return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Material
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries and Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserve Databases Forms A-Z Requesting Materials Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Architecture & Planning Digital Collections Health Sciences Library Law Library Libraries Annex Lockwood Library Multimedia Collections Music Library Silverman Library Special Collections
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Library Store Support Our Libraries
chatChat textText emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Requesting Materials
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




 

 





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Multimedia Center > Microform Collections


Microform Collections
A listing of selected microform available in the Silverman Multimedia Center.



State Census Rolls

Description

State Census Rolls reproduces manuscript schedules for Erie County of state population censuses conducted in 1855, 1865, 1875, 1892, 1905, 1915, and 1925. Included are schedules for the towns in the county and the city of Buffalo by wards. Specific information recorded varies over the years, but generally the following types of data can be found: type and value of residence, names of all household residents, age, sex, race and relationship to the head of the household, place of birth, marital status, number of years of residence in the city or town, occupation, citizenship, literacy, property ownership, and handicaps.

The fiche are arranged in chronological order. For each census year, the schedule for Buffalo by ward comes first followed by the schedules for the towns alphabetically by name.

Location

State Census Rolls are available in the Silverman Multimedia Center at call number MicFilm F 127 E6B8 .

Access

There are no aids in the Libraries that directly assist in locating a particular household on the reels. The Special Collection section of the main branch of the Buffalo and Erie County Public Library has a collection of ward maps. Knowing the address of the household for which you are looking can be helpful. Refer to Lockwood's collection of city directories for address information.




divider
Return to the homepage
Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility
  • rss
  • facebook
  • youtube
  • twitter