return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+ (Multi-Search)
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: Fred Stoss

Last Updated: 12 December 2003

 

 






Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Scientific Method


Scientific Method

Science as a Way of Knowing

The scientific method is the experimental testing of a hypothesis formulated after the systematic, objective collection of data. The following websites will help you to understand the purpose and function of the scientific method as a means of scientific inquiry and in the conduct of science:

  • Biology: Concepts and Applications (Starr, 4th Edition)
    An online biology text book produced by the Brooks/Cole Biology Resource Center. You will find direct links to Hypercontents, Tutorial Quizzes, FlashCards, InfoTrac Guides, and more. Resources are integrated on a easy to find chapter-by-chapter (there are 44 chapters) basis. Chapter 1: "Methods and Concepts in Biology" includes discussions and resources on the Scientific Method. Additional resources include educational games, instructor resources, career information, clip art resources and more. Additional biology-related titles are also available.
  • The Decline of Reason?
    An essay by Jerre H. Lipps (Professor of Paleontology, University of California at Berkeley) providing insights for the scientific method as a tool for conducting temporary science. The essay look at the place of the scientific method in substantiating or refuting the claims postulated by religion and superstition, pseudoscience, and science. A good place to start an investigation of the science-antiscience debate, from the perspective of paleontology or paleobiology.
  • Guidelines for Evaluating and Expressing the Uncertainty of NIST Measurement Results
    Uncertainty is a part of science. "This is a brief summary of the method of evaluating and expressing uncertainty in measurement adopted widely by U.S. industry, companies in other countries, NIST [National Institute for Standards and Technology], its sister national metrology institutes throughout the world, and many organizations worldwide."
  • Method for Finding Scientific Truth
    The scientific method is used to explain how science works. Several examples of scientific thinking and reasoning are presented in this detailed examination of scientific inquiry.
  • The Myth of the Magical "Scientific Method"
    Is there only one means of scientific inquiry? Are there "other" methods that work in science?
  • Scientific Investigation
    The scientific method as a means of conducting research in a biological setting. Includes sections on scientific writing (general procedures for a scientific paper).
  • The Scientific Method
    This site provides a detailed examination of the Scientific Method and its applications. Discussions on the conduct of science are also provided. A very good source to examine the mechanics of "how" and "why" scientific inquiry is done the way it has been and is done.
  • The Scientific Method
    Another detailed explanation of how scientific inquiry is undertaken. This site provides further analyses of the stages in the research process and how hypothesis are formulated. The general outline of the research article is presented as a further demonstration of the scientific method as reflected in scientific literature.
  • Scientific Method Slide Show
    A 21-slide presentation on the basic structure of the Scientific Method.
  • The Scientific Method and Public Perspective
    Scientists conduct research in controlled settings, following standard operating procedures (SOPs) and good laboratory practices (GLPs). Scientists also work in very public arenas and are called upon and called to task by members of the public. It is an ongoing dialogue about scientific integrity, validity, and purpose. This resource provides useful insights for examining the role the scientific method plays in the public's understanding of science and scientific achievement (aka - research results). Several examples using evolutionary biology are provided.
  • The Scientific Method - Elegant Experiments
    This site introduces students to application of the scientific method, providing descriptions of how several major biological milestones ("Experiments that Inspire") were discovered, explained, or resolved.
  • Steps in the Scientific Method
    A schematic representation of the Scientific Method.
  • Studying Cells Tutorial -- The Scientific Method
    The Scientific Method applied to cell biology.


divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility