Shakespeare - A Research & Reference Guide
This guide lists sources that will help you begin research in the University at Buffalo Libraries and on the Internet. For additional assistance, Ask a Librarian.
Finding Books
Search BISON - UB Libraries Catalog to locate books on your topic
There are four basic ways to search the BISON Catalog:
Keywords (use the Boolean operator "AND" to connect key terms)
Sample search: hamlet and criticismTitle begins with… (omit initial articles such as ‘the' and ‘a')
Sample search: Cambridge companion to Shakespeare on filmSubject begins with… (use Library of Congress subject headings)
Sample search: shakespeare , william , 1564-1616 -- adaptationsAuthor (last name, first)
sample search: bono , barbaraTo browse in the book or reference collections for titles focusing on Shakespeare, look for call numbers within the range: PR 2750+
For more help searching the BISON Catalog, see the Help section or Ask a Librarian for assistance.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Companions
All Things Shakespeare: An Encyclopedia of Shakespeare's World
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR2892 .O56 2002The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare Studies
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR2976 .C29 19A Companion to Shakespeare's Works
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR2976 .C572 2006Dictionary of the Characters and Proper Names in the Works of Shakespeare
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR2892 .S76Dictionary of Shakespeare
CAPEN LIBRARY/Reference: PR 2892. M398 2000The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR2892 .O94 2001Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/oed.htmlPronouncing Shakespearean Words
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR3081 .C87 1998The Riverside Shakespeare
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR2754 .E9 1997Shakespeare A to Z
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR2892 .B69 1990Shakespeare: A Study and Research Guide
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR2894 .B4 1987Shakespeare Lexicon and Quotation Dictionary; a Complete Dictionary of all the English Words, Phrases, and Constructions in the Works of the Poet
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR2892 .S4 1971The Shakespeare Name Dictionary
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR2892 .D33 1995A Shakespeare Thesaurus
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR2892 .S63 1993Shakespeare's Life and Times: A Pictorial Record
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR2893 .F78Shakespeare's Words: A Glossary and Language Companion
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR2892 .C78 2002Shakespeare's World and Work: an Encyclopedia for Students
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR2892 .S56 2001Who's Who in Shakespeare
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR2989 .Q4 1995Who's Who in Shakespeare's England
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: DA317 .W49 1981
Biographical Resources
The Genius of Shakespeare
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PR2937 .B38 1998Shakespeare: The World as a Stage
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection: PR 2895. B79 2007Who's Who in Shakespeare's England
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: DA317 .W49 1981William Shakespeare: His Life and Times
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR2894 .K33 1995Dictionary of Literary Biography
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/dlb.htmlAlso search the BISON Catalog under “subject begins with”:
Shakespeare , William , 1564-1616 -- Biography
Concordances
A Complete and Systematic Concordance to the Works of Shakespeare
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR2892 .S62A Complete Concordance or Verbal Index to Words, Phrases, and Passages in the Dramatic Works of Shakespeare with a Supplementary Concordance to the Poems
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR2892 .B34 1966Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare
http://collections.chadwyck.com/eas/htxview?template=basic.htx&content=frameset.htxThe Harvard Concordance to Shakespeare
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR2892 .S62 1973The Plays of William Shakespeare (Electronic Literature Foundation (ELF))
http://www.theplays.org/
Finding Literary Criticism (Online Resources)
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/abell.htmlLiterature Online
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/lion.htmlMLA International Bibliography
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/mla.htmlWorld Shakespeare Bibliography Online
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/world-shakespeare.htmlProject MUSE
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=322JSTOR
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=238Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=408Periodicals Index Online
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=314
Finding Literary Criticism (Print Resources)
A Classified Shakespeare Bibliography, 1936-1958
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR2892 .S6A Companion to Shakespeare's Works
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR2976 .C572 2006The Essential Shakespeare : an Annotated Bibliography of Major Modern Studies
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR2894 .C53 1986A Selective Bibliography of Shakespeare : Editions , Textual Studies , Commentary
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR2894 .M23Shakespeare: A Bibliographical Guide
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection PR2894.S43 1990Shakespearean Criticism : Excerpts from the Criticism of William Shakespeare's Plays and Poetry, from the First Published appraisals to Current Evaluations
CAPEN LIBRARIES / Reference: PR2965 .S43
Annual Surveys
Shakespeare Quarterly
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Periodical Collection Per PR2885 .S63
Available electronically through Project Muse & JSTOR.Shakespeare Studies
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR2890 .S42Shakespeare Survey
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection PR2890 .N42
Electronic Editions/Primary Resources
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/eeb.htmlEditions and Adaptations of Shakespeare http://collections.chadwyck.com/eas/htxview?template=basic.htx&content=frameset.htx The First Folio of Shakespeare
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR2751 .A15 1995The Riverside Shakespeare
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR2754 .E9 1997Shakespeare Bookshelf
http://www.ipl.org/div/shakespeare/Renascence Editions Shakespeare
http://uoregon.edu/~rbear/shake.htmlWilliam Shakespeare, First Folio (hosted by Tufts University)
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/cgi-bin/ptext?doc=Perseus:text:1999.03.0018Shakespeare Resources
http://etext.virginia.edu/shakespeare/
Plot Summaries
Masterplots
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PN44 .M3 1996Mr. William Shakespeare
http://shakespeare.palomar.edu/
Production History
For information on the performance history of a play or on film adaptations, search the BISON Catalog using a keyword search. Use the name of the play and the words production or stage history or adaptations
Sample keyword search : Macbeth and (production or stage history or adaptations)
Additional Web Resources
The Folger Shakespeare Library
http://www.folger.eduMr. William Shakespeare and the Internet
http://shakespeare.palomar.eduThe Plays of William Shakespeare (Electronic Literature Foundation (ELF))
http://www.theplays.orgShakespeare Illustrated
http://www.english.emory.edu/classes/Shakespeare_Illustrated/Shakespeare.htmlVoice of the Shuttle – William Shakespeare
http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2816Sixteenth Century Renaissance English Literature (1485-1603)
http://www.luminarium.org/renlit/Shakespeare: Literature Online Reference Page
http://lion.chadwyck.com/searchFullrec.do?id=1907&area=authors&forward=author&trailId=11E4D5B08CBEncyclopedia Britannica’s Guide to Shakespeare
http://search.eb.com/shakespeare/
Citing Resources
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
LOCKWOOD Reference L B2369 .G53 2003How to Create an MLA Works Cited Page
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/citing-index.htmlHow to Create MLA Parenthetical Citations
http://www.wisc.edu/writing/Handbook/DocMLACitation.htmlFrequently Asked Questions about MLA Style
http://www.mla.org/style_faq
Citation Style Software
EndNote Citation Management Software
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/endnote/UBinfo.html
Last Update: 19 October, 2009







