return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: Tiffany Walsh

Last Updated: 13 Nov 2006






Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > American Pluralism > Guide to Research


American Pluralism - Guide to Research

This guide provides sources that will assist you in beginning research in the University at Buffalo Undergraduate Library (UGL) and Lockwood Memorial Library (LML) for UGC 211, American Pluralism. This is not an exhaustive guide, but a mechanism for starting research and how to find related sources. Ask a librarian for additional assistance.

  • Asian and Pacific Americans: A Basic Guide
  • Ethnography: Selected Resources
  • History Resources
  • Judaic Studies: Selected Resources
  • Modern Languages and Literatures: Selected Sources
  • Native American Studies: Selected Sources

Finding Books

BISON The UB Libraries Catalog

Search the UB Libraries Catalog, BISON, to find books on this topic. Please note the library location and call number for the titles that interest you. You may search by:

  • Title - Religion and Hopi Life
  • Author - Loftin, John
  • Keyword - religion and customs

Also, you may perform a search by Subject Heading , using the Library of Congress classification system. The Finding Books: Library of Congress Call Numbers guide will aid you in determining proper subject headings. Relevant headings include:

Religion
Gender Identity
Ethnicity
History Sex Differences Social History
Family Communities Social Classes
Marriage Racism Culture
Women Race Relations Ethnology

To browse in the book or reference collections for titles focusing on the above subjects, look for on books with call numbers ranging in these areas:

Religions (general) - BL

Judaism - BM

Islam, Bahaism - BP

Buddhism - BQ

Christianity - BR

Christian Denominations - BX

History (general) - D1-2009

The Family, Marriage, Women - HQ1-2044

Communities, Classes, Races - HT51-1595, GN301-674

Social History and Conditions - HN1-995

Culture - HM621-656

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and other Reference Sources

Countries and Their Cultures - UGL Reference GN307.C68 2001

Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies - UGL Reference GN495.6 C37 2004

The Encyclopedia of Religion and War - LML Reference BL80.3 E53 2004

Encyclopedia of Religious Freedom - LML Reference BV741.E47 2003

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender - LML Reference HQ1115.E52 2001

Encyclopedia of Women's Studies - LML Reference HP1180.E53 2004

Religion and American Cultures: An Encyclopedia of Traditions, Diversity, and Popular Expressions - LML Reference BL2525.R448 2003

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women - LML Reference HQ1115.R69 2000

Women's Issues - LML & UGL Reference HQ1115.W6425 1997

Women's Studies Encyclopedia - LML & UGL Reference HQ1115.W645 1999

Maps

Atlas of World Cultures - LML Reference GN345.3.M86 1981

We the People: An Atlas of America's Ethnic Diversity - LML Reference E184.A1 A79 1988

Statistical Sources

Racial and Ethnic Diversity: Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans and Whites - UGL Reference E184.A1 R78 2000

Ethnicity Counts - LML GN495.6 P49 1997

Return to Top


divider



Finding Articles

Databases

For relevant databases, please visit the Resources by Subject - American Pluralism page.

Journals

If you wish to browse some relevant journals, the following are available. Please note that if you are off-campus, you will need to provide a user name and password to view the electronic journals. All print journals in the Lockwood Periodical Collection are located on the 3 rd floor.

Women and Gender Studies

Differences - LML Periodical Collection HQ1101.D54

Journal of Gender Studies - LML Periodical Collection HQ1101.J67

Social Politics
http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/social%5Fpolitics/

Women's Studies
http://www.ingentaselect.com/rpsv/cw/tandf/00497878/contp1.htm

For more journal titles, perform a BISON subject heading search for:
women-periodicals
feminism-periodicals

Race and Ethnicity

Ethnic Groups - LML Periodical Collection GN495.4.E84

Ethnic & Racial Studies
http://taylorandfrancis.metapress.com/link.asp?id=101481

Ethnic Studies Review - LML Periodical Collection E184.A1 E96

Journal of American Ethnic History
http://iibp.chadwyck.com/toc/JournalofAmericanEthnicHistory/issues.htm

Race, Ethnicity and Education
http://www.ingentaselect.com/rpsv/cw/carfax/13613324/contp1.htm

Souls: A Critical Journal of Black Politics, Culture and Society - LML Periodical Collection E185.5 S68

For more journal titles, perform a BISON subject heading search for:

Race relations-periodicals
Race awareness-periodicals
African Americans-periodicals
Ethnicity-periodicals
Minorities-periodicals

Social Class

Research in Social Stratification and Mobility - LML Book Collection HT601.R4

Religion

Journal of Religion in Africa
http://www.ingentaselect.com/rpsv/cw/brill/00224200/contp1.htm

Religion
http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/journal/0048721X

Religion and Culture
http://taylorandfrancis.metapress.com/link.asp?id=300339

Religious Studies News - LML Periodical Collection BL1.C65

Sociology of Religion - LML Periodical Collection HN30.A64

For more journal titles, perform a BISON subject heading search for:

Religion-periodicals
Theology-periodicals
Religion and culture-periodicals

History

American Historical Review
http://www.jstor.org/journals/00028762.html

Comparative Studies in Society and History - LML Periodical Collection H1.C73

The Historical Journal - LML Periodical Collection D1.H33

History and Anthropology - LML Periodical Collection GN1.H57

For more journal titles, perform a BISON subject heading search for:

History--periodicals

Return to Top


divider



Finding Websites

The following are web sites selected for their pertinence:

African Studies Center
http://www.sas.upenn.edu/African_Studies/Home_Page/mcgee.html

Diversity and Ethnic Studies - Recommended Websites & Guides http://www.ethnicstudies.org/

Ethnic Studies Information Sources
http://lib.upm.edu.my/iisesis.html

History Resources - Refdesk.com
http://www.refdesk.com/facthist.html

Internet Public Library: Ethnicity, Culture and Race http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/browse/soc40.00.00/

National Association for Ethnic Studies
http://www.ethnicstudies.org/

National Women's Studies Association
http://www.nwsa.org/

Race: Sources and Resources http://www.publicagenda.org/issues/sources.cfm?issue_type=race

Religious Studies Sites on the Internet
http://library.fiu.edu/internet/subjects/religion.html

Religious Studies Resources on the Web
http://lib.ollusa.edu/netguides/ahweb/relig.htm

Women and Gender Studies Web Sites
http://libr.org/wss/WSSLinks/index.html

Women's Studies/Women's Issues Resource Sites
http://www-unix.umbc.edu/~korenman/wmst/links.html

To search for relevant pages on your own, consult the Internet Search Engines page for appropriate pages on which to conduct your search.

Return to Top


divider

divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility