return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: Mary Soom

Last Updated: 13 Nov 2006

 

 






Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Newspapers > Newspaper Indexes


Newspaper Indexes in the UB Libraries

Most newspapers are not indexed, but online coverage allows you to locate articles with a keyword search. Some older newspapers do have printed indexes; the ones we own are listed here.

  • International Coverage
  • United States
  • Canada
  • France
  • Germany
  • Great Britain
  • Soviet Union



International Coverage

UB Only LexisNexis Academic
The News section of this database leads to newspapers, transcripts, wire services, and specialized newsletters, with strong international coverage. Coverage varies by title, but can extend as far back as 1975. Full-text of New York Times from 1980 to present.

UB Only Factiva
This database provides current news and financial information including from more than 8000 newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and wire-services. Radio and TV news transcripts are included. International in scope. Coverage varies by title.

UB Only InfoTrac Custom Newspapers
Full-text database which includes more than 150 national and international newspapers.

Return to Top


divider



United States

UB Only African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Ultimately this resource will include the complete transcribed text of seven 19th century African-American newspapers.

Print Antislavery Newspapers and Periodicals
Lockwood Reference AI 3 B55 (Index Area)
A five-volume set indexing letters appearing in newspapers and periodicals representing the antislavery movement of the 19th century.

Print Black Newspapers Index (title varies)
Lockwood Reference AI 3 I46 (Index Area) 1977-91

UB Only

Buffalo News
LexisNexis Academic (coverage starts November 1, 1992 )
Factiva (coverage starts February 12, 1992 )
InfoTrac Custom Newspapers (coverage starts 1996 )
The Buffalo News (Search the full News archive back to 1989)
Western New York Index Lockwood Reference. UGL Ref AN 256 B84 W4 (Index Area) 1983-1996

Print Chicago Tribune Index (title varies)
Lockwood Reference AI 21 C45 C47 (Index Area) 1976-93

Print Christian Science Monitor, Index to the (title varies)
Lockwood Reference AI 21 C47 (Index Area) 1960-84
Coverage continued through 1990 by National Newspaper Index

UB Only Civil War, a Newspaper Perspective
Full-text searching of major articles gleaned from 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.

UB Only Ethnic Newswatch
Newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press -- English and Spanish language.

Print Index to the Newspapers Published in Geneva, New York
Lockwood AI 3 I58 Covers 1806-1829.

Print Los Angeles Times Index (title varies)
Lockwood Reference AI 21 L65 L6 (Index Area) 1976-84
Coverage continued through 1990 by National Newspaper Index

Print National Newspaper Index
Capen Multimedia Center MicFiche AI3 N37 1979-1990
This title indexes The Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post .

Print

New Orleans Times-Picayune Index
Lockwood Reference AI 21 T66 N49 (Index Area) 1976-78

UB Only

New York Times:
LexisNexis Academic (coverage starts June 1980)
InfoTrac Custom Newspapers (coverage starts Jan. 2000)
New York Times Article Archive: 1851-1995 . Search more than 15 million articles from the NYT, individual articles can be purchased, but the UB Libraries have a complete run of the NYT on microfilm.

New York Times: Historical Index 1863-1905, 1913-1922

New York Times Index
Lockwood Reference AI 21 N44 (Index Area) 1851-
Also indexed by National Newspaper Index.

New York Times Obituaries Index
Lockwood Reference CT 213 N47 1858-1978

Personal Name Index to the New York Times Index
Lockwood Reference CT 104 F28, Lockwood Reference CT 104 F28 Suppl. 1851-1989

UB Only Nineteenth Century Masterfile
This product includes indexes to:New York Daily Tribune 1875-1906, New York Times 1863-1905, Palmer's Index to the Times (London) 1880-1890, Index to the Oregon Spectator 1846-1854

UB Only Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800
Connect to the database via Accessible Archives .

Print Virginia Gazette Index, 1736-1780
Lockwood Reference AI 21 V5 (Index Area)

Print

Wall Street Journal. Index
Lockwood Reference HG 1 W26 (Index Area) 1961-
Also indexed by National Newspaper Index.

Print Washington Post. Newspaper Index (title varies)
Lockwood Reference AI 21 W33 W38 (Index Area) 1976-79
Lockwood Reference AI 21 W33 O54 (Index Area) 1979-84
Coverage continued by National Newspaper Index

Print

Western New York Index
Lockwood Reference. UGL/SEL Reference AN 256 B84 W4 (Index Area) 1983-1996
Covers several local sources, including the Buffalo News. Coverage for some sources continued by Factiva .


Return to Top


divider



Canada

Print Canadian Index
Lockwood Reference AI 3 C24 (Index Area) 1993- 1997
Formed by the merger of:
Canadian Business Index (title varies) LML Ref Z 7164 C81 C24(Index Area) 1975 – 92, and
Canadian News Index (title varies) Lockwood Reference Z 6954 C2 C22 Index Area (1977- 92).

Return to Top


divider



France

Print Le Monde. Index Analytique
Lockwood Reference AI 21 M6 (Index Area) 1944-47, 1950, 1958, 1965-68

Print Index of Le Monde
Lockwood Reference AI 21 M63 (Index Area) Oct. 1968-Aug. 1970 (Incomplete)

Print Tables du Journal Le Temps
Lockwood Reference AI 21 T375 (Index Area) 1861-1900
Return to Top


divider



Germany

Print Zeitschriften-Index, 1750-1815
Capen Multimedia Center Reference AI9 .I45 1990

Return to Top


divider



Great Britain

Print The Times Index (London, England) (titles varies)
Lockwood Reference AI 21 T46 (Index Area) 1906-
The Times Literary Supplement is indexed by The Times Literary Supplement Index Lockwood Reference AP 4 T45 Index (Index Area) for the years 1902-1980. From 1973, The Times Literary Supplement has been indexed in The Times Index.

Print Palmer's Index to The Times Newspaper (London, England)
Lockwood Reference AI 21 T5 (Index Area) 1790-1941
Supplemented retrospectively by The Times (Daily Universal Register) Index
Lockwood Reference AI 21 T45 (Index Area)
1785-1790

Palmer's is less detailed than The Times Index , but it covers a longer time period.


Return to Top


divider



Soviet Union

Print Letopis' Gazetnykh Statei
Lockwood AI 15 L35 1965-70 (Incomplete)

Print Pravda Index
Lockwood Reference AI 21 P73 (Index Area) 1986-87


divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility