return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Material
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries and Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserve Databases Forms A-Z Requesting Materials Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Architecture & Planning Digital Collections Health Sciences Library Law Library Libraries Annex Lockwood Library Multimedia Collections Music Library Silverman Library Special Collections
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Library Store Support Our Libraries
chatChat textText emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Requesting Materials
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: Mary Soom

Last Updated: September 2011

 

 






Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Newspapers > Western New York News Sources


Western New York News Sources

Newspapers / Magazines

ArtVoice -- alternative weekly published since 2002

University Archives (selected holdings)
ArtVoice.com

Buffalo News (title varies) -- published daily since 11/1880

Print:
Lockwood Newspapers Area: current issues retained until microfilm is received
Silverman Multimedia Center: MicFilm AN 256 B84 1881-1926, 1951, 1954-
Law Library: current issues only
Buffalo & Erie County Public Library: 1881-
Buffalo State College: 1880-
Buffalo & Eric County Historical Society Research Library 1881-

Online:
BuffaloNews.com
Search the full News archive back to 1989 (pay per view for older articles)
Factiva 2/1992-
LexixNexis Academic 1992-

Indexed:
Western New York Index: Lockwood Ref AN 256.B84 W4 1983-96
Buffalo & Erie County Public Library: card file index for pre-1983 (fairly detailed back to 1955)
Buffalo & Erie County Public Library History Department has scrapbooks from early papers
Buffalo & Erie County Historical Society has index to early papers (particularly for names)

Business First -- weekly local business newspaper, published since 1984


Print:
Lockwood Newspapers Area: current issues retained
Silverman Library: current 3 months
Silverman Multimedia Center: MicFiche HF 5001 B9B84 1984-1996

Online:
Business Index ASAP, indexed 1985-current, full text 1989-2001
Business First Online
(for selected stories)
Business First, Buffalo(via Business & Company Resource Center) indexed 1985-current, full text 1989-2001

Indexed:
Western New York Index: Lockwood Ref AN 256.B84 W4 1984-96

Buffalo Spree -- published quarterly since 1967

Print:

Lockwood: Per F 129 B8B86 1967-
Silverman Library: current issues only
Indexed:
Western New York Index: Lockwood Library Ref AN 256.B84 W4 1987-96

Courier Express -- published daily, with various titles, between 1842-1982

Silverman Multimedia Center: MicFilm AN 256 B832 1842-61, MicFilm AN 256 C6 1979-82
Buffalo & Erie County Public Library: 1842-1982
Buffalo State College: 1842-1982
Buffalo & Eric County Historical Society Research Library 1842-1982

Niagara Gazette

Niagara Falls Public Library, microfilm from 1854-(located on Main Floor in Reference Department); subject index to the Gazette, 1854 - (located in Local History Department on third floor)

See also Buffalo & Erie County Historical Society Research Library Newspapers on Microfilm


Return to the homepage
Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility
  • rss
  • facebook
  • youtube
  • twitter