return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
Instant Message Email Phone In Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+ (Multi-Search)
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: Cindy Ehlers

Last Updated: 6 Oct 2009





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Domestic Violence/Sexual Assault

    
Domestic Violence/Sexual Assault     

The University at Buffalo Libraries own numerous sources that provide information on rape, sexual assault, and family violence. This guide is intended as a starting point for locating materials.


Searching the BISON Catalog

To see amore complete listing of the Libraries' holdings, please consult the online catalog, BISON . Below is a sampling of some of the official Library of Congress (LC) subject headings that could be used in BISON to find resources for Domestic Violence topics.

Library of Congress (LC) Subject headings

  • Dating Violence
  • Family Violence
  • Rape
  • Sex Crimes
  • Sexual Abuse Victims
  • Victims of Family Violence
Return to Top




Books

Domestic Violence / editor-in-chief Thomas F. Liotti
Law Library / General Collection: KFN6121.4 .D66 2008

Domestic violence / Karin L. Swisher, book editor.
Capen Libraries / UNDERGRADUATE Book Collection: HQ809 .D65 1996

Rethinking domestic violence / Donald G. Dutton.
Lockwood Library / Book Collection: HV6626 .D875 2006

Violence in the home : multidisciplinary perspectives / Karel Kurst-Swanger and
Jacqueline L. Petcosky.
Lockwood Library / Book Collection: HV6626 .K83 2003

The effects of intimate partner violence on children / Robert A. Geffner, Robyn
Spurling Igelman, Jennifer Zellner, editors.
Lockwood Library / Book Collection: HQ784 .V55 E34 2003

Intimate partner violence : societal, medical, legal, and individual responses /
Sana Loue.
Lockwood Library / Book Collection: HV6626 .L677 2001

Batterer intervention systems : issues, outcomes, and recommendations / Edward W. Gondolf.
Lockwood Library / Book Collection: HV6626.2 .G66 2002

Just sex? : the cultural scaffolding of rape / Nicola Gavey.
Lockwood Library / Book Collection: HV6558 .G38 2005

The macho paradox : why some men hurt women and and how all men can help /
Jackson Katz.
Lockwood Library / Book Collection: HV6250.4 .W65 K39 2006

Sexual violence : opposing viewpoints / Helen Cothran, book editor.
Capen Libraries / Undergraduate Book Collection: HV6556 .S45 2003

The dark side of courtship : physical and sexual aggression / Sally A. Lloyd,
Beth C. Emery.
Lockwood Library / Book Collection: HQ801.83 .L56 2000

Assessment of partner violence : a handbook for researchers and practitioners /  
Lockwood Library / Book Collection: RC560 .S44 R38 2004

Return to Top




Videos

Domestic violence still a "new" agenda in healthcare / [videorecording] : Elaine J. Alpert.
HSL Media Resources Center / Media Resources Center: DVD WM 55 A456do 2007

The abused woman a survivor therapy approach / [videorecording] : Lenore Walker
with Marge Lurie.
Capen Audio Visual Collection: DVD 703: RC489 .W35 2006

Battered, bruised and broken [videorecording] / a film by Debra Roesner Hussong
; producer, Damen Shaqiri.
Law Koren AV Center / 3 Day: DVD HV6626.2 .B78 2004

Return to Top




Web Sites

Take Back the Night
http://www.takebackthenight.org

UB University Police – Sexual Assault & Violence Prevention
http://upolice.buffalo.edu/savp.php

Crisis Services of Buffalo
http://www.crisisservices.org/

National Domestic Violence Hotline
http://www.ndvh.org

Security on Campus
http://www.securityoncampus.org/

The Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network (RAINN)
http://www.rainn.org

Family Violence Prevention
http://www.endabuse.org

Return to Top




Phone Numbers

Crime Victim's Rights
  National Center for Victims of Crime 800-FYI-CALL
  New York State Crime Victims Board 800-247-8035
  Albany 800-579-9541
  Buffalo 716-847-7992
  New York City 800-579-0689


Domestic Violence
  Child & Family Haven House
  884-6000  

National Domestic Violence Hotline 800-799-SAFE
  New York State Domestic Violence Hotline 800-942-6906
  Espa ol800-942-6908
  TDD Domestic Violence Hotline800-810-7444
  New York State Elder Abuse Hotline800-342-9871
  Safe Horizon NYC Domestic Violence Hotline800-621-HOPE

  Sexual Assault
  Sex Offender Registry (Megan's Law) Information Line1-800-262-3257
  Rape, Abuse and Incest National Network 800-656-HOPE
  New York State Coalition Against Sexual Assault 518- 482- 4222
  Safe Horizon Rape and Sexual Abuse Hotline 212-227-3000
  New York Police Department Special Victims Report Line 212-267-RAPE
  New York City Gay and Lesbian Anti-Violence Project Hotline 212-714-1141



Return to Top


return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility