return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
 
  star icon About the Library
divider
  star icon Collections
divider
  star icon Online Resources
  arrow_icon   Fake Book Index
  arrow_icon   Buffalo Musicians
  arrow_icon   Streaming Audio
  arrow_icon   Databases & Indexes
  arrow_icon   Relevant LInks
divider
  star icon Services
divider
  star icon Music Librarianship
divider
  star icon UB Music Links
 
top
Library Hours
May 12 - Aug. 24, 2008
divider
Mon - Fri - 9am to 5pm
Saturday - Closed
Sunday - Closed
bottom


Music Library
112 Baird Hall
Buffalo, NY 14260-4750

Ph: (716) 645-2923
Fx: (716) 645-3906
musique@buffalo.edu



Home > Libraries & Collections > Music Library > Online Resources > Databases & Indexes

Databases & Indexes




  • Top Resources
  • Index to Writings
  • Print & Manuscripts
  • Streaming Audio
  • General
Top Resources


Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online is a new gateway that offers users the ability to access and cross-search three Oxford products at once: Grove Music Online, Oxford Dictionary of Music and Oxford Companion to Music.  More Info

UB Only

divider

Grove Music Online
Now the cornerstone of Oxford Music Online, this encyclopedic resource provides comprehensive coverage of music, including classical, popular, opera, light, world and jazz. Entries include biographies of composers, performers and writers on music; and articles on styles, terms and genres; ancient music and church music; musical life in regions, countries and cities; instruments and makers; performance practice; sources; printing and publishing; notation; and acoustics. The updated bibliographies attached to articles are an excellent place to begin research. More Info

UB Only

divider

Oxford Dictionary of Music
The Oxford Dictionary of Music supplements Grove's more extensive coverage with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. More Info

UB Only

divider

Oxford Companion to Music
The Oxford Companion to Music offers articles on composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms and genres, including jazz, popular music, and dance. It offers a concentrated focus on the Western classic tradition, from the Middle Ages to the present day. More Info

UB Only

divider

Indexes to Writings about Music


Music Index
Indexes articles from over 640 international music periodicals, as well as other non-music periodicals (e.g., the Village Voice). Citations to articles, book reviews, reviews of music recordings, tapes, and performances. Includes first performances and obituaries.  More Info



UB Only

divider


RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Citations and abstracts for articles, books, conference proceedings, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings and videos, reviews, etc. All aspects of music covered. More Info

UB Only

divider

RIPM Online
Indexes 60 primarily 19th-century music journals published in Europe and the U.S. Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian, Spain, Sweden and the United States. Topics emphasize nineteenth-century music and musical life; access to this information is critical for the development of nineteenth-century studies in musicology. Citations only.  More Info

UB Only

divider

JSTOR
JSTOR (Journal STORage) presents the full text, in facsimile form, of the complete back files of important scholarly journals, generally from the first volume through issues published prior to the most recent three years. Music is a discipline category.  More Info

UB Only

divider

Project Muse
Full-text online editions of over 100 scholarly journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences that are published by The Johns Hopkins University Press and other scholarly publishers. Some music journals are included.  More Info

UB Only

divider

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology Online
DDM-online presents an index to dissertations-in-progress and a bibliography of completed dissertations reported since mid-1995, arranged under the traditional broad categories. In addition, DDM-Online is in the process of converting all the records previously published in the earlier printed editions of Doctoral dissertations in musicology.

Available to All

divider

C.A.I.R.R.S. for Music
Computer-Assisted Information Retrieval Service System - A database of music research literature, particularly in the areas of music therapy and medicine.

Available to All

divider

Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum
The Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum (TML) is an evolving database of the entire corpus of Latin music theory written during the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. It complements but does not duplicate the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG), Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL), Lexicon musicum Latinum medii aevi (LmL), and similar projects such as the Center for Computer Analysis of Texts (CCAT) and saggi musicali italiani (SMI).

Available to All

divider

Indexes to Printed and Manuscript Music


Index to Printed Music: Collections & Series
Indexes individual pieces of historically-significant music printed in scholarly editions. The music is published in sets and series categorized by composer, geographical area, time or style, original source (usually manuscripts), and by general anthologies. Ideal resource for scholars, performers, and conductors.  More Info

UB Only

divider


RISM: International Inventory of Musical Sources After 1600
The International Inventory of Musical Sources (RISM) is an international, non-profit joint venture documenting the world's musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, works on music theory and libretti stored in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections. RISM series A/II: "Music manuscripts after 1600" is available online. It is the most comprehensive annotated index and guide to music manuscripts produced after 1600.Includes citations for musical sources and locations of manuscript or printed music, libretti, and music theory texts.  More Info

UB Only

divider

Music-In-Print Series Online
Databases of music titles (scores) in print with publisher and pricing information. The databases include Secular choral music, Sacred choral music, Organ music, Classical vocal music, Orchestral music, String music, Classical guitar, Woodwind, Piano, and Miscellaneous music in print. There is also a separate directory of music publishers. Very brief citations (Composer, title, publisher, and category) for printed music.  More Info

UB Only

divider

Streaming Audio


NAXOS Music Library
Provides recordings from complete catalogs of Naxos and other recording companies. Music includes classical, jazz, world and folk. Includes liner notes, listening guides, biographies, and librettos.  More Info

UB Only

divider

American Song
American Song provides recordings of American roots music and pre-1960 American popular music, encompassing country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, and other genres.  Labels represented include Rounder Records, McNeil Music, Native Ground Music, Rebel Records, County Records, Smithsonian Folkways, and Document Records.  Liner notes are provided.  More Info

UB Only

divider

DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music)
DRAM Provides recordings of American music, long with liner notes and essays, from the catalogues of New World Records, Albany, innova, Cedille, XI, Pogus, Deep Listening and Mutable Music labels.The music covers classical, folk, jazz, opera, Native American, electronic, musical theater and contemporary/experimental genres.  More Info

UB Only

General Resources


Academic Search Premier
This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.  More Info



UB Only

divider

Periodicals Index Online
Indexes periodicals published from 1770 to the present in the humanities and social sciences. Subject areas include music and the performing arts.  More Info

UB Only

divider

MasterFILE Premier
Abstracts and selected full-text of articles from popular magazines and peer-reviewed journals. Much music coverage.  More Info

UB Only

divider

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts (as available) for the new articles entered into the index. Music topics can be entered as keyword searches. Article citations can also include representations of visual items, including scores.  More Info

UB Only

divider

Britannica Online
The online version of one of the world's most respected encyclopedias. Searches are complemented by a list of suggested web resources. More Info

UB Only

divider

Reference Universe
For concise but scholarly discussions on any topic, search article titles and/or back-of-the-book indexes for over 4,000 reference books (subject encyclopedias, handbooks, etc.). While historical information may appear in any source, many titles are explicitly historical More Info

UB Only

divider




divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Site Credits  |  Terms of Use  |   Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility