Biographical Information
Scientists & Engineers
These sources are for finding biographical information on scientists and engineers.
General - Books
- American Black Scientists and Inventors
LML Book Q141 .A46 1975- American Men and Women of Science SEL Ref Q141 .C4 20th v.1 - v.8 1998-99
- American Women in Science: A Biographical Dictionary SEL Ref Q141 .B25 1994
- Asimov's Biographical Encyclopedia of Science and Technology SEL Ref Q141 .A74 1964
- Biographical Dictionary of Scientists SEL Ref Q141 .C64 1994
LML Ref Q141 .B528 1982
HSL Ref Q141 .B579 1994- Biographical Index to American Science
- HSL Ref Q141 .E46b 1990
- Blacks in Science and Medicine SEL Ref Q141 .S25 1990
- Cambridge Dictionary of Scientists SEL Ref Q141 .C128 1996
- Concise Dictionary of Scientific Biography
SEL Ref Q141 .C55 1981- Creative Couples in the Sciences UGL Book Q141 .C68 1996
- Dictionary of Scientific Biography SEL Ref Q141 .D5 1981
- Distinguished African American Scientists of the 20th Century SEL Ref Q141 .D535 1996
- The Great Scientists UGL Book Q141 .M38 1989
- Larousse Dictionary of Scientists SEL Ref Q141 .L28 1994
- McGraw-Hill Modern Scientists and Engineers SEL Book Q141 .M15 v.1 - v.3 1980
- Nobel Prize Women in Science: Their Lives, Struggles, and Momentous Discoveries UGL Book Q141 .B42 1993
- Notable Women in the Life Sciences UGL Ref QH26 .N68 1996
- To Fathom More: African American Scientists and Inventors LML Book Q141 .J46 1996
- Who's Who in Frontier Science and Technology SEL Ref Q141 .W48 1984-85
- Who's Who in Science and Engineering SEL Ref Q141 .W34 1998/99
- Who's Who in Science in Europe SEL Book Q145 .W5 1993
- Who's Who of Nobel Prize Winners, 1901-1995 SEL Ref AS911 .N9 W53 1996
- Women in Science: Antiquity through the 19th Century LML Book Q141 .O34 1986
- World Who's Who in Science: A Biographical Dictionary of Notable Scientists From Antiquity to the Present SEL Book Q141 .W7 1968
General - Websites
- 4000 Years of Women in Science Biography Listing http://www.astr.ua.edu/4000WS/summary.shtml
- AccessScience (UB Patrons only) McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology - go to Biographies
- American National Biography (UB Patrons only)
- Biographical Information: Selected Sources http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/biographical.html
- Biography http://www.biography.com/find/find.html
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI)
Indexes and refers the user to information found in other soutces, most of which are available in the University Libraries.- Canadian Science and Engineering Hall of Fame http://www.sciencetech.technomuses.ca/english/about/hallfame/u_main_e.cfm
- Catalog of the Scientific Community in the 16th and 17th Centuries http://es.rice.edu/ES/humsoc/Galileo/Catalog/catalog.html
- Community of Science (Registration is free) http://www.cos.com
- Distinguished Women of Past and Present
http://www.DistinguishedWomen.com/- Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography http://scienceworld.wolfram.com/biography/
- The Faces of Science: African Americans in the Sciences http://www.princeton.edu/~mcbrown/display/faces.html
- Lives, the Biography Resource - annotated links to biography meta-sites. http://amillionlives.com/
- Nobel Prize Laureates http://www.nobel.se/index.html
- Science Biography Resources http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/e/su/sci/biography.html
- Wilson Biographies (UB Patrons only) Full-text of biographical entries from a wide range of reference sources published by the H. W. Wilson. http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries//e-resources/wilsonbios.htm
Biology
- Biographical Dictionary of Scientists: Biologists SEL Ref QH26 .B54 1983
- Notable Women in the Life Sciences : A Biographical Dictionary UGL Ref QH26 .N68 1996
- Women in the Biological Sciences SEL Ref QH26.W66 1997
Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
- American Chemists and Chemical Engineers SEL Book QD21 .A43 1976
- Biographical Dictionary of Scientists: Chemists SEL Ref QD21 .B48 1983
- German-Jewish Pioneers in Science, 1900-1933: Highlights in Atomic Physics, Chemistry, and Biochemistry LML Book QD21 .N33 1979
- Great Chemists SEL Book QD21 .F35 1961
- Noble Prize Winners in Chemistry. 1901-1961 SEL Book QD21 .F37 1963
- Women in Chemistry and Physics: A Biobibliographic Sourcebook SEL Ref QD21 .W62 1993
Computer Science
- International Biographical Dictionary of Computer Pioneers SEL Ref QA76.2 .A2L44 1995b
- Wizards and Their Wonders SEL Ref QA76.2 .A2 M67 1997
Engineering
- Biographical Dictionary of American Civil Engineers SEL Book TA139 .A53 1972 V.2
- Biographical Dictionary of Scientists: Engineers and Inventors UGL Ref TA139 .B56 1986
- Engineers of Distinction In Storage TA139 .E63 1970
- Great Engineers LML Book TA139 .R6 1962
- Who's Who in Engineering SEL Book TA139 .W39 1995
- Who's Who in Technology SEL Ref T39 .W6 1989
- National Inventors Hall of Fame http://www.invent.org/hall_of_fame/1_0_0_hall_of_fame.asp
Environmental Science
- The Environmentalists: A Biographical Dictionary from the 17th Century to the Present UGL Ref S926 .A2 A94 1993
- Pioneer Conservationists of Western America POETRY/RARE BOOKS W54.2P 1979 P56 1.1
- Who's Who in Environmental Engineering SEL Ref TD12 .A47a 1994
Indexes to Sources of Scientific Biographies
- Prominent Scientists, An Index to collective Biographies SEL Ref Q141 .P398 1994
Math
- Black Mathematicians and Their Works SEL Book QA28 .B58 1980
- The Great Mathematicians SEL Book QA28 .T8 1961
- Math Equals: Biographies of Women Mathematicians and Related Activities UGL Book QA28 .P47 1978
- Mathematicians from Antiquity to Today
SEL Book QA28 .F3 v.1 1972- Men of Mathematics
SEL Ref Book QA28 .B4 1965- Women in Mathematics SEL Book QA28 .083 1974
- Biographies of Women Mathematicians http://www.agnesscott.edu/lriddle/women/women.htm
- MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive http://www-groups.dcs.st-and.ac.uk/~history/BiogIndex.html
- Mathematicians of the 17th and 18th Centuries http://www.math.tcd.ie/pub/HistMath/People/RBallHist.html
Physics
- Biographical Dictionary of Scientists: Physicists
SEL Ref QC15 .B56 1984b- German-Jewish Pioneers in Science, 1900-1933: Highlights in Atomic Physics, Chemistry, and Biochemistry LML Book QD21 .N33 1979
- Pioneers of Science: Nobel Prize Winners in Physics SEL Book QC15 .W4 1988
- Contributions of 20th Century Women to Physics http://www.physics.ucla.edu/~cwp/









