return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: Jean Dickson

Last Updated: 13 Nov 2006






Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Spanish Literature > Spanish & Latin American Literature


Spanish & Latin American Literature

The scope of the books and web sites listed here varies greatly: some treat primarily one region with many languages (e.g., the Caribbean, or the Iberian peninsula) or one nation (e.g., Spain), while others cover literature in Spanish without geographic restrictions. Some resources focus on literature and literary criticism only, while others include broader issues of language, culture, history, and more.

General Search Strategies

Search by subject or keyword (try English and Spanish):
  • themes or genres, such as comedy, picaresque, realism, narrative
  • authors by name, such as Garcia Lorca, Borges
  • places, such as Mexico, Dominican Republic
  • time periods, such as Golden Age, 20th century
Search by Library of Congress call number or browse the shelves:
  • Spanish literature is found under PQ6001 to PQ8929
  • Spanish language, including dictionaries and grammars, is found under PC4001 to PC4977 , in both the reference collection and on the 5th floor
  • Bibliographic works on Spain are found under Z 2681-Z2709
  • Bibliographic works on Latin America and the Caribbean are under Z1411-Z1851
Return to Top


divider



Encyclopedias

Enciclopedia Universal Ilustrada. Espasa-Calpe . 70 vols., plus 35 vols. of appendices and supplements. 1934- , with regular updates.
LML Ref AE 61 E6

Enciclopedia Hispanica. 18 vols. plus CD-rom version. 1999.
LML Ref AE 61 E52 1999

Return to Top


divider



Dictionaries

Web of Online Dictionaries
http://www.yourDictionary.com/
Click on Spanish, and pick from several dictionaries.

Diccionarios del espanol en internet. Cristina Gelpi.
http://www.ub.es/geocrit/b3w-189.htm

Spanish dictionaries have call numbers PC 4001 to PC 4977 ; Catalan dictionaries have call number PC 3889 in Lockwood reference and on the fifth floor.

Return to Top


divider



Literary History, Criticism and Biographies

Diccionario de literatura espanola e hispanoamericana. Ricardo Gullon. 2 vols. Short entries wioth bibliographies.
LML Ref PQ 6006 D6 1993

Spain:

Diccionario de Autores: Quien es Quien en las Letras Espanoles.
LML Z 2693.3 D53 1988

A who's who of Spanish peninsular authors. Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature.
LML Ref PQ 6006 O93 (also in UGL Ref)

Latin America:

Latin American Writers. Carlos A. Sole, Maria Isabel Abreu. 3 vols. Longer entries, good bibliographies, covers many major writers at length.
LML PQ 7081 A1 L37 1989

Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature . Verity Smith. 1997. Longer entries, bibliographies.
LML Ref PQ 7081 A1 E56 1997
Covers writers, countries, genres.

Cambridge History of Latin American Literature. R. Gonzalez Echevarria, E. Pupo-Walker. 3 vols.
LML Ref PQ 7081 A1 C35 1996

Spanish American Authors: the Twentieth Century. Angel Flores.
LML Ref PQ 7081.3 F57 1992
Excellent biographical essays, with bibliographies.

Hispanic Writers: A Selection of Sketches from "Contemporary Authors."
LML Ref PQ 7081.3 H58 1991
Covers contemporary prominant Hispanic American authors.

United States:

Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Literature in the United States. Nicolas Kanellos.
LML Ref PQ 7420.2 K3 1989 (also in UGL Ref)
Covers almost exclusively Puerto Rican and Cuban writers in the United States.

Return to Top


divider



Bibliographies

Guide to Reference Works for the Study of the Spanish Language and Literature and Spanish American Literature . Hensley C. Woodbridge. 1997.
LML Ref PC4071 W66 1997
Excellent guide to general and regional resources.

A Bibliographical Guide to Spanish American Literature: 20th Century Sources. Walter Rela. 1988.
LML Ref Z 1609 L7 R438 1988

A Sourcebook for Hispanic Literature and Language . Donald W. Bleznick.
LML Ref PC4071 B55 1995

Return to Top


divider



Indexes to Periodicals

MLA International Bibliography (Annual; library has 1956 to 1996 in print version)
LML Ref Z 7006 M64 (In the Index & Abstract section.)
Includes citations to journal articles, books, chapters of books, and dissertations.

Latin American Studies on CD-ROM.
Vol. 1 includes citations from the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) and the Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin . Vol. 2 indexes primarily legal documents.

HAPI ( Hispanic American Periodicals Index ).
Annual; library has 1970-1993.
Citations cover wide range of issues concerning Latin America and Latin Americans. (See also Latin American Studies on CD-ROM.)
LML Ref Z 1605 H5
(Shelved in Index & Abstract section.)

Handbook of Latin American Studies . 1935-.
LML Ref Z 1605 H23
Annual; alternating issues focus on humanities or social sciences. Citations and short abstracts of important books and articles in Latin American studies are arranged by subject.

Return to Top


divider



Books in Print and National Bibliographies

Libros Espanoles en Venta, ISBN = Spanish Books in Print. 1983-current year. Annual.
LML Ref Z 2681 L53
Only new editions are listed in the "Adenda;" previously, annual 3-volume sets were cumulative lists. Two most recent editions in Reference; older ones in basement under same call number.

Libros en Venta en Hispanoamerica y Espana. 1964-. 3 vols. (Latest ed. in Reference)
LML Ref Z 1601 L59

RiLVi ( Repertorio Integrado de Libros en Venta en Iberoamerica )
http://www.cerlalc.org/rilvi/quienes.htm
Records of recently published books from the publishers of 18 countries in Latin America and the Caribbean List of participants, from Argentina to Venezuela, is included under heading “ ¿Quiénes participan? ” More information

Spanish Books in Print ( Libro, Archivos y Bibliotecas )
http://www.mcu.es/bases/spa/isbn/ISBN.html
Lists books published in Spain (does not include Spanish language publications from other countries) since 1972. Also includes CDs, DVDs, books in Braille, and other non-book materials. More information

Return to Top


divider



Other Library and Internet Resources

The Year's Work in Modern Language Studies. Annual.
LML Ref PB 1 Y45 (Shelved in Index & Abstract section.)
Includes citations and abstracts of the most important books and articles published in the field each year

LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center)
http://www.lanic.utexas.edu/la/region/literature/
Academic resources for Latin American literature, including primary texts and criticism, are listed here in a University of Texas site dedicated to Latin American studies.

Spanish literature (Center for the Liberal Arts, University of Virginia)
http://www.virginia.edu/~libarts/split.htm
A collection of links to authors, book reviews, libraries and online texts focusing on the content of Spanish and Latin American literature, language, and cultures.

Iberian Language and Literature Web
http://www.library.yale.edu/wess/iberianlanglit.html
Selected resources, including reference works, bibliographies, electronic texts and literary reviews, covering Spain and Portugal.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Recent years are online; print version covers 1975-1998.
LML Ref Z 5937 A795 (Shelved in Index & Abstract section.) Humanities Index. 1974-1998. In Index & Abstract section.
LML Ref AI3 R473

HAPI Online
Contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world about Central and South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, the border between the United States and Mexico, and Hispanics in the United States. Subject coverage includes politics, public administration, social movements, archaeology, literature, economics, drama, and gender studies.

SALALM
SALALM is an organization for librarians involved with collections regarding Spain and Latin America. On this website you can find links to important Latin American collections and the national libraries of Latin American countries, as well as links to booksellers and related publications.

Return to Top


divider




divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility