return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
Instant Message Email Phone In Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+ (Multi-Search)
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




 

 





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Multimedia Center > Microform Collections


Microform Collections
A listing of selected microform available in the Capen Multimedia Center.




Major Studies & Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service

Description

This is a selection of research papers and briefs prepared by the Congressional Research Service (CRS). The CRS is a department within the Library of Congress that works exclusively as a reference and research arm for Congress. They report on the wide range of topics that come before congress including: law, business and industry, education, welfare, environment, natural resources, foreign policy, and defense. The reports are received into our collection between nine and twelve months after CRS prepares them. The collection includes reports back to 1916, with most being written since 1979.

More timely access to selected CRS reports is available on the Internet from:

  • Penny Hill Press
    http://pennyhill.com
    A comercial publisher that provides free access to a current index of CRS publications with the option to purchase reports found in the index.

Location

Congressional Research Service papers are available in the CAPEN Multimedia Center at call numbers:

MicFilm E 740.5 M31 (covers thru 1992)
       For the years up to 1974, reels are arranged by reel number. Starting with 1975, reels are arranged by year, by reel number.

MicFiche E 740.5 M31 (1993-present)
       Fiche are arranged by year, and within each year major reports, filed by CRS report number, are file first followed by issue briefs (identified by IB ) filed by CRS brief number.

Access

The individual titles in this collection are listed in the University Libraries Catalog. To look specifically for these publications, do a key word search (the default search) for the subject in which you are interested and include, congressional research.au.

For example
                                cuba and congressional research.au.

The call number will include information about the year, reel(for film), frame number(for film), and CRS report number (for fiche).

Additional access is available using the index, Major Studies & Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service CAPEN Multimedia Center Reference E 740.5 M31. This index is published quarterly. There is a cumulative volume for 1916-1989, with cumulative annual volumes published for each year starting with 1990. The index provides access by subject, names, agency, CRS report number, and title. The bibliographic entry for each title includes a brief abstract.



divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility