of authors with their works
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: Z2011 .A5 1961
APS Online (represents a portion of the American Periodical Series (APS)
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=42Archive Finder - formerly ArchivesUSA
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=43Early Encounters in North America
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=130Eighteenth Century Collections Online
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=145Literature Online (LION)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/lion.htmlPeriodicals Index Online (PIO), formerly PCI - Periodicals Content Index
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=314TEAMS Middle English Texts
http://www.lib.rochester.edu/camelot/teams/tmsmenu.htmEarly English Books Online (EEBO)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/eeb.htmlWomen Writers Online
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/wwo.htmlDictionary of Old English: Old English Corpus
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/old_english.htmlVictorian Women Writers Project
http://www.indiana.edu/%7Eletrs/vwwp/
UB Poetry Collection
http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/units/pl/Significant Holdings Include: Robert Graves, James Joyce, Wyndham Lewis
Celebration of Women Writers
http://digital.library.upenn.edu/women/Electronic Text Collections
http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/English Literature on the Web
http://www.lang.nagoya-u.ac.jp/~matsuoka/EngLit.htmlInternet Public Library Literary Criticism Collection
http://www.ipl.org/div/litcrit/Literature History
http://www.literaryhistory.com/The Victorian Web
VoS: Voice of the Shuttle
http://www.victorianweb.org/
http://vos.ucsb.edu/
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: LB2369 .G53 2009How to Create an MLA Works Cited Page
http://www.wisc.edu/writing/Handbook/DocMLAWorksCited.htmlHow to Create MLA Parenthetical Citations
http://www.wisc.edu/writing/Handbook/DocMLACitation.htmlFrequently Asked Questions about MLA Style
http://www.mla.org/style_faqAnnotated Bibliographies
http://www.wisc.edu/writing/Handbook/AnnotatedBibliography.htmlThe Chicago Manual of Style
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: Z253 .U69 2003Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: BF76.7 .P83 2010A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference Desk: LB2369 .T8 1996
Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR83 .H34 2008
A selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics.Reference Works in British and American Literature
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR83 .B74 1998
An annotated bibliography of bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, indexes, concordances, and current journals or newsletters devoted to one of about 600 British or American authors.



